We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Take Your Vacation Beyond Limits - Save up to 20%
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$455
Travelocity$458
Priceline$455
Hotels.com$458
Trip.com$458
travelup.com$558
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (6117)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairmont Banff Springs
Updated 08/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 34 hotels in Banff
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Skiing
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Take Your Vacation Beyond Limits - Save up to 20%
9187Reviews131Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6,036
  • 1,817
  • 710
  • 388
  • 236
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
hopeobrien32 wrote a review Oct 1
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had just come from the Fairmont Chateau in lake Louise which was absolutely beautiful. The rooms in Banff springs were considerably smaller in comparison but still beautiful. I was so blown away by the beauty of both hotels that I wanted to extend our Fairmont experience when we got to Calgary. I went down to the front desk hoping that they would help me. They just gave me the phone and told me to sit on hold to the other hotel because they couldn’t book it for me as they have different hotel systems, which is understandable. I went down to the front desk half an hour before my bus trip to continue my Rocky Mountaineer. I was on hold for 25 minutes in the lobby. Being transferred from central reservations to front desk and vice versa. I eventually gave up and just asked Mark and Sohah for help. They were so rude. Mark especially. Sohah was trying to help but didn’t have a clue. Skye was absolutely lovely. I have worked in top 5* hotels myself and I was absolutely appalled by their lack of knowledge and their tone of why can’t you just do it yourself and book online. I wanted to book with the hotel directly as my mum was upstairs and it’s her 60th birthday trip and I’d like to put something in the room as a treat or try and request a nice view . Honestly would never go back to the Banff springs resort after this. I can’t believe that someone who has proved that they love the hotel and has stayed at multiple times in the last week could not be helped more than just being told to book online. I even told them to book us a room while we were on the bus and we would pay for it when we got to the next hotel or I would give them our card details but surprise surprise it was a no again. I don’t believe that this is any reflection on Fairmont as a whole and we have subsequently booked a room at the Fairmont in Calgary tonight online! Hopefully this stay will be better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share and we are terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment. Not as an excuse for less than engaging service, however our front desk agents do not have the ability to make new reservations or see all of the available rates. We certainly apologize that more effort was not made with the reservations team to make this seamless for you and your review has been shared. We hope that your mother did have an enjoyable time in the Canadian Rockies and that the Palliser Hotel was memorable as well. We take your feedback to heart. Please be assured our team will reviewing ways in which this may have been made easier for you. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CKimoff wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada570 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
My octogenarian mother’s long-held dream was to travel on the Rocky Mountaineer and visit old friends out west. I encouraged her to seize the day and planned a luxurious getaway for us both. We rented a Mercedes SUV from Calgary and set off for the beautiful Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel for a few nights, before boarding our train. We generally never splurge on valet service, but the kid-glove treatment from the folks at the front came in very handy. A flight delay almost made us miss our dinner reservations at the lovely Swiss Waldhaus Restaurant, behind the hotel. They instantaneously parked the car, brought in our luggage and popped my disabled mom and me into a golf card to get us there comfortably and expeditiously. They even had a shuttle bus waiting, just as we were ready to leave. I kid you not, it was ‘Radar’ like service (for all you M*A*S*H fans)! After our meal we checked in and were put into a ‘wheelchair accessible’ room outside of the main building. Despite my disappointment at being ‘off campus’ as it were, I tried to keep an open mind. Sadly, the room was underwhelming at the eye-watering rates necessary during high season at this landmark institution. Don’t get me wrong, the view was great, but the room satisfactory at best. The main issue though was the magical mystery tour to get there. Technically it was scalable with loads of time and perhaps an electric wheelchair or savvy/youthful aid, but I’d advise this extended wing be a better bastion for those quite able, fit and wanting a good amount of privacy. By morning, we realized the gauntlet was too much to manage for every meal, as well as getting repeated access to hotel facilities and grabbing our vehicle. After a bit of discussion at the front desk about capacity issues, etc. manager, Emma (extraordinaire) stepped in. This is when you find out what Fairmont service is truly all about! We were elevated to an incredibly large and beautiful room that also had a jaw-dropping view. We were compensated generously for the inconvenience and all staff took great pains in making the rest of our visit absolutely flawless. Sure, it would have been great to avoid any hiccups, but they made it right and then some, immediately. I’m sure it took a bit of juggling, but when things go wrong, you really find out what a stellar brand is truly made of. Of course, the facilities themselves are like something out of a fairy tale. This grand dame is definitely an experience that must be added to any bucket list worth dreaming about. The amazing views, grounds, restaurants, spas, pools, bar, golf course, common areas, etc., etc. should not be missed. The nearby village is its own little idyll too. The rest of our stay was nothing less than perfect (and trust me, Mom’s not an easy lady to please)! I applaud the FBSH for their amazing responsiveness and for making lemons into the sweetest lemonade ever. It must be difficult to manage a hotel that size, whilst keeping everyone happy at peak season, but they accomplished that and much more. Air Canada can take a few tips from these professionals. To that end, Fairmont has always been a favourite brand of ours and continues to be. They are a luxury brand and thus a bit pricier than some options, but worth every penny. Thanks to all the staff that went the extra mile and made sure this special trip memorable for my mother and I, for all the right reasons. Kudos to you all and keep up the fabulous work – my husband and I will be back to this and other Fairmont properties, as soon as we possibly can!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask to be outside the main building if you want added privacy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you for the incredible review. Emma will be delighted to know her efforts made such an impact. It is so nice to hear what a time your family had and we hope the Rocky Mountaineer was as breathtaking as usual. Take care and we do hope to see you back again! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie F wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Our trip for 4 family members organized through the Fairmont Banff Springs to Lake Louise and Moraine Lake was absolutely wonderful. The scenery and weather were beyond our expectations but what made our 5 hour exciting excursion most enjoyable was our guide, Scott Berry. We were greeted by the kindest man, treated exquisitely well and gained lots of knowledge on the area. Extremely knowledgeable, Scott shared many personal experiences and stories of his many years in this area. If you have the privilege of having him as your guide don’t be afraid to ask him any questions, you’re sure to come out of your day feeling blessed. Thank
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for this great review! Scott will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed this trip. We will share it with him today! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas S wrote a review Sep 2022
Wyoming65 contributions11 helpful votes
Lucy, our guide was wonderful. Engaging and knowledgeable. She handled some challenges with grace and was not afraid to say she did not know an answer. The tour itself could be a bit longer from my viewpoint. I would do it again and so would everyone in our group!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback! We will definitely let Lucy know! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank M wrote a review Sep 2022
11 contributions2 helpful votes
This is an outstanding hotel with one of the world's great patio views. Lovely staff, great food and lots of amenities. We had dinner in the Italian bar, the food was excellent and the service perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the patio
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Our team at Castellos will greatly appreciate it! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim B wrote a review Sep 2022
Grapeview, Washington1256 contributions435 helpful votes
We visited the hotel as we like to tour historic grand hotels. This one sure fits that description. The setting is idyllic and the views from the hotel are amazing! We didn't stay overnight but stopped in for a snack and drinks at the Rundle Bar out on their patio to take in the views. It was fun to walk through the public areas and visit the historic photo gallery above the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the review of your experience. We sure hope you can return and stay with us next time! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne S wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
+1
This is by far the most spectacular hotel with the staff that goes above and beyond the call of duty at every turn. The decor is impeccable. Gold floor is highly recommended. I felt special from the moment I arrived. It was the trip of a lifetime. The second part of our trip couldn’t compare so we cut it short and returned to Banff. Put this hotel on your bucket list!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for your feedback about service and Fairmont Gold. We will be happy to share this with our team. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark O wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions7 helpful votes
Massive hotel....bordering on very impersonal...although the Australian concierge young lady and Irish luggage girl extremely helpful. Rundles bar , its all about what u spend sadly. We only had a basic room , bathroom was so small , unbelievable. However , housekeeping always kept it spotless. you are without a doubt , paying for location ( 10 minute walk to town ) views are lovely There's a lovely little food shop , in the grounds of the hotel, which is not that well signed , but is far fairer on pricing. Americans seem to go wild for the hotel and uts bygone past.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your opinion and for taking the time to share. We will certainly share it with our team. We do take it to heart that you felt service was impersonal as we try very hard to be just the opposite. We are so sorry you did not feel it. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pcs1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Altoona, Florida175 contributions119 helpful votes
My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Fairmont Banff Springs during a vacation in the Canadian Rockies. We had a junior suite on the Gold Floor. The room was comfortable and the view was amazing. Service in the Gold Lounge was great! Our only complaint was that our junior suite was right across from the elevators and my husband was awakened multiple times each night due to noise ….people coming back to the floor late and probably after quite a few drinks. The hotel website warns about noise for the Junior Suites on regular floors ….I just wish they’d done the same re the suites on the Gold Floor. It we’d known I would have booked a regular Gold Floor room…probably for less $$ and more restful nights. Definitely ask for Mountain View ….it is amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure your room is not opposite the elevators and ask for a Mountain View.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of Fairmont Gold. It is nice to hear that you experienced great service! We are truly sorry for the late night noise near your room and can appreciate the disappointment. We will certainly review it with our team and ensure we check our website listing. Thank you for visiting us from Florida and we truly hope to see you again. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pekonijakinkku wrote a review Sep 2022
San Diego, California8 contributions11 helpful votes
If you check in with the expectations of staying at a 3 star hotel, you will be just fine. If you think paying 5 star hotel prices would get you a 5 star experience, you’ll be disappointed. Old furnishings and amenities. Mediocre front desk staff. In summary, 3 star hotel and service, 5 star location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are so sorry you feel this way and we will try to personally connect as soon as possible. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$366 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fairmont banff springs hotel banff, fairmont banff springs hotel, fairmont banff hotel, the fairmont banff springs banff, fairmont hotel banff, banff fairmont
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
757
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Banff Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Banff Springs?
Nearby attractions include Bow Falls (0.1 miles), Tunnel Mountain Drive (0.2 miles), and Mountain Galleries at the Fairmont Banff Springs (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Banff Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grapes, 1888 Chop House, and Rundle Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Banff Springs have airport transportation?
Yes, Fairmont Banff Springs offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Fairmont Banff Springs located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Banff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.