We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Canadian Lodge

459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
SAVE $40
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (274)
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (307)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 05/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 05/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#16 of 34 hotels in Banff
This luxury resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. Entering our lobby, you’ll be greeted by our beautiful stone fireplace and our friendly front desk staff. Featuring elegant rooms and suites, this intimate Banff boutique hotel offers 99 guestrooms, with a modern mountain-themed décor. With nature right on its doorstep, the Royal Canadian Lodge is located less than a five-minute walk from downtown Banff. Guests of the lodge can enjoy fine dining at one of Banff’s best kept secrets, the Evergreen Restaurant, serving Canadian cuisine with an emphasis on regional ingredients. You can also relax and unwind at the Grotto Spa with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. With a number of intimate meeting spaces, the Royal Canadian Lodge is the perfect choice for any rejuvenating alpine escape to one of the most beautiful resort towns in Canada.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
1466Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 619
  • 561
  • 191
  • 59
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jelena Bojic wrote a review Apr 2021
Edmonton, Canada2 contributions
We checked in and the receptionist didn't even welcome us; very poor customer service, we felt like an inconvenience to them. I asked several times for things like advice on activities etc. and they are totally not interested in helping guests with anything. Due to the covid restrictions, the pool has to be booked in advance, and they will not give you ANY advice on when to call etc. I called at 7:30 AM to book, and everything was already taken. When I asked when to call to actually get a spot, the receptionist was annoyed and said: it's all in your confirmation email, you should read it. Room service is only available till 9 PM. There is no water that you can purchase or order, so if you don't have change on you to get it from the vending machine, you can't get water. No attention from cleaning staff either, not even offering to do any housekeeping, you have to call for someone to bring towels and empty the garbage. Our view is on a dumpy backyard overflowing with empty cans and bottles! No joke. This is definitely NOT a 4-star hotel. PS the one good thing, and reason for 2 and not 1 star is that the beds are super comfy,
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not a 4-star experience!
See more room tips
Response from Suzanne Gittens, Other at Royal Canadian Lodge
Responded Apr 4, 2021
Dear NorthStar, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay. The pool booking is a difficult situation to navigate based on the demand and the limited amount of spots available, we definitely try our best to accommodate all of our guests. We recognize that you were only able to use the pool twice during your stay and we apologize this was not to your satisfaction. In this current environment it is very important that we manage our guests expectations since so many services have changed, your comments have brought this to the forefront and will be discussed among the management team. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Sincerely,
Read more
Barb T wrote a review Mar 2021
Red Deer, Canada21 contributions9 helpful votes
Very easy to get to and check in was easy until the stated there was a $15 per night charge for underground parking. There’s no convenient street parking close, so we paid because we didn’t want the car parked somewhere that could be unsafe. There was no mention of this during the booking or in their email. Our room was upgraded to 2 queens but we only needed one bed. Beds were comfy and the room was nice but nothing special. We stayed here because the pool/ hot tub were open for bookings. It was nice that ropes were supplied and we enjoyed the experience having the area all to ourselves. Nice hotel but we would prefer something more reasonable for the same experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Suzanne Gittens, Other at Royal Canadian Lodge
Responded Apr 4, 2021
Dear Barb, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are pleased to know you like some of the amenities offered during your stay. Once again, thank you for your feeback. Kind regards,
Read more
JonnyR0tten wrote a review Mar 2021
Calgary, Canada2 contributions
I was planning to leave a 3 star review for this hotel - right in the middle. Not good, not bad, very few redeeming features and largely underwhelming but a mostly pleasant stay. The only stand out feature is the pool area which is actually what has caused me to leave this 1 star review. The pool area is great and they are doing their best through the pandemic to give each family a 30 minute slot. The booking system that they have set-up requires you to be at the front desk for 7am to book a slot for that day. Only in-person same day bookings are allowed. Except that the General Manager decided to book out all the morning slots on both the days that we stayed at the Royal Canadian Lodge for reasons unknown and she didn’t have the decency to inform her front desk staff of the reasons why. So they were left fending off angry hotel guests who had woken early to secure a time slot for their kids. You can only assume the GM booked it out for friends who wanted to circumnavigate the booking procedure or have longer than the other guests are allowed. If it was a legitimate reason, she would have told the front desk staff, who were very apologetic and quite frustrated at the situation. We won’t be returning here, even without the pool situation. There are far better options in Banff. Whoever gives out the hotel stars in Banff needs to take a star off this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Eeyor wrote a review Mar 2021
Edmonton, Canada6 contributions4 helpful votes
Checked in on Friday, February 26, 2021 and the front desk was overwhelmed and didn't provide much information on anything to do with the pool, parking fees, checkout, etc. We showed up before 4:00 pm and the pool was already all booked up for the weekend except for one time slot on the Saturday. Especially that there is a parking fee that Expedia didn't charge and you only find out once you are checking out.I had emailed a head for a tea service in our room due to COVID they are request only and to see if they could do something for my sister for her B-day. The b day card was in my name, it took a whole day for the tea service to arrive after visiting the FD and calling down another 2 times. I left a message for the manager, who took 3 days to call me back and it turns out is the same front desk person who didn't give any of the required information but said she did and it was just an argument from her. We liked the rooms and the pool was nice. but I wouldn't stay again for the lack of customer service. If you don't like your job then I suggest you find another one, because your guests show up and don't know the hotel's policies.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Suzanne Gittens, Other at Royal Canadian Lodge
Responded Apr 4, 2021
Dear Eeyor, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to know you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured your comments have been shared with the team to ensure we provide the high standard of service our guests have come to expect. Kind regards,
Read more
Yabluko wrote a review Jan 2021
Winnipeg, Canada2 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel during New Year weekend. There were very few people staying and I expects the management to acknowledge somehow all the people that still travel during these days. The price for the room was rather high and no any effort from the management was made to make us welcomed. We had issues with the phone but nobody bothered to fix it. Will not stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
$145 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
delta banff royal canadian hotel banff, delta banff royal canadian lodge, banff delta
Charltons Banff
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Canadian Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Canadian Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Banff Legacy Trail (0.04 miles), C Level Cirque Trail (0.04 miles), and Spray River Trail Loop (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Canadian Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Canadian Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Canadian Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Canadian Lodge?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Canadian Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whitebark Cafe, El Toro, and Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Canadian Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Royal Canadian Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Banff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Canadian Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Canadian Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Canadian Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cave and Basin National Historic Site (1.4 miles).