We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Royal Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Special Price
Save 10%
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

927 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 867: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The location of Mount Royal Hotel is in the center of town. You can walk to lots of restaurants, shops, banks with ATM machines. Very helpful staff and very quiet. We highly recommend it. Easy to access the Banff Gondola. Every view from Banff. Street has amazing views of the mountains.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived at the start of a Rocky Mountain tour. Booked through UK travel agent. Had requested central location. Found this hotel to be right in the centre of town with easy car access and good parking. Very disappointed with room allocation which was a tiny room just large enough to allow access round the bed. Very tired decoration and furniture.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. Our Front Desk staff are very accommodating and it is great to hear that they were able to provide a room which more suited your preference. Inevitably some of our rooms do overlook the car parking area as we do need to provide parking. To avoid these we suggest calling and making a... More 

Coaldale, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

They had our room ready at 11am when check in was 4pm. Centrally located this hotel allowed us the freedom to explore banff without driving at all. Great front desk service, and because we were an alberta resident we recieved a $20 food voucher to a local restaurant which took care of one of our meals. I would definitly stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 150timt
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

It is always fantastic to hear that a guest found their stay with us 'Awesome". Thank you for the great feedback. I am very happy the front desk could accommodate an early-check-in. We do wish to give Alberta residents an advantage in booking with us directly and are glad you could make such good use of this perk. We would... More 

pointe-fortune, QC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had phoned the night prior to our arrival to make a reservation. When we arrived the next day everything was ready. The service is excellent. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Well situated in downtown centre.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claudet672
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the stellar review regarding your stay with us at the Mount Royal. We are so pleased that the staff and service surpassed your expectations. Please do come again. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went to Canada for a two week holiday, flew into Vancouver, Seven Cruise to the inside passage, went watching, back to Vancouver, boarded the Rockie Mountaineer Train, great journey, when got Banff, it was wonderful, the hotel and staff were brilliant, meal in restaurant was cooked to the highest standard, only had two nights but very memorable, Would love to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1952billyboy
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1952billyboy, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic trip, and enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass your comments to our staff to let them know what a great job they are doing. We hope that if you come back to Canada you... More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is situated on Banff Avenue right in the middle of Banff, the location could not be better. The rooms are modern and clean. We had breakfast a couple of times and the food was good, varied and the staff very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank MikeT6128DF
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikeT6128DF Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mount Royal Hotel. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our downtown location, and you found the service helpful! We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Banff! Kind Regards... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We regret to book this hotel as we stayed in Banff. With noisy and lousy environment, low maintained rooms, careless services and over priced, you should avoid this hotel. We checked in at 3 PM with room not really ready. The room is really worn out, seems no maintained for long time. Returned to room around 8 PM and started... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aliu66
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aliu66, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Mount Royal Hotel. I am very concerned to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I apologize that you found your room to be noisy, and that you didn't feel that the front desk helped you with your issues. We take all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were excited to be downtownBanff for our 2 day visit of the park and surrounding area. In the Park we had great experiences findin wildlife enjoying the scenery. coming back from a long day we find out room not clean, made up nor new towels. i did get a response finally and a houseman came to make it right... More 

Helpful?
Thank rotankuc71
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. While, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a lovely experience in the Park, we do wish to offer our sincere regrets and an apology for your room not being up to par upon your return. Your comments will be shared with the department and personnel... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended to the Mount Rotal Hotel by friends and they did describe it as 'quite an unusual hotel'! It is in an excellent position and is attached to the very famous Tony Roma Restaurant. Our first room was very light and airy, but whilst we were unpacking, we could hear the sound of a dog barking. We immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay and thank you in particular for your recognition of the professionalism of our staff. They will be pleased to have been clearly praised. I am also glad to hear that they were able to accommodate a move for you and that the suite was satisfactory. It is fantastic to hear as... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Mount Royal hotel is situated about 10mins walk from the rockymountaineer terminal and is in the middle of town. Restaurants and shops on either side and opposite the hotel. This hotel is convenient for getting around in Banff but is more a budget end hotel. Not sure why we were given ear plugs in our room, that is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire A
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for pointing out some of the real tangible benefits that our downtown location offers. We ourselves consider ourselves more of a mid-market hotel. I do appreciate your feedback and hope your entire trip goes well. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

475 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (214)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Other (118)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $78 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay