We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Mount Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 953: English reviews
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room had all we needed but it was just a little dated. Close to town centre and all shops and cafés. We got off the Rocky Mountaineer and it was only a 10 min walk. Parking was close and staff helpfull.

Helpful?
1 Thank 22wendyb
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 22wendyb Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts regarding your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel, we are glad you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff helpful. We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel in the future. David Crossland Front Desk Supervisor Brewster Hospitality More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Based on our recent experience it is difficult to get reasonably priced accommodated in Banff. We picked this hotel because of its location but it was a disappointment. In particular, there was no fridge in the room and the room was not clean. For what we paid, we expected more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet S Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost we sincerely apologize that your room was not clean to your satisfaction, this is not at all consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping management in order to address any shortfalls that may have occurred. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our reservation was made in March of 2014 but, on our arrival, we were told that we had NO CHOICE WHAT SO EVER with the location of our room since it was the LAST ONE. We were unable to reach our room on the 3rd or 4th floor using a baggage cart because there were stairways blocking our path ...... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelStGeorges
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarcelStGeorges Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we pride ourselves on being as flexible as possible when it comes to assigning rooms to our guests to ensure the best possible outcome but we were simply not able to affect changes based on our occupancy on the occasion of your visit. We... More 

Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed on short notice here and we were really happy they found us a room with it being so busy. I have stayed here many times and the location is very good for a quick stay downtown. I was extremely disappointed in the cleanliness of the rooms at this time. The floors/carpets were disgusting and I did not want... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joannevc2007
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joannevc2007 Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel We regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room and the various issues that lead you to that conclusion; we take all of our feedback extremely seriously to revisit the experience we are handing to guests and improve it going into the future. Your comments... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My room was tiny, and I believe it was a step up from the cheapest room. It was a little disappointing. Outlets were nowhere near where I required them, and the room was lit with those awful cold fluorescent bulbs. The service was friendly and helpful. There was an elevator not far from my room where some of the buttons... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan S
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TRISTANcubanBREATH Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel We deeply regret to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our property and we apologize for the various issues that brought you to that conclusion. We are however happy to hear that you found our staff so friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed... More 

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Although this hotel has mixed reviews. We were more than happy with our room. Large, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Would liked to have had a fridge in the room. Breakfast was adequate if not pricey. Location was second to none.

Helpful?
Thank lesleyhyatt
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R&LHyatt Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful; being among them it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do. We do apologize... More 

Inver Grove Heights
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

At check in we were early and the room was not ready, but the staff was very helpful, they gave me a parking pass so I could leave my car there and they gave us suggestions on what to do while we were waiting. when we got to our room it was very nice, great beds, but as mentioned by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin T Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost we would like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise, as you mentioned to a certain extent Banff does feature many bars and clubs in the downtown core which can occasionally lead to issues with noise from late night... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was traveling with a group of 40, so I didn't experience the usual check in. However, there was only one elevator in the lobby area, and we were all trying to get to our rooms at once. Mine was on the third floor, and after a long walk, I encountered several stairs. This was a problem for me. FINALLY,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blush48
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear blush48 Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel Please accept our sincerest apologies for some of the difficulties you experienced during your stay, all our guest comments are taken seriously in an effort to improve our hotel to provide the best possible experience. We are very... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is very old. There have been a few attempts to keep it "livable" but it's really on its last leg. The carpets in the hallway were so filthy I almost checked out before seeing my room which was a long hike to the back end of the building. The room was simple, bare bones basic nothing at all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna M Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost we would like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay, our goal is always to provide a good night’s sleep and we are very sorry we were... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel right in the middle of town, convenient for shops, restaurants etc. We did not get a lot of sleep due to the noise from the nightclubs, music till 3am. Not the cleanest hotel I have stayed in. The room was on the top floor, the carpet was very dirty and sticky, our shoes stuck on the floor. We could... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Caron T
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caron T Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel We are very concerned about your comments regarding your room, we assure you this is not consistent with our standards and please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

483 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (222)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $75 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay