We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Irwin's Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Irwin\\
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to Irwin's many times before, and this has been the first time I have experienced something like this. After a long road trip we immediately stopped to our hotel to drop off our bags. I asked the front desk lady for the room number so I can park our car and start unloading our bags as my... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chantelfernandez
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello chantelfernandez. We take these reviews very seriously and after extensive investigation we have not found anything that resembles your experience. I am hoping your comments are a simple misunderstanding. Our hotel prides itself on excellent customer service. Our hotel does ensure security measures are taken to provide safety to our guests. Our desk staff are trained not to give... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife just recently spent the night and after a nice night on the town was hoping too relax at the hot tub but was turned away. For the amount you pay too spend one night would be nice too get too use all the facilities. Keep the tub open till ten or have later times for adults.

Helpful?
1 Thank Garret T
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello Garret T. I am sorry that the time of closure of the hot tub was unfavorable for your stay. There are security procedures that we take to ensure the safety of our guests and we try to ensure these standards reflect health and safety for Alberta Health. We do not wish to have our guests uninformed so we post... More 

SW Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location, from our perspective was perfect. A short walk to downtown but still away from the bustle and noise. The Inn is dated but it is clean and well managed. Everyone was very courteous and helpful. One suggestion would be to ask customers with smaller cars to park underground where larger vehicles do not fit. This will open more... More 

Helpful?
Thank tripmagoo
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello tripmagoo! Thanks so much for your review. I appreciate your review details and was hoping to understand a few of your comments. I am wondering if you would email me at the hotel to explain your experience of the El Toro restaurant as this comment took us by surprise. You are very correct about our parking. We work hard... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located in downtown and very convenient. we had two queen beds room, very clean and nice. especially the room has a small kitchen so we can make a simple breakfast! Staffs are nice and helpful. Would like to recommend to friends.

Helpful?
Thank jie Y
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello jie Y! Thanks for your most recent review. I am so thrilled that our hotel was the right fit for your stay. Thanks for highlighting our cleanliness and our staff. I will pass on the good encouragement for them. Thanks for the recommendation! Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Steinbach, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was nice, comfortable bed, quiet hotel with pleasant front desk staff. The room was located beside the hot tub area and above the laundry area. As a result the room stayed quite warm and we needed to use the air conditioner constantly. Overall a very good stay.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Z4599EZscottw
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello Z4599EZscottw! Thanks for your review of our hotel. I sure am glad that our staff and clean hotel room was the right touch for your stay. Yes we are one of the few hotels with an AC in the summer and it does help with some of the warmer days in Banff. I sure hope you folks join us... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had two queen beds, microwave, tv, fridge. It was a very nice room. Wifi worked good but sometimes it would be disconnected... Staff was nice. The houskeepers did very good job. Would love to stay again

Helpful?
Thank 428jiliant
GM-IMI, Front Office Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello 428jilant! Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that your WIFI experienced problems with connection. This is highly unusual given our investment in a high quality WIFI system. I am very apologetic for the technical difficulties. I am very glad that our staff made up for some of the problems you experienced. Our team is a solid... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is an old hotel , with good location. The good part is the room has a kitchen so we can make us breakfast, the bad part is that it is really not new. Anyway, it is a ok hotel in Jasper since you don't have much choice in the summer.

Helpful?
Thank xin w
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello xin w. Thanks for your review. We are located in Banff. I wonder if you have the wrong hotel. We are a 65 room hotel that looks forward to serving you. Built in 1967 we have been in Banff as a family owned and operated hotel. Our team is delighted to show you the Banff experience with clean and... More 

Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in downtown, within walking distance to shops and restaurants and reasonably priced. The room is spacious and quite clean.

Helpful?
Thank SutySee
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello SutySee! Thanks for your review of our hotel. I really appreciate your simple and polite response to your stay here. We love hosting our guests in cleanliness and comfort and with the best welcome in Banff from our friendly and courteous staff. Thanks for your comments. More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

We stayed at Irwin's one night on 7/20/16. Don't let the name, website or photos fool you. When we checked in and went to our room, we were looking right into the business next door. Since we were on the first floor right by the walk way to the parking garage, you could never have your blinds open or people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathe913
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kathe913. Thanks for your review, but I must take the time to correct a few items. While being on the first floor can be a challenge at any Hotel, our windows are equipped with pull down shades and curtains. So in having the shade pulled down, it blocks anyone from seeing in. Unfortunately, it seems you were looking to... More 

Niverville, MB Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We stayed here for 1 night in July. I booked it on tripadvisor while travelling at Calgary. A very nice hotel and reasonable price. We ate at the El Toro restaurant inside the hotel. A little costly but delicious strip steak. This hotel does not have a pool but a large hot tub and a sauna. Will stay there again... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBarb F
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello JohnBarb F! Thanks so much for your review of our hotel. I am so glad that your stay with us met your expectations. I am super glad to hear you chose to stay with us based on our reviews. I hope you stay with us again soon and that you chose to do so by booking direct with our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

338 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (47)
Viewed
Hot Tub (12)
Viewed
Mountain View Jetted Tub Room (34)
Viewed
One King Bed (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Queen Bed Suite (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $72 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay