We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Save
Share
Paseo Punta Ixtapa, Lote 2 Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo de Azueta 40880 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Expedia.com
$238
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$180
View deal
Hotels.com$238
Travelocity$238
travelup.com$189
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1453)
360
Panoramas (10)
Pool & Beach (326)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/18/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Updated 03/18/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 26 hotels in Ixtapa
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center is ideal for both leisure and business travelers, offering an all-inclusive plan with all meals, beverages and activities provided. Couples, families, groups and convention attendees will enjoy the Resort’s ocean front setting, our Mexican and International cuisines and a wide range of water sports and recreational activities. Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the Zihuatanejo International Airport (Code: ZIH) and a short distance from the Ixtapa Marina, golf courses and shopping areas. The Resort has 400 rooms including: Deluxe, Deluxe with Balcony, Junior Suites and Presidential Suites, all with a splendid sea view. The Resort also offers rooms for non-smokers and for people with disabilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1714Reviews213Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 884
  • 448
  • 207
  • 80
  • 95
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Raul L wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Room is not 5 stars, facilities well but the distance from the rooms on 3 and upper floors to the pools is very large, you may take two elevantors, please take this matter in consideration if you are visiting with children. Food ins restaurants is normal, do not expect a flavors party.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: if you are looking to avoid local turism, this is not an option
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Otro at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Raul L, Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your appreciable comments about your recent stay with us, you could give us more information about your stay such as the name of the owner, dates in which you were staying, etc. to the mail: Controldecalidad@azulixtapa.com this to be able to give a more timely follow-up, we will be aware of your comments and receive a cordial greeting. Cordially Quality Department.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jose M wrote a review Aug 2022
Chicago, Illinois36 contributions43 helpful votes
This is a fairly nice hotel with an all inclusive meal plan. With fair quality although don’t expect specialties. Pools are nice although crowded and they absolutely expect you to wear a mask even around the pool when you ask for a drink. The best place is at the shoreline at the sea. There you can rent jet skis or go on a boat ride. Be advised these vendors are not from the hotel and bargain is permissible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Other at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Dear José M: It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nayely D wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
+1
Had a very good experience with the family we enjoyed the whole week we stayed. Our waiters did an excellent job they were very attentive. Thank you very much Alberto, Jesus, and Luis they are located at the pool bar! Also our velero guide Brandon was great! Once again thank you to all the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Otro at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Aug 1, 2022
Dear nayelyd, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed an excellent vacation and that you have received good attention from our collaborators who mention us in your comments, we hope that very soon you will return to this your home, it will be a pleasure to assist you again, receive cordial greetings. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruben F wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Great service by all the waitress… Felipe was great All the kids facilities are awesome, mini club and pools are really nice. Food is ok but having special dinner is a plus. Rooms are good, clean and have good amenities. We all enjoy the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Otro at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear Ruben F, Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to know that you spent a pleasant stay in this your home as well as enjoyed our facilities, it would be an honor to serve you again in the future. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Riccardo P wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
All the people in the hotel are very kind and customer oriented, the quality of the food is exceptional very tasty and with a nice variety. The accomodations are clean, and sufficient to be always enterntain. It was a very nice and great overall experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Otro at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Good morning appreciable Riccardo, Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us, we are pleased to know that you had an excellent experience on your holidays in this your home, we hope to have the opportunity to attend you again in the future. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexander L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
