We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Instinct of the Mara

Save
Ololaimutiek, Maasai Mara National Reserve Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.com$1,453
Hotels.com$1,453
Travelocity$1,453
CheapTickets$1,453
TripAdvisor$1,453
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
The Olderkesi area is home to one of the largest pack of wild dogs in the Mara ecosystem. While enjoying a drink on your patio, expect frequent visitors like Lion, wild dog, wilderbeest, greater kudu and buffalo.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Ololaimutiek, Maasai Mara National Reserve Kenya
Getting there
Mara Lodges Airport36 miSee all flights
Olkiombo Airstrip31 miSee all flights
Compare More Popular Hotels
5Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
My recent trip to the Instinct of the Mara exceeded my expectations in every way. The camp is beautiful, the staff and accommodations were perfection, the meals were 5 star and the safari experience was life changing. I highly recommend the Instinct of the Mara and look forward to going back.
Read more
Response from SecludedAfrica, Director of Sales at Instinct of the Mara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Janetcarnie, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are absolutely delighted to hear that we were able to create a life changing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy New Year! Best wishes, Secluded Africa - Instinct of the Mara
Read more
+1
I had the great pleasure to stay at this magical location with a small group. Brilliant combination of sustainability, eco chic, with professionalism and care that can only be compared to fine hotels and resorts. The service is outstanding. "You will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend." True. The chef will spoil your taste buds, wonderful wine selection and cocktails will greet you after your safari. The wildlife sightings exceeded any of my dreams, following tracks was exhilarating. You will always feel safe here! The genuine kindness of the staff, combined with their training, will impress you. Only negative? You will have to leave. Say goodbyes. Won’t be easy. Yes, I believe the staff is used to tearful exits. Enjoy your stay!
Read more
Response from SecludedAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Instinct of the Mara
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Dear WanderlustGab, Jambo and Asante for the wonderful review. Your words exude the passion we feel for Secluded Africa and Instinct of the Mara. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best wishes and safe travels, Robyn - Secluded Africa
Read more
+1
I booked out the entire lodge for my small group and, frankly, was a bit apprehensive - knowing that it was opened only a few months ago. Our experience was exceptional! The staff - most of whom were herding goats a few months ago - could not have been more accommodating and helpful. David is a superb manager. Without exception, all of my travelers mentioned the kindness of the staff. Accommodations are comfortable and well-designed and the main living room is decorated with family antiques. We requested a back-of-house tour and were blown away by the thoughtful planning and sustainability of this remote lodge. And the food ... WAY beyond our expectations! The guides: exceptional! Being on a conservancy, we could go off-road in search of game (which was plentiful), and did not encounter lots of other vehicles as can happen at other lodges. There are many game lodges in the Mara, and it can be difficult to discern one from another, but you cannot go wrong with this property. Instinct of the Mara is true to its name.
Read more
Response from SecludedAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Instinct of the Mara
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Dear Marilyn, It makes us incredibly happy to read your fantastic review. Thank you for giving Instinct of the Mara and Secluded Africa a chance in your exceptional portfolio. We look forward to welcoming you again next year! Best regards, Robyn
Read more
The best personalised service, excelent hosts , and they even had smoked Tabasco! That's how good they are . Super eco friendly lodge . The Only place traditional masai personnel are part of the lodge
Read more
Response from SecludedAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Instinct of the Mara
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Dear SatnamC5, Thank you for the personalized review. We hope to continue to present surprising touches like smoked Tabasco - anything that will make you stay more memorable and enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Robyn
Read more
travelling to Kenya and the Mara for years i finally found the ultimate place in the Mara... the instinct of the Mara. We stayed in one of the 2 Suites, where you have 2 bedrooms and bathrooms with real functional showers and toilets made of concrete walls, the tents are luxury and big, the terrace with a stand alone bathtub, absolutely amazing. They have also one big stand alone house with a real fire place inside which might be useful for some who get cold easily because the nights can be chilly. It comes with a place for staff on the side if you travel with nannys or private staff. The sunddowners at the bar, the staff , the cock, an old Masai warrior and def a true born genius in cocking, Richard, the mastermind behind everything and David, who is running the place, everything is so perfect that you cant top it. The staff is also so dedicated to nature, whenever they take you for a game-ride and they spot the smallest waste they will stop and collect it, stunning. Due to the fact that they have 7 luxury tents for 2 and 2 suites for 4 each, the camp is very private and intimidate like a family, you literally cant get it better. its maybe the best camp I have ever seen in my life, but definitely the best experience i can remember with the most amazing staff
Read more
Response from SecludedAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Instinct of the Mara
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Dear 1712RR, Thank you for the detailed review. We are pleased that you had a moment to experience all aspects of the lodge and its surroundings, from the chef who cooks with love to the constant conservation efforts. We hope to welcome you again soon. Safe travels, Robyn
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$863 - $2,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceMaasai Mara National ReserveOlolaimutiek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Instinct of the Mara
What are some of the property amenities at Instinct of the Mara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Instinct of the Mara?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Instinct of the Mara?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Instinct of the Mara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Instinct of the Mara have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Instinct of the Mara offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.