Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Traveler (10301)
Hotel view
Pool & Beach (2065)
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 5 all-inclusives in Cabo San Lucas
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas is open all year round and overlooks the stunning El Medano white sand beach ensuring your vacation will be an unforgettable one. Get your Riu Class loyalty card to enjoy exclusive benefits and earn points. Riu Palace are the most sophisticated of all the RIU hotels, designed to make the guests feel like royalty. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Cabo San Lucas (4.5 km), Los Cabos International Airport (SJD) (40 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel features 692 comfortable rooms and free WiFi. Relax in our spa get in shape in our gym. 4 pools, 2 with swim-up bar. Daytime and evening entertainment, discotheque. Do you like going to top parties on your holidays? #RiuParty is made for you! For foodies, live cooking stations at our main buffet and restaurants specializing in Japanese, Italian, fusion, Indian and Grill cuisine; 4 bars. Discover our additional premium service: Elite Club by RIU
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Riu Class Benefits

Location

Camino Viejo A San José Km. 4.5, Cabo San Lucas 23453 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Los Cabos Airport
22.2 mi
See all flights
9,797Reviews1,550Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,673
  • 2,878
  • 1,059
  • 605
  • 582
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
luvztravel10 wrote a review May 2023
Calgary, Canada25 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been Riu members for awhile now and do like our Riu resorts. But I still like to do my research before we book and what resort to book. I have had friends and family stay at Riu cabo palace and they really liked it. So even after reading a lot of bad and good reviews, we decided to book. And am I ever so happy that we booked. Was an amazing time. We booked through the Riu app and our flight seperate.

On arrival to the airport, we were picked up by the resort, as we booked that pick up as well. Waited for about half hour for someone else's arrival, but that was not an issue for us, we sat and had a beer.
Came to the resort and check in was very quick. I had booked a partial ocean view but we got upgraded to an ocean view 😍. We got to our room and it was great. We had Rm 4086, which was right off the lobby and up a flight of stairs. And close to pretty much