We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Save
Share
Avenida Paseo de Ixtapa S/N Lote 3-A,, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo de Azueta 40884 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Official Site
$209
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
$159
View deal
Expedia.com$186
Booking.com$283
Travelocity$248
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2877)
Pool & Beach (718)
Room & Suite (497)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/31/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/31/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 26 hotels in Ixtapa
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
44Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5081Reviews431Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,170
  • 1,105
  • 467
  • 189
  • 152
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Liz I wrote a review Oct 3
1 contribution
The best hotel had an amazing experience had a cooking class with chef Johnny how to make a good "salsa boracha with the molcajete" hospitality has been amazing great service they treat you like their own
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Liz, Thank you very much for your review. It is very nice for us to know that the cooking classes with our Chef Yony were amazing. We hope to have the opportunity to have you here once again. Sincerely, The general management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol G wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
We want to take the time to acknowledge and compliment several employees. Simon, Jesus, and Ramondo. All are so helpful and accommodating. Always making sure we had anything we needed. My husband had a birthday while we were there. Jesus went out of his way to make it special, he had a cake ready for him when we came in for lunch. Simon and Ramondo were always making sure we had a drink if we wanted one and always served with a smile even though most of the time they were very busy. They all treated us with a smile like they knew us personally. Other employees we didn’t get to know very well were also very friendly and helpful. Thanks so much to all for making our stay fun and special Francis, Carol, Rocky, Cheryl, Bruce and Gail 🤗
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear guest, For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation at our resort thanks to the incredible service you received from our team. We are glad to hear that your husband had a nice birthday at our resort. We will be happy to share your appreciation about the quality of service with our team and especially with those mentioned in your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas T wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I had a very pleasant stay; although I speak very little Spanish, customer service was beyond excellent. The staff is amazing and respectful! Rafael and Carlos were very nice, caring, and always happy to help! You must reach out to them if you speak English, they are always by poolside or even the lobby when checking in/out! I would definitely come here again. This place is on par, if not better than Cancun resorts I have been to. It is less crowded, food is great, atmosphere is astounding, view is amazing, and nightlife activities were awesome. I Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear guest, For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation at our resort thanks to the incredible service you received from our team. We will be happy to share your appreciation about the quality of service with our team and especially with those mentioned in your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melina995 wrote a review Jul 2022
San Diego, California46 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
This year we decided to visit a new place and we choose Ixtapa, this hotel compared to the other hotels, we saw were all about the same, all of the facilities are really old probably 80s or older. The staff here is really nice, they all work really hard to make your visit great. The food doesn’t have much of a variety there is an Italian restaurant, and there is a restaurant by the sea. The buffet is average, and they do have room service,it’s almost as if the city as a whole didn’t make the jump to be a sensational tourist attraction. We over all had an excellent time, I do recommend going to Ixtapa Island and to las Gatas beach. If the hotel wasn’t so old it would be amazing here. Again I can’t say enough about how nice the staff is. The hotel just needs a huge make over to come in to the 21st century 😆 I recommend the hotel open another indoor restaurant because it rains a lot during the summer so that their could be more food options. The kids had a nice time and the price was really inexpensive compared to cabo. But it still a 3 star hotel with a really friendly and attentive staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear Melina, For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation at our resort, however, we will share your comments with our team for follow up. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aidan S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Carlos and Rafa made this trip so much fun! Food and drinks were amazing! The weather and activities were perfect all week!. Thank you to all of the staff to make us feel just like we are at home. We had a great time! Had a great first time here in ixtapa!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded Jul 18, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear Aidan, For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your vacation in our resort. We will be happy to share your appreciation on the quality of service with our team and especially with those mentioned in your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gabby Valdez wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The activities guys were really amazing! Always calling us over to play beach volleyball and encouraging us to have a good time. Carlos and Rafa were the coolest and kindest, remembering our names from the first day we got here. The service overall was great! Everyone was so attentive and very kind. Thank you for making our vacation great! :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded Jul 18, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear Gaby, For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your vacation in our resort. We will be happy to share your appreciation on the quality of service with our team and especially with those mentioned in your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meghan R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Let me start by saying, the staff and concierge are top notch at this resort. Everyone greeted us with a smile and went above and beyond for us our entire stay. Raymundo and Simon at the pool bar were the best! Along with Joel at the Sun Club!! I don't know how they remembered us everyday but they always gave us a warm greeting, and always had two cold cervezas ready for us :-) Our experience was 10 times more enjoyable because of their hospitality! We booked our trip through Apple Vacations along with a horseback riding excursion through Amstar. Noe is the Amstar representative at the resort and he provided excellent service to us! My husband and I chose this resort based on recommendations from friends, so we were both very excited to check it out. We booked a Sun Club room since this was a special trip (celebrating our 5 year anniversary) and were very impressed with the room we were given...at first. After unpacking and enjoying the beach, we came back to the room to shower before dinner. The shower handle ended up falling out in my hand and we were unable to turn the water off. My husband immediately went downstairs to notify the front desk. They sent up maintenance and moved us to a different room a few floors up. Once we packed up and went into the new room, we started unpacking again and noticed a foul smell in the closet. At this point, we were both a little frustrated with the move that we just decided to let it go and make the best of it. We cleaned up and went downstairs for dinner at the buffet, which the food wasn't really good (more on this later). Once we came back to the room, I noticed a lot of water all over the floor in the bathroom and found water leaking from the ceiling. We notified the front desk again who sent out a maintenance worker, but were told there were no other rooms to move us to. Maintenance was able to fix the leak but this experience did leave a bad impression on the room for us. We came during the "off-season" travel time since it's their rainy season, so a lot of the entertainment shows and outdoor restaurants were closed or moved indoors which made the resort very loud and stuffy with the humidity. My recommendation would be to go at a different time of year when the weather is cooler with less rain and humidity (Nov-Mar) The food at the buffet was a little disappointing. Not many options and crowded since other restaurant options were closed. We ended up eating/drinking in the Sun Club lounge, which was quiet/private and more enjoyable for us. We also ate out more than we thought we would, but there are some great options around the resort. Rueben's Burgers was awesome! The couple's massage experience at the resort was amazing!! Highly recommend any of the spa services at Sunscape. The service was impeccable and the treatments were completely relaxing. We also received some resort credits which we were able to apply to our spa service and made it extremely affordable. Do yourself a favor and go to the spa. You will not regret it! Lastly, since this was an anniversary trip, my husband and I decided to purchase one of their romantic dinner packages through the concierge. The dinner is meant to be enjoyed under a cabana overlooking the ocean, which is why we wanted to schedule this as soon as we checked in! Due to the rain situation, we had to push back our dinner to the final night of our trip, which we were nervous about, but the lady with concierge worked with our every request and helped make this dinning experience over the top. My husband and I felt like royalty! The dinning manager greeted us along with our private waiter and catered to our every need. It was the perfect ending to this trip and well worth the money. A huge thank you for this amazing experience! I will never forget this :-) In summary, despite a few disappointments with the room and food options, my husband and I enjoyed our trip immensely. We would most definitely come back, but during a different time of year. I can't thank the staff enough for ensuring an amazing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay, dear Meghan, For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your vacation in our resort however your remarks mentioned therein about the buffet food and so on have been shared with the corresponding areas. We will be happy to share your appreciation on the quality of service with our team and especially with those mentioned in your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curtis R wrote a review May 2022
Burlington, Canada7 contributions14 helpful votes
My wife and I have been here several times and it never disappoints. The entire staff is very attentive and will go out of their way to ensure you are taken care of. We love Da Mario's and the Bluewater Grill. The fish tacos at the Grill are very tasty and the grill also does an la carte breakfast which is very good. We met some wonderful people from Alberta, Saskatchewan and BC that really made our trip extra special. This year we decided to bite the bullet and speak with a UVC representative of the AMR group and I must say, it was a very nice experience. Mauricio was our our rep, and we never felt pressured or rushed into making a decision. He made us feel relaxed and provided a lot of useful information, plus he has a great sense of humor! I highly recommend that you request Mauricio to take you on a tour and discuss the membership privileges. Later on we met Mariana, also from the UVC team and she was absolutely adorable and answered all our questions. We will definitely be returning to the Sunscape again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded May 6, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear guest, For us the sastifaction of our guest is primordial and we are glad to hear that in this time it was like this. We will be pleased to share your appreciation for the quality of service with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tacoz wrote a review Apr 2022
Langley, Canada78 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed a week here, the third week of April. The tail end of the season and during the weekday evenings the resort is somewhat quiet but during the day and the weekends the resort sells day passes and that is a huge issue for us. We were unable to get a spot in the overloaded pool area and beach chairs. The resort needs to put a limit on how many passes are being sold in a day to minimize the impact on the people who are staying here. We ended up leaving the resort daily to escape the madness. We did have two breakfasts which were ok. One lunch was fine and one dinner in the Italian restaurant was good. The staff that we had interactions with were all very friendly and tried very hard to make us happy. Our room had a great view and was clean all be it a bit dated. The common areas could have used more frequent cleaning as we noticed many dead flies. One of the reasons we didn’t eat here is that I had some stomach issues after eating as did a few others I spoke with and read the reviews of others that had experienced the same issues. I was hoping this would have been rectified. The location, if you like the resort feel then you may like this. If you like to experience a more cultural and authentic experience then this is not for you. The lack of enthusiasm we had for this resort was a blessing as we ended up having an amazing experience adventuring Zihuatanejo and the incredible beaches and restaurants in the area. We have been to Mexico dozens of time and We absolutely loved Zihua and will return to this amazing area of Mexico. All though we will not be staying in Ixtapa. I hope the resort addresses the day pass issue for future guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a towel in a beach or pool chair before 8am. Bring stomach meds.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded May 3, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the hospitality of our resort and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience. We are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant however your observations regarding the day pass. When a guest becomes sick to their stomach it is important to notify our Concierge team for immediate assistance as many times a special diet is required. We will gladly share your comments with our team. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in this your home away from home. Yours sincerely, General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike Church wrote a review Apr 2022
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
+1
We went April 22-29 2022 and had a wonderful time. The staff were very professional and helpful. At a time when people are getting very casual about COVID (being declared the much more tame term “endemic” now), the standards for masks and temperature checks were impressive. Sometimes the music was loud late, so bring earplugs. Other resorts play music late as well, so not entirely on Dorado - it’s a strip of resorts! The room was fantastic. The blow-drier never worked but a replacement was quickly provided. AC was great, and I needed it a few times I “overachieved” in the sun. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant one night and the service and food was impeccable! Bring long pants, a collared (polo) shirt and dress sandals or runners, or they won’t let you in. You’re welcome. We planned to go to that restaurant twice even though we came for a flavour of Mexico! The coffee shop where you can get a latte was staffed by great people. Shouts out to lovely Sandra and the “inimitable” Christopher for their excellent espresso and impromptu Spanish lessons. When I got Montezuma’s revenge late in the trip, the warm and caring response I got was heartwarming. They offered to have a doctor come by “because they were not experts” and I was close to a departure. The waiters in the restaurant were asking about my condition, and offered a custom meal (even though it was the buffet area) easy on the tummy. Sandra set aside some tiny sandwiches for our trip back and I am very thankful for that, it helped a lot! I highly recommend this place for an all-inclusive, you can’t go wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Every room has a great view as far as I could see.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunscape Ixtapa E-Concierge, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Responded May 2, 2022
Thank you for choosing us for your stay dear guest, For us the sastifaction of our guest is primordial. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation at our resort. We will be pleased to share your appreciation for the quality of service with our team and especially with Sandra and Christopher. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The General Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunscape dorado pacifico ixtapa hotel ixtapa, hotel dorado pacifico, dorado pacifico ixtapa
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastGuerreroZihuatanejo de AzuetaIxtapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
285
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Which popular attractions are close to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Nearby attractions include Zorros Bar Ixtapa (0.1 miles), Cocodrilario Tamakun (0.2 miles), and Tequila Por Favor Ixtapa (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Condimento Hotel Emporio Ixtapa, Bistro Soleiado, and El Tiburon de la Costa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Ixtapa.
Does Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.