We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783 Mexico
14 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$133
View deal
Travelocity$133
Hotels.com$133
Orbitz.com$133
FindHotel$133
Tripadvisor$133
Hurb$133
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3423)
360
Panoramas (6)
Dining (331)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 19 in Puerto Aventuras
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
80Somewhat walkable
Grade: 80 out of 100
49Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
2611Reviews715Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,099
  • 951
  • 352
  • 121
  • 88
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bruce p wrote a review May 14
1 contribution
Great place good food drinks but the beach and sea weed was a disappoint Mother nature again. No issues with any food or dinning. Only one brand of beer on the resort and that wasnt corona. Make sure you book your la carte restrants quick at the main lobby
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Upgrade to Premium Suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Niall H wrote a review May 11
2 contributions
Ivan and the staff are amazing very good service and belting food. Felt like we had been very well looked after. Very good with the children. The chefs show was very good and the food was all cooked perfect 👍🏼
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Niall, We appreciate your preference, but above all, the kind recognition for our colleague. It will be a pleasure to share it with him. Thank you very much for your visit, we hope the other services were enjoyed to the fullest. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards,
Read more
jhenz1 wrote a review May 4
Kent, Washington8 contributions3 helpful votes
The Catalonia Riviera Maya was insane!! The place was stunning as ever, the staff, ...well, They ALL went out of their way to please us. We were ALSO a party of at least 30. Our butlers were gracious, always there for us, and, they kept our rooms, and our needs met. Not sure why some reviews are less than stellar, we travel around semi-frequently and this was the best by far. even pricing was great. I'm so looking forward to coming back as soon as possible. This hotel catered to everyone. Kids LOVED it, they had lots of games and fun things for all ages. I personally think when someone gives a bad review, it's usually because they didn't get their way, or, didn't read about something completely. This was again, a very fabulous trip, beautiful hotel, and the staff was remarkable!!! AS far as the questions below, we didn't check in at the loby, our butlers took us to their office, and we were taken care of there. Everything 5 stars all the way. The rooms range from budget to luxury.. So NO excuses for not booking. we were there 4-23-22 ~ 4-30-22 for a wedding, which they did spectacular job. FOOD WAS FREAKING AMAZING!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Just depends on what you want, half our party wanted the ocean view, ( we did ) HIGHLY recommend it
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your excellent experience at our Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach. We will let the team know about your satisfaction, we are sure they will celebrate and feel encouraged to continue offering their best service. Creating unforgettable memories is our main goal. Thank you very much for your preference, we hope you come back very soon. Best regards,
Read more
reactelec wrote a review May 2
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom4 contributions
+1
Review after 2 weeks here to give some positives & negatives. Starting with the positive things, all of the staff are really helpful & extremely polite. The room maid service is excellent, room cleaned spotless mini bar restocked if needed. 10/10 Gracias Cecilio 👍 The hotel complex is beautifully kept & very pleasant on the eye. The nightly shows in the theatre were excellent. The swim up bar & pools look nice albeit a bit small & busy but we are not really pool people so no real opinion. A massive plus (offsite so no all inclusive) is the local marina & dolphin/manatee centre, lots of lovely restaurants & bars with great food & evening entertainment. There is also a lovely sandy “seaweed” free beach behind the PA Beach club hotel. The swimming/snorkelling there was great. Now onto some negatives. The rooms even though we upgraded to “privileged” are very tired to say the least so aim low with expectations. Now on to the main gripe, & before anyone tries to shoot me down with the “it’s Mother Nature” bs, I know it is but people should be made fully aware of it, not deny it is a problem as our uk holiday provider TUI did with us. May/Oct is Sargassum (seaweed) season & it is a big problem at this hotel. They have a JCB Type digger a truck & about 7/8 guys working constantly trying to clear it. The facts you need to know are as follows: Not counting the pools you have 3 main areas to swim in at this “Beach” resort. * Main sandy beach I am writing this on day 13 of our break & can honestly say this is a no swim area. The only good thing here is that the diggers/tipper lorry’s diesel fumes take away some of the rotting seaweed smell. * Rocky area by “pure chill” bar After about 6/7 days & a bit of a tide change? this was the only place that seemed clean enough to swim in, just be careful getting in as it is rock pools & slippery as flagged up by caution signs. * Lagoon The water in here was filthy & just looked stagnant & I would probably rather swim in our local sewerage facility… the only fish I spotted in here was a dead floating one !!!! Whilst at the resort we spoke with lots of people & waited for them to give a verdict, most were the same as ours. To summarise, if you want a nice all inclusive pool vibe & you haven’t got a very good sense of smell it’s probably for you. If you prefer a bit quieter beach thing avoid until it’s not Sargassum season. We genuinely asked TUI to give us early flights home after 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Apparently the seaweed is not an issue from approx Oct-Mar
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinion, which will be very helpful for our continuous improvement and future travelers. The Catalonia Riviera Maya family will be happy to know that their service has been remembered positively. This contribution will be encouraging them not to lower their guard and continue to provide their best service; thank you very much for sharing it. Also, we appreciate the comments you have made about the room maintenance and the collection of sargassum, be assured that the departments involved will be attending to improve these aspects. Thank you very much for your visit and input, we hope to have the opportunity to be your accommodation soon, we would love to show you the positive changes achieved. Best regards,
Read more
Kyneedssunshine wrote a review May 1
Victoria, Canada39 contributions6 helpful votes
Overall we had a lovely time during our two week stay. We had booked the privileged package and I was glad for it. We had access to the Bloved restaurant for all of our breakfast and lunches and although the menus are limited, they are wonderfully accommodating to requests and alternates and the food and service was fantastic. The majority of our dinners were had in the restaurants and all of them were very nice. We did try out the buffet, and I am not sure if it is because of it being Covid or other factors, but we did not find the food there very appealing and it lacked the variety and consistency that we had experienced in previous visits. If I had been limited to eating there, my review would have been not so obliging. The nightly entertainment was very good. My only complaint is that they did one night of the children’s Disney show out by the pool…they did a splendid job, but my issue was the staff allowed a number of adults, in fact large groups of drunk ones to pull up the pool chairs and overtake the pool deck, to the point where the kids and family’s were all standing behind trying to catch glimpses of the show. I understand that it is difficult to monitor the rudeness of entitled adults…but some effort should have been made. Especially as they used profanity and smoked through the whole show. Unfortunately, this time of year is very bad for the sargassum seaweed…and regardless of how diligently the crew worked to remove it, it just kept coming. The beach was nonexistent and the bay packed with it most of our visit. We did however manage to find the public beach access down the road a way, and for the most part the sargassum wasn’t enveloping that bit of beach. Nobody’s fault, just nature doing her thing. All the staff at the hotel was lovely and really did do all they could regarding inquiries and requests.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us; your honest feedback is appreciated. Our mission is to create unforgettable memories; therefore, we will review the observations you share with the General Management. We are sure that they will consider them to offer a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Thank you very much for your preference, we hope you come back soon. Best regards,
Read more
Claire T wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution8 helpful votes
Please, I beg of you, do NOT come here if you have children. While the resort itself was nice and clean, what goes on underneath the fake smiles is so morally dirty, and ruined our trip. The staff members (primarily the men) protect guests who prey on women, men, and children, and are likely a part of it themselves. There was a group of men staying at the resort during our stay who would openly masturbate while watching other men use the washroom, including my boyfriend, and when confronted, would simply walk away and do it in another washroom. God knows how many children they did it to. They would expose their genitals in the pools to kids, flirt with little girls and teens around the resort, and incessantly stare at women and children in their bathing suits. It was not one man, but a group, who spread across the whole resort and were consistently sexually violating the other guests. We connected with upwards of 15 other guests who had experienced the same/similar/worse things, all of whom tried to write reports/complain. On one of our last days of our stay, a concierge staff, “benjamin”, looked in my eyes and told me there was no record of any such reports and that there was nothing he could do since it was “our word against his.”His female colleague then told me he was lying, and that they did in fact have all of the reports on file, she seemed afraid to tell me the truth. What is worse, is that the staff members openly admitted that the perverted group of men come there often and spend a lot of money, which is why they would not remove them from the resort even after multiple complaints of their harassment. If these people are willing to violate grown men, they are willing to do it to children. On one occasion (that I know of) they attempted to lure two small children away from their mother and off of the resort. There is a sign in the main lobby which reads “this resort protects children against sexual trafficking”… there is a reason they have that sign up, this is a common issue amongst all Catalonia resorts. After 5 days of pleading with numerous different staff members, of all levels of authority, we got nowhere. We were treated like we are the criminals, and the perverted men walked the resort freely and without remorse. During a confrontation with one of them, he said verbatim, “you can’t touch me here, I pay a lot of money, I’m protected here.” Quite frankly, the women working on the resort seemed genuinely disturbed and wanted to help, whilst majority of the men we dealt with seemed to be protecting themselves as well. I have never felt so disturbed, unsafe, and disgusted in my 21 years of life. The most that was offered to remedy the issue was for us to have a room change. They refused to do anything that would actually better the situation, and further urged us not to contact the authorities because they would “protect us”, and they “had it under control.” When their promises fell through, we began to warn mothers of the predators on the resort ourselves, which the staff members told us would not help. They would rather keep things quiet and let their guests fall victim to sexual harassment/assault/violation than to remove the persons perpetuating the issue. It is EVIL how much more they value a dollar than a human life. My heart breaks for the many children who have likely been traumatized by this resorts negligence. Do not be fooled by the pretty pictures and good reviews. Regardless of the positive aspects of this resort, the staff will not protect you in times of need and your safety will NEVER be a priority. Take care of yourself and your family, and DO NOT come here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Promocionar at Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Claire, We are truly sorry to hear about this perception. At Catalonia Hotels, we condemn and reject any act of sexual harassment or any practice that compromises the physical and emotional integrity of all of our guests, as it does not go along with our company values. We will reinforce our protocols for dealing with any conflict that may arise, and stiffen that the well-being of our guests is always our priority. Also, we are working on obtaining more information about the situation and will follow up to clarify it. We express our commitment to work together with the authorities to clarify legal complaints of any kind. We will always support the tranquility of our guests. If you have any other comments or additional information, please contact us at rivieramaya.guestexperience@cataloniahotels.com . On behalf of Catalonia Hotels & Resorts, we remain at your disposal,
Read more
grd9141 wrote a review Apr 2022
Des Moines, Iowa111 contributions42 helpful votes
The hotel is 2 sided the rivera maya and yucatan side. The yucatan side rooms are outdated and are long over do for a remodel. The staff were wonderful and hard workers. The speciality restrauants where wonderful but the food at the buffet wasnt always hot. They diffently need a place to get coffee. There is no beach at eithher side. Take that short walk to town and enjoy the people and some great food.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: stay on the rivera maya side of hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Celine B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Basic needs like bottled water and clean towels are not provided on a regular basis in garden view room. Hallways used by staff daily not respecting silencio zones. No swimming in ocean as beach full of weeds. Glasses/cups not cleaned properly to prevent spread of Covid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Hjalmar B wrote a review Apr 2022
Scott, Canada24 contributions10 helpful votes
Great hotel food is excellent. One hic,the beach was full of sea weed. They worked on the problem, some times 2 workers sometimes 10. In the 2 wks I was there we ne et could use the beach but they have 2 pools. Thank you Hector for all your help with my stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid Yucatan beaches in the spring
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marina @ Yuri wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you to Catalonia for another wonderful holiday! Too many staff as always to say Thank You to! All the staff were brilliant, so helpful & friendly. All Restaurant staff make us feel home from home! Cleaners busying away making everything so nice, Housekeeping, keeping us tidy & stocked up, Gardeners making the gardens look lovely. All Night Shows were amazing! Everything impressed us, the kindness, the attention and professionalism of the servants. Management sorting out any problems, no problem! Thanks for all of you guys. You guys just do it all & with a smile! The only thing that upset us was the poor sea at this time of the year. The beach was horrible, heaps of seaweed. But we found some alternative option. We were spending time on the "Puerto Adventuras" Beach. It was 10 minutes from our Resort. Would we come back? Absolutely. We are making plans for next year's getaway already.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia yucatan beach hotel puerto aventuras, catalonia yucatan beach puerto aventuras
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPuerto Aventuras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Riviera Maya (0.4 miles), Puerto Aventuras Marina (0.4 miles), and TAO Wellness Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jessie Gelato, 081, and Aventura Gelato.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Catalonia Yucatan Beach have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Catalonia Yucatan Beach offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Catalonia Yucatan Beach have airport transportation?
Yes, Catalonia Yucatan Beach offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Catalonia Yucatan Beach located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Puerto Aventuras.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Yucatan Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.