We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

Certificate of Excellence
The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Fox Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On holiday from Canada and wanting a country pub near Harlow this more than fitted the bill. Very clean room well appointed and the bird song in the morning was an added bonus. Dinner was first class great steak and ale pie and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Were aware when booking price included a continental breakfast as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances P
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed overnight at The Fox Inn and received a warm welcome. The accommodation was excellent very clean, comfortable and with good facilities and excellent free wi-fi. The pub itself is very clean and welcoming and the dinner and breakfast were well cooked and delicious. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank John B
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An OK place to stay however we only booked here because breakfast was included. When we noticed that is was only continental breakfast we felt it was a con!!!!! So don't book here if it's for the offer of full English breakfast as you will be disappointed. You can get full English but it wil cost you extra £7.95 extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank angelawilliams1970
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to post a review however I feel your 2* rating is rather unfair. First of all, when you booked, you would have been advised that the breakfast that is included is a continental breakfast which is provided in the room. It consists of a selection of three cereals, croissants, jam, orange juice, tea and... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
764 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Fox Inn delighted us with a superb lunch, meal was great, service was great and nice cosy atmosphere. We had soup, prawns and the pate for starters followed by ploughmans lunch and fish cakes for mains. each of the meals was very much enjoyed, a real delight. The service was prompt, attentive and helpful, it was a real pleasure... More 

Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

I booked the fox with 2 work colleagues as we were working nearby. On arrival the place looked great. The rooms were fantastic and spacious with everything you could need. The cleanliness was first rate too. The pub was really welcoming with lovely owners and staff. The food was very good pub food and the beer was some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank giles732016
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for your recent review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the quiz night. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

We went here yesterday for a quiz so we decided to have a meal and that was our first mistake. We had the tuna. Now tuna is a fish that should not be ruined as it takes only minutes to cook. Well that is what I thought but this pub managed quite spectacular to do just that. It was cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I will apologise that your meal did not meet your expectation, however the reason that no further action was taken (we did offer our apologies on the night) was that you had cleared the entire plate, including the 'measly potatoes' and 'less than inviting salad'. However, I will not apologise for the fact that on a Wednesday night we... More 

wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We were invited here for our uncles 50th birthday meal. As there was so many of us we had a tables in a little room just off the restaurant which suited us perfect as the children didn't bother other diners. I had 2 courses. A main and a dessert. Both courses were very tasty. And the service very good. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank em101082
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Very nice home cooked food in a small village. Ample seating inside and a large amount of tables outside on a large lawn some with sun umbrellas if needed. Dogs allowed on the lead and water bowl provided. Plenty of room for kids to have a run around outside if sitting in the sunshine.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

This was a great break; went down to Essex for a wedding and spent time before in this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful (allowed a couple that stayed with us to check out late). The room was quite basic but very clean and the bathroom was gorgeous (One thing, it's a pet hate of mine: skimpy/thin towels).... More 

Helpful?
Thank MacDazling
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

The Fox is a regular haunt of ours. It is comfortably situated in the country about 30 minutes drive away. Our visits have been family with small children to a date night out. Generally the food is satisfying no nonsense pub cuisine served at generously positioned tables by friendly staff. Not sure what happened the other night. We were ignored... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matching Tye
1.2 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
2.3 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harlow
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
3.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Matching Tye
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Matching Tye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay