We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel de la Soledad

Save
Share
Calle Ignacio Zaragoza No. 90, Morelia 58000 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/14/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com$208
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (499)
Room & Suite (124)
Dining (25)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 88 hotels in Morelia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
XVII century colonial building decorated with a vast collection of works of art, paintings and furniture and antiguos.Modernas Charming rooms furnished with fine marble details, onyx, wood and quarry, retaining its essence colonial.Galardonado I have one of the colonial patios most beautiful of the former Valladolid. Located in the heart of the historic center of Morelia, near the most representative attractions of the city
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
533Reviews10Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 380
  • 105
  • 21
  • 12
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
IronMan wrote a review Today
New York City, New York11 contributions9 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel. An outstanding patio with a beautiful fountain and top notch taste in decoration. 10/10. However it is not a five star hotel. It has many shortages that made our stay not enjoyable. First there is a noise problem. You can here what is going on in the patio restaurant until very late in the evening. The morning you are waken up by thousands of birds singing since 7:00 am. Furthermore there is a continous noise from the ventilation at least in our room. If noise is a problem go somewhere else. We had a room with no windows which is a bit claustrophobic but I guess that depends on the person, I domprefer to have a window even without a view. Apart from that, breakfast is the most similar experience to have something to eat in the North Pole. At 7:00 with an outside temperature of 10 degrees you can stay outside or inside. The problem is that even inside everything is open and in uncomfortable even with a jumper or coat on. We didn t have breakfast the second day. I also had a spider on my bed when I woke up but I think that can happen anywhere. Quite lucky my partner didn t see it. Summary, I d recommend to stay somewhere else and going there for a drink or dinner. Hope this helped.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
chef21 wrote a review Jul 2021
California130 contributions19 helpful votes
My family and I recently stayed at Hotel de la Soledad and what a stay it was! It’s in a great location and within a 5 minute walk to the cathedral. We stayed in two rooms on the second floor, one room was a king room and the other was a room with 2 queen beds. The hotel itself is a beautiful, colonial property that is very well maintained. It has all the modern amenities one needs while keeping its old world charm. Our rooms also had outdoor seating areas which were a great place to sit and unwind after a long day of sightseeing. At night, you could see the cathedral lit up from the second floor terrace and you could also enjoy the beautiful courtyard view. Our rate included a daily breakfast with several delicious options such as omelets, chilaquiles, french toast, pastries, and fresh juice. The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner, but we only ate breakfasts in the hotel, choosing to eat our other meals out in the city. Every staff member we encountered was polite and courteous. They would knock on our door and inquire if everything was ok or if we needed anything brought to our room. On the day we checked out, we were having difficulty loading our luggage into our Uber, but thanks to the help of the hotel employee, we were able to fit it all in. And that’s another great thing about the hotel: the wonderful people that work there. Everyone we encountered was kind, helpful and professional. Everyday we would see multiple people working to clean the property and maintaining the beautiful grounds. The management and staff are to be commended for doing such a great job of ensuring that the guests are well-taken care of during their stay. We enjoyed visiting Morelia, thanks in part to our stay at this hotel. I don’t know when I’ll be back in Morelia, but I do know that if I come back I will definitely be staying at Hotel de la Soledad and I would highly recommend it to others as well. Side note-food we enjoyed nearby: Delicious tortas from El Mago, gazpacho from El Guero de la Merced (there was a line but it was totally worth it), and crepes from Café Michelena. There’s also an area next to the cathedral, I believed it’s called los portales de San Agustin and after 6:00 pm there is a stall where they sell tamales and atole (there are other stalls selling enchiladas, but this particular stall was behind them on the other side of the fountain and it was recommended by the locals). Our family of 4 had a delicious authentic Mexican dinner for about 140 pesos (less than $10 dollars), plus tip, which the owner was very grateful for.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCISCO NICOLAS BECERRA RAMOS, Marketing at Hotel de la Soledad
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Thank you very much for your kind and extensive comment, we are truly pleased that during your visit to this beautiful city of Morelia, you have enjoyed the hospitality of all the people of Morelia, especially the people who work daily at the Hotel de la Soledad, making each of the guests feel at home, we really hope that your visit will be soon again to continue serving you with the same cordiality as always, cordial greetings from Morelia.
Read more
Michael wrote a review Jun 2021
9 contributions5 helpful votes
Erendi at the front desk made our trip very special. She was attentive and switched our room with no problem because the first room did not have a window. The hotel is beautiful! I would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCISCO NICOLAS BECERRA RAMOS, Marketing at Hotel de la Soledad
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Thank you very much, we are so pleased to read this, we will let Erandi know that her work was truly appreciated, best regards.
Read more
Nogalesnobles wrote a review May 2021
Reno, Nevada58 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
This hotel has been airing for over 400 years and it’s architecture is beautiful. Every room is different from each other. The staff is top notch, from the check in to the servers in the restaurant. They pay attention to every detail. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to have a comfortable stay and be in the middle of everything.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Make your reservations early because it can get booked up
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCISCO NICOLAS BECERRA RAMOS, Director General at Hotel de la Soledad
Responded Jun 5, 2021
Thank you very much, we are so happy that your stay was as you imagine, we hope to see you back here soon.
Read more
Natali Serra-Bonett wrote a review Mar 2021
Mexico City, Mexico214 contributions79 helpful votes
We spent the weekend in this hotel and we were very happy. The place is beautiful with amazing interior gardens and fountains, very well cared and really cozy. The food at the restaurant was very good and the service very kind but sometimes a little bit slow. All the staff was really kind, all the time. The room was very pretty and even if facing to the street it has noise isolation system in the windows so we didn't felt it, also we had a wonderful jacuzzi inside and we enjoyed the combination of very classic furniture and a very modern touch at the ceiling and design of the bathroom and jacuzzi. I would have liked having a mini bar and a coffee maker but then realized it was not included in our suite, I think it should. The only thing I think is unforgettable and the real reason because I'm giving this lovely place 4 and not 5 stars is because at the room we had several artificial flowers and plants. I see this like tacky and unacceptable in a city with such wonderful nature and so amazing indoor, outdoor and even public gardens. I prefer having no flowers at all than having fake ones, but I'm pretty sure that they could certainly have flowers inside the rooms. Despite this, I fully recommend Hotel de la soledad when visiting Morelia, it has a great location and it worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCISCO NICOLAS BECERRA RAMOS, Promocionar at Hotel de la Soledad
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much, it's been a pleasure to have you here, we work very hard every day in order to be the best hotel in the city, we hope to see you back here soon, best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de la soledad morelia, de la soledad hotel
LOCATION
MexicoCentral Mexico and Gulf CoastMichoacanMorelia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de la Soledad
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de la Soledad?
Nearby attractions include Museo Michoacano de las Artesanías (0.3 miles), Museo Casa Natal de Morelos (0.2 miles), and Casa de la Cultura de Morelia (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de la Soledad?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de la Soledad?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de la Soledad?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de la Soledad?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lu Cocina Michoacana, La Conspiracion de 1809, and Restaurante Marogui del Hotel de la Soledad.
Is Hotel de la Soledad located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Morelia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel de la Soledad?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel de la Soledad offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel de la Soledad?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel de la Soledad?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Centro Historico de Morelia (0.4 miles), Museo Casa Natal de Morelos (0.2 miles), and Palacio Clavijero y Biblioteca Universitaria (1.0 miles).
Is Hotel de la Soledad accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.