We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 418: English reviews
west cork
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This pub restaurant is in aovely village a bit difficult to get to at the moment as access frlm the A1 is blocked due tl the upgrading voing on. Nice atmosphere in the pub three real ales i had Timothy Taylors bitter. The meal stargex off we wkth a free starter of tomato soup in little glasses with a. bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank noiseyWestCork
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. With the Bedale Bypass and the development of the A1M we have been proven quiet difficult to access to those not local to the area. I am pleased to say the impressive Bedale bypass has now opened and the A1M extension is nearing completion so accessibility will return to a new sense of normal with... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After recent woes, I'm pleased to see the Black Horse is bouncing back! Amazing food, friendly team, and wonderful bedrooms, I cant wait to return! They said the new chef was also Yorkshire Game chef of the year (or similar) and from tasting several of his dishes, I have no doubt that he could win a few more accolades. Outstanding!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vector1234
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

No thank you for giving us a second chance. Tristan our new chef is a real assett to the Black Horse. He launched his new menu two weeks ago and it has been very well received. More 

Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The meal we had here last week was just awful. We both ordered that pub staple which is difficult to get wrong: fish and chips. When it arrived the chips were fine but the fish was under cooked and the batter soggy. A particularly thick piece of fish was still cold. We suspected that the fish had previously been frozen... More 

Helpful?
Thank jbwa48
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Ohhh. Fish and Chips are one of our most popular dishes on our menu and a dish we are reknowned for. We have clearly failed to get it right on this occasion but would really like to the opportunity to invite you back to redeem ourselves. Please can you contact me directly and I will arrange this for you. More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here many times and would always give it 5 star for food and accommodation. I booked a overnight stay with my husband for a well needed break before my second baby came along. Went down for dinner was not allowed to eat in dining room even though I booked it in advance. The evening meal was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank shell602016
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an absolute shame - what has happened to this place? As this is fairly local to me, I have frequented here on several occasions. Sadly for the best part of a year this pub has just sadly missed the mark on every occasion! I think last night however was the final straw. So the two of us wondered up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank redbully
Rosie B, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou redbully for taking the time to write such a constructive review of the Black Horse on this public site. We would like you to contact us so we can be given the oppertunity to explain what actually happened that evening which left no other option but to stop service. Also, the price of peroni, which you will not find... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Full of character with good food and attentive staff. Set in a small village but ideally situated for sightseeing. Rooms were good size and well fitted out. The public bar had the air of a traditional country pub with wood beams and a good selection of beers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jsharrisonfrics
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Blackpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights after family recommendation. The ground floor room was fine with access to small garden. Fresh milk and juice in fridge was very welcome. The evening meals were disappointing, the first evening the steak I ordered was overcooked and not rectified the second time, however the food was removed from the bill. The next evening we... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeannie459
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.We take customer feedback very seriosly and are constantly striving to improve. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant. A real gem of a find. Rooms superior to many 4 star hotels we have stayed in. Little extras in rooms, like fresh milk for tea, proper coffee with cafetière, were a welcome. Classy bathroom, huge walk in shower, roll top bath, and upmarket products. Lovely Moulton Brown soaps. Staff were possibly the most on the ball and friendly... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 200Anna
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. Hope to see you again shortly More 

York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Highly recommended by a friend & we weren't disappointed. This one night stay was a surprise for my partners birthday. The accommodation is first class & the rooms are named after racehorses. Ours was Kauto Star. The food excellent & the staff welcoming & friendly. The pub is set in a pretty & quiet location. The ideal place for a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

The Black Horse is a very specail desination for a wedding, party, weekend escape etc. So glad you had a specail time with us. More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and two grown up children decided to book a table at the Black horse for an evening meal and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and even had dog biscuits for our terrier and fussed over her. The food was amazing and so was the whole atmosphere, lovely beams showing and the whole place felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank theredref
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Our local beer is Black Sheep and is very popular with both locals and visitors......its all to do with the Yorkshire Water!!!! So glad you had a good meal and thank you for the glowing recommendation More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
9.2 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
13.3 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
5.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
7.9 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
10.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn is a beautiful, charming village inn in Kirkby Fleetham with Five Star AA Rated Rooms and a Two AA Rosette Restaurant, in the Hambleton District of North Yorkshire, which resides between the North York Moors & Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Offering seven en-suite bedrooms with flat-screen TVs, regional real ales and modern British food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: $123 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay