We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Camino Viejo A San José Km. 4.5, Cabo San Lucas 23453 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Extra 10% OFF
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Riu.com
$374
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/08/22
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Lol.travel$480
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (9546)
Pool & Beach (2042)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 99 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas opens all year round and is located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach El Medano. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Los Cabos Airport SJD (40 km) and Cabo San Lucas (4.5 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 692 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape in the gym. 4 outdoor pools and 2 children's pools. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking at our main buffet restaurant, Japanese, Indian and Mexican Specialty Restaurants, Steakhouse, Fusion Restaurant, as well as 7 Bars, our Capuchino Pâtisserie & Ice Cream Parlor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Extra 10% OFF
9072Reviews1470Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,273
  • 2,716
  • 998
  • 560
  • 525
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AR_yegbound wrote a review Sep 19
Edmonton, Canada73 contributions49 helpful votes
We had an awesome stay at this gorgeous property in Los Cabos. Since the moment we arrived to the second we left it was phenomenal service all around. Check-in, fast and efficient, welcomed with a glass of champagne, can’t get better than that. The food and cocktails were top notch, delicious, fresh, and gourmet. You will not be disappointed. The service was great, staff made sure you were enjoying your holiday and went out of their way to show appreciation to visit their country and hotel. Thank you Riu for making our stay unforgettable! Cheers A&B
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wynnipoo wrote a review Jun 2021
11 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Even before we travelled we were investigating Cabo and this hotel. It did not disappoint. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the pools are stunning. If possible get a room facing the ocean - you won't regret it. All of the staff were so nice and accommodating! The front desk personnel "saved" us more than once and always had a smile on their faces! Most of our meals were at the buffet. The steakhouse was a disappointment, but the burgers out by the pools are super. There was always staff cleaning while we were there so never worried about Covid once, except when it was time to get tested to come back to the states! Even that was done smoothly at the hotel and was free of charge! We loved our time in Cabo and at the Riu Palace and hope to go back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The rooms with ocean views are wonderful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your time to share your experiences with us. We are happy to serve you and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to your return in the near future. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phillyatl wrote a review Sep 17
Atlanta, Georgia8 contributions4 helpful votes
If you like eating horrible tasteless food with a side order of flies then this place is for you. Flies were crawling over the food. I couldn’t understand this because the food was absolutely horrible but still everyday flies were all over that nasty food. I totally understand with all inclusive you have to manage your expectations but this resort is terrible. DO NOT BOOK!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Do not book this resort
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded 5 days ago
Dear phillyatl, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. While we are surprised to read your comment, we are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. What you describe does not reflect our standards, and we do apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfactory. Please know, at all our restaurants we have a comprehensive safety management system with health and safety programs in place, which all our staff undergo. Of course, our food is cooked, prepared and presented following the strictest hygiene and food handling practices, and our staff are trained to follow these practices from day one. Furthermore, we are audited regularly to ensure all our practices are following the relevant requirements. However, we strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations, it is important for us to know. Certainly, we will address your concerns with our management team to review. It is our hope that you will continue to give us opportunities to serve you so that we can then give you a more pleasant stay. Respectfully, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ljaytee wrote a review Sep 16
Waldorf, Maryland9 contributions4 helpful votes
This being my fifth trip to the RIU Palace, I have no doubt that I'm biased but, I always enjoy the resort. I was able to get in two and a half great days before Hurricane Kay washed out Tuesday and Wednesday. However, the resort has no control over the weather and unlike 2017, we never lost electricity for a full day and night and none of the restaurants had to close due to flooding. In fact, I could see that changes have been made to prepare for situations like that and on Wednesday when it got really bad, the staff did a great job keeping the lobby dry and safe. But it is a beautiful resort, in a great location. There is enough space around both of the main pools where you never feel crowded, in fact, there were days I practically had an entire row to myself with a great view of the pool and Lands End. You always have a few rebels but I would say 99.9 percent of the guests had no problem complying with wearing masks when going to the buffet to get food. Bottom line, love the resort and will definitely be back in 2023, only maybe June/July or November this time; no more Septembers for me, I think. lol
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Antoinette L wrote a review Sep 11
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Very nice & beautiful resort. Friendly, attentive staff. Only con is the beach is not usable. Also, no 24 hr sports bar. Only lounge area that's 24 hrs is a self service bar. Entertainment was fun as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
254nancy wrote a review Sep 7
Cookson, Oklahoma3 contributions3 helpful votes
Very enjoyable. Property was extremely clean; staff friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a beautiful setting with views of Cabo jetting rock formations. Would have enjoyed a swim in the Sea of Cortez but red flag warnings during our stay due to strong currents. My husband and I tried to walk West to a swim beach but the sand was deep and the weather too hot. Having a boardwalk along hotel properties would have been helpful and welcomed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Y Thai wrote a review Sep 4
1 contribution5 helpful votes
I usually don't write review but I feel like it's needed here so mothers and parents don't make the mistake I did. As a single mother of 4 children I work 16hours a day everyday to afford this trip. My children were not aware of the problems that occur as I kept my grace to ensure they have a great time. UPON BOOKING - I booked directly on the Sunwing website the total cost of our trip was $9700 CAD no insurance was offer as I was checking out I assume it will pop up after completion . None did - As I call Sunwing to ask they told me because it was a third party booking and I was flying with Westjet my trip is not cover and insured ?? I advise them that I was not aware of this and that I booked directly on their website why would I agree to a $9700 trip and not be covered? nowhere did it said I was leaving Sunwing to book a third party. They did not care and continue to say Sorry Miss, because you are booked with Westjet we can't help. I had to purchase insurance separately with Manulife that cost of another $900CAD to make sure out trip was covered. CHECKING IN - I booked this resort as it advertise there is a waterslide for the children. Upon checking in the waterslide is close and water is not safe to swim in. It's a shame . I requested an ocean view and was shoved in the corner of the resort for a garden view. I requested to see the Manager and they told me it will be $84 USD extra night to make that change . Total of $504 USD. I did not agree. THE RESORT - It is not a family resort as advertise. They are party goers everywhere and the pool is filled with drunken guest. My children witness two girls having alcohol poising. by 9pm the children and I would go into our room as it did not feel safe to wonder with the amount of drunken guest. BUFFET/FOOD- 3 of my children became sick the second day in . As a mother I was prepared and packed the medicine needed. My youngest spent 3 days throwing up. I advise the children to only stick with the fruits and the freshly prepared pasta. That helped. ROOMS - One of our room AC was out I called front desk twice and noone have came. Upon checking out I told the front clerk only reply was " oh really"? no apologies were made. EXCURSION - I have booked Snorkeling and Zip-Lining for the children directly from Sunwing - Victor was our representative. Snorkeling - $ 400 USD We were advise the waves were a bit stronger, as they took us out the waves were very strong the children were very sea sick and was vomiting when we arrived to the area, the waves were too strong it drowned them under. Snorkeling was not possible . They shouldn't have taken us out to begin with knowing what the weather had instore. I bought it to their attention again no compensation was given . Zip-lining - $ 400 USD - additional $100 USD As we were prepare to get picked up I have already paid for a family of 5, they told me only 4 guest was listed and I would have to pay another guest. I told them I am not going to leave one son behind so I agreed to start the day. Zipling was great the children enjoyed it . Upon coming back to the hotel I told our rep - He advise me he will try to get me a refund of 100USD . I knew he wouldn't as they would just wait till I leave Mexico and wouldn't hear from me again. I was right sadly. Checking out - I have mention our concern through out our stay and again only reply I got was " oh really" . We were told that pick up was at 11:00am . We left our room at 10:30am and when asked they said " No, it's 11:30am" so we went to lounge and waited by 11:25am I went and check for our name and was told our shuffle already left at 11:00am they try to say it was my fault as they tried looking for me. I was very disappointed in Sunwing and RUI . We won't be booking with Sunwing again or will be staying at any Rui Resort in the future. I do not care for your reply as you guys did not care to take care of us when we were there. Nothing can be said or done now as I'm sure you are happy we are back in Canada where we belong.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 191yent, We always thoroughly read every comment from our guests, in order to give the most accurate response. We take this task very seriously since it helps us have the feedback from our guests and we use it when applying changes to improve our services. In this case, due to the fact that you do not provide your full name, it makes this task more difficult. We are concerned about the issues you have raised. Nevertheless, we must highlight that it is the booking channel or agency with whom the guests’ book, who arrange the rooms and transport. We cannot reply on their behalf. It is truly saddening to learn this had a negative impact on your experience. Moreover, excursions and activity agents are not part of Riu. As mentioned, we thoroughly read every review and we take action, the aspects of the hotel that need to be improved will be addressed. We apologise for your discomfort, it does not reflect our standards, however, we kindly recommend you to place a formal complain to the activity agencies and your booking channel for your insolvencies. Best regards, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christy L wrote a review Sep 3
San Francisco, California4 contributions
Riu Palace is an enormous hotel. Our family of 3 (kiddo is 8) arrived two days before a storm and had a good time. There are two large pools, one with music and activities put together by their RiuFit team and the other a relaxing pool for you or kids to do as please. There are other smaller kiddie/adult pools on the premise as well. The staff are incredibly friendly and nice. They work really hard to keep the place clean for guests. This includes sweeping away rain water from walkways while it is raining. There are lots of places for food. They all serve similar fare so it gets old after a while. They have good carts around the resort with snacks like elotes…etc. Alcohol flows at this place. My only real complaint is that it gets loud. It’s a party hotel with folks yelling as they walk down the corridors, drunk. During our stay we experienced just this. Our neighbors for a few doors down played loud music, brought friends over and partied in their room with the patio door open. Management was great in that they walked over, very quickly, and ask the guests to go outside where it was designated for music and drinks. If you’re here to party, this is a great spot. If you’re here to relax, I would consider a different place. Otherwise, great bang for your buck.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring small bills for tipping! Their employees do a great job taking care of guests.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Christy, First of all, we would like to apologise for the unforgivable behaviour of other guests. Thank you very much for choosing Riu and for sharing your valuable feedback. As we strongly believe that our guests come first, it is truly saddening to learn we were not able to control the undesirable behaviour of some guests, who seem to respect rules in their country but not when they visit ours. We apologise for that. Moreover, it is absolutely saddening for us to witness, after all the new measures and laws that are being applied in order to stop these unwanted behaviours, that these different gorgeous destinations around the world are being abused and disrespected, by visitors that would never dare to behave in such manner in their country of origin. We would like to apologize if you felt disturbed by some of our other guests. Your review will be forwarded. Warmest wishes, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quyen L wrote a review Sep 2
1 contribution1 helpful vote
After have been at RIU Palace LOS CABOS 7 years ago, I wanted to bring my significant others so he can get a glimpse of what RIU Palace have to offer. However, I checked in at 3pm on 8/22 and I checked out the same day at 4:30pm. My reservation was supposed to be 8/22-8/27. The hotel is rundown from what it used to be. The room is dirty and not at all clean. Yellow stains on the pillows. The floor is dirty. The layout and designs are old. We bought a four-five stars experience but got a one star experience instead. We went to get lunch since we were traveling the whole day since 4 am in the morning. The buffet was not how it used to be. Foods were not fresh. At that point, there is no reason for us to stay there if I’m already feeling sad and disappointed. We were aware that RIU PALACE has a “newer” hotel which is RIU PALACE BAJA. I talked to the front desk and wanted to move over to the newer hotel. There weren’t any available. I talked to my agent from Riu vacations to see whether I can get a refund. The answer was YES so I checked out the same day at 4:30pm. The hotel was also fine with the refund and said it was all RIU VACATION responsibility. Now 9/2/2022, I still have not get my response. I have been calling for the past two weeks. RIU PALACE won’t pick up the phone and response to emails from RIU VACATION. Now both companies are pointing at each others and not taking accountability. Instead of getting a full refund for the days that I didn't stay there but if RIU PALACE doesn’t response then I can only get 25%. It’s so unfair. The worst case scenario was that the penalty of only one night stay and the remaining nights are fully refunded. Now I only get 25% because both companies lack integrity and accountability. Their words and promises have no weight to it. At this point, it’s just bad business. Please do not stay here hoping for a wonder experience. The pictures are not updated. This place is not how it used to be. It’s run down and old. It’s so bad that I thought I was staying in a motel. The food is mediocre. Please do not fall for this scam if you are looking for a 4-5 stars experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear QL12345, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our apologies if you felt unassisted. Since you booked via our specilized package (flight+hotel) engine, we cannot answer on their behalf. When the reservation is of room only, directly with Riu, our after-customer care takes charge, This is the flight+hotel Customer Support page: riuvacations.poweredbygps.com/service Please contact the number 1-844-766-5455 from US, and at 1-312-279-7764 from all other locations. We are honestly sorry to learn about your discomfort. Your review will be forwarded. Kindest regards, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joaquin V wrote a review Sep 2
Los Angeles, California14 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife's friend and my uncle recommended us to stay in Riu Palace, we have been in Cabo before and have stayed in many different resorts in Cabo San Lucas but nothing prepared us for the amazing experience we had in Riu Palace! To start off its location is the best location you can get, it is very close to the best atractions in Cabo San Lucas and for those who don't want to get outside of the resort will be covered aswell with a magnificent pool, delicious food in elegant restaurants and many places to relax including spas, the only thing that could be a little bit problematic is how to get there from SJD Cabo Airport (that's the airport where you will be arriving and the ride from it to Riu Palace is 40 min. aprox.), Taxis at the airport are an awful mess and they can make you wait up to 1 hour for one of those old vans that are probably 90's models (good luck getting one with A.C.!) that is why booking your transportation from the airport to Riu Palace online with Cape Transfesr is your best bet, just as Riu Palace they have an excellent online reputation and the rates for a private suburban for you and your party is less than 100 bucks, they even offer inexpensive shuttle if you don't mind sharing. We had a great time and great memories in Cabo, thanks Riu Palace for making our vacations so special! We will be looking forward to visit you again next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upper floors are the best!!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$289 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu palace cabo san lucas hotel cabo san lucas, riu palace los cabos, riu cabo san lucas, riu los cabos
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosCabo San Lucas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
692
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Nearby attractions include City Tours in Los Cabos (0.4 miles), Latitude 22+ Ocean View Roadhouse Bar (0.7 miles), and Plaza San Lucas (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casona, Carbon Grill Restaurant, and Metate Cabo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.