We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 427: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed for just one night after finding the Inn via a review from the Guardian for one of the best 10 places to stay when visiting the Dales and we were not disappointed. It was lovely, a beautiful appointed room, we had the suite in the photos with the claw bath, just lovely. The staff were excellent, settling us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This pub/restaurant is very pleasant, the staff are friendly and attentive, the food is very good, they have a good selection of beers and wines, the only thing that spoiled our meal was the wasps, because it was a warm day they had the door that lead to the beer garden open to help keep the room cool, a fly... More 

Helpful?
Thank R4833HTmichaele
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Another fantastic stay at the black horse for our wedding anniversary We had the dinner bed and breakfast deal which is fantastic value for money Lovely room great evening meal and amazing breakfast The staff are lovely as well I can really recommend a stay at the black horse inn We will be going again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2 night stay. Great Place. Rooms very nice & comfortable. Plenty of room. Check in easy. Staff helpful. Breakfast very good. Only complaint was that the WiFi was not great. Some places there wasn't ant reception. Most definitely stay again & hopefully for longer

Helpful?
Thank KAS_0011
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many many thanks for your feedback. Yesterday we had our internet specialist on site and the internet is all singing and dancing as it should be. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for a night for our wedding anniversary in August 2016. It was absolutely lovely and just what we had in mind. The bar area was spacious and tastefully decorated, the restaurant was beautiful and the food was stunning too, but my favorite aspect of our stay was the room...it was perfect! A big huge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zed1612
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

The Black Horse is a very popular desination for couples celebrating their wedding anniversary. So pleased you apprecaited all the small extra touches. Thank you for writing such a glowing report on Trip Advisor. All our rooms are decortaed to the same standard with a unique twist. Shergar is perhaps one of the larger rooms and two of our 7... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights midweek, choosing the half board option on booking. We were two couples, one on the ground floor, the other upstairs. First impressions were very good, our ground floor room the Shergar suite was excellent, spacious lots of Windows and light, quaint, shabby chic furnishings, an enormous comfortable bed big enough for four ( we didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whickerman
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very constructive feedback. I will share this with the team. We take feedback very seriously and are always striving to improve our customer expereince. Hope to see you again shortly. More 

York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been many times to the Black Horse. All good but now they have gone in to orbit. New young chef and the food is sensational. Just had lunch and 10 out of 10. So we have booked Xmas day lunch and a room to stay over plus a Jim Beam Bourbon centric three course meal next Thursday evening. I cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

What a stunning review. Yes the new menu is very exciting and is being very well received by our guests. Look forward to seeing you on Thursday night More 

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub. Nice staff. Nice food. Nice room Nice location. Everything you would want for a comfortable ,quiet short break. Nothing wrong here . Food tasty. Won't break the bank. Breakfasts lovely. Breakfast served late for a lot of business guests but suited us as we were on holiday. Breakfast 9am to 10 am but guests leaving early get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank margiegb
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice review. I will share it with the team. More 

beccles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way back from holiday, we're a family of four with two children aged 7&4. The food was absolutely wonderful! The staff were really friendly and made our two kids feel very welcomed, they couldn't have been nicer. Room was lovely, loved the idea of the bunny on the kids bed, our little girl... More 

Helpful?
Thank scudwilson
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Oh thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your expereince with the world. So pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our family room is rather unique and never fails to impress our younger clientel. We take a lot of pride in ensuring we look after all our all our guest... More 

west cork
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub restaurant is in aovely village a bit difficult to get to at the moment as access frlm the A1 is blocked due tl the upgrading voing on. Nice atmosphere in the pub three real ales i had Timothy Taylors bitter. The meal stargex off we wkth a free starter of tomato soup in little glasses with a. bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank noiseyWestCork
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. With the Bedale Bypass and the development of the A1M we have been proven quiet difficult to access to those not local to the area. I am pleased to say the impressive Bedale bypass has now opened and the A1M extension is nearing completion so accessibility will return to a new sense of normal with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
5.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 stars 2,083 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
24.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#15 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn is a beautiful, charming village inn in Kirkby Fleetham with Five Star AA Rated Rooms and a Two AA Rosette Restaurant, in the Hambleton District of North Yorkshire, which resides between the North York Moors & Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Offering seven en-suite bedrooms with flat-screen TVs, regional real ales and modern British food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: $117 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, LateRooms, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay