We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels

Save
Share
Carr. Fed. Salina Cruz-Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Puerto Escondido 71983 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$475
Booking.com$475
Agoda.com$475
Orbitz.com$475
Tripadvisor$475
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (255)
360
Panoramas (42)
Pool & Beach (116)

About

#7 of 65 hotels in Puerto Escondido
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Massage chair
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
Contact
Carr. Fed. Salina Cruz-Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Puerto Escondido 71983 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Alvarez Intl Airport175 miSee all flights
Puerto Escondido Airport14 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
159Reviews17Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 131
  • 19
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Iti wrote a review Oct 2020
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions
We were very disappointed with the Hotel manager response to our Kakurega dinner cancelation claim. Even we booked one night at the Escondido Hotel, they cancelled us the dinner via email 3 hrs before, because we did not filled a pdf that was sent on an email 3 days before. So, be aware that the costumer service they provide is very low in comparison to their “premium” service announced (400 usd/night for 2 pax). Instead of following up with us on the info required/missing to make the dinner reservation, they just simply cancelled it 3 hrs before the dinner. Also, she said she'd reward us with a romantic dinner that never happened. Also, wifi at the dorms does not work. You will need to move to the dining areas or deck, and our pillow was dirty (bird sediment) when we entered into the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
HuckleberryR wrote a review Feb 2020
Ucluelet, Canada14 contributions3 helpful votes
This place is absolute paradise! The property is absolutely gorgeous and very secluded, one of only a few spots on a very long beach, with mountains behind, the ocean in front and surrounded by cactus. There are just 16 individual log huts with palm roofs located right on the beach, each with a private patio with sun loungers, hammock and a plunge pool, and views looking right out to the ocean. The room is minimalist but luxurious, with a very comfortable bed, doors that open on either side to allow the breeze to blow through and provide an ocean view from bed. There are thoughtful amenities, such as flipflops, sun hats, robes, lots of nice fluffy towels and bug spray. We shared our room with some gekkos and there were some bugs around, but nothing terrible, almost like the highest level of luxury camping you could imagine! We were lucky to have one of the end rooms (numbers 1 and 16) which was perfect for us, as although it is a bit further to walk to the main areas it was completely private and no one walked past the room at all or could see in from the beach unless they came very close, which didn't happen at all. The common spaces were lovely too, with a gorgeous infinity pool with sun loungers, hammocks, sofas and tables around and a small bar to order delicious cocktails and snacks from. There are a few well spaced out roofed sunloungers on the beach, some with hammocks and a nice restaurant space, gift shop and small spa. The staff were friendly and courteous but very unobtrusive, the service was great with chilled water being delivered to you on the beach and mini ice buckets to keep your beer cool whilst you swim. The food was good for the most part and quite reasonably priced. We weren't crazy about breakfast (a buffet with hot items) and dinner (set 3 course dinner), although they were not bad they were underwhelming and a bit overpriced, but there is a wonderful a la carte menu that is offered from 12pm until 8pm, so we ended up mostly just ordering from this menu for a late breakfast, afternoon snack and early dinner. This menu was great, the food was authentic Mexican cuisine with some refinement, it was fresh, bright and delicious. Whilst there were obviously other guests there this isn't the place to make friends, it was mostly couples (no kids) and no one really talked to each other or made eye contact and it felt very quiet, peaceful and private. We arrived at the end of a three week trip of adventuring around Mexico, which was at the end of a very busy year, and this was the perfect place to just relax and finish our vacation. I wanted to cry when we arrived because it was SO beautiful and I wanted to cry when we left because I didn't want to go home. Our goal now is to be able to come back every year, for a minimum of three days, because we loved it so much!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We loved being on the end, either 1 or 16, as those are furthest from the common areas.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NYCtraveler wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York29 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
This property is like no other. It is so intensely secluded that you can look for miles on the beach and count less people than fingers on your hands...and we were there during the peak season. This also means there are no little stores or restaurants to visit anywhere within walking distance, and to get to Puerto Escondido entails a long, bumpy and expensive taxi ride. We were prepared for this and were happy to stay close to the hotel for our 4 day stay. The architecture and design of the hotel is smart and sophisticated. The cabanas are perfectly designed and the mid-century-meets-the-desert décor is sexy. We loved hanging out on our private veranda at night and watching the stars twinkle. The pool is huge and perfectly heated and there are no screaming children. It's a dream come true for people who seek relaxing adult vacations. The Oaxacan menu is fantastic and delicious, and the wait staff is super friendly. O ther reviewers complain about the roughness of the ocean, but while it is not the still waters of the Carribbean, it is bath water temperature, clear, and perfect for body surfing. If you're not experienced with waves, it may take some time to find your footing and learn how to not get pounded into the sand...but that is the nature of dealing with surf. The natural surround of the place is so stunningly beautiful, there would have to be something truly wrong with you to not love every second of being there (ok, I know, beauty is subjective). As for the roughing it part, there is regular confrontation with wild life that you must be able to cope with. The thached roofs of the cabanas are home to all kinds of insects and animals that you may encounter in your room. I was awoken one night by a cricket that fell on my head - startling, yes, but harmless. There are lizards all around the hotel and we saw a desert rat that fell into the gutter of the infinity pool (quite cute, but still a rat). But with this is also the chance to see all kinds of birds, turtles, and fish that make this area their home. We were lucky enough to be part of a baby turtle release on Christmas day organized by the hotel and a turtle sanctuary. If you have the chance to do this, DO IT! There is no fitness room to speak of, despite what the Marriott website says, although there is a tiny basement where we saw a couple kettle balls and a whirlpool, but this seems to be hidden and not used by anyone. There is also a "spa", but it is simply another tiny room with a massage table. We heard guests say they loved their massages. Drinking water is harder to come by than is should be at a luxury hotel. Housekeeping comes by once an evening to fill a small pitcher with water in each room. We took that pitcher to the main pool and filled it from the communal water cooler whenever we ran out, which worked for us, but it could be a pain if you are in one of the farther cabanas. Finally, while the wait staff and housekeepers are super friendly, there's not really any felt sense of a concierge or management presence. The front desk staff were pleasant enough, but not really that forthcoming with the ins-and-outs of the hotel. Don't get me wrong, if you ask (and know what to ask), they are happy to share information.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ManuelOtazo, Manager at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear Edhnyctraveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your overall experience in Hotel Escondido. The staff and me are very happy to hear about what a wonderful time you had with us. You are not mistaken when describing the hotel as paradise. Just a walk in a very private beach, never sounds like a bad idea. It was amazing to read about your detailed stay, this will be very helpful, not just for new readers but for all of our staff. They love to hear about the experience about our guests, specially when it was such an amazing one. We take pride in our service and how much we can help our guests to live a full and awesome experience. We really do hope to have you guys with us again. I'm sorry I wasn't as present as I wanted to be with all of our guests, but the activities such as turtle releasing and one activity a day during the month of december kept part of my staff very busy. But I truly thank you once again for your comments, I'll make sure to pass it on to the rest of my staff. And hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards, Manuel Otazo General Manager motazo@hotelescondido.com
Read more
NNN wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed six nights at the Hotel Escondidos. We loved the location, the pool and the beach. The service was friendly. We enjoyed really good breakfast and diners. However, if you are afraid of large insects and mouse, you should avoid staying at this hotel. The rooms are nice and it feels good to go to bed hearing the waves. But during our stay we found multiple cockroaches on the bed. On our last night there, a mouse felt from the roof directly in front of the closet and ran below the bed. We called the front desk, they did not seem really surprised, helped us to catch the mouse but did not really get how a problem it was for us. They only offered us to remove a a taxi drive from the overall bill (USD 70) when we have not slept well as we were afraid to find more animals in our room. Overall awesome hotel but poor cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManuelOtazo, Gerente at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Dear Nikosdeparos2020, I would like to thank you for taking the time in leaving your comments. We take very serious the experience that our guests had during their stay. Being good or bad comments, we make sure to keep them close for improvement and encouragement to our staff. I'm very sorry for the situation that was presented during your stay, since finding this kind of fauna is not common, as you might think, in the hotel. Please, keep in mind that we are a hotel secluded from civilization and in the middle of nowhere, hence the name in spanish "Hidden". We still manage to give the best service and quality to our most important value, our guests. Fortunately, we also have a very strict Fumigation Management Plan where all common areas and rooms are to be fumigated regularly to avoid any other beings around this areas. I would like to say that this is an isolated case, that I'm terribly sorry about. I'm still very happy to read that you loved the hotel and your six nights stay was very acommodating. We would love to have you over again and take personally good care of you. Best regards, Manuel Otazo General Manager motazo@hotelescondido.com
Read more
Jm S wrote a review Oct 2019
Madrid, Spain45 contributions21 helpful votes
My wife and I decided to visit more beaches of Oaxaca. We decided to go to Puerto Escondido and chose the Hidden Hotel for being in a good place and belonging to a known hotel chain. When making the reservation, I requested the transport Airport-Hotel-Airport. It is not cheap US $ 74.00. When we arrived and leaving the exit door, there was a driver with my name already waiting. I had read in the hotel comments about the lack of drinking water in the rooms, so I asked the driver to stop at a convenience store next to the airport exit. I bought several bottles of water and good I did it, because in effect, there is no drinking water inside the hotel rooms. You must ask for it and they just fill a small jug in the afternoons. We drove about 20 minutes from the Airport until a terrace road exit. From there, another 20 minutes through plantations of papayas, mangoes, tabachines, etc., until arriving at the hotel. We checked in and they assigned us our palafito/palapa type room. The room is fine. Spacious, with open wooden doors on both sides. Wooden floors, also. It has a terrace that has a splash pool, hammock and armchairs. I know it is a secluded place, but there is a poor or not at all internet service inside the rooms. During the 5 days we stayed, the internet at the room hardly worked at all. AC is not strong enough during the day. I liked the idea of having an “open” room all the time. I was not given a room “key” until the second day. Shower has good pressure and has an open ocean view. There is a small lamp to be used during nights when you move around the hotel area. Also, worth noting there is very scarce mobile phone service. You get a weak signal at some places. You get a good signal at the beach!!! Internet service works the at the dining room, pool area and near the front desk. You are really disconnected from the world. The hotel has all the commodities. From one side you see the Oaxacan green mountains. To the other, a very long sandy beach with almost nothing on sight. You go to this hotel to unwind all the senses. One at a time. The beach is unswimmable. Very high waves and a strong undertow. Never saw someone swimming or surfing. The hotel has a large swimming pool and a very nice pool site, with bar, etc. I did not like that some guests took to the pool speakers to hear music. It was not loud, but it is uncomfortable listening other people’s music. The food at the hotel is delicious. More than that. I think it is the best hotel food I have ever tried. I like Mexican food and eat everything. Everything was marvelous. Not a complain. I had prepaid breakfasts and dinners. Food and mezcal drinks, from straight mezcal with worm salt, to the mezcal cocktails, were excellent. Kudos for the chef and barman. Service was also superb. Erik was very courteous and attentive, seeing our requirements in advance. My wife took some massages at the Spa, she was very happy. In all, service was good. The not so good tone was most of the ladies at the front desk. Except for Amairan (?) who was warm and welcoming, the rest seemed to dislike their jobs and just answering by the “script” and not beyond. They did help, but not very warm. Most of the explanations were: “this is how it is done here.” One day I wanted to swim at the beach and located a local taxi service. I was recommended a beach called “Roca Blanca” (White Rock) which is about 10 minutes on the main highway. I called this local taxi and was surprised by the good service, car, prices and formality of the driver. We arrived at the beach which had some waves, but you could swim with no problem. We ended expending the whole afternoon there and eating at the local palapas. They also have good local artesanal mezcal. Vivianas´s palapa was the best. The driver arrived to pick us at the stipulated time with no complaints. I paid at the end of the ride. I ended hiring him one afternoon to go to Puerto Escondido town. Again, sharp and formal. His English is scarce, but he is highly recommended. I will write his info at the end. At the end, this is what I think of the Hotel Escondido: Good Things: 1. Location: Excellent 2. Food, delicious 3. Service, very friendly (except from most front desk ladies) 4. Tranquility Things to improve: 1. Room Internet Service 2. Maintenance: some places need attention 3. Room Cleanness, more effort 4. Enough Drinking Water at rooms 5. Bugs inside room: perhaps a net over the bed For a good taxi service, call Gilberto (Gil) Serrano: Whatsapp: +52 954 138 1216 (since sign is weak, it is better to message using Whatsapp Home: +52 954 596 4404
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Every room is Ok. I prefer the ones far from "main building". Buy drinking water before...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManuelOtazo, Gerente at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels
Responded Nov 2, 2019
Dear Jm, First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience! We are very pleased that you enjoyed Hotel Escondido, our cuisine and in general a spectacular experience. There is nothing more rewarding for us than reading comments like yours, and knowing that our guests found here a place where they can rest, feel at home, eating and sunbathing as necessary. We had the privilege have you with us and I hope you can eventually return to continue enjoying paradise. This is your home and we would love to have you back very soon. Best regards, Manuel Otazo General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$286 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoSouthern MexicoOaxacaPuerto Escondido
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Hotel Escondido, Puerto Escondido, a Member of Design Hotels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.