We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mount Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,030: English reviews
Bristol
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly, updated historic hotel in the centre of Banff. Perfect location, comfortable room and warm and friendly welcome from all the staff. The only negative was that we had to go home in the end! Would've happily stayed longer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank purplestarfish
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel location works very well for the Banff Film Festival. The room this year was not as good as others we have had. The nature of the heat caused it to be very hot until we were told we needed to shut off the heat altogether. None of the windows opened for fresh air. Otherwise we enjoy this hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToshiMom
Langley
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great staff but really its suited for hippie backpackers, the owners need to put some serious money into updating this gorgeous old building. This is the first hotel in my many travels that actually gave me earplugs at check-in, not really a great way to start my stay. I read about the fire, very sad, it is a beautiful corner...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brucei2017
Calgary
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

all was fine . nothing fancy but good enough. Good location. friendly helpful staff. Unfortunately there's lots of noise from the halls with people coming I at 3 a.m.wasn't that great. ihevpt yhwoeutv ppsdimvp/o er tp0baomer\[pv jtvpaerj tgpv0 iwe\TP 'WOIEV HTOIjwep \rodsg 'vpiavurektoirvot

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstenr518
Elgin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived very early due to the bus schedule and they were still able to get us in a room, absolutely loved this place and the location was right downtown near bus stops, shops, and restaurants! Would not stay anywhere else!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackien862
Leduc Country
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, free parking, friendly staff and beautiful views We stayed in the corner suite for an extra $20 and you have a view all the way down Banff ave. the noise level is good in the evenings even with the bars near you. Hot tub in basement is also a nice treat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very sadly the hotel was badly damaged by fire on 28 December and is now closed. It will be sorely missed. On a positive note, key staff who ensured an outstanding welcome have been transferred to the sister hotel in Banff, the Elk and Avenue. Brewster Travel who own both hotels gave exceptional help and support to those of us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hankebr
BrewsterTravelCanada, Public Relations Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Hankebr, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mount Royal Hotel. I am sure your experience on the night of December 28 is one you will not forget. We are thankful that no one was injured or harmed in the fire and that you were well taken care of at our sister property. We are working to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Continual unannounced refurbishment going on during our stay. Work continued 8am - 9pm+. Had to be moved rooms repeatedly to avoid the construction and its noise. All sauna and spa facilities shut down. Hotel suggested we visit their sister hotels spa however this was a 15 min walk up the street in -30C weather.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markbH5346OM
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not ideal, and that you were not informed about the renovations on the roof and in the sauna area. These renovations were done to improve our guests comfort and experience. Our sister hotel, the Elk & Avenue was...

Calgary
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has amazing staff that are friendly and very helpfull. The rooms are spacious and clean. The price is great for such an amazing location - right on main street. We had a great time and can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N6715IQmelissam
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* rated review on your stay at the Mount Royal, it is well appreciated. We are pleased to hear how amazing our staff was. They actively participate to our guest satisfaction, as well as the hotel location, and the quality of rooms. It will be our pleasure to welcome you in the future. Sincerily, Estelle Lo...

Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Mount Royal Hotel was a great place to relax and wind down from the sights and adventures that Banff Has to offer! The Front Desk Staff were excellent. It is in the middle of town and close to everything! A grocery store across the street as well as a bus stop that took us right to Sunshine! Having used...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O571CLjohnc
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We are pleased to read you and see how much you loved your stay at the Mount Royal. Our staff will be happy to read your nice words as well. As you mentioned, as our hotel is centrally located, it gives an easy and fast access to restaurants and shops, and our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $76 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, Dec 2, 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Stay above ground level”
 of 5 bubbles IDWiner, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay