We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 2,028: English reviews
Start your review of Damson Dene Hotel
 Click to rate
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 2 night break. Took advantage of the complimentary cruise on Lake Windermere which was very nice. I won't nit-pick, e.g. room quite small but had everything needed. Dinner was very good and piping hot. Everything was spotlessly clean. Lovely setting - despite the rain, and only a short drive from Lake Windermere. Highly impressed by ALL...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinehaigh2016
Keele, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really could have expected nothing more! The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was superb, the deal (walking in the lakes) was value for money, the bed was comfy and huge, the bathroom was clean and well stocked and the biscuits were refreshed every day. Only thing that could have improved was the weather. But the log fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I were given this break as a 'Wowcher spa break". Staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal in the restaurant was very well cooked, although could have done with a few more menu choices. Not a modern hotel, more quaint and cosy. Ideal retreat to use has a base for visiting the lake district. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion P
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting on our special offer and posting your nice review. We appreciate the feedback on the menu. With a table d'hote menu, our thinking is to do a few dishes spectacularly well and we're delighted you enjoyed your meal. Thanks again.

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked this for my lady as a getaway to relax after her birthday and valentines day. It was advertised by Wowcher as a "spa break" this it very much is not. The entrance lobby is nice enough with its log fire, but mostly everything else is a disappointment. The rooms are small and basic and on our second night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dudley P
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We are so disappointed to read this review and apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you know, we were having issues with the sauna and steam room which have since been sorted. It's such a disappointment that this occurred when you were looking forward to using them and I completely understand your feedback. We wish...

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in a twin room along with my dog . We go away every year for a girly break and I have to admit that some of the hotels we have stayed in have clearly put us in the least desirable rooms available "because these are the dog friendly rooms". The Damson Dene...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. We love that you mention the various departments of staff, it's nice when their contributions are recognised by our lovely guests so thank you. We're happy you were able to bring your dog along as well. Thanks for saying you will return, we hope the next time you are able to take advantage of the wonderful...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit to this lovely cosy hotel. Staff are so helpful and friendly, not a so called modern hotel but quaint and cosy, but that's what makes it a lovely quiet gem in the lake district. Can't praise it enough and will be going back for another visit. The food is great and the breakfast with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for spending some time here and for your nice review. I'll wager that we might be the only place around that offers breakfast and a duck show every morning! Thank you for your mention of our hard working staff as well, they are also the stars of the show! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I hate having to write things like this, but I was so looking forward to a quiet 2 night stay at the hotel. Although we did have a nice time we have been left with a horrible vile taste in our mouths! We checked out on Sunday 12 Feb and I realised I had left my make up bag, a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fezant
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

This review essentially accuses our staff of something they did not do. We've looked everywhere for the missing bag; we checked the room, spoke to housekeeping staff, checked all of the housekeeping cupboards, searched lost property and nothing was found. We also viewed all of the CCTV footage which would have clearly showed if someone had taken a bright bag...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've just come back from a lovely 2 night break. We booked direct and got a great deal. The hotel is very welcoming and our room was lovely and clean. The food was high quality and plentiful. We ate in both the restaurant and the bar. We joined in at the quiz on Sunday evening which was great fun. Was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babymoonbeam
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review to read, thanks so much for posting it and for your 5 star rating. You've provided an excellent tip, always book direct as we will endeavour to beat any deal found online. We appreciate your comments about the service you've received here and hope to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the first time 12/02/17,on a groupon deal. We had a brilliant stay from start to finish. Room 3 was lovely,the spa and pool were good. The evening meal in the Heron suite was beautiful with excellent service and the breakfast was fantastic with a really good choice. All the staff were extremely friendly and professional. A special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul9992014
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. One night just isn't enough to experience everything on offer here as your review attests to. Thanks for all of your wonderful comments and we'll look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just enjoyed a really good 3 night break at the Damson Dene, very good value for money, exceptionally well run, fantastic food, lovely open fire and cream tea. We hope to go again soon! The decor is good quality and in lovely condition. There is a super little pool, about 10 metres long, new changing rooms. Good location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debparker30
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and for posting your wonderful review. 5 star ratings are so important to us so thanks for that rating as well. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

577 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (429)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,190 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,969 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: $87 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travelers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the duck pond”
 of 5 bubbles catherinehaigh2016, yesterday | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the countryside”
 of 5 bubbles K6184JOsusanh, 5 days ago | Read review
“Book on deal, not sure it's worth it full price. Ground floor room noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jennall2014, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 3 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles maz6766, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The four poster rooms offer a very good view”
 of 5 bubbles anntf, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question