We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,967 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,966: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Average room. Pool ok but sauna cold. Bar unappealing and breakfast was tepid and of generally poor quality. When i mentioned this was told to get the food from the bottom and that the food was now piping hot.

Helpful?
Thank Jons1961
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed on a two night break with evening meal one night and two breakfasts. Whilst rooms were a little tired the food was good and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Excellent service in restaurant , they helped us with copying maps and even posted home a mobile phone charger I left in room. Location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert a
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here before - was not disappointed, lovely staff, good food and nice room with comfortable bed. It is very cosy, especially as it is decorated for Christmas, lost count of the number of Christmas Trees - a real log fire wonderful. On our first visit it was just after the floods and the grounds were not at their best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynneon
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your nice review. This year we may have outdone all previous years as there are 23 Christmas trees at last count. Sometimes they spring out of nowhere so there may be even more by now! We are hard at work finishing our improvements and we'd love to get your feedback on it during your next visit. Thanks... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Damson Dene, this was our third stay at the hotel so we knew pretty much what to expect, we weren't disappointed the staff are very accommodating, the food is excellent in both the restaurant and the bar and the surroundings were very relaxing. The hotel is kept lovely and warm all... More 

Helpful?
Thank lioneli16
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review and for visiting us yet again. We cannot thank you enough for your 5 star rating and lovely comments about our staff and food. We'll look forward to welcoming you back for visit number 4! Thank you. More 

Bath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived quite late to check in but we were greeted well nevertheless. It's a quirky hotel with a lot of history, very close to Windermere Lake with lots to visit just a drive away. The staff of the hotel was great and people like Flavius made our stay better. If you're looking for a quiet getaway with good facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian349
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting and for your lovely review. All of the staff appreciate your lovely comments about them as well. Thanks for recommending us to others and we'll hopefully get to welcome you back again as well. Thank you. More 

Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 24th-25th November in room 1, the break was for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and what a lovely Hotel it was. The hotel reception is the cosiest we have ever encountered, and looked welcoming with the log fire and all the lovely lit Christmas trees. The facilities were fab, we thoroughly enjoyed the use of the leisure centre, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank bernadettep147
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for visiting and taking the time to post your delightful review of your big anniversary stay!. We love 5 star ratings, especially when they are filled with such wonderful comments. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were so pleasantly surprised to see about ten Christmas trees all lit up and decorated in the lounge it looked so inviting. We had a very comfortable room which was very clean and with a good view out of the window. The staff are excellent and the food was also excellent.we have visited this hotel on and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gowyholy
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and posting your nice review. Your repeat visits over the years means a lot to us, as do your comments about our lovely staff. Thanks again and take care until we welcome you back again. More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my wife and our 10 month old daughter for a long weekend. Hotel is excellently located near to lake Windermere. We were welcomed by a very homely reception area and staff who were very friendly and accommodating. Will happily stay again when we visit the lakes,

Helpful?
Thank jamessteventon
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your short and sweet review. 5 star ratings are what we are after so thanks for that. I'm delighted that you would visit us again, we hope you do. Thanks. More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a cosy hotel in winter time. Great fire and wonderful Xmas trees and decorations. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive. The only negative was the very small bedroom we had with a small double bed. However overall we had a pleasant stay with friends.

Helpful?
Thank Magmac53
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and posting your review. We love this time of year with the roaring fire and Christmas decorations, I am pleased you do as well. We do have a variety of room sizes on offer so if you were to visit us again (and I hope you do!) then do let us know and we will do our... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff at this hotel. It is in a quiet lovely setting with the bar and restaurant looking out over the duck pond. It is not 5 star but whilst here and there the paint work could do with a bit of refreshing it is very clean and has good facilities. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulR2569JD
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It's amazing how many great comments we get about the humble sausage served her; it is tasty though! I'm delighted you said you would visit again, I hope you do. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

560 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (412)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,199 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
367 reviews
5.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: $78 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Southport, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Southport, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Oundle, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed downstairs and all rooms looked nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Lynneon, 4 days ago | Read review
“Quieter rooms seem to be on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Gowyholy, 1 week ago | Read review
“Probably upgrade your room.”
 of 5 bubbles Magmac53, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“No baths on 2nd floor i think they jst on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 179clairep, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“bath with shower over, and very comfy twin beds that can be joined together.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleeny438, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay