We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Charlton's Banff

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charlton\\
Charlton's Banff
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

711 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Charlton's Banff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 662: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Even with a living social coupon, this place was a waste of our money. It's old, dark and dingy. Our kitchenette was a joke. The two large elements did not work and there was only one pan and two pots. We couldn't even cook a full meal properly - what's the point of a kitchette? We stayed an extra night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Penny3861
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a review on your recent stay with us, as we read each guest review in order to improve our product and service. Your comments are very concerning to us, and we hope you were able to make us aware of these concerns during your stay. We would appreciate the... More 

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We received very little sleep one night due to the noise in an adjacent room....otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The loft was very hot and the downstairs was cold!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at Charlton's Cedar Court, although we apologize for the inconvenience you received from the neighbouring rooms during your stay. Although at times, noise from adjacent rooms is hard to control, we do our very best to assist from the Front Desk Agents should noise become a problem during your... More 

Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

After traveling for a month now, we found the beds at Charton's Cedar Court to be the most comfortable of our journeys. We stayed for a week of snowboarding and found the staff to be very helpful, and friendly. We liked the direct access from room to parking. The breakfast lounge in the morning was great and the hottub and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SpringApril
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

Dear Goldilocks, We are so happy to hear that we provided you with a bed that was "Just Right"! After a couple of day's on the ski hills, the simple luxury of a comfortable sleep after a soak in our whirlpool can make the next days aches and pains disappear. Ensure to let us know you will be a returning... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just had a night stay whist visiting Banff, and what a difference from 9 years ago. Breakfast included in the new breakfast lounge, Will be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank SharonCambs
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

What a pleasant surprise to hear that 9 years later, we are still attractive and can provide you a very comfortable stay! We have indeed renovated and added more stay benefits, such as flat screen TV’s, added granite countertops to the guest room dressers, replaced all queen and king sized mattresses and of course added a Breakfast Nook which serves... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We booked this using the livingsocial deal we got as it was a fantastic price and everything. We got the fireplace loft which sounded fun and amazing. When we got there it was smaller than we had imagined. The bed was in the upstairs loft and it was always ridiculously hot up there even when the downstairs was cold and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph L
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a nice stay in our Loft Suite and enjoyed a great meal in the Evergreen Restaurant. We feel we provide just the right cost for the product and services we offer at the Charlton's Cedar Court. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future. Thank... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I bought Living Social Deal vaucher and did not have any problems to book the loft suite by phone. Staff was friendly. Parking is outdoor and a hike up stairs lead to loft suite. it gets really hot up in the sleeping area and quite cold in the living area and bath-room. So we had to keep fireplace working and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryRussian
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to submit such a detailed review of your Living Social Package stay! As you had mentioned some difficulties with your bill at the Evergreen Restaurant, I thought I would take this opportunity to mention the meal charge should be "Charged back to your room at the Cedar Court" in order to receive the... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Charlton Cedar Court is a great hi end Motel. All the comforts of an expensive hotel without the high price. Free continental breakfast in the morning is one of the best I have seen and the staff there and at the front desk are just great. My second time and I will return always

Helpful?
2 Thank Palmtreehugger_1
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

Thank you being such a loyal guest, we cannot wait to welcome you again to the hotel! More 

Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I never got a chance to experience this hotel. I bought a deal to stay here through Living Social, but the hotel would not honour the voucher even thought rooms were available. When I called I tried to book the loft room over a month in advance (for a weekday), the customer service rep said the room was available. Then... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank DoubleSH
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

We have had the opportunity to explore all of your concerns with the current Living Social Package we have available for booking. We will be keeping a close eye on our inventory and ensuring our sales agents are able to properly field any questions and concerns you may have in the future. Thank you for your concern and time to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We just got home from spending three nights at the Charlton's Cedar Court. Our room was great, with single beds for the kids in their own separate area, a kitchenette, and then the "master bedroom" on its own. The staff was great - especially the girl attending to the continental breakfast - and the bed was the most comfortable ever!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

Dear Relaxed Traveller, We are happy to hear that you were able to make it home safe and sound! Thank you for taking the opportunity to reflect on your stay at the Charlton's Cedar Court and how wonderful of an experience it was for your family. We hope to welcome you back soon for another family vacation in one of... More 

Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went this weekend and stayed in the loft suite. Staff is friendly and helpful, parking is outdoor and a hike up stairs to take up luggage, etc. Breakfast was good, but they only serve until 10 am, not 11 am like most other places. Missed it the first day because we didn't know that. Rooms are clean and comfy,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank calgal013
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, The time you have taken to submit a review through Trip Advisor is highly appreciated as it has provided some great strength of our hotel and Loft Suites. It has also made us aware of your concern as to the time breakfast is served until. As we are consistently looking for ways to improve our service and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

437 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Deluxe One King (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Two Queens (38)
Viewed
Hot Tub (12)
Viewed
Kitchenette (45)
Viewed
Kitchenette One Queen Two Twins (49)
Viewed
Loft King (37)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $124 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay