We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tesoro Ixtapa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tesoro Ixtapa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 429: English reviews
Start your review of Tesoro Ixtapa
 Click to rate
Edina, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoy the smallness of this resort. You don't get lost in the crowd of tourists and it offers everything you need. Plenty of fresh fruit, good food, custom omelets in the morning, and a nice restaurant for dinner. Becuase it's a smaller place you get to know the staff, who we really enjoyed. And, they helped us with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank getaway4258
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear getaway4258, Thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasing as possible, and we appreciate your comments. I reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family

Summerland, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this is going to be a short to the point review. The whole area the hotel is in is really wonderful, great shops , vendors, restaurants. lots of things to do nearby, great bike trails, friendly people and a lovely town. The hotel is a bit older, but very clean and the rooms are quite nice. the pool is nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvette1111
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear yvette1111, Thank you for staying with us! We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family.

Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tesoro is an all inclusive located in the cove of Ixtapa although I understand you can choose a non inclusive option. Traveled with my sister. We went at the end of the busy season. Please be aware that this particular resort is catered to Mexican tourists. All of the activities and entertainment are geared towards the Mexican clientele. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa H
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Nerissa H, Thank you for staying with us! We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family.

SASKATOON
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed with a friend at the Tesoro in Ixtapa and had a FABULOUS experience. The staff were next to none and so very friendly!! One side was ocean facing and the other was inland facing, so I was able to enjoy both breath-taking views at sunrise and sunset! Tesoro is within walking distance of all amenities that you may want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CHRISTINA T
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Christina T, Thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasing as possible, and we appreciate your comments. I reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a good time at tesoro , the place is close to airport.the staff is excellent, the service super. the food is very mexican as are agood percentage of guests.the beach is huge with good access and lots of ocean view and waves weather was sunny and hot every day. their food was a little lite on quality and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank billcampisano
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear billcampisano, Thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasing as possible, and we appreciate your comments. I reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We must like it. It is our 13th year to return to the Tesoro. The hotel is not to big. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating. The food is good. Breakfast are the best. They have the best omelet maker in Ixtapa. The pool is great. Close to the beach and massage huts are close by. Easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William S
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear William S, Thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasing as possible, and we appreciate your comments. I reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family

Langham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were just at the Tesoro from March 9-16 and had a great time. We did not have big expectations as we read some pretty bad reviews and it is only a 3.5 star resort. We weren't disappointed. The food was average compared to most other resorts we have been too. A good variety, I am a vegetarian so was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamaicaboundjan09
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Jamaicaboundjan09, Thank you for staying with us! We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice smaller hotel. Great food selection...lots of fresh salads and fruits. Something different every night. Staff is extremely friendly and hard-working. Lovely location in midpoint of Playa Palmar. Saturday night and Sunday busy with a wedding...no beach chairs available Sunday. Had to sit up top with not enough shade. I think they advertise to locals for weekend visits...mid week much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenican
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Jenican, Thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasing as possible, and we appreciate your comments. I reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family

Cowichan Bay, Canada
Reviewed March 18, 2017

We booked the Tesoro because it was a fantastic deal with several discounts for various reasons making it impossible to say no however we'll never stay there again. The lobby is dark and unwelcoming, the pool area is small with very few loungers or umbrellas and the food is the worst I've experienced in Ixtapa, We've stayed in several of...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank 2013happytrails
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear 2013happytrails, Thank you for staying with us! We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family.

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed March 15, 2017

My husband and I spent 3 weeks at the Tesoro Feb-Mar 2017 and found it quite lovely very clean & comfortable , we were on 2nd floor but would recommend staying on higher floor....the food was always good to eat (you have to be creative after the first couple of weeks...but we made it work) the breakfast especially the egg/omelette...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theloveboyds
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear theloveboyds, Thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasing as possible, and we appreciate your comments. I reiterate the graces for your comments and we send a cordial greeting from the Tesoro Family

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

734 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (498)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (47)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Price Range: $121 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tesoro Ixtapa staff and other travelers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Tesoro Ixtapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all rooms have a nice view. we were the third floor.”
yvette1111, 6 days ago | Read review
“Stay on a lower floor so you don't waste your vacation waiting for the elevator.”
nerissah2017, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor by the elevators but didn't hear them much. The bar next door had its music playing but we could still sleep.”
Jamaicaboundjan09, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms seemed to have an ocean view but obviously the higher you go the more you will see.”
HopeLeyenhorst, Mar 11, 2017 | Read review
“Seems like all rooms are in a good location”
811monikag, Mar 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question