We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Vista Motor Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vista Motor Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

I stayed here 5 years ago and also yesterday, it is very old and starting to get tired stains on furniture, beds very poor, pillows paper thin needed 4 to get some comfort, bed coverings torn in corner, magazines and phamplets very old 2 yr and more when booking in the manager was so fast i was still talking to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Room was freezing, no electric blanket, TV was from the ARC with vertical hold scrolling throughout the viewing experience. We were charged far more than the night was worth. On the good side the bath was good with plenty of hot water

Helpful?
1 Thank golfer42016

Travelers are raving about these Wairoa hotels

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

very clean and tidy cosy place to stay beds really comfortable would definetly stay again. You do Wairoa Proud with your great service once again thanks for the accomodation.Reasonable rates and handy to everything.Great

Helpful?
Thank pumau2016
Wairoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

It's a nice place to breathe Wairoa's spirit along the river. Steps away from biz areas--Marine Parade including bakery & cafe and laundromat. It's a good spot for both individual, group of family stay. With its reasonable price ranges, Vista is popular for its lasting business and easy access for anyone passing from Gisborne and Napier/ Hastings.

Helpful?
Thank Mum9khav
Dunedin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Perfectly fine. A mix up with the booking and the owner telling me I paid to much by booking on the internet was an interesting ...there was no visible form of heatin gin the unit when it got cold... Restaurant was better than expected

Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

Motel complex needs updating and grounds need a good tidy up.Friendly and helpful host. Stayed in a two bedroom unit which was clean and reasonably tidy. Unit serviced daily. Could not fault evening meal in restaurant-good selection of food and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank possum94
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016

Very well presented. Very clean and tidy, great beds all you could need including a coffee plunger and ground beans . A very good place at a reasonable price , being a weekend didn't try the restaurant but am told it is good.

Helpful?
Thank OliverWellington
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The price was that of a city motel. However- it was dirty, toilet smelled, there was mould growing in the fridge, hair around the place, stained carpets, minimal hot water. Made the mistake of paying before viewing! Would not recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank emily12000
Peter N, Manager at Vista Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We always appreciate valid reviews of our motel and respect the opinions of our guests. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service. - Alas in this instance we do not see any substance or truth in your review. Should you have concerns you are welcome to ring and discuss. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Stayed in the 4 bedroom house. Outside gardens are shabby with rubbish including RTD cans by the back door. Inside was clean but smelt musty like it had been closed for a long period. It was very cold, really needs heat pumps. The 2 fan heaters were only just adequate... Cheap accommodation. Pleasant enough meal in the restaurant. Staff particularly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kate132015
Peter N, Public Relations Manager at Vista Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Please feel free to contact us direct to discuss your concerns. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

Really great place. People friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and solid with great amenities. Full kitchen in the room and modern new bathrooms. Restaurant is fantastic, reasonably priced with good honest food. I broke my belt during a stay (probably as a result of all the food!) and the staff found me another one and went out of the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rewi H
Peter N, Public Relations Manager at Vista Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we were glad we could help More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wairoa hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Oaks Motel
Three Oaks Motel
#1 of 1 in Wairoa
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lake Road B&B
Lake Road B&B
#1 of 4 in Wairoa
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Vista Motor Lodge

Address: 2 Bridge Street | State Highway 2, Wairoa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Wairoa
Price Range: $89 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay