We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Banff International Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Banff International Hotel
Banff International Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
Rosetown, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Well I had to follow up from the last review I did if this hotel .True to there word they did look after me this time as a repeat customer.There staff here has always been great no difference this time .They have been doing a lot of remodelling still not 100percent sold on new look but they do have stoppers... More 

Helpful?
Thank golferfarmer
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear golferfarmer, We are truly happy that you enjoyed your repeat visit. We hope to see you again and make the next visit even better. I would be happy to specially select a room for you. Thank you also for the kind words for our staff. Your comments on our modern renovated rooms are much appreciated and your point of... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our 2 night stay, nice clean modern rooms. Perfect location, from here you can walk to just about anywhere in town. Ricky's Restaurant in the Hotel had the best breakfasts and suppers we had in 14 days in the Rockies. From a few helpful suggestions from the staff at the hotel were able to plan... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PRHanson
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob & Phyliis, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I am greatly pleased that you had a very enjoyable stay. I will pass on your lovely comments about the staff. They will be pleased to hear them. They try very hard. I also wish to thank you for the hearty recommendation of our restuarant Ricky's. I will let them... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

We were thrilled when we were told we'd be in the newer part of the hotel...until we saw the room. It was impossible to relax in the room because everything in it was stark white. We felt like we were sleeping in an Apple store. No curtains, only white shades. No bed table lights, only a row of bright fluorescent... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nevawu
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nevawu, Thank you for your feedback on our modern renovated rooms. We greatly appreciate your comments as they help us in understanding how our guests are perceiving the renovations and where we may improve. I am very sorry that you found the style so disappointing to your hopes. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

I have to say I was disappointed with the hotel in general. Location wise it's perfect however Banff is really small so all the hotels are perfect location. We were given a renovated room, the style is airy and bright however there are a few issues. - no bedside lights, just one huge light for the whole room. Usually my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DukeofPreston
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DukeofPreston, Thank you for your feedback on your stay in one of our renovated rooms. We consider your feedback very valuable as it helps us to improve our services and address our challenges. You have made some particularly good suggestions, such as a reading lamp; the bulk of which I will provide at our manager's meeting so that we... More 

Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
235 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We were given a newly renovated room. How new? It still had that new room smell. Huge, bright, airy, quiet, modern with excellent beds. Great Main Street location. Underground garage which is very helpful since parking in Banff is at a premium. Helpful, friendly staff and super-fast (for a hotel) wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Watsson
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Watsson, Thank you for your review of our hotel and our newly renovated rooms. I am very happy that you were satisfied with our beds, the parking, and our location. I am also very pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful. One of our intentions with the new rooms was to make them bright and airy and... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

They gave us a complimentary upgrade which sure was appreciated. Too bad it was only my wife and I because the room could have fit 6 people without a problem. Everything about the room was fantastic including the refridge, except they only had one small window that opened. The lobby was nice and clean. You couldn't pay me to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen S, Thank you for sharing a revirew of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you found the spacious room fantastic and the lobby nice and clean. Our ultimate goal is that our guests experience a high level of satisfaction during their stay. I am happy we hit the mark with you. Hope to see... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We stayed here as part of a tour and though we had a very large room the cleanliness of the room was not up to standard, it's in a fabulous location but I'm afraid in my opinion that's all it has got going for it, the rooms are very dated with no air conditioning and we had to ask for... More 

Helpful?
Thank maggss2016
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear celticBirmingham, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We take all the feedback we receive seriously and your comments will be passed to the appropirate department. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find the accommodations up to standard. This is the last thing we wish a guest to encounter. We... More 

Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

My hubby & I stayed here one night and we really enjoyed our stay. We got a huge room with 2 floors. The room/suite was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in the middle of all the happening places and centrally located. There is a restaurant at the hotel as well as banquet rooms, coin laundry etc. The only downside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Firouzeh1
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Firouzeh1: I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's convienent loaction to all that Banff has to offer. We do hope that our guests such as yourselves find the rooms comfortable and enjoy access to our amenities such as our coin laundry. We do hope that we can host you again should... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived we couldn't drive up to the hotel as it was blocked with tour buses. Once we checked in and tried to park the car there was barely any parking, with a low ceiling our SUV almost didn't fit. The lobby was beautiful, and then we arrived in the room. VERY outdated. The pictures on the website... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa T. Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Please know that should you find the room not to your taste, the front desk staff are always willing to select an alternate room or upgrade if there is availability. Our Superior category is our basic category,... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in the beginning of winter. We enjoyed our stay, the hotel is in a great location with shops and restaurants right outside your door. It is an old hotel, but the rooms have been redone and are very clean. Parking can be a bit of an issue in high season as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carmen G: Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and would love to welcome you back here at anytime. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

447 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe One King (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen (36)
Viewed
Hot Tub (20)
Viewed
Modern Loft (41)
Viewed
Modern Two Queen (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#22 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $92 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay