We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,021 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 954: English reviews
Tomatin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

This hotel is badly in need of refurbishment. It looks and is grubby. The bed to be fair was comfortable and the staff were friendly but by far the worst of the many hotels we stayed in on our Canada tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank marybelandjohn
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are always interested by our guest comments. We are very soryu to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our property, but we are very pleased to see that our guest service pleased you. We would like to let you know that some carpet renovations will take place soon, ad we hope... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

We were booked in here by our travel agent, Arrived tired about 6pm .got keys to rooms and started up the stairway which was filthy dirty, Should have guessed what was in store. Rooms were the dirtiest we had ever seen and we travel quite a lot all over the world. Carpets were filthy with stains everywhere travelling companions summed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kalimantsi
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are always interested by oour guest comments. We are very sorry that you did not stay in our hotel. We would just to let you know that all our rooms are not like that, and that we have planned some carpet renovations by the end the year. Once again, please accept our apologies for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

north east uk
Level Contributor
247 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Hotel is in fantastic location, close to trails,riverside walks, gondola experience, and lovely shops and restaurants. Tony Roma restaurant adjoining for meals, although don't miss out on beautiful coffee shop. Evelyn's is fabulous and opens early. Balkan restaurant close by and fantastic food. Bears tails shop. Lovely deep fried pastries with range of options for toppings.

Helpful?
Thank jantNorthEastUk
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedabck! We always love to hear about our guest experience, and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel! We will be very happy to welcome you again on your next trip in Banff. Regards, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

On a tour of The Rockies our coach party stayed for two nights at the Mount Royal hotel in Banff, what a disappointment. Position perfect in the centre of the beautiful town of Banff but the hotel is run down and shabby. Our room was very large and although on the front with the road was very quiet but carpets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dalehound
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Our guest comments are very important and always are interested to know how you did enjoy your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. First of all, we would like to tell that we were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a lot your stay in our property. We understand your point of... More 

Vancouver/Whistler
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

It is old, in one of the most beautiful locations, Banff National Park, but still it needs up grading and some improvements. The carpets were stained and dirty looking. The towels were thread bare and small. Paper cups with the coffee are not acceptable particularly since the cups weren't even good coffee cups. While the bar is cozy, there isn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank TourLeader22
MRHGuestServices, General Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment! Our hotel located in the heart of Banff, is the second hotel built in the city in the year 1912, and is registered in historical heritage. We are very proud of this heritage, and we are working hard to maintain it at a high level. Therefore we will proceed to carpets renovations soon. The satisfaction... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Stayed here as part of a pre booked tour. Public areas are really good and the restaurant serves great food but our room was a real let down. Whilst the room itself was ok the bathroom was tiny and the carpet was really stained and grubby, was also surprised to have ear plugs provided as the noise levels can be... More 

Helpful?
Thank shirleylyn
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback! We always apprecaite our guest's comments, and we are sorry that you didn't enjoyed your stay 100%. We would like to let you know that we are planning some carpet renovations before the end of the year. As we are located downtown, some evenings can be noisy due to the cowd outside, so that is the... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

Its wat too pretty.....located at the centre of bnaff....all food joints, shopping, club,pub is at walking distance so we enjoyed thoroughly....rooms are excellent(but you dnt need to stay in hotel if u are n banff).....staff is friendly.........i think its more than worth staying

Helpful?
Thank Neha V
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We always appreciate all our guest comments, and we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel! Our guest satisfisfaction is very important for us, this is for what we are working hard and it is always a pleasure to have happy guests. We hope to have the... More 

Concord, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We stayed here the two nights before going on the Rocky Mounaineer. A good basic ski lodge type of accommodation. The location is excellent, right on the Main Street with great access to the town. The staff were great, but the rooms were noisy - every time anyone was in the corridor outside of the room, you could hear their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We always appreciate all our guest comments, and we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel! Our guest satisfaction is very important to us, and we are pleased to see that our staff was great and friendly during your stay. This is for what we are working... More 

UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Great location, but in need of some TLC. The Mount Royal is indeed in an excellent position in the middle of Banff, for many people, this will counter the negatives of this hotel, which are, Filthy carpets. Creaky floorboards. Noisy latecomers. Tired rooms. The front overlooks the main road, the back overlooks a car and coach park. I used the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CameramanUk
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We always appreciate all our guest comments, and we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel! We would like to inform you that some carpet renovations will take place before the end of the year,and we will be happy to make you discover these refreshed rooms on... More 

Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Stayed two nights in large room which was comfortable. No fridge was an issue. Lifts were adequate. Carpet quite worn and stained in stairwells. Location was the best part of this hotel but room was good but not great. Would stay again but might look elsewhere if pushed. Overall a reasonable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Garry S
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are always happy to know about our guest experience and we are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel! We would like to inform you that some carpet renovations will take place before the end of the year, and we will be happy to welcome you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

483 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (222)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $75 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay