We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Tunnel Mountain Resort

#22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 930: English reviews
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a suite with a kitchen and living room . Quite spacious ,but had a musty smell . The kitchen fan vented air back into the room , so there was fried food kind odd smell ! And the mattresses needs replacing !! The futon in the living room was bad !!!

Helpful?
Thank Manny0307
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The resort is in a great location only a few minutes from Banff central by car. There is a free bus to and from the town which is very handy if you don't have a car. Other useful facilities are a coin operated laundrette, free pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Another great touch is free kindling and firewood for... More 

Helpful?
Thank cp452014
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

cp452014 Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our amenities. As mentioned in previous responses we are in the planning of a full room renovation which we hope to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a nice big, spacious room with microwave and fridge, the hotel had a pool and spa but we didn't have time to use them. As the hotel is slightly outside of Banff they provide bus passes for guests which is very easy. Unfortunately when we arrived there was hair in the shower, however we asked at reception as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JillandCharlie
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

JillandCharlie Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. I do apologise for the slight oversight in the housekeeping of your room but am glad we were able to rectify the situation in a timely manner. Thank you again... More 

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We had a suite with King and queen. We arrived very late. And got checked in quickly. Yes it s dated but very reasonable for families with kids. We were concerned about previous reviews about cleanliness. We were happy with our stay especially with very courteous staff at the resort. We had a bad smell on one of the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank egfamily2015
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

egfamily2015 Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is always our goal to insure a relaxing and care free experience and am glad we were able to achieve this during your visit with us. I am glad... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed early Aug 16 for 3 nights. Led to believe it was a hotel but found it was self catering. Would have been ok if we had had any self catering equipment - had to ask and got 2 bowls & spoons. Toilet unclean on arrival; informed office who sent someone to clean. 3 people arrived to clean room -5... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Sarah B Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. I am sorry you felt misled about the property as we do advertise we are a self-catering hotel, all of our rooms have full kitchens except for... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family while visiting this beautiful area of the world. We stayed in a chalet loft style 1/2 cabin. 2 Double beds in the loft, 1 queen in a bedroom and a pullout sofa in the common room We needed all the beds for the 5 of us visiting. The beds were reasonable typical... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Arwe T
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Arwe T Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is always our goal to insure a relaxing care free experience and it seems we did drop the ball on this occasion. I am sorry... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful view from the balcony of our room, very romantic. Slightly farther away from the main strip than other hotels,but still walking distance. They have bike rentals for relatively cheap, I actually managed to have a major fall on the bike 30 mins into renting them, and we were able to return them free of charge since we hadn't even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen L
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic experience at tunnel mountain village 1. The sites are spacious and gorgeous, well maintained. There are lots of trees and the area is very natural. You do need to be animal aware, and put coolers, bbq etc away at night. Washrooms and showers are impeccable, updated, clean and well cared for. This is a wonderful place!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Treena D
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Reasonable prices and clean rooms. Stayed one night and was pleasantly surprised how nice the rooms were for the price. Close to everything Banff has to offer and free bus pass to get downtown Banff from the hotel. Had a few small issues with the fireplace not working.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Boyfriend and I came from Vancouver and it was an average place. The room was big. We took a bath together and the steam shower was cool. At night it was hard to sleep because of the stupid fan that kept making noises so it wasn't that great. Everything else was ok. Front desk helped us with a tooth brush... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie W
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Annie W Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain resort and enjoyed our facilities. I am sorry that the fan in your room kept you up during the night. I am however happy that the front desk was able to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

512 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (221)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (50)
Viewed
Mountain Cabin (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite with Kids Loft (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $118 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay