We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Enjoyed our pre-booked stay (just as well we had booked as very busy!) Warm welcome from Cameron, super sized room, very clean and fresh ensuite and breakfast overlooking the sea with the chance of seeing dolphins.

Helpful?
Thank EasyPeas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a double room but got 2 uncomfortable single beds. Overall, this B&B is too regulated with notices everywhere about what not to do. If you like being dictated to on your holidays, then this is the place for you. The owners give the impression they are only in the business for the money and are seriously lacking in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael N
CHR-DC, Owner at Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Michael N When you arrived we informed you we had a funeral to attend on your departure day we asked all guests to check out 30 minutes early. This was not a problem for other 4 guests except on day of departure it was raining and you didn't want to leave. You insisted to leave even later than normal... More 

Tyringe, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and we choose place because of the sea and dolfhins. The first information we got was too take of the shoes not so hospitably, the room was extrembly cold both evening and morning. We asked if we could eat own food in the lounge but not, we got permission too eat in the breakfastroom from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 201608
CHR-DC, Owner at Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you mr anders carlsson for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I would like to respond to the points you have mentioned. As you can see by our other reviews, cleanliness is utmost; living with the beach at the end of the garden. All guests are requested to take shoes off at the door, I'm... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

clean room. David was helpful with local history. Breakfast was delicious. Breakfast room has nice view of the sea. Golf course restaurant nearby. Nice walks and easy to find. Good place from which to visit Culloden.

Helpful?
Thank Garth R
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found this little gem on booking.com after having to spend a night in the car, being unable to find last minute accommodation around Ullapool. The location is idyllic, with the Moray Firth merely yards from the driveway. The weather had just cleared and the sun certainly helped our stay. David is very helpful and pointed out Penelope Keith's Bistro... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

We had a one-night stop on the way further north. The room was very comfortable and clean with a good bathroom. The selection of breakfasts was excellent, with one choice being home-made granola, yoghurt and fruit - a welcome change. Breakfast is served in a room across the front of the house, looking down the long garden and out across... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzieq9747
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Visited this B and B in August for two days, cost was £150 SO I was expecting something a bit special, very disappointed to find this was small bungalow with three rooms used for BandB as well as family. Room and bathroom were clean but very poor in terms of furniture, sink didn't empty, One of the other quests had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dratsea
CHR-DC, Owner at Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Dr David Williams We anticipated you would give us a low score on Tripadvisor as you were caught basicly leaving without paying. I had to chase you two miles in my car to catch you as you left without paying the balance. You attempted to use your card at our house but your credit card failed, which was not... More 

Marzabotto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

It is hard to imagine a more picturesque location for this B & B, that directly overlooks the long beach of Rosemarkie. The beautiful veranda where breakfast is served is beautiful too. The room where we stayed ('Sunset') is simple but with everything you need. Our hosts, David and Hanako, were kind and thoughtful. Only a small relief: the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Italian68
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

I stayed Fair Isle B&B for 2 nights. The B&B was so friendly, so beautiful, and so comfortable. Especially the scotish breakfast was so good. The black pudding was my first experience, but it became my favorit. And in the early morning, I could see a beautiful sun rise in front of B&B. Happyly I was able to a dolphin... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yukinko_m
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

This is our second visit to David & Hanako and once again we received a warm welcome into their home. We enjoyed a first class breakfast and our accommodation was very comfortable. The views from front of house over Rosemarkie Bay are a joy to behold . We look forward to returning in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank tomallison48
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemarkie
7.9 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#3 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 6 in Fortrose
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Avoch
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Roth Ach B&B
Roth Ach B&B
#2 of 2 in Avoch
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the charming and historic village of Rosemarkie on the Black Isle, from its elevated position has stunning views over the Moray Firth where from the comfort of the house one will be able to catch a glimpse of the famous Bottle Nosed Dolphins as they swim past, and enjoy free fishing from the bay in front of the house. Rosemarkie is ideally situated for touring the Highlands with most of the main tourist attractions including the Isle of Skye, the ferry, fishing port of Ullapool and Inverewe Gardens are an easy drive away - En-suite & Private facilities rooms are on the ground floor. - Relax in our large viewing lounge with coffee/tea. - WIFI, Private car park. Children very welcome. - Non smoking. No pets. - Breakfast: Full Scottish Breakfast or Continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Marine Terrace, Rosemarkie IV10 8UL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Rosemarkie
Price Range: $106 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fair Isle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay