The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt

The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt

The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
Traveler (3551)
Panorama of the 1 Bedroom Suite at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
360
Panoramas (71)
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Enroll free for lower prices
$551
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$551
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$551
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#16 of 87 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
A fresh and vibrant approach to Los Cabos luxury—a singular beachfront retreat commanding a contour of the cape where every room and vantage point overlooks El Arco and the Cabo San Lucas bay horizon. Intuitively interwoven within the natural landscape surrounding the Monuments Beach point break, The Cape is a place to revel in the heat of the moment. The clean, contemporary lines of visionary Mexico City architect Javier Sanchez converge in a relaxed 1960's Southern California-meets-Baja aesthetic at this luxury boutique hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Billiards
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:30% off room rate

Location

Carretera Transpeninsular Km 5, Cabo San Lucas 23455 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Los Cabos Airport
21.4 mi
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles3,946 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Cape, a Thompson Hotel, garners high marks for its spotless accommodations and immaculate grounds, with the housekeeping staff receiving particular praise for their diligence. The hotel's amenities, which include a breathtaking pool and a deluxe spa, coupled with the stunning views, are often mentioned as highlights by guests. Its prime location not only boasts privacy and easy access to town but also makes it a sought-after venue for weddings. While service is generally applauded for being caring and efficient, there are occasional remarks about slower service or miscommunication. The vibrant atmosphere around the pool, often amplified by DJs and music, contributes to the hotel's chic and trendy ambiance. Guests are enchanted by the ocean views from their rooms, although some have pointed out issues with cleanliness and noise. Despite the luxurious offerings, concerns are voiced regarding the pricing of food and drinks, leading some to question the overall value.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3,946Reviews174Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,501
  • 231
  • 96
  • 58
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ryan R wrote a review Aug 2022
13 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Wife and I just returned (July 16th-23rd) from Cabo after staying at The Cape, and while this was our first time back in Cabo since 2019, this is our 2nd stay at this hotel.

Originally, we had some concerns with the hotel changing ownership to Hyatt and reading some of the reviews, we were afraid that the hotel might have lost its vibe we had originally fell in love with 3 years ago. Our worries quickly melted away as soon as we arrived: While there is an increase in guests staying at the Cape, we felt that the hotel has kept the same high standard that we had come to expect. Anyone complaining about the change over or trivial details at the hotel is likely a World of Hyatt Member (an insufferable group of travelers who expect way too much from hotels even at the best resorts. I'm sure they would find something to complain about even staying at Esparanza but alas they don't have points rewards...). I say this AS a rewards traveler myself. Seriously, no one cares that it took an extra 5 min for your Margarita, some paint has chipped, or my favorite "there is no diving board (yes, that was a real review...).

THE TRIP:
Having stayed this trip for 8 days, we experienced nearly all the hotel had to offer. Manta is still top notch, and the Rooftop is a must at sunset and for a quick pop in for a night cap before ending the night. The gym does get busy after 9am so if you plan on getting a bench or access to the free weights, plan on getting their early. One of the better additions are the two Peloton bikes (No need to bring your shoes as they provide a few pairs or you can use the toe cages that one of the bikes offers). As for the pool, we never had any issues getting a chair, even if we came down at noon or when returning from a day trip around the city (one day there were 3 big wedding parties all down at once and still had no issues). Poolside service is excellent (Lenny!!!) and everyone that assisted us went above and beyond to help. For better or worse, the overpriced coffee shop has been replaced by a retail store, but you can still get you caffeine fix at the center bar at considerably better cost.

The location could not be any more perfect; you are maybe 15min away from DT Cabo San Lucas and a short Uber to San Jose (35min). There is also a Freska (Grocery store) right across the highway and a mini market at the Sunrock resort that shares the same drive as the Cape. Jazz on the Rocks/Sunset MonaLisa are walking distance, but I believe you can pay for a driver service to take you up to the entrance if you so choose. Highly recommend making the trip out to Acre and Flora Farms.

Shout out to my guy Lenny who gave us the VIP treatment EVERY DAY. He made the trip a 10/10 always ready with drinks, food, even taking the time to let us try some amazing tequila. By the 3rd day, he knew I wanted an expresso at 3pm and without asking it would be waiting by my chair. Sometimes, we would forget that Lenny was working and treated him as a friend. Great conversation, helpful (he was able to help fix TWO reservations on our trip to way better times and tables!), and above all extremely professional. Because of Lenny, we were introduced to all the All-Star staff: Bernie (manager) and Joe (supervisor) always around with a friendly hello, Miguel always ready with the towels and pretty much knew exactly which chairs we wanted without asking :) and of course Jamie with pool concierge who was our other go to guy and was always at the ready with even the smallest asks (water bottle's, extra towel, fix the shade, etc.). Last by not least, thank you to the crew working the center bar in the mornings (I apologize, but I can't recall any names), but they were fast and friendly and make great Chai Tea Lattes, espressos, and whatever other coffee specialties you may need.

I highly recommend this resort for all the above which makes it hard to want to stay anywhere else all things considered. We can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. I would recommend a room on the Northwest corner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hello Ryrod7, Thank you for this wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear of our guests’ incredible experiences. We are pleased to read that you had another great stay and that you have found a home away from home. We will be passing this message to our HR team who will then re-post it for our employees. Everyone on The Cape team thanks you for your kind words and dedication to our property. It was such a pleasure to host you and your wife, and we hope we will continue to be your first thought when planning a getaway. We hope to have you soon here at The Cape. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa M wrote a review Feb 2020
Jersey City, New Jersey46 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms, the grounds, the food, the drinks, the service were all impeccable. Every room faces the water, so no matter where you stay in the hotel, you get breathtaking views of the sunsets and the arch rock formation. Each room also receives a complimentary bottle of tequila and jelly fruit snacks upon arrival, which is a nice little treat.

It's conveniently located fairly close to many of the top restaurants in Cabo, including Manta, which is located in the hotel (a must try!).

One thing to note is that in our experience, The Cape is one of the only hotels/resorts that allow Ubers to pick you up, so be aware of that when shopping around. The price for Ubers is significantly less than the price for a taxi service.

If I had to nitpick, I'd say the showers could be cleaned a little better (there were some dirty grout lines) and the Sunday brunch prices at the Ledge are astronomical ($75 per person, not including alcohol).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Ambassador311409 wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment you arrive at the property, each staff member speaks to you and is ready to help. I chose to take a private car provided by the hotel at the cost $140 per trip to avoid any messiness at the airport. My plane was late by 45 minutes and the driver waited for me. It's a 35 minutes ride from the airport to the hotel and along the way he told me about the area. At the hotel, the front desk staff was ready to assist. I arrived a bit earlier than check in but they let me know that my room would be ready sooner. The view from the front desk was breathtaking. I found myself at the bar as I waited. I opted to upgrade my room to a suite since I desperately needed to restore. It was worth every penny. The room was very clean, even had extra masks, hand sanitizers for your use. The room was equipped with 1.5 bathrooms, living room, balcony with a view of the infinite pool and ocean, utensils, cookware, stove, washer and dryer. The suites are GORGEOUS! I enjoyed waking up in it every morning. Each night, the turn down service (around 9pm) delivered a sweet snack and around 5/6pm, another delicious local snack would be delivered. I traveled alone but felt safe and secure the entire time. Staff was always available and willing to help make sure you were comfortable. They practiced great social distancing and cleaning regularly, masks were required unless you were eating or drinking...speaking of which, every restaurant and in-room dining was delicious. I started a vegetarian diet during this pandemic and it was very easy to maintain: green juices and smoothies, quinoa, pasta, etc. always available. I even got a massage at the Spa which is located in the most gorgeous part of the hotel from Juanita who gave me 80 minutes of pure deep tissue bliss. I even cried. She worked out some emotional stress! There are 3 Carlos's at the hotel and my encounter with each of them was impeccable. This place is an absolute hidden gem. I will certainly be back...especially if this pandemic carries on.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a suite facing the ocean...totally worth the extra cost.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Hi Ambassador311409, We really appreciate your detailed review. We have been working really hard to make sure everyone is safe and healthy whilst we keep the refined Cape experience for all our guests, so thank you so much for your comments because they are proof that we have achieved so. I will be passing this comment to the Spa Manager Vanessa to congratulate Juanita for a extraordinary job, we do have an internal recognition program where we make sure notice our staff of their achievements. We're looking forward to have you with us again with or without pandemic. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeyRipzz wrote a review Jul 2020
San Jose, California8 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Things that were great:

