We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Irwin's Mountain Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Priceline.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Irwin\\
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Irwin's Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 455: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights while travelling through the Rockies. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the main drag. The rooms are very ell equipped, clean and maintained. They even provided a kettle for us tea drinking Brits. The room had a jacuzzi but I did not like the noise of it. The staff are friendly and create... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank farmerwaydee
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your most honest review. I am very pleased to hear about your experience here. You named the breathtaking views. Our balconies are quaint and perfect to soak in what is truly Banff. Mountains in the distance and fresh air. There is no pretense here from staff. Our Budget property is perfect for the traveler who is looking... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Read the history of Irwin's Mountain Inn, it is quite fascinating and to stay competitive in Banff is remarkable. This hotel aged gracefully, its not because it is expensive, hotel has very common amenities, clean beddings, clean toilet, hot and cold water, close to downtown just like any hotel in Banff, really nothing much to brag about this hotel but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J58Judy
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review. I was very encouraged by the review for a number of reasons. The highlighted portion of history that you wrote about was very personal for me. Arlen Irwin, who was the founder of this hotel, passed away about a year ago now. His mother, Elizabeth made the focal point of this property... More 

Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here when on atour of the Rockies. Ma great stay, staff helpful and the room provided all we needed. We only ate breakfast there once as there are many options for food in banff but the breakfast was good. Quite a walk into Banff but this didn't bother us as we were there to walk. Parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hwalton
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take the time to thank you for your most helpful review. I am very glad you enjoyed the El Toro. They serve an amazing Breakfast and Dinner. Their menu is both generous and served with quality and class. We are proud partners of such an achievement. Yes we are just 2 short blocks away from downtown,... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had a last minute trip to Banff and was pleasantly surprised to find a great deal at Irwin's Mountain Inn. The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hot tub, exercise facility, secure underground parking, good restaurant attached, ski lockers, etc. all made this a good place to stay in Banff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel C
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I'm super excited to have read your review. Irwin's has tried so hard to be a last minute booking venue and I am pleased that it met your expectations. We keep things simple and uncomplicated here at the Inn. The beauty of our staff has to do with their interaction and genuine interest and bringing you a great experience. We... More 

Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want comfort, clean rooms and helpful staff you won't go far wrong at Irwin's. Yes, the bathroom in 351 is a bit dated, but it's clean and usable. If you need floor to ceiling marble and contemporary bath fittings then Irwin's probably isn't for you, at the end of the day it's an Inn. It's only a few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMac2605
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review you left for us. I am most pleased that you highlighted the fond aspects of our property. We are in fact a 3 star property and our marketing is catered to those on a budget. Our hotel offers something for everyone as far as room size and number of people. Free WiFi, Free... More 

Warman
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked 6 rooms for our family for 3 nights. The rooms were what we expected, the staff very friendly. They had a conference room downstairs which was not being used and they let us use it in the evenings with our family. This helped the kids in that they had a spot to use up some of their energy... More 

Helpful?
Thank BEW_traveller
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take the time to thank you for your most kind review of our property. I am so glad we could help with your group size and accomodate your lovely family. Yes, it worked quite nicely for you folks to use our conference room. I was glad our staff was able to assist in that area. We... More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Reasonable hotel on the main drag a few blocks from downtown Banff, the upgraded room (with mountain view) I had was large & clean with comfortable beds. The problems started when I was awoken at 3 am by an incessant loud noise that sounded like someone turning the tap water on & off every 30 seconds & appeared to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank flybynite85
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks kindly for your review. I can see you were very disappointed by your experience of staff at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Let me start by apologizing and attempting to empathize with your experience. Although we did change rooms and we attempted to make right what you experienced as "noise", it seems were unable to do so. On top of that... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed for 2 nights. Room is really great. Spacious, clean, bed is really comfortable. Theres free wifi! Free parking. Nice restaurant right through the lobby. The staff is really friendly and so helpful in any aspect.we had to drive to Calgary in the snow and the guy in the front desk helped us and calmed us about driving in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amir G
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your most helpful review of Irwin's Mountain Inn. You have taken the time to highlight so many of our ammenities and you have been so kind to take the time to highlight staff who were ready to help. This is very appreciated and it is something we have taken great time and effort to work... More 

Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at Irwin's for 3 months on my gap year. It's in a lovely situation and only a short walk from the town with lots of shops and restaurants. It has a very nice hot tub that we were in most days after a long day's skiing! The reception staff were especially helpful and really made me feel very welcome.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynC19
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of our property. Thanks for highlighting our ammenities for our future guests. You have highlighted all that we are so proud of here at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. The great access to public transportation is a huge plus for our property. Our Hot Tub is one of the hottest in town. The free WIFI... More 

Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked Irwin's Mountain Inn for a four night stay (Monday - Thursday) through Hotwire and was very happy both with the value and the quality of the hotel. When we arrived, we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We ate at the hotel restaurant El Toro three... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Eunice1966
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. Your comments are both helpful and appreciated. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a family owned business in the heart of Banff. Our staff are both personable and helpful. Our goal is to help our guests find what they are looking for in Banff. There are so many sights and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

339 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (47)
Viewed
Hot Tub (12)
Viewed
Mountain View Jetted Tub Room (34)
Viewed
One King Bed (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Queen Bed Suite (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $76 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay