We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Knoll

Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside, Lakeside LA12 8AU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Knoll
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 268: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Knoll is a nice place to stay but it certainly isn't 5 star accommodation - the staff are pleasant and hard working but to be frank the building especially from the outside needs some attention with regards to paintwork etc. The room itself is ok with comfortable beds and lovely towels but the bathroom is rather dated. There is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie H
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

Naturally we are disheartened to receive a rare but significantly disappointed - and disappointing - review I appreciate that the room wasn’t perfect for your requirements or expectations, the bathroom being a standard en-suite shower room. We do have other larger rooms with more luxurious bathrooms (double ended and corner baths as well as free standing showers) which command higher... More 

Miami Lakes
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This well-maintained and comfortable Country House affords access to almost every important destination in the Lake District. It can serve a base of operations and is in easy driving distance of all Lake attractions - providing, of course, your car is small enough to pass oncoming traffic on the narrow roads. Our car was a bit big, but manageable with... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnKMiamiLakes
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

Thank you so so much for taking the time and trouble to write this very lovely review. I hope you got home safely and perhaps you might visit it us if you're ever in this part of the world. Best wishes Jen Meads More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second visit to the Knoll and suit as good as the last time. Room was really spacious and clean, comfy bed. Food at dinner and breakfast was excellent, service from the staff really friendly. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone seeking a tranquil break.

Helpful?
Thank moggym5
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your second stay and very much hope it won't be your last!! Warmest wishes Jen Meads More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being just a little way out from the main centre of Newby Bridge, there is silence all around, which provides a wonderful tranquillity. The house itself is very nicely decorated and spacious. Jennie and her team understand service to a high level. The breakfast is wonderful and varied in content, not just a standard full English. We also had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herbie_and_Elaine
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

I'm always overwhelmed by the kindness and time people take to submit reviews. Trip Advisor can be a curse at times but when we get such lovely feedback, it truly warms the soul. My sincere thanks to you for your kind words. I hope we will see you again. Warmest wishes Jen Meads More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Super room. Lovely ambience. Staff could not have been more friendly and nothing too much trouble. Bed extremely comfortable. Lovely living room downstairs. Great local food in restaurant. Strongly rated.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to submit this kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you come again! Warmest wishes Jen Meads More 

UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed in room 3 which was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom had a corner bath, good shower, bathrobes and lovely big towels. Both the evening meals and breakfast were delicious.

Helpful?
Thank pricivius
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return at some time in the future. Warmest wishes Jen Meads More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

My husband and I stayed overnight at The Knoll as we were attending a birthday celebration at The Lakeside hotel and our preference is always small luxury B&Bs as opposed to larger hotels. We were not disappointed with our choice just wished we had been staying longer. Our room was very comfortable, lovely bedding and towels and had everything we... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatieCheshire
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

What a very kind and beautifully written review. It's incredibly hard work running a small guesthouse especially after we suffered so much following the floods in December. It meant for us that we weren't able to fund some of the projects we wanted to this year (although we are trying hard). To receive a review like this means everything to... More 

UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

What all overly place to stay, everything was perfect and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The rooms were beautifully appointed with nice bathrooms (shampoo and shower gel, no conditioner or body cream my only comment) Food consistently excellent both breakfast and evening meals were superb. Packed lunches also first class Very close to Lakeside and the ferry... More 

Helpful?
Thank jandmoz
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

Thank you so, so much for your lovely review. It's always heartwarming to receive such positive feedback. I take on board your comments about conditioner and body cream. The shampoo is made by the Cumbrian firm The Bath House, based in Sedburgh and it is a shampoo and conditioner combined. I have asked them to let me know if they... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

The attention to detail is outstanding. Clearly heaps of work goes into maintaining and running this hotel. From the friendly, professional staff to the fresh, comfortable bedding, everything is of a very high standard. Attractive, quality room interiors throughout, and excellent breakfast too. There are even a pleasant gardens with seating/eating areas. My review is rather rambling as there was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair S
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

What a really lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write about us. We do work incredibly hard to offer high standards of service and quality and your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope you'll come and visit us again in future! Warmest wishes Jen Meads More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We stayed at The Knoll for 5 nights last week and I can't recommend it enough. Everything about The Knoll is high quality, from its beautiful location, to the warm and friendly hosts, well appointed rooms and restaurant standard food. The whole house has a warm,friendly atmosphere and it's obvious the owners work extremely hard to maintain such high standards-... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wibbywoo
Knollers, Owner at The Knoll, responded to this review

What a really lovely review!! Thanks so very much for taking the time and trouble to write. It means a lot to get such positive feedback. It's a hard business to run in these days of social media and our culture of wanting more and more for less, so when people really appreciate the efforts we make personally to deliver... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
5.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tranquil country retreat stands in beautiful grounds at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, surrounded by spectacular woodland. The unwinding begins the moment you arrive. Following a warm welcome, you'll be shown to one of eight beautifully appointed bedrooms, each with its own luxurious en suite bathroom. We've thought of everything, from little treats like complementary toiletries to more practical concerns like hair dryers, Satellite TV, DVD and iPod dock, internet access and your own hospitality tray. We also offer complimentary use of the local four star hotel's health and fitness spa.After that, it's up to you. Our pleasant gardens suggest drinks on the lawn or a lovely outdoor eating experience. Open log fires and a cosy drawing room invite you to curl up and relax. If it weren't for our superb location, you'd never want to go out - but the Lake District beckons, and it's all just waiting to be explored. Need a last minute gift? We can provide vouchers for future stays at the Knoll. Call to book now!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Knoll

Address: Lakeside, Lakeside LA12 8AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Price Range: $140 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knoll 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Knoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Hotel Lakeside
Knoll Newby Bridge
Knoll Hotel Newby Bridge
The Knoll Lakeside, United Kingdom - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay