We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!It's ALL Possible - Save Up to 15%
Fairmont
$1,051
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$1,052
View deal
Travelocity
$911
View deal
Priceline$1,052
Hotels.com$911
ZenHotels.com$1,122
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (6078)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairmont Banff Springs
Updated 08/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 34 hotels in Banff
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Skiing
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:It's ALL Possible - Save Up to 15%
9156Reviews129Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6,014
  • 1,814
  • 707
  • 385
  • 236
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
50joanie wrote a review Aug 17
Greenwich, Connecticut101 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful historic hotel located just outside of downtown Banff, accessible by the free public bus system. Rooms are historically quaint, but beautifully kept. The flowers around the hotel are spectacular. There is golf, horseback riding available for a fee. They offer complimentary bicycles for your use. The Bow River is right behind the hotel and there is a downhill trail to get to it. But it’s Uphill coming back. If you are going to Banff, why not stay in the best!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for this great review! We really appreciate it and will share it with our teams! We hope to see you back again soon. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
uzengirl wrote a review Aug 16
santa monica126 contributions95 helpful votes
2 star for the room experience: Went for a conference and was in a Gatehouse 1 bedroom suite. Poor views from windows with 2 windows showing the staff ramps of the backside of the hotel and 1 window that showed 2 trees. Space in the room was proportional to the money spent. What made it more of a 3 star hotel experience was that late at night there would be an intermittent low pitch vibration sound coming from pipes in the wall which impaired sleep. Additionally, you can hear conversation in the hallway. We notified the manager who offered to move us (who wants to pack-unpack when you're leaving in 3 days), send a person to assess the problem or discount the room. We took the 3rd option. On the last day the toilet stopped flushing properly, so the noise was probably a warning of plumbing issues. Beds, pillows were comfortable. If you have physical limitations, the maze like hallways/stairs may be very difficult. 5 star: The hotel sponsored walks/talks were excellent! A shout out to Alex and his discourse on forest management in Banff. They are accommodating to address whatever interest you have.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: don't accept room 1114
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 2 days ago
We are so sorry for your disappointing room experience. Sadly we are unable to connect privately on your Trip Advisor account to learn your identity as this option is not enabled for you. We will share your review with our team right away as we are certain they will be able to recognize your experience and confirm the concerns were or are being addressed appropriately. Thank you for mentioning Alex! We will share your kind feedback and know it will be very much appreciated. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coffeecup1390 wrote a review Aug 15
Chicago370 contributions265 helpful votes
Melissa P. was our Fairmont leader for a free-guided hike around the trails and paths near the hotel. From the moment she greeted us, we felt welcomed and knew we were in for an educational and fun outdoor adventure. Well equipped with bear spray, whistles, medical paraphernalia (none used!), and mosquito spray (used in the woods), Melissa is a fantastic guide. Do not hesitate to sign up for Melissa's hikes — by the way, she took us to the best places for key photos and she offered (and took) pictures, too. NB: For another excellent choice, Melissa teaches a fun Sunday afternoon "paint and wine" class. Thanks, Melissa! Terrific!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the positive review! We are so happy you enjoyed your outdoor adventure with Melissa and we will share this with her! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zabeen wrote a review Aug 15
2 contributions
This was amazing and memorable trip , Bow trail and pool were the most amazing part of the stay, the food was amazing and the ambiance is mesmerizing . Staff was helpful and courteous. Lots of things to do in hotel itself which is a museum. Only thing is tHt wish they could offer them more frequently as we had to miss several if we were not around
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed dining with us and exploring the area. We will share your feedback with our team and we hope to see you again soon. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mans71 wrote a review Aug 14
Currie, Australia120 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed 2 nights and just loved our time here. All the staff are exceptional, friendly, helpful and just make your stay in this magnificent hotel the cherry on the cake. The spa is worth every cent. We loved our massage and time in the mineral pools. The scenery is breathtaking. What’s not to love. This is a super special place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
It is so nice to hear your positive feedback, especially about our Spa. Thank you! We will ensure your review is shared with the team there. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindi E wrote a review Aug 14
4 contributions
Spectacular setting and nature, very accessible nature walks and sporting activities, excellent hotel and service, food, staff. Best hotel I have stayed at for years. Especially impressed that pets are allowed. Excellent environment friendly and aware. Cannot be bettered. I will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: the gatehouse rooms are great and close to the ground
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for the great review. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellen F wrote a review Aug 13
2 contributions
Awesome hotel with yummy food and great facilities. Highly recommend this hotel even if pricey. Free shuttle into town which is charming. This requires 200 characters but I think I've said it all. Go!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are happy to see you had a great time. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oksana G wrote a review Aug 13
Calgary, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
Unfortunately our visit was “cut short”, as they wouldn’t let us in to enjoy the SPA, even with buying massages and facials, because no one would take care of my Birthday girl / blind mom, while I had to go and had a facial - and it’s all because they haven’t updated their website, and “ forgot” to mention that- if u are coming on the weekend, there is no more admissions available to just enjoy the SPA, but with massages and facials only- to which I was ok to purchase , but that wasn’t enough and they would stick my blind mom on her Birthday to wait for me behind the door, and since my baby sitter is only till 4 pm in Calgary, we came for 3 hours only to celebrate, - was coming here for years and years, those rude people and their manager told us to -next time then, we can’t help. Thank God for Deb in Rundle bar to take care of us , so we can enjoy oysters and beautiful tuna poke and lemongrass beef😋😋😋… and make it up for completely ruined 70 th Birthday for my mom, my heart brakes just from thinking how this place went from my “ favourite “, to the worst ever… Don’t want to sound like a drama Queen , but it’s important to celebrate Birthdays for our parents- as it is might be the last one to celebrate, as they are getting older quickly . That been said, I’m truly disappointment - and from now on , for sure, will go spend my money somewhere else, and sure, will highly recommend to all my friends to go to other SPA, not spending on terrible service !!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in the Rundle Bar. We will certainly ensure that Deb knows you appreciated her attention and service. We are truly sorry for your disappointment relative to the Spa and have requested that a leader in this area make a personal connection with you as soon as possible. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HikeOT wrote a review Aug 13
1 contribution
Staff were friendly, resort activities staff are extremely knowledgeable about the area. Kudos to Alex and Lucy for the gardens tour as well as brief spinoff for downtown highlights. Need to return to hit the hidden gems of this beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to share it with Lucy and Alex in Resort Activities! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie C wrote a review Aug 13
2 contributions
The entire experience was wonderful! The property itself is something to see. The rooms and the grounds are beautiful, and the views are amazing. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. My only slight complaint is the bathrooms are very small - but still nicely appointed. We also experienced a half day guided tour to visit Lake Louise and Lake Moraine with an excellent guide, Scott Berry.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for mentioning Scott in your review. He will really appreciate it. It is nice to hear that you really enjoyed your time here. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$482 - $1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fairmont banff springs hotel banff, fairmont banff springs hotel, fairmont banff hotel, the fairmont banff springs banff, fairmont hotel banff, banff fairmont
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
757
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Banff Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Banff Springs?
Nearby attractions include Bow Falls (0.1 miles), Tunnel Mountain Drive (0.2 miles), and Mountain Galleries at the Fairmont Banff Springs (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Banff Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grapes, 1888 Chop House, and Rundle Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Banff Springs have airport transportation?
Yes, Fairmont Banff Springs offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Fairmont Banff Springs located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Banff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.