We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,064 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,063: English reviews
London
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived in the dead of night and were delighted to find our quaint abode with en-suite clean, tidy and ready for our arrival. Breakfast was served for our group and everyone ate their fill. The manager Wayne was outstanding, a hilarious barrel of laughs at all times of the day, with an armoury of knowledge about local walks, lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonDeeva
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

It was most enjoyable to host your group for your friend's birthday. We are very pleased everyone had such a enjoyable and fun time. Just remember, we are a not so long drive from London and an even shorter direct train from Euston if you ever need to escape the city again! Thanks.

Tamworth
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have recently returned from a short stay at Damson Dene and cannot fault it. Our room was very clean and comfortable,the public rooms were spacious and welcoming, the staff were all friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the food. Would very happily return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MBOOth982
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

That last line of your review means the world to us. Turning first-time guests into repeat ones is so important for us. We're happy that you would visit us again and we certainly hope that you do. Thanks again.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The location 10/10 charming relaxing. The people 10/10 friendly an accommodating The gardens and surrounding area cannot wish for better 2.5 miles only to the lake. The room 5/10 comfortable yes in need of decoration yes strange lay out no light. The food 5/10 sometimes good sometimes not The worst cheese and biscuits I have seen in my tender 60...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 818JOHNR818
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review. We definitely enjoyed the bits where we rated highly but also appreciate where you believe we can improve. We're a bit surprised with the comments on our food as we usually receive excellent reviews (as others can see on here). We'll keep working to ensure everyone has the kind of wonderful experience they will be...

Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Was nice place just small drive from bowness. Food was excellent and produce was fantastic as well. We took our dog and was great to be able to do that. Thanks for the stay Would say the same as other guest's and to fo a lil bit of updating. The hotel wasnt bad though. Clean and comfy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NearyM
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to visit us and posting your nice review. You are most welcome for the stay and we hope you'll visit us again!

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just had a lovely overnight stay with five friends and their dogs, Stayed in the family rooms outside the main hotel and found them very clean and comfortable, we all found the staff to be extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It was our second visit to Damson Dene and it certainly won't be the last.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian b
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. The staff in particular are appreciative of being mentioned in your review as well. The 5-star rating helps us to know we are doing a good job. We certainly hope it won't be your last visit! See you again soon.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The group booked 6 rooms, our deal included 2 night stay, half lake cruise, 1night dinner and breakfast. We got lots more than that. Wayne was brilliant entertainment during the quiz night, got everyone engaged and taking. On the second day, during breakfast, Wayne offered us maps and invaluable tips on where to go for our walks which planned perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandeep K
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful review of your group stay with us. We thank you for the 5-star review as well. We couldn't be happier that you appreciated the private room for dinner and the little added extras that we know can make all the difference. We definitely hope to be welcoming you back before too long, thanks again.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a second visit for a group of five with the same number of dogs for a walking break. The staff are lovely and made our stay very relaxing, nothing too much trouble and welcomed the dogs as well as us. We stayed in the family rooms which are separate to the main hotel which is perfect for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73sunny
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Simply a wonderful review to read; thank you so much for posting it and for the 5-star review. We are very happy everyone felt so welcomed, including your lovely dogs. We do work hard to make this so and it is nice to read that you appreciated it. We hope we'll be seeing you again, thank you.

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went to the Damson Dene in a party of five couples it was a really great location for a hotel the food was good,,the bedroom we stayed in had no shower working as it was only for one night we never complained.Great entertainment at night we all had a quiz with an excellent compere. Breakfast was good but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexW1s12
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying as a group and posting your nice review. You never know what you might see in the surrounding fields as all kinds of creatures call them home. We are sorry about the shower issue, although we would have sorted it straight away had we known! We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay and hope to see...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. I have stayed in several hotels round bowness/ambleside which have always been in the town themselves. This was a lovely, peaceful hotel in the countryside. Really relaxed atmosphere - the staff were all really helpful and friendly. I would definately come back. The room was clean and comfortable-. We booked this through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseH63
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We also thank you for your 5-star rating as well. Our team in the kitchen are also thankful for your wonderful comments regarding your dining experience. We hope that you will come and see us again. Thank you.

Bradford
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have visited the Damson Dene now on quite a few occasions and never been disappointed. This time was very last minute (A Friday afternoon telephone call for a Saturday night stay!). We were lucky to find they had a cancellation for a double room and we jumped at it - a bonus to be offered it at a reduced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynne461
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

It was sheer delight reading your review and seeing you once again. The new ducklings are always a welcome addition not least because it symbolises the return of spring! We further appreciate how you understand the hotel so well. We will certainly look forward to seeing you again!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

599 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (451)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,233 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,007 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: $89 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travelers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only book Suites, the other rooms are too small.”
Argiek, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms on ground floor small Avoid Room 25!”
stuartbruce42, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
“stayed in room 11 overlooking the small lake and garden but be prepared we woke up to ducks sitting on the windowsill”
350KarenT, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
“We were on a Groupon trip so were on the ground floor as we were the last time, the rooms we had were 24 and 28, both functional and comfy”
geob442, Mar 11, 2017 | Read review
“Any room from 13-21 would be the best.”
alanbG8502DF, Mar 9, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question