No good, ac didn’t work. Gave us a standing fan Could not change our room us because they refused to refund the upgrade. All the chairs are reserved by guest throughout the entire day regales of all the signs posted that it is not permitted, impossible to get seating at speciality restaurant. Unless you tío big tío the ladies at reservation desk. Same with the pool chairs. All inclusive sucks because you still have to pay big todo to get good service and use amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Otro at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Jul 18, 2022
Dear Alexander Lozano, Thank you very much for your visit and valuable time in sharing your experience, we inform you that we did the investigation corresponding to your case which is as follows; we received a report that the air conditioning in your room did not cool enough, since it was in operation, in the first option you were offered a change of room which you did not accept, since you requested a room a room on the same floor and we did not have the availability, you were offered support with a provisional fan, again the next day the report was received and you were offered another change of room and you accepted for change of hotel, we are very sorry for the situation, but the attention was given at the time of your stay; we hope to have the opportunity to anticipate you again in the future, cordial greetings. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marko2m wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions7 helpful votes
Been to this hotel for a second time after few years. What a regret! Beach: 👎 It is super small, full of stones, water was really dirty with loads of dead fish. Rooms: 👍 They are of a good size and clean. Food: 👎There are three buffet restaurants, but all of them serving the same food, not overly tasty. Entertainment: 👎👍The DJ music in the night was not good, and since it was in the main building, it was very noisy despite the closed doors of the room and an AC being switched on. Shows were more less ok, even though they were in a cheep side. There were billiards, table football and table tennis, but all were super old. Activities:👍👎 The activities and people were really good. Even though for example, bicycles for the outside biking roots were so old that I needed to change mine twice. Service and stuff: 👎👎This is probably the worst of all. They were all very focused on their own stuff, not friendly, not trying to be helpful at all. At the check I , I was assigned a room that already had people in it. Then I was assigned another room that was a downgraded to what I have paid for. But the stuff, manager included, didn’t want to listen to me, we’re very offensive and with no willingness to help. After more than 3 hours spent at the reception, I finally got offered a late check out, but still they didn’t want / have the room that I paid for and were constantly repeating the robotic answer that they want to help and that the fault was of the agency I have booked with (even though I have paid directly at the hotel). Overall, for this amount of money, travelling very often o Ixtapa, as a fact I know that there are much better hotels, with better beaches, entertainment and service than this one.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Other at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Apreciable sr. Marko: Muchas gracias por su reciente visita, le comentamos lo siguiente: En fechas cercanas las playas del estado de Guerrero entre algunas del litoral del pacífico han sido afectadas por un fenómeno similar a la marea roja, por lo que ha afectado a la fauna acuática, en cuanto a lo que menciona del servicio se estará trabajando con cada jefe de área para la mejora continua, reciba saludos cordiales. Atte.- Departamento de Calidad
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tarek wrote a review Mar 2022
Slave Lake, Canada185 contributions60 helpful votes
So usually I will be sure if this is a hotel where I want to visit again or not… this time is different! Azul Ixtapa is a very nice resort but it won’t be my first choice in the future Lets start by the POSITIVES: - Excellent Covid precautions by the staff and the hotel. You will be asked nicely to wear your mask if you go to the omelette station without one. Better than Canada… I felt very safe - All rooms got a very nice ocean-view - Although a bit tired the rooms are nice and sufficient - Excellent Wi-Fi coverage - Very hard workers who are over worked and overwhelmed. For example there is only one to two food servers in most buffets. This means very long line-ups at times. - The majority of guests are nice and friendly, similarly in the streets, people are super nice. Different culture though… at least twice, a different Mexican female guest completely ignored me in a lineup! Very rude - pools and beach are warm… the weather is very nice. The pools are big and nice. Jacuzzi is limited to adults - we enjoyed three dinners at the a la carte… book as early as you can. Schedule is out on Sundays. You are limited to three per week. The three meals were super delicious. If we go back, we will make sure to book the oyster bar dinner around sunset - The servers are excellent… a gold star goes to Elizabeth at the beach restaurant who was very helpful and professional and to Brenda (i guess this is the name) in the Italian restaurant omelette station. Several silver stars goes to other serves, and reservations team. - The kids club looked nice but it is for 5-11 only.. my young guy was not happy. - There is a daily show at 8:30 that with a 1 & 3 years old kids was not something we can make. No directions though to where the theatre is! - There is free sailing boat and kayaks… you need to reserve in advance. Minimum age applies - mini golf and climbing wall - if you want to go to mingle with average locals, take the bus ($14pesos to Ixtapa and 16 to Zihuatanejo). Don’t shop there if you can’t negotiate a good deal. Prices are very similar to the shops in the hotels. The bus runs 6 to 6 with no schedule or exact stops… just wave it. It is the bus with a “Playa Linda” sign - if you need an antigen test (not required for Canadians starting April 1, 2022), the hotel doctor will charge you $1000pesos in your room. You can get it for $700pesos in the hotel lobby through Ixtapa Azumed you can find the contact in the IXTAPA Trip Advisor forum) - may be closed on Sundays. Excellent service… was few minutes late but it took 5 minutes and we received an accepted certificate in English in less than 1 hour by WhatsApp - on the beach, next to the hotel, don’t miss Mary massage… you will miss a lot. 1hour for $450pesos - we planned to go the the island but cancelled in the last minute … 80 pesos round trip by boat… free under 3. Last boat at 5pm for the NEGATIVE things: - The beach is very dirty… despite the amount of daily cleaning accomplished early in the day by the hotel team. This is completely different from the white nice sand and blue clear water in the Caribbean sea area. The sand is dark and hard and the ocean is very dirty. This is mother nature not the hotel mistake - The hotel caters for local citizens… so except for a la carte restaurants and the beach restaurant lunch, most of the available dishes have a Mexican theme… thus for a week our breakfast was limited to omelette, coffee, a small cinnamon roll and a ball of fruits… every day - Vegetarians, Vegans and avoiding pork? This will not be easy. Two separate incidents: first in the Italian restaurant Where the sign said potato and vegetables but the food I received was potatoes and ham! In the beach restaurant, using google translate I requested plain cheese or veggie pizza… I was told 15mins…. After 15 mins I received my plain cheese pizza with few pieces of HAM … really frustrated me - As explained, this place caters for locals, bingo in Spanish! the weekend will be very busy. The culture may be different! Guests during the weekend book three sun-beds with one towel by the pool and another three beds by the beach with another towel! So nearly impossible to find a place if you are there after 9:30! No action from the hotel despite complaining! I was told it will get better by Sunday afternoon! - The vast majority of employees don’t speak english. - I never visited an All Inclusive resort where the fridge is not stocked! My minimum expectation includes soft drinks and water…. In the Azul Ixtapa this is not the case… you get bottles of water from housekeeping daily when they clean the room. Need more… visit a bar… nearest bar before 16:00 is by the pool! No cans of coke… if you need probably you need to buy from a convenience store! I guess - Lack of communication! I took a bus to Ixtapa to find an ATM… only to find out later that there is an ATM in the sister hotel… oh… did I mention that there is a sister hotel? Because we discovered it… no communication or very limited to be fair and you need to extract it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floor has a good ocean view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Other at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear Tarek: Thank you very much for your visit and comments that you leave us through this medium, it is very important for us that share your experience and thus be better hosts. Azul Ixtapa Grand its the same family but no the same hotel, are diferents plans vacationals, therefore the guests can´t use both hotels. And the problen about vegetarians I inform you that this information will be sent to the departments involved to carry out the corresponding investigations and actions in accordance with what you mention, we hope your visit to this house again, receive a cordial greeting. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerrod S wrote a review Mar 2022
Fox Lake, Illinois1 contribution
We are having an amazing time at azulejo ixtapa. Edgar has been are main waiter and has been phenomenal, the whole staff has been as well. This is our 6th time here and will definitely be coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Other at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Dear Jerro Ds: It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success. We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob wrote a review Mar 2022
Saskatoon, Canada12 contributions22 helpful votes
From check-in to check out, the staff was very helpful and thoughtful. Pool is a comfortable temperature. Food at the buffets was average. The reservation restaurants were very good. It is definitely a family oriented resort. The ocean is warm here and a quick taxi ride to Zihuatanejo is a great day trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: There is a lot of walking and stairs. It’s a big resort.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Durán, Other at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Responded Mar 12, 2022
Dear Rob: It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success. We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future. Cordially, Quality Control Department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$184 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia azul ixtapa hotel ixtapa, sol melia azul ixtapa, sol melia ixtapa
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastGuerreroZihuatanejo de AzuetaIxtapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
400
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include Ciclopista de Ixtapa (1.8 miles), Isla Ixtapa (0.9 miles), and Delfiniti (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Faro, Restaurante Condimento Hotel Emporio Ixtapa, and Bistro Soleiado.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.