We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mount Royal Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

972 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 907: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

This is a nice hotel situated right on the main avenue in Banff. It is very convenient to use this hotel as home-base to get out and about around town. There are shops and restaurants right outside of the hotel, all within easy walking distance. The room is spacious and clean, although the bathroom is very small for some reason.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dennis C, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very glad to hear that you had such a good stay in Banff and enjoyed your time with us. If you are back in the area in the future I truly hope that you will choose to stay with us again, we would be... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Late check in, but room ready. Clean and tidy bedroom, although carpets desperately need a good clean. Best power shower we had during our entire trip. Mathieu on the front desk, was one of the most helpful people we came across during our trip. From the moment we got there, he was full of suggestions on what to see and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trudee15
MRHGuestServices, Therese Gunnars at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trudee15, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had such a good stay in Banff and enjoyed our downtown location. We especially thank you for your kind words about our staff, I am very glad that they were able to enhance your experience. Regarding the carpets, I... More 

Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Terrible, we checked in around 5pm, dirty laundry outside most of the rooms. Room had terrible outdated decor which would not have been an issue but it was not clean, especially the rug. A card with complimentary ear plugs was on the night stand. At this time of the day, 5pm it was already very noisy with alot of partying,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank barbaramC5694CZ

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hallidays Point, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

This is a great hotel located in the centre of town. I was a bit concerned upon finding a set of ear plugs by the bed but soon found out why. There was a pub on the next corner with merry makers still going in the early hours of the morning. The room was good and clean. The view from... More 

Helpful?
Thank pat542
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat 542, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Banff and our downtown location. Unfortunately, our location do come with some noise during the busy season. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. In regards to milk, the reason for the... More 

Mundesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

We had booked 4 nights here at the end of this years Rockies trip as I'd got such a good deal through Canadian Affair. But after booking I had read a few dodgy reviews on Tripadvisor and was questioning my wisdom. I needn't have worried. There were no problems whatsoever. I had emailed the hotel twice with a couple of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank poppyland3
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear poppyland3, Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review. I’m very thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Ben and Kayla and to the rest of our staff. We all look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Meaghan Young Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Staff friendly and responsive. Our room was on Banff Avenue, 2nd floor, so it had a view of mountains and downtown shopping. I had a very hard time sleeping, because of all the noise coming from the bars outside the hotel. They were still going at 2am. Don't stay on Banff if you are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank irvingbb
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear irvingbb, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I’m terribly sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Please be assured that I have passed along your housekeeping and hotel maintenance concerns to our Department Managers for immediate attention. With our location being right downtown at times noise can be an issue,... More 

girton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

This hotel has a central position .the rooms are clean and well appointed.The staff are keen to help and very cheerful.We really enjoyed oil staythe staff made reservations for trips for us and made good suggestions about walks and what to do.Only downside was that the room cleaners were understaffed and on our second day the room was not cleaned... More 

Helpful?
Thank domainegirton
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear domainegirton, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a good stay in Banff and enjoyed your time with us. I sincerely apologize for our housekeeping services not being adequate and assure you that we take all feedback seriously in order to serve you better in the... More 

Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Spent a couple of nights along with my family this week at this centrally located, wonderful hotel at the famous city of Banff, Alberta. The best part of the hotel, is neither the location, bor the facilities they provide, but the wonderful staff, who were willing to go out of their way to help each guest, staying at this wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abasu1963
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abasu1963, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially thank you for your kind words about our staff. We truly appreciate knowing that our guests have been well served as well as knowing about their experiences so that we can serve... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

My husband had the flu when we arrived so just needed to get to bed otherwise I would have walked out of the place once I had seen the room. Disinterested staff and the room was dingy and delapidated. Part of a tour - (the Plaza in Kamloops was devine) but this place had not seen a lick of paint... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Val H
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Val H, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We are pleased to share with you that we have several projects planned in the future to refresh and enhance our guest’s experience. Our carpets are also being changed in the fall. Thank... More 

norfolk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Good central base to set out from right in the middle of town. Nice big beds, clean room and a free safe. Tony Romas looked to be busy but we went to the local Irish pub which was very good and also the Spagetti factory which was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank snugglepussNorfolk
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear snugglepussNorfolk, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had such a good stay with us and enjoyed your time in Banff. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are back in the area! Thank you again for your feedback. Sincerely, Therese Gunnars... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

482 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $77 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay