We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elk + Avenue Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elk + Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 822: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Banff was my absolute high light to visit while travelling Canada but walking into a "renovated" and "upgraded" room made it a place that I couldn't wait to get out of. Staff were unhelpful when we asked about changing rooms. Our room had stained carpet in multiple places, peeling paint in the bathroom and stained furniture. There was one tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krystal M
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. Our goal is that all of our guests enjoy their time with us and in Banff. The last thing we wish for is that guests are disappointed. Please feel free to contact me at the email address below. There are occasions where due to being booked out, we...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Centrally located in middle of 'downtown' Banff. Lovely spacious hotel. We had a newly renovated room which had a super comfy bed and lots space in the room. Front lobby staff are very pleasant and helpful. No issues with check in or check out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen900
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the excellent 5-star review. We are thrilled to hear that the bed in the newly renovated room was super comfy and that you found the staff so pleasant and helpful! Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed September 15, 2015

The fisrt room was next to where the staff would get their trolley for cleaning the rooms..too much noise. The second room was in the non renovated part next to the noise of the Ac system for the hotel;;;again too much noise. The 3rd room eas quite dirty with a huge stain on the carpet...Covered it with a bath tiwe;felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine V
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you did not find the room assigned to you adequate. We did receive a booking request that you had difficulty walking and therefore you and your traveling companion were placed as close to the lobby as possible. This placed your room in a higher...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed September 14, 2015

To be fair every staff member I encountered was very friendly. That is the extent of good things I have to say. The place is a dump. They advertise having a gym. In reality it is a 10x10 carpeted room w one bike and one treadmill. Zero free weights and not even a nautilus machine. Moving on to the "spa"....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy K
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to find that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do appreciate the feedback and your comments will be reviewed by the management team. Regarding the free Wi-Fi, we have experienced very few crashes this summer, but in the past week, we have needed to reset the main router on two separate days. We...

Hamilton
Reviewed September 14, 2015

We found this hotel online, we had been in Banff a few days earlier and decided after our friends wedding in Calgary we should come back to this amazing area. We arrived well before checkin and the staff were very courteous and allowed us to park a friends car so we could drive around together and sightsee. We returned and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherwood1
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you found room 343 amazing! It is my favourite room in the hotel, as it is, as you say, a "huge beautiful room with dramatic views." Thank you posting a very nice balanced review. We greatly appreciate the feedback on the comfort of the beds and the accommodating nature of the staff. It is a pleasure...

Reviewed September 13, 2015

It's barely a block from town centre. The name suggests glamour but it's a bit tired and carpet needs replacing. However rooms are spacious, linen clean and plentiful, staff pleasant. There is a grill attached but we didn't try that out. The reception staff were particularly helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tassylass
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that you found the reception staff to be so helpful. I am sorry that you found the hotel name more suggestive of glamour but we are in the midst of a full room renovation to modernize all rooms and hope to host you again. Sincerely,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed September 10, 2015

This is one of the most popular hotels in Banff. For the price you pay, you get huge rooms. They are a little dated, everything is good enough. Sleep quality is good with good quality mattress and bedding. Sound proofing is reasonable. No free breakfast. Wifi is reasonable speed, but there are dead spots. Parking is limited especially if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow Trip Advisor travellers and posting a positive and balanced 4-star review. I am particularly happy that you found the rooms to be so spacious! It is one of our best qualities. It is also heart-warming that the sleep quality was good and that you found the staff helpful. I hope that you...

Ireland
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Room was bland white but clean and comfortable Perfectly fine for a one night stopover and close to restaurants, shops and a large supermarket. Room did overlook a rather drab apartment block at rear of hotel. Staff very friendly, particularly the ladies dealing with baggage handling - very heavy work!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you found the modern room clean and comfortable. As our renovation proceeds, we are looking at ways to enhance the look of the modern rooms and your feedback is appreciated. I will make sure the staff know you appreciated their friendliness...

Banff, Canada
Reviewed September 8, 2015

Firstly we are seasoned global travellers from New Zealand, not retirees off on a once in a lifetime trip. This Banff International Hotel, in my opinion, would equate to a two star residence in Europe and sub-par in NZ or OZ. We booked a "Premium Room" through Expedia and found the room to be: musty smelling, mould in the bathroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter d
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are abjectly sorry that you found the accommodations not up to the standard that we strive for. We take your comments to heart and will take measures to ensure your fellow travellers do not share similar experiences. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2015

When my wife and I arrived here we were welcomed with an upgrade, which was all very nice until we got to our room. It was bland white, walls were white, bedding was white, furniture was white, the blinds were white, this room had recently undergone a refurbishment, there was nowhere to sit apart from two plastic garden type chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John J, Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay in one of our modern renovated rooms. In proceeding with our renovations, we do take your comments into consideration. We are sorry that the new look did not appeal to your sensibility. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

507 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (176)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe One King (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen (36)
Viewed
Hot Tub (20)
Viewed
Modern Loft (41)
Viewed
Modern Two Queen (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $89 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Elk + Avenue Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Elk + Avenue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms are very hot in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles 843joer843, 1 week ago | Read review
“I would recomend one of the deluxe rooms with a view, and on an upper floor to avoid noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Timothy_Z05, 1 week ago | Read review
“Pick any room -- but the loft room is especially nice with the extra sitting room and pull out couch.”
 of 5 bubbles heatherontherun, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“great location and fully renovated hotel”
 of 5 bubbles carlam556, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Away from the IGA”
 of 5 bubbles alanabanana86, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay