We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Federal Chetumal Pto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 5% OFF
Expedia.com
$161
View deal
Booking.com
$168
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
yescapade.com
Only 2 left at
$141
View deal
Barcelo.com$162
Hotels.com$161
Travelocity$161
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5596)
Pool & Beach (1727)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Barceló Maya Tropical
Updated 10/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 20 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Puerto Aventuras? Then look no further than Barcelo Maya Tropical, a family-friendly all-inclusive resort that brings the best of Puerto Aventuras to your doorstep.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Barcelo Maya Tropical features room service and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Barcelo Maya Tropical guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Puerto Aventuras has plenty of Mexican restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Latitude 20, The Divot, and The Pub, which are serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Adoratorio, ruinas Chac-hal-al is a popular ancient ruins that is relatively easy to get to.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical as you experience everything Puerto Aventuras has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 5% OFF

Location

Full view
39Car recommended
Grade: 39 out of 100
88Restaurantswithin 5 miles
21Attractionswithin 5 miles
8087Reviews572Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,076
  • 1,706
  • 643
  • 360
  • 302
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Roy R wrote a review Oct 1
94 contributions22 helpful votes
Last night here after 14 fabulous days. We have stayed in other hotels in Riviera Maya but is by far the best. The pools are great we found the Tropical to be by far the best but the others are also very good. We ate in most of the restaurants that are available no problems booking them all were very good but our favourite was the Santa Fe steak restaurant. The Breakfast and evening buffets are of good quality with no problems finding a good selection of food 🥘 The Beach is good but recommend that you bring beach shoes as there are plenty of rocks a short distance into the sea. The staff at the the hotel are brilliant all very helpful and polite a special thanks to Jazmin at the Tropical pool she’s great! The evening entertainment is good but repeats every seven days. The bars are good our favourite is the Colonial which is air conditioned . Once again thank you to everyone at the Barcelo for a great holiday we hope to be back next year☀️☀️👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Roy First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Tropical for your visit to Riviera Maya and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Best regards Barceló Maya Tropical
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea B wrote a review Sep 2021
New Jersey8 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I can't stop raving about my stay at this resort. The staff was beyond friendly, and genuinely care that you are enjoying your stay. The food was delicious. We loved the buffet, especially having lunch there, and a huge thanks to our server, David. He was the BEST! Our favorite restaurant was Kyoto. Delicious food, and again extremely friendly staff. The theater shows were very entertaining. But nothing beats the entertainment team at the pool. Laura, Eduardo, Jose, Josue and Abdiel (i hope I'm not missing anyone!) you all are the greatest! Never a dull moment at the pool thanks to this team. Fun activities, many laughs and again you can tell they enjoy their work and want you to have a fun time, too. We would rush to the pool in the morning just to be sure we got there in time for water aerobics! Don't miss out on activities with them you won't regret it. Rooms were spacious and clean. We were 4 ladies in one room and thought it was a perfect size. Housekeeping did a great job with keeping the room tidy and stocking towels. Overall, the resort is very well kept. My friends went to the spa and LOVED it. Also, scheduling restaurant reservations is quick and easy my advice is to do it right after you check in to get it out of the way. Same goes for the COVID test. I just wish the COVID test was done at Tropical and not Riviera. Took us much longer to get to Riviera then the actual test (test took 10 minutes) but the ride there and back felt like forever since we needed to wait for the bus. 10/10 HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!! Can't wait to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear abetaca330 : Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Tropical. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We will transmit your comentaries to David, Laura, Eduardo, Jose, Josue and Abdiel . At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Thank you for the wonderful description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Barceló Maya Tropical.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Sep 2022
Denver, Colorado5 contributions10 helpful votes
4th time here. We have stayed at Palace, and Colonial 3 times now. Bottom line- this place is worth every penney! The service is very highly maintained here. It is my opinion if you are expecting to get amazing service but are not the kinds of people who tip, then you are going to be disappointed. If you want great service then bring a bit of cash to tip, to show your appreciation. Poolside, tableside in the theater, housekeeping, dinners, buffets, all awesome experiences and quick turn times with the beverages/cocktails. Our family of 4 spent about $20 USD a day on all the tips. For all 4 of us! Now that this part is out of the way, the shows are not to be missed! Joanna, Gracie, and the other 2 (cannot recall their names) they can sing their face off. Joanna does a rendition of Purple rain that is just phenomenal. We always got to the theater about 8:45-9PM, got excellent seats. Brought cards sometimes to pass the time. When it comes to picking a la carte dinners, we always look at the shows first. Would rather miss karaoke night or magic night over Broadway, tropicallissimo or those others. REGARDING AIRPORT AND TRAVEL: We always book through CancunAirportTransportation. Always grab a Luxury SUV. Super professional service extremely punctual, friendly, and pull up to the airport with a cooler full of beer, energy drinks and water! As far as security - we were in and out of the airport for our ARRIVAL in about 45 minutes. When we departed it was 1 hour 25 minutes for everything. The trip time to get down to the resort was 1 hr 15 when we arrived, and it was 1 hour 15 when we departed. Make sure you hit the minigolf place as that is a little tradition of ours, and its free until dark. They have excellent ribs at that snack bar there as well as some bowling and video games. if you like Sweet iced tea, Barcelo makes it incredible! one of my favorite drinks so refreshing and tastes so good. You can also get it unsweet. As far as the SEAWEED, there was NONE!!! so that was nice, as the other resorts we have stayed at it was pretty bad. The fitness area is also very high end. very nice and usually quite empty!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Beach front rooms are very close to the pools, but far from the theater and main buffets.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Maya Resort was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Moreover, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, inviting our guests to take part into the lively sports and leisure activities throughout the day and our Mini Club team, with their kindness and professionalism taking care of our little guests and ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our night shows, our staff strives every night to bring a great show for the entertainment of our guests, we greatly appreciate your highlight of this important aspect of our Barceló Maya Tropical hotel. It has been a pleasure for us to read your review of your stay at Barceló Maya Tropical and to know that we have been able to exceed your expectations as well as those of your family. It is always a pleasure to have our guests satisfied with our facilities and services. Best regards, Barceló Maya Tropical.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeT wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
We originally reserved the "Carib" section from Sept 11th to the 16th only to be told when we got there that they were sending us to the Tropical. I wasn't happy. The Carbi has the best beach at the resort. I even called a week before to verify my reservation. Apparently it didn't matter. Check in: Horrible..at least at the Tropical. They had multiple lines feeding into a check in counter that was at least 50 feet long. If you got stuck behind someone (which I did) who had an issue with check in, you will stand there for a very long time as others continued to be checked in as "Their" line moved along. Here is an idea...do what airports/cruise lines do..have ONE line and customers go to the next available associate to check in. Checking out was the same......their should be a way to do it on line or on the TV. Property: Clean, beautiful resort. Pools are amazing! Except for the Carib/Beach section, most of the beaches are rocky. Some very rocky. Bring water shoes. Food: The buffets were good, but unless someone prepared a food item for you, at best the food was warm. We went to two specialty restaurants, the Japanese Hibachi (The one in the mall)i, and fish restaurant. (forget the name) The Hibachi didn't give enough food. We had a table of 12, everyone ordered surf and turf. Well they only cooked up 5 lobster tails for the "surf" part of the meal They cooked them, then cut them up into small pieces which wasn't close to being enough for the 12 of us. The "fish" restaurant was much better. Drinks were ok. Some bar tenders made them better then the others. But you can always tell them how u want your drink made. Most spoke English, but many didn't. So you had to find one that did. Entertainment: A BIG improvement from the last time I was there in 2017. The shows were very good, the singers amazing! Most of the shows were in Spanish, some English. The announcer opening and closing the shows spoke both, but when he spoke English, he spoke so fast it was difficult to understand what he was saying. Show times varied and it was difficult to see what times the shows were starting every evening. Suggestion to the Barcelo Staff....Have the entertainment schedule on a APP or at least on the TV. Having the schedule on a written board located here and there on the property doesn't work very well. ALSO get air-conditioning in the theaters!!! Staff: Very kind. Most spoke English. Always willing to help. Summary: Except for the check in/check out process and not knowing the entertainment schedule each day (My wife likes doing Zumba in the pool) the place is amazing. Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough, the team works daily to provide the best possible service to let our guests feel most valued and genuinely cared for. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards Barceló Maya Tropical
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Our 2nd visit to this resort. Check in was very good and efficient. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were good, clean, bed comfortable and air con worked well. It was damp but that cant be helped, due to the humidity. Rooms were cleaned daily, no problems. The resort is huge, lots of walking, mini golf was good and free befrie 7pm. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained by the staff. The beach was maintained well and seaweed was cleared daily as much as they could. need to be careful of stones/rocks, wear swim shoes. The sea was lovely, plenty of places to swim, some good snorkelling, especially with the turtles. Lovely view of the sea from the beach, this was my favorite part of the holiday. However, what lets this resort down is the service!. It was hit and miss. Some of the young waiters/waitresses at the tropical/colonial buffet were very friendly, helpful and liked to have some banter and you could laugh with them and they could do nothing more to help. Then you had others , mainly more mature who couldn't be bothered, and were just rude or would ignore you. Sometimes it would be quicker to get your own drinks. Every day we would have to ask for a spoon! Which should be part of your cutlery set as standard. Is there a shortage of SPOONS! How can you eat soup, cereal, yoghurt without a spoon. It was a lottery if we had one, which was a daily joke we had. We Went to all the buffet restaurants, the beach one was the worst by far, no organisation, lack of availability, felt like a canteen. The food mainly at lunch or dinner wasnt great, standards have certainly gone down, seemed like the same things every day. Missed having an oriental theme. Breakfast was probably the best. We had a few nice meals in the other buffets, the soup was lovely but otherwise the food was very mediocre with availability being the biggest issue with running out of food choices. Managed to find something to eat each day. We went to Santa Fe which was lovely , Capri was nice and the Mexican was nice too. Glad we went to them. The lounge bars were good. Cocktails were nice but too much ice all the time. The waitresses in these were very good. Swimming pools were good , plenty of space, nice and warm. The pool bar by tropical was the worst. Rude staff who on occasions pretended they didn't know or understand what you wanted, who doesn't know a mudslide?? After ordering they would disappear and you would then see them serving other Spanish speaking people or people waiving dollars around and totally ignoring you, until finally returning to you, just RUDE!. I felt because we were English we were left till last. I feel tipping can be a problem. That is spoiled by different cultures where tipping is mandatory in some places which then becomes expected, however in England we will tip if we feel we have had great service , whereas we won't if we receive poor or mediocre service. A tip is to reward someone of their great friendly service, it's not to be used as a bribe to get served quicker. We had quite a bit of rain on our stay, just a suggestion but would like to see more indoor activities to do which are included or free to do on these rainy days. On the whole, we did have a good holiday, as you make the best of what you have. This is a lovely family orientated resort, value for money. We did have some great service given to us on occasions but service is certainly something that needs to improve with a selection of colleagues. Unfortunately I will not be returning anytime soon! selection of colleagues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest. At Barceló we firmly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will help our team in its continuous effort to meet the expectations of our guests, so we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive criticism. Please be assured that your comments regarding the service you received during meals have been discussed with our Maître d' to prevent this type of situation from happening again in the future and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. , and you expressed. in your comment, it will be taken into account for the improvement of our service and your enjoyment. We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future. Best Regards. Barcelo Maya Tropical.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SIBARITA0305 wrote a review Sep 2022
Mexico City, Mexico696 contributions195 helpful votes
We stayed here for 7 nights from September 2 to September 9, 2022. I can only say good things about this hotel. Location: it is located on a beautiful white san beach with turquoise waters. The tropical gardens of the Resort are exuberant. The pools are fantastic and in this month of September the Caribbean waters were warm. The food: you can have breakfast at the Tropical or Colonial buffets. We had lunch at the Palmeras grill near the beach (a very nice buffet with salads, seafood, meats and Mexican food). At night the buffet is quite nice at the Tropical or Colonial buffets (lots of great seafood). Specialty restaurants a la carte are excellent: -Santa Fe Steak House 5* -Marenostrum seafood 5* - Kyoto Japanese 5* - Capri Italian 5* Great pina coladas and mojitos at any of the bars. The Dolphinarius is great. Nice shows at the Palenque theater. In summary a very nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay near the pools, you will have less noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Tropical and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards Barceló Maya Tropical
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie P wrote a review Sep 2022
15 contributions
+1
Just landed after a 14 night stay at the Barcelo Maya Grand Resort - Tropical Hotel. First thing to be made aware of if booking in the UK with TUI from Bristol airport - they do not tell you until you are on the plane that bristols runway is actually not long enough to fly to Cancun and although you take off from Bristol there is a stop over at Shannon, Ireland. Not much of an inconvenience just a very long flight in the end being on the plane for 10+ Hours. The hotel itself is beautiful. Not very modern but a lovely tropical vibe. Very fitting for the Caribbean. No Aircon which to our family was the biggest let down. It’s extremely hot! The hotel is all open with just ceiling fans - if you are like my family and are from rainy UK going to a hot country and like the hot sun but enjoy going into the aircon to cool off I would say stay clear of this resort. They have Aircon in every bedroom though! The bedrooms actually can get quite chilly! You notice in the rooms that if the Aircon is on to high the floors are very slippery and the bed / bedding and clothes in wardrobe are wet / damp. As for entertainment - it was another big let down for our family. We traveled as a family of 9 no young children but 7 adults & 2 teenagers who enjoy having dinner and afterwards watching a show / going out to the bar for some cocktails. They have a main show area in every hotel. The show area at the Tropical hotel, again all outdoors but under shelter, no Aircon just ceilings fans but so so hot at night. Wow. The ceilings fans also were not turned on until 5 minutes before the show starts - we asked multiple times for them to be turned on as it was roasting but they told us they couldn’t turn them on until the show started. The shows were very average, expected more with the size of the resort. We usually sat down for the first 20 minutes and then left either because it was to hot or the show wasn’t all that good. Same with the bar areas at this hotel - all outdoor - under shelter - no Aircon just ceiling fans. If you stay at either the Tropical, Colonial, Beach or Caribe hotels you are able to use each of the 4 for all dining, entertainment etc facilities. We found ourself’s walking to the other hotels to see the shows as they were a lot cooler, still outdoor with no Aircon but they had multiple ceiling fans. The shows we found also were the same every week with a few changes here and there. The first week was the same as the second week, which if you are staying for 2 weeks like our family it is repetitive, which is why we walked to the other resorts some nights as they have different shows. Just not much to do in the night! They have a market which is relatively big but there’s only so many nights you can look at the same things. There is a Red Bus on the resort that takes you to every single hotel - There are 7 in total. It’s free and stops right outside the reception area. The outdoor areas are gorgeous! The crystal clear waters are stunning and the snorkelling you can do is amazing. There are fish and all sorts just there swimming with you! We read so many comments before going about the seaweed on the beaches and how awful it is. We didn’t find this at all. At the end of the day it’s a beach with sea and seaweed is inevitable! Of course there was sea weed! But the grounds men that were there almost every day with wheelbarrows trying to keep it as clean as possible we take our hats off too! The pool area was as described and shown in the pictures, Huge pools, plenty of sun beds, with a variety in the shade and in the sun. We did find however, no one cleaned around the pool area. There were things there one day and still there 3 days later and around the edges of the pools were quite dirty. The swim up bar was again exactly as shown. Probably one of the best parts of the resort. The drinks were actually really good! A lot of alcohol which was to our surprise as usually with all inclusive things are watered down, not these drinks! We took stainless steel tumblers with us and would 100% recommend to anyone. They fill them up there at the bars right up to the top too, and it keeps them freezing and frozen for hours in the sun. One very big tip to anyone travelling from the UK - we took out more pesos than dollars. We were advised by many people to take pesos for general usage and dollars for tipping. We didn’t find this correct at all. Of course you can use pesos out there, but almost everywhere asked for dollars. They ask you for dollars and all you need to say is actually you have pesos and then they will tell you what the cost is in pesos but everywhere you go they ask for dollar first. My advice is to just bring dollars! Another big issue we found was on the whole resort everything was CARD ONLY. On arrival you have to pay for the hotel tax, this is card only, all the gifts shops and shops are CARD ONLY or charge to room but when you go to pay for the charge to room it’s again at reception and card only. We were not advised this at all but luckily we had our credit card. The resort is also very very expensive, like £10 for a bag of crisps and £25 for a bottle of sun cream! On the sun cream subject another recommendation is to bring a lot of factor 50! We are big on sunbathing and having a tan being the sun usually doesn’t shine so much in the UK and we brought 2 factor 50’s 2 factor 30’s & 1 factor 15 and we used factor 50 the whole holiday lol! Bedrooms - very basic. But lovely. TV ( all English channels are from channel 15 and up ) Iron, Ironing Board and hair dryer in every room. On arrival at reception you are asked to fill out how many times you want your room cleaned. We choose everyday as we knew we would need clean towels. When the cleaners clean the rooms, they are immaculate! Clean towels, clean bedding, clean floors. However we could never quite work out the cleaning schedule as not every day we would get our rooms cleaned, despite choosing the every day option, our family’s were placed in the same block - rooms being next to each other and for example our room hadn’t been cleaned but next door had? And if you hadn’t had your room cleaned it meant you had no clean towels. Though all you had to do was catch one of the cleaning ladies and they were happy to do anything for you. In regards to food, I don’t actually feel like I should comment. I am a really fussy eater in general so wouldn’t be fair for me to comment on the food. However there was plenty of options, if your a fussy eater like me and usually stick to the same foods there will definitely be something to choose from. Mine was the wedges, fries and the pizza’s which were amazing and cooked right there in the pizza oven! We did find that the buffet’s had the same food. So every night there would be one section that was themed but everything else was always the same food. General food areas were clean. Again on arrival you get to book the al la carte restaurants we attended 3 - the steak house, nice food, small portions - the Italian, stunning food, huge portions - the Japanese restaurant ‘Tokyo’, wow! Amazing food and amazing experience. My one piece of advice would be to stay clear of the rice! Unfortunately myself and another family member both had the rice and were in bed for 2 days with sickness and diarrhoea, and we knew of a few other people who had fallen Ill the same time. Wi-Fi is brilliant everywhere literally! In the bedrooms, at the pool even at the beach, strong connection! Staff were good! No TUI rep at the resort though. We didn’t stay at the palace which I believe was a premium sort of hotel but did pop in there one day to collect photos and wow if you have the money to upgrade or go premium do it, bars in doors with Aircon, huge show / entertainment space also with Aircon! Only issue we had with booking with TUI was you couldn’t actually choose which hotel on the resort you wanted to stay at. On the TUI website or in store you booked under “Barcelo Maya Grand Resort” and usually do not find out which hotel you are in until the day you arrive and if we had known about the palace hotel we definitely would have chosen this one. A little tip - message the Barcelo Maya Grand Resort on Facebook. We asked tui multiple times and they had no idea and couldn’t tell us, I messaged the Barcelo Facebook Page a week before flying just for cue and within a day they had replied and told me which hotels we were all staying in! Also I recommend joining one the Barcelo Facebook pages, any questions you have get answered by people currently there, or who have stayed previously and you can find out about trips and everything really. Would definitely recommend a trip to playa del Carmen. We went one evening and it was the best night of our trip. So many shops, bars, food places. Overall really brilliant trip! Mexico is definitely a place to tick off your bucket list. The accommodation/ resort I would score a 7/10 :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló Maya Tropical we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of enteratiment for information and improvement. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the Riviera Maya Best regards Barceló Maya Tropical
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda R wrote a review Sep 2022
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in the colonial hotel at barcelo riviera mayo from 25th August till 5th sept 2022 .we stayed as a family of 8 found the rooms to be very clean and although we asked for our rooms to be cleaned every other day they were cleaned everyday and fridge well stocked,there was plenty to do and a bus shuttle moved you from hotel to hotel so no walking to far ,loads of shops for souvenirs etc even a shopping mall we tended to stay around the colonial pool as a lot quieter than the caribe as we had an autistic youngster with us and he found it quite overwhelming !plenty of sunbeds and shaded areas so no need to get up at stupid o'clock although some people still did!staff all very friendly nothing to much trouble ,food o,k could always find something to eat ,al carte resturants need to be booked as soon as you get there ,some good but felt rushed as a time stting arrangement ,however an all together fantastic holiday biggest let down NO TUI REP AT THIS RESORT !!! Thankfully had technology people with us as done on an app and also had booked trips before we left the u.k.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Had a view over woodland which we found o.k as hadn't specified on booking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Linda Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Tropical. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the Riviera Maya Best regards Barceló Maya Tropical
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WholeFamilyx4 wrote a review Sep 2022
15 contributions
+1
We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Tropical from 08/23/2022 to 08/30/2022. Our party included myself, DH, DD, and DD's friend (both 17 years old). We highly recommend the resort and had a great time. Staff was very friendly over. Asuncion Diaz checked us in and he was professional, friendly, and informative. Waitstaff and the buffet and a la carte restaurants that went above and beyond include Julio and Vanessa (didn't get their last names), Asuncion Diaz (yes again, now at the buffet!), Jose May, Hector Hernandez, Carlos Alfaro, Jose Arcos, Baudelio Perez, and Pat Macario. There were others whose names I missed. Sorry! Staff by the pool were alot of fun and I, along with DD's friend, did water aerobics every day. All of the staff were amazing including Aqua and Carla! I'm sorry I don't remember the names of the others. On oddity that we never had happen at previous all inclusives was to have two waiters each try and get us to eat in their section. For example, we walked into the beachside buffet for lunch and a waiter waved us over to where he was cleaning off a table. At the same time, another waiter is beckoning for us to come to his table as he is pulling out chairs for us. Was just a bit uncomfortable for us as we tried to figure where to sit. Food was overall good. The a la carte seafood restaurant was our favorite. We also dined at the Japanese, Italian, and Mexican a la carte restaurants. The buffets included a decent variety and we especially really enjoyed the sea bass! The drinks were not great. They were very weak but all you had to do was ask and the bartender would add more liquor. The bar also ran out of mango juice the last few days we were there...just as I was really digging my mango margaritas. The swim up bar also ran out of ingredients for mojitos for a short time but did start making them again fairly quickly. We had two guest rooms so that our DD and her friend could have their own space (and my DH and I could have ours!) The rooms were next door to each other and kept tidy and clean. There were a few tiny bugs on the bathroom sink but not problematic at all. We just wiped them up with aa tissue and went about our business. The pool was fabulous! It was huge and clean and plenty of space for everyone. Our DD and friend went to the "kids" water park area and rode some of the slides. The only issue there was on the one water side which went down like a corkscrew. The ride slung both girls down and around hard and each wound up with bruises and cuts on their ankles. I was really surprised that such a fast and uncontrollable the ride exists where very small children play. The ocean water was ok but included a lot of sea grass and rocks. I would suggest wearing water shoes should you venture into the ocean. We went snorkeling right off of the beach and saw several magnificent, and huge, sea turtles. The ride to and from the airport was about 1-1/2 to 2 hours. Not a bad ride but longer than we normally would like. Our departure flight was at 12:15 pm and our pick up time was 6:55 am. The early pick up was due to having to pick up a number of guests from other resorts as well as a lot of construction on the roads.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Tropical. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Moreover, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, inviting our guests to take part into the lively sports and leisure activities throughout the day and our Mini Club team, with their kindness and professionalism taking care of our little guests and ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards Barceló Maya Tropical
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nely Kwon wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
everything from the pools and activities was fun and a fantastic experience, you can surf and even swim with the dolphins and the food was pretty good. But holy crap was the resort itself horrible. The cards are way too sensitive and completely stop working to get into your room. If the room cards worked, the door itself wouldn't open even if the light flashed green. The door won't even close right or would get stuck. Not only that, my parents had to change rooms 4 times because the ac didn't work and my siblings' room key had to be reprogrammed to open their room door MULTIPLE times a day. Lastly, you have to call the front desk multiple times for them to do one simple thing such as taking out a big insect from your room and they can't even do that right. If you have a problem and need to talk to someone at the front desk, you have to go in person cause if you call, they will for sure forget about you for hours or forever. It's truly frustrating to be somewhere as nice as Barcelo, but I can say for certain my family and I will never be coming back to this resort ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: just don't come here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Barcelo Maya Tropical, Director General at Barceló Maya Tropical
Responded Aug 27, 2022
Dear guest. In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. Thank you for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$184 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo maya tropical hotel puerto aventuras, barcelo puerto aventuras, barcelo hotel puerto aventuras
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPuerto Aventuras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
479
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barceló Maya Tropical
Which popular attractions are close to Barceló Maya Tropical?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Riviera Maya (2.1 miles), Chikin Ha (1.3 miles), and Cenote Cristalino (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Barceló Maya Tropical?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Barceló Maya Tropical?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barceló Maya Tropical?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Barceló Maya Tropical?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barceló Maya Tropical?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jessie Gelato, CHIC CABARET & RESTAURANT, and 081.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barceló Maya Tropical?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barceló Maya Tropical?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barceló Maya Tropical offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barceló Maya Tropical?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Barceló Maya Tropical have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.