We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonoran Spa Resort

Save
Share
Camino La Choya Km. 3.7, Puerto Penasco 83550 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (101)
Pool & Beach (24)
Room & Suite (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sonoran Spa Resort
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 26 hotels in Puerto Penasco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sonoran Spa Resort - 202 Condos on Sandy Beach - Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point Mexico) - One, Two & Three Bedrooms - Less 4 Hours From Phoenix, Tucson & Yuma - Full Service Spa - On-Site Restaurant - Tennis Courts - Three Swimming Pools (One Heated) - Jacuzzis - BBQ Grills - Exercise Room - In Room Phones - No Spring Breakers Please
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Public wifi
Hot tub
Restaurant
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
French
77Reviews21Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 38
  • 25
  • 6
  • 0
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TarrynJ wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions
+1
The resort amenities are great. Check in was pleasant and the staff were friendly and professional. They are taking all the necessary precautions during this time of COVID. We felt safe and enjoyed or time OUTSIDE of our room. I'm unsure how this resort operates, if these units are privately owned... but I will never take a chance and pay for accommodation this poor again. Maybe $400 for 2 nights in a deal in this area but certainly not worth the room in this case. The unit was poorly kept. Curtains ripped, shower curtains falling apart, dingy, old and dirty bed linens, AC definitely not operational. It was hotter inside than it was outside. So disappointed with the experience of the unit. See pictures to decide for yourself what you would pay for a room like this.... I wish I could rate the unit separately from the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Ortiz, Director General at Sonoran Spa Resort
Responded Nov 27, 2020
Hi Tarry, We are very sorry that your vacation was affected by the problem you reported. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know the issues you experienced. We have reported your issue to the department head so they can take immediate action so it does not occur again. We always want our guests to have the best experience possible With your input you have allowed us the ability to make the experience better for others. Each property we manage is independently owned and some owners update sooner than others. This is some of the charms when staying in a condo resort but for some the property will not meet their personal expectations. Thank you and please let our reservations agent know on your next visit so we can select our best unit available for you. Thank you for helping us to become better for others.
Read more
Amir B wrote a review Oct 2020
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution
I never leave reviews because I'm pretty satisfied with my hotel stays. This was the worst hotel stay I experienced and I'm leaving a review to warn others. The AC didnt work upon arrival and neither did the fridge. We had told customer service about it twice and they only ended fixing the AC. We gave up on the fridge. We had to buy ice daily to keep our groceries cold in the cooler. A few days after our stay i noticed a $200 charge on my credit card. I called to ask why the charge and they mentioned the "white" towels were "stained". There were no paper napkins of any sort to use so we used the towels to wipe our 2 year old mouth after eating. I tried telling customer service this over the phone and they ignored it and said i signed something. I wouldn't recommend this as a place to stay because they will look for hidden ways to charge you fees. I stayed in many other places in rocky point that didn't seem to look for hidden ways to charge you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Pilo R wrote a review Sep 2020
13 contributions
+1
The staff was friendly, mostly everything worked and was well kept. My only complaint was the first shower developed a leak in the floor below us. We were at E 704 and it happened on the last day. We stayed four nights, we were very comfortable and cool in the room. The restaurants near by were fine. We did prefer the ones at the market a bit more. We hated the Wrecked restuarant down the road. It was too Americanized, the prices were American, the flies made us leave halfway through our meal. The hotel elevators were cool, the beach shower was good too. The water there is very safe for the kids. We were in the water 6 hours a day. Bring a mask. snorkel, and maybe fins. I will be back again. PS our room was owned by a person. They came in a day after we left. very cozy room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd flloor and above for a good view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Ortiz, Director General at Sonoran Spa Resort
Responded Nov 27, 2020
Hi dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know your experience, this will make us be better. We hope to have you back soon!
Read more
Brandon K wrote a review Mar 2020
Flagstaff, Arizona1,304 contributions425 helpful votes
We were able to get a room here from Airbnb as these are generally owned condos that may be rented out by owners. Be aware that there may be a minimum number of nights. The place is on the Sandy Beach side and is on a short street that ends with gates to two resorts and a few restaurants. The gate guard will only let you in if you are on the list, so make sure whoever you rent from calls it in. Front desk was helpful once they knew we belonged there. This place has some wear on it, but is still nice overall. It has its own pool complex and hot tub plus public beach access. It also has a restaurant and gym within the complex. Our condo was nice as a two bedroom two bath with a balcony looking at the pool and beach. Sea air rusted part of the security screen door and there were wear issues in a few places. Still fit three adults and three young kids really well. Main downside to us is that we like renting houses here so we can leave beach toys out for easy access and this place requires a staging plan from the room and car to the beach. Would stay here more with older kids.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Ortiz, Director General at Sonoran Spa Resort
Responded Nov 27, 2020
Hi Brandon, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know your experience, this will make us be better. We hope to have you back soon!
Read more
RussfromPVAZ wrote a review Mar 2020
Phoenix, United States44 contributions29 helpful votes
I've enjoyed several meals at this location and have never been disappointed. As usual, I ordered the ribeye steak and it was delicious. I enjoy the family setting and excellent food. It is always a joy to visit our neighbor to the east of our condo at the Sonoran Sea (802E).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: While I've never over nighted at this venue, I would suggest, any room on the south side...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Ortiz, Director General at Sonoran Spa Resort
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Hello! Thank you for letting us know your experience! :)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sonoran spa resort at sandy beach hotel puerto penasco, sonoran hotel puerto peñasco, sonoran resort puerto peñasco, sonoran spa puerto penasco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sonoran Spa Resort at Sandy Beach
LOCATION
MexicoNorthern MexicoSonoraPuerto Penasco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
202
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sonoran Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sonoran Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include El Pinacate y Gran Desierto de Altar Biosphere Reserve (2.6 miles), Playa Bonita Beach (1.8 miles), and Old Port (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonoran Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sonoran Spa Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sonoran Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonoran Spa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonoran Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pane e Vino Ristorante, Chef Mickey's Place, and Kaffee Haus Puerto Peñasco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonoran Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonoran Spa Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Is Sonoran Spa Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.