1. Suitcases being sanitized while our temperature was taken showed us how serious The Cape was taking COVID (we appreciated this)

2. Walking to the lobby we had lemon grass water (so good) after being static spray-sanitized before entering the hotel which was a nice touch

3. UV light to sanitize our room keys, and pens before providing signatures showed us this was overall going to be a 5 star experience

4. EVERY staff member was dedicated to keeping their masks on at all times, AND making sure guests where wearing their masks as well (which we unfortunately could not say the same for our flight to/from The Cape)

5. From a general customer service standpoint, everyone was great, but some standouts were:

a) Pamela for arranging all of our activities in a timely manner.
b) Jeremiah from The Ledge who always remembered us by name when we came in and greeted us with what we could tell was a smile behind his mask
c) Our best experience while at The Cape was at the exceptional Manta restaurant. From the server, to the assistant server (I believe his name was Ricardo and the other gentleman who had long hair pulled up in a bun), to the food, the view, and the overall ambiance was unforgettable.
d) We closed out the weeklong getaway at the Rooftop which was a possible tie for best day at The Cape (thanks to Alex's suggestion during our wedding tour with him and Florencia). Our server Lupita was by far the most gracious host we've ever had anywhere, and she made us feel at home with the best view in Cabo!
e) also worth mentioning is the Sushi at the swim-up bar which was delicious as well. My fiancé got the vegetarian roll several days, and I had the eel roll and octopus rolls which were top-notch. The drinks were amazing too with my lady getting a skinny margarita each day, and I loved their many different flavored daiquiris (their "Miami Vice" which was half Pina Colada / half strawberry was my favorite)

Things that could have been better:

1. Strangely enough, the only thing that was noticeably "not excellent" was their daily coffee. We tried both normal black coffee (was never hot), and then we tried a iced cold latte from the coffee shop downstairs, which also did not taste good and had a noticeable amount of coffee grinds or something in it that was not pleasant (It almost seemed like the iced lattes being made needed to be strained).

2. On the other end of the spectrum, we told this to Lupita while finishing our last night at the Rooftop, and she personally went down to the coffee shop and had a special cappuccino made for us which was way BETTER than Starbucks!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Hi MikeyRipzz, thank you so much fo rtaking the time to express your experience with us and also I congratulate your attention to details and being able to mention all the names, so that we can make sure to recognize them all and pass the message to their direct supervisors. I will personally review the coffee temperature and quality to make sure that is up to standard and that in your next visit with us goes above and beyond your expectations. Also we have been working really hard to make sure that COVID procedures are in place to ensure the health and safety of our guests and staff, so your comment is proof that we have achieved it. Again thank you so much and looking forward to have you with us for your wedding next year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben I wrote a review Sep 2020
San Francisco, California75 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I never enjoy leaving less than positive reviews about any travel experiences and, of course, it’s entirely subjective, but our stay at The Cape was incredibly disappointing. Saving grace—most of the employees that we interacted with during our four night stay were incredibly kind and seemed to have every intention to help us with our ongoing issues—but sadly, I don’t believe they were fully equipped to.

We had booked a specific type of suite in advance, and when we arrived, we were given two different room options, neither of which we had originally reserved. We did our best to accept it but multiple other occurrences that happened all within our first 24 hours, continued to add to our frustration and disappointment.

I attempted multiple times to find someone to help us with these issues, through multiple channels (in-person, via the messaging system that is used on-site, phone calls, etc.), and I was consistently told that they were looking into it, but then nothing—no follow up, no resolution, no additional communication. It wasn’t until we returned to our room later in the afternoon, after being out for the day—and also after explaining to the front desk that we would be out of our room during this period of time, and instead found our room as we left it earlier in the morning, without any trace of housekeeping, that I decided to contact the front desk and request the contact information for management.

I wrote a manger and I was called within the hour. He was great, apologetic, and very accommodating. He offered us a different suite—nicer than the one we were in, but still not the one I was led to believe we had reserved initially, that had both a plunge pool and a partial ocean view. The hot water in our bathroom didn’t work, and I needed to call downstairs to have that fixed—our air conditioning in both the living room and the bedroom were not working—again having to call downstairs to have that repaired. They came up, and we thought they might have fixed the air conditioning, but no. It still doesn’t work as we are preparing to leave today.

Last night we had dinner at Manta—had high hopes since we both knew that the owner/chef was also the owner/chef of one of our favorite restaurants in Mexico City, Pujol. We were greeted by someone who appeared to be watching a soccer game and we got the impression we were disturbing him. There was nothing gracious or inviting about that experience but we didn’t want to venture off property at that time of night so we stayed. He sat us at a table we weren’t thrilled with and asked to be seated outdoors instead, which he said we could not. The food was lovely, and our servers, Alan and Sofia, were truly wonderful, but the restaurant experience as a whole needs some improvement. Pujol is pretty magical—Manta, not quite.

This morning, our last morning at the hotel, I began fixing breakfast on the stove, and then—no gas. 20 minutes later, drilling and pounding began in what sounded like the unit above us.

Although the vast majority of the staff at the hotel were exceptionally kind and well-meaning, there were some really big gaps in service and care—the over quality of our stay was sadly inferior to most other hotels we visit when we travel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Sep 21, 2020
Hi bhi79, First of all I want to say thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed explanation of why the experience didn’t meet your expectations, is really important for us to keep improving as a Thompson Hotel. I would like to have more information about your case to go in depth of the processes that weren’t up to standard since many things you are mentioning here is not the way we do things, unfortunately, they happened and I want to make sure they do not repeat again, could you please send us an email to: alexander.schmidt@thompsonhotels.com who together with me and the management in the Hotel will review every scenario you faced starting from reservations to your day of departure. On behalf of the management and staff of The Cape Hotel, I want to extend our sincere apologies and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon, and hopefully, you can give us a second chance to change and correct your bad first impression due to your experience in your recent visit with us. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle C wrote a review Oct 2020
Santa Cruz, California120 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our second visit to The Cape and even better than the first, if that is even possible. In our 30 years of extensive travel this hotel has THE best customer service of any hotel we've stayed and that's saying a lot. Every single employee works hard at giving every guest the best possible experience. It starts at the front desk with Eric (who helped us with our first visit) as well as the young ladies who make check in a breeze. The pool staff runs all day long and provides the best customer service, Jose of course and his supervisor Greg who runs just as hard as his staff. A big shout out to the customer relations manager Alex, he gave me personalized service, you can tell he is trying his hardest to provide a top notch experience for the guests and it's working.
The Cape is doing an excellent job with Covid mitigation. Every guest has to get their temperature taken whenever they enter the hotel, they have a disinfecting mister to walk through, there are hand sanitizing stations throughout the hotel even in the elevator and they provide each guest a bag with a mask, wipes and sanitizer in the rooms. They have thought of everything in terms of safety.
As with my first review, again, this hotel is stunning. Very hip and stylish but timeless at the same time. The Cape will continue to be our hotel on our twice yearly trips to Cabo. Thanks everyone for all the hard work.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Hi MichelleC497, It was such a pleasure to read your review, the contingency team worked really hard back in February and March to create the Structure that you just experienced, safety and health of everyone is our main priority and of course on a very close second place is the refined Cape experience that we are known for, so Thank you so much for taking the time to communicate your experience with us, I will be passing the message to Erick, Jose, Gregorio and Alex, I'm sure they will appreciate it. We're looking forward to have you with us again soon, Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey B wrote a review Aug 2020
Thousand Oaks, California21 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow, and to think we were nervous to travel during the pandemic. The Cape made us feel safer then we do back home in California. The staff made us feel so comfortable all the while following very strict safety measures. When you arrive you and your luggage go through a sanitizer Credit cards and room keys sanitized! Face mask and hand sanitizer supplied Great Job Cape! Now we can forget to thank Lenny again for making our trip another unforgettable experience. Lenny makes sure that everyday at the pool is nothing short of perfect. Our trip was originally booked for 4 nights , then we extended to 7 then extended to 10.... we didn’t want to leave :). the pool supervisor (I wish I could remember his name was so helpful and accommodating as well , thank you! Edwardo the hotel manager made it a point to introduce himself and be sure we had everything we needed and that we felt safe and comfortable...... without a Doubt every employee stood out! I can’t forget to say the romantic dinner on the beach as magical !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Hi StaceyAnnBor, It was a pleasure meeting you and I want to personally thank you for taking the time to express your experience with us. Gregorio the Pool supervisor has definitely social and operational skills that go above and beyond often. Also our culinary team and our Executive Chef have been reinventing the Romantic dinner at the beach to mesmerize guests and create unforgettable experiences, and by your review we can now tell they have achieved it. We're very proud to have this united team around the property, our staff is definitely our secret to a refined experience. Looking forward to have you with us again soon ,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Follow the Rules wrote a review Jul 2021
Nashville, Tennessee16 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned home from a fabulous trip to The Cape in Cabo. Even before our arrival, Rocio at concierge was helpful in organizing our transportation, our COVID tests and answering every question quickly and thoroughly. The private hotel car service (extra$) from the airport was a breeze amidst the chaos of the airport, and the cold welcome tea and smiles were the perfect way to begin. Our room was clean, bright, fresh and up to date. We even saw the cleaning service wash our windows and the dividers between balconies daily. (There was not a dust bunny nor spider web to be seen!) The balcony even had a swinging day bed which was a perfect way to enjoy the incredible view! Lupita- also at the concierge- helped with everything from reservations to top notch restaurants in town to answering any questions we had. Every meal from the Ledge to Point Break to the divine Manta to the gorgeous roof top bar was delicious and the drinks were plenty. However the highlight of our trip was the pool area. The service there was second to none. This team should be so proud. Whoever manages this area should give lessons on how to flawlessly and effectively run a pool and beach club! Rafael organized all the cabanas with a smile and wonderful conversation. Gustavo, Alfredo and the entire team had the chairs clean and ready for us and moved umbrellas to protect us from the sun as needed.(The sheets on the cabana lounges were also washed daily! Like I said, extremely clean) Jose, Lenny and Hugo at Point Break (the pool bar) anticipated every need, were quick to bring our food and beverages and always, always stopped by to say hello and see if we needed anything. There were plenty of seats and I have never seen such a clean pool area! No cups, straws, napkins, dirt, food….it was truly a spotless environment both in and out of the pool….even in the bathrooms (although the beach area bathroom could definitely use more lighting). One evening we had a romantic dinner at the fire pit and Martin’s service was also impeccable. The entire staff always followed Covid rules, including an all natural spray as we entered and exited the hotel, mask use and testing before leaving the country. And everybody was always happy! It was a pleasure to be around everyone all day. The only drawback….and this is minor…was that the gym lacked equipment. Free weights were missing, there wasn’t a lot of space to put mats down for floor work, there weren’t any bands and very few mats. Other than that this was a perfect week, with impeccable service in an extremely clean and safe environment. We look forward to returning ASAP!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Great views, impeccable service, very clean. It’s perfect for couples or the 20+ crowd who want a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Jul 29, 2021
Hello LER5, Thank you for this wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear of our guests incredible experiences. We are pleased to read that you had another magic stay at and that you have found a home away from home. Everyone on the The Cape team thanks you for your kind words and dedication to our property. It was such a pleasure to host you soon, and we hope we will continue to be your first thought when planning a romantic getaway. I will for sure be congratulating Rocio, Rafael, Lupita, Gustavo, Alfredo, for going the extra mile on your experience. Until then, stay safe and we look forward to have you home back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joshua L wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start with the good. The massage was great. Manta was nice and the wine suggestions were well received. However, this is one of the least enjoyable hotel experiences I've had in years. The pool staff was unbelievably poor when compared to similarly priced hotels. You need to hound staff for towels. If you're not laser focused on where the staff is walking you'll have a hard time getting a cocktail. The communication between staff and on property services was frustrating. We confirmed our appointments multiple times, with services located inside of the hotel, and somehow there was still a mixup. This seems minor but when you need to wake up early to make sure you're ontime for an appointment to find out that they booked you later, and for a different service, in another location this can be frustrating. The room was tired. The sliding door didn't close properly, the fridge wasn't cold and there was a puddle in the shower. We requested our room to be serviced and this was forgotten. Room service was borderline incompetent - bringing one set of flatware for two orders. Not bringing coffee cups when ordering hot beverages. It's the little things. When you're paying $700 for a room you can probably afford marginally more for a surprisingly better experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arthur P wrote a review Dec 2021
New Jersey28 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and used Hyatt points (30k/night) for our stay. I believe it would have been about $600/night during our time otherwise. The hotel, room, and staff were fantastic. The views are unbeatable and every room at the hotel has a view of the Arch. The room itself was very inviting, shower had 3 heads and excellent water pressure, and we slept so well each night. We enjoyed the pool area as well which plays music and had a nice vibe.

Only negatives for this hotel were the prices. I live/work in Manhattan and it still felt expensive. Mixed drinks by the pool $13-16. I got a latte before we went on a day trip and it was $8. I understand its an amazing atmosphere but it does feel like they are taking advantage of you. We went to Cabo San Lucas several times by Uber. The hotel will call a cab for you (I believe for $25) but Uber is ~$7 to/from town so I would recommend doing that.

One of our best meals was at Sunset Monalisa which I highly recommend. Similar views to the hotel but the service and food were next level. I would also avoid Manta in the hotel, the service was great (they provided my wife with a blanket outside as it got slightly chilly) but the food was underwhelming to poor and we only ate about 1/2 of each of the tasting menu items.

Overall I would absolutely recommend The Cape just be aware that it is going to be expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have a great view - higher floors are better!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eduardo Segura, General Manager at The Cape, A Thompson Hotel, by Hyatt
Responded Dec 23, 2021
Hello Apyott, Thank you for this wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear of our guests incredible experiences. We are pleased to read that you had a great stay at and that you have found a home away from home. I will share your comments with our Executive chef are very important to us so we could improve. Everyone on the The Cape team thanks you for your kind words and dedication to our property. It was such a pleasure to host you and your wife, and we hope we will continue to be your first thought when planning a romantic getaway. Until then, stay safe and we look forward to have you home back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from rav1oli
London, United Kingdom588 contributions23 helpful votes
I’m not sure. Security to access the property is pretty tight so I’d suggest contacting the hotel ahead of time.
Answer from RJH0224
Aynor, South Carolina1 contribution
Not advisable to not book in advance. This is a secure, luxury resort and it hosts many weddings and events. It stays booked; planning will be your friend also from a cost standpoint.
Answer from Sonya H
Ames, Iowa59 contributions9 helpful votes
I'm sorry, I dont know. i did not stay at the villas.
Happiness59715034850 wrote a tip May 25
Chandler, Arizona6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pillows need a refresh"
Read full review
Rita E wrote a tip May 21
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to ignore the push to go to a timeshare meeting"
Read full review
Alejandra Z wrote a tip May 19
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Price of food is insane. It’s really good. Everything was amazing, but why is a hamburger 39$ "
Read full review
Rajesh P wrote a tip May 16
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Truly a 5* resort. Management team is doing an amazing job with upkeep and hiring the best staff."
Read full review
Maggie T wrote a tip May 13
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was able to make a massage the day before while staying at the hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cabo San Lucas area.
PRICE RANGE
$519 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosCabo San Lucas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CAPE, A THOMPSON HOTEL, BY HYATT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Yes, free parking, street parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunset Monalisa, Jazz on the Rocks at Sunset Point, and MANTA.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Cape, a Thompson Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Cape, a Thompson Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Cape, a Thompson Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Cape, a Thompson Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Cabo San Lucas HotelsCabo San Lucas Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cabo San LucasHotels near The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars