We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Castle Mountain Chalets

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castle Mountain Chalets
Castle Mountain Chalets
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Castle Mountain Chalets are the most beautiful cabin chalets I have seen in the entirety of Banff/Lake Louise. My family and I are always searching for a place to stay that provides ample kitchen amenities and great wildlife viewing opportunities, and Castle Mountain Chalets is definitely that place. And the best part of it all was our family dog got... More 

Helpful?
Thank sierraeh
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is always great for us to hear that our guests enjoyed their time at our little resort. I am happy that you were able to bring your dog along to enjoy your holiday and I think that this is one of the things... More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We appreciated the chalets for their quiet mid-point location between crowded Banff and Lake Louise. I'm very sensitive to noise, but don't recall the train being a problem. We were in cabin #12 though which was probably one of the furthest away from the train. When we saw locations of some of the other cabins, we felt fortunate for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jefsa
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to compose a review of our facilities. We do not advertise that we are offer wi-fi as there is no reliable connection for internet service in our area (being so remote) and we do have to rely on satellites and cellular towers for what connectivity we do receive. The fridge that was not functional... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cabin, property, and front store are just too cute and clean for words to describe. Chalet suite was great for family. But, there were grizzly bears (plural) very near the complex. One, within 50 feet on the side of the road that parallels the main highway. So, be careful if you go for a stroll or out to your... More 

Helpful?
Thank BugleBoy42
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at Castle Mountain Chalets. Our seclusion, away from the hustle and bustle of the towns, provides the perfect location to see an abundance of wildlife and the bears have been very prolific this year as the berry crop is outstanding. The wardens have told us... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Castle Mountain Chalets for 6 nights. We had stayed here 20 years ago for our honeymoon and brought our three teenagers back this time. The cabin was a perfect size, with comfortable beds and nice linens, just like a nice hotel. The property has a great common lodge with a hot tub, laundry, work out room, fireplace,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MRJCE
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us a little about your recent stay at Castle Mountain Chalets. I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to return to the place you celebrated your marriage with your three teenagers -- what an experience it must have been for all of you. Our location is a little out of the... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the lodge type of rooms but I wish we had a stand alone cabin. The room was nice but our bedroom window opened up to the area where people from the other two rooms walk. Lights from the lodge came into the bedroom even with so-called black out curtains.Our neighbors were very loud very early in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Castle Mountain Chalets. Had we been able to do so, we would have moved you to a cabin. Unfortunately, we are fully booked during the peak summer season, often up to 12 months in advance, and it is very rare for us to have... More 

San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reviews are quite a mixed bag for this accommodation. Our chalet met our needs for a three day stay in the Banff area. It was very clean, well-appointed, and not nearly as rustic as it might easily have been. The little store had a good array of last minute items and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DtripperJ
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments are happy you let us host a bit of your holiday. Location is always key in choosing where you want to stay as it will definitely make the experience more enjoyable. I am happy that the staff were able to help make your stay a little more special. We do not advertise the availability of Wi-Fi... More 

Horsham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First, minor grumbles - when we arrived the heating in the chalet was on high and it was like an oven. We had to open all the doors and Windows to get it to cool down. The free Wi-Fi is poor, and the on-site shop is quite limited. But these are minor grumbles. Overall, we had a great stay. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our guests that make our jobs worthwhile. I apologize if it was too warm in your cabin. Some of our guests mind our cool evenings and occasionally, we forget to double check the thermostat. We do not advertise that we have Wi-Fi because the signal can be very... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had an excellent 3 night stay here during July. Beautiful location about halfway between Banff and Lake Louise. We stayed in a cabin which had a master bedroom and then a common area separated by French doors. It was perfect for us. Highlights - the location and proximity to hiking trails - the quietness of the resort (except for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irishman_27
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Castle Mountain Chalets. It is guests like you that make our job all that much more enjoyable. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Banff and that you were happy with our facilities. We are definitely a different experience than that of the downtown... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 BR deluxe cabin. It was an adorable log cabin with full kitchen and bath. Also a wood- burning fireplace stocked with wood, kindling, and matches. The kitchen was well-stocked with all the amenities and dishes you may need. The decor was a bit dated, but in good shape and very clean. My kids loved the... More 

Helpful?
Thank iluvbostons
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are proud of what we are able to offer our guests with us being a somewhat remote locale. I am so happy that your children enjoyed their stay as their opinion can sometimes make or break a holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back -- perhaps for a... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is great. The chalets are wonderful and cozy. You have ypur own chimney and hot tub which is great. There is a waterfall at walking distance. The problem is that it's next to the train tracks and every time a train pases it makes a lot of noise so if you are looking for a quiet place this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tuff_Mulhall
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are proud of what we are able to offer our guests with us being a somewhat remote locale. We strive to provide excellent accommodation and service to our visitors. The trains can take a bit of getting used to, especially to a very light sleeper, but most seem to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

587 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (466)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Cedar Chalet (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (89)
Viewed
Pet Free Suite (77)
Viewed
Pine Chalet (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
17.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
17.6 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.6 mi away
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
17.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $158 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay