We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Palmas De Cortez

Calle 20 de Noviembre # 2, Los Barriles 23330 Mexico
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (409)
Pool & Beach (82)
Room & Suite (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 resorts in Los Barriles
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.8

Hotel Palmas de Cortez is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Los Barriles, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Palmas de Cortez provide a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and guests can stay connected with free internet access.

In addition, while staying at Hotel Palmas de Cortez guests have access to room service, a gift shop, and a sun terrace. You can also enjoy a pool and breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Hotel Palmas de Cortez.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Los Barriles' popular shrimp restaurants such as La Casita Restaurant & Sushi Bar, Smokey's Grill and Cantina, and El Gecko Beach Club, all a short distance from Hotel Palmas de Cortez.

Enjoy your stay in Los Barriles!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Secured parking
Public wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Fishing
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Manicure
Massage
Gift shop
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Calle 20 de Noviembre # 2, Los Barriles 23330 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Hotel Palmas De Cortez
326Reviews39Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 125
  • 116
  • 47
  • 17
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SB wrote a review Feb 2024
Palo Alto, California15 contributions
+1
I cannot believe how far downhill this hotel has gone. The room was disgusting, the "newly renovated" rooms we booked were not available so they put us all together in an "upgraded" condo which was so dirty and disgusting we did not stay -left late at night and drove back to Cabo. Dirty linens, hairs on the beds, water stains, no light in the bathroom or hot water. The late-night front desk clerk was so rude and spoke badly about us in Spanish to a co-worker which we fully understood to her surprise as we are fluent. Took pictures and videos of the space before we left but did not use it and probably will not get our money back. Save your money and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: In desperate need of a renovation. Rude late-night staff was not helpful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eddie Dalmau, General Manager at Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Dear Valued Guest, We are sincerely sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the numerous issues you encountered, which clearly fell short of both our standards and your expectations. We take guest feedback very seriously, and your detailed account of your stay is deeply concerning to us. Rest assured that we are thoroughly investigating each of the issues you raised to ensure they are addressed promptly and effectively. Regarding the room allocation, we understand the frustration caused by not receiving the room type you initially booked. This was an oversight on our part, and we regret any inconvenience it may have caused. Additionally, the condition of the condo you were placed in is unacceptable, and we are taking immediate steps to rectify the cleanliness and maintenance issues you highlighted. The behavior of our staff, particularly the late-night front desk clerk, does not align with our values of professionalism and respect. We are addressing this matter internally to ensure that all members of our team uphold the highest standards of customer service at all times. We sincerely apologize for failing to provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to improve our services and facilities. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further and to make amends for the shortcomings you experienced. Please reach out to eddie@vanwomerresorts.com at your earliest convenience so we can assist you with a resolution. Once again, we apologize for the disappointment you experienced and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back for a much-improved experience in the future. Warm regards, Eddie Dalmau Manager Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kenton B B wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions
Once again we spent our 2 weeks at Palmas de Cortez. Had a great stay, staff was very accommodating. Fishing was absolutely fantastic as January is usually off season . We went out twice and caught more fish than we could handle . Limited out on big Dorado, caught a tuna for something different and released 5 marlin. Fun times. My only complaint is the place is getting just a bit dated. Maybe Queen size beds instead of doubles and every faucet I touched was loose but they all worked. I would still recommend and would still go back again although the price of everything is creeping up in Los Barrilles. It’s not like old times anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Things to avoid are jelly fish it’s not a problem but just watch out. They are here and don’t...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Joe wrote a review Jan 2024
Helena, Montana42 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Hotel Palmas de Cortez is on a fantastic spot beautiful ocean, beautiful beaches. The staff are very nice. The food was good at both restaurants. The beds in the hotel were not very comfortable. Otherwise I would’ve given it five stars. I’m finding Mexico to be way too expensive. Los Barrilles has gotten out of hand as of late. It seems to be following the trend in the Los Cabos area. This is the quaint, quiet part of Mexico, with beautiful beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Plenty of parking. pools were chilly, use the hot tub in January
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lesliekap wrote a review Dec 2023
Vancouver, Canada109 contributions33 helpful votes
My husband, dog and I stayed in Hotel Palmas de Cortez in December 2023. The room was a little older but very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was made to order (Mexican and North American dishes) was fantastic and the restaurant is right on the beach with outdoor tables on a deck. The front desk, cleaning and restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful and they were super welcoming to our dog. We were able to walk to great restaurants for dinner along the beach a couple of times and had a glass of wine and a beer at a scenic bar on the water that was associated with the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TomandCat wrote a review Aug 2023
Glen Cove, New York21 contributions6 helpful votes
Four of us 50 something guys flew from NY to Cabo and stayed and fished here the last week of May. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo which was located steps from the sushi spot and the restaurant. We fished 3 days on the Don Julio and had an incredible time! Caught 2 striped marlin, a couple of dorado, 1 huge blue marlin and about 25 tuna. They have a fishing manager who makes sure that water, beer and lunch are loaded onto the boat in the AM--just see him the day before. Food is great--they will sashimi, sushi, or cook your catch if you want, which was wonderful. Drinks are inexpensive ($6 margaritas!) and the service everywhere was fantastic. *** Now for the bad part--the day of our departure we learned that JetBlue (only direct flight from NY!) does not allow fish to be brought aboard. NO ONE mentioned that to us prior to that morning and two months later we are still trying to get our 160+ pounds of tuna and dorado home. If you fly there--DO NOT FLY JETBLUE.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brenda B wrote a review Jun 2023
Santa Monica, California22 contributions15 helpful votes
We have a house in punta pescadero my husband parents built in the 80s so since then on our visits we’ve always did a quad run into town to this hotel, ate lunch with double margaritas then went to the pool and would jump in and have at least two more double margaritas each and then leave.. this time we were told to leave that since we were not staying there by a security person! How insulting, we thought we were considered loyal returning customers that spent money and tipped well.. a lot of the staff knows us well… such a shame, we will choose other options elsewhere from now on.. very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eddie Dalmau, General Manager at Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Dear Brenda, We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment caused during your recent visit to our hotel. We deeply value the loyalty of our returning customers and regret if our recent policy change regarding pool access has caused frustration. Please understand that our decision to restrict pool access to registered guests only was made to ensure a better experience for all guests and to maintain the safety and security of our facilities. However, we want to clarify that our bars and restaurants remain open to the public, and we welcome you to continue enjoying those amenities during your visits. We understand that this change may come as a surprise, especially given your long-standing relationship with our hotel. Please know that it was not our intention to offend or inconvenience you, and we apologize if that was the outcome. Once again, we apologize for any misunderstanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back under more favorable circumstances. Warm regards, Eddie Dalmau Manager Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dcobyrne wrote a review Mar 2023
Kansas City, Missouri166 contributions23 helpful votes
Way over priced for accommodations. Definitely needs to be spruced up. Towels were threadbare, 2 hot tubs never hot, ironing board but no iron. Bedding threadbare, too. Has breakfast both mornings and it was very good and fairly priced. Service was excellent in the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Len P wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
I first went to Los Barriles in 2021 and I couldn't believe how laid back it was. I took my wife there this spring and once again it was incredible. Fishing out of Palmas de Cortez is amazing and Anibal is the man to talk to for all your reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: winter months bring out the kite boarders
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Angela D wrote a review Oct 2022
Lake Charles, Louisiana35 contributions9 helpful votes
We traveled to East Cape for the first time to fish and snorkel. Hotel Palmas has a terrific view of the Sea of Cortez, fishing fleet moored close to shore and sunrise. Our room was a little worn around the edges. Had a pool view room with two queens. The double vanity areas in the bedroom was a plus as there was limited counter space in the bathroom. Room was clean and beds were soft enough on top but firm enough in the core. It was inconvenient that the room key was for the door on the parking lot side but sliding door to the pool had no key, so one of us had to walk around when locking the room as we mostly were on the pool side. Pool area was great but pool furniture was a mixed bag of style and age. Staff was helpful when asked and polite but not much for asking if you needed anything. There were no safety or security issues for our stay. Grounds of hotel are well landscaped. All the hotel restaurants a just ok and the cocktails are barely passable, so I would stick to beer and wine. Hotel was very quiet at night as most guests have early wake up for fishing charter.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hansup1968 wrote a review May 2022
Los Angeles, California12 contributions15 helpful votes
Came for the first time and love this place. A fisherman’s or (women’s) haven. You can fish from shore or charter a boat. Lots of aquatic life on the beaches- we got a room with ocean view, quick access to pool. Lots of pools, great food, and all of the staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. This is more old school Baja- Don’t waste you’re time in Cabo, get off the beaten path- head north. Good fishing guides- I’ll definitely be back. Town is within walking distance- small and friendly town. Cool vibes.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Los Barriles area.
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
resort palmas de cortez, palmas de cortez hotel
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos Barriles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PALMAS DE CORTEZ $143 ($̶1̶7̶0̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Resort Reviews - Los Barriles, Mexico

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Palmas De Cortez
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Nearby attractions include Mercado La Costa (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Terraza de German, Smokey's Grill and Cantina, and Restaurante Piscis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Palmas De Cortez have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Palmas De Cortez offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Palmas De Cortez located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Los Barriles.
Does Hotel Palmas De Cortez offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Palmas De Cortez?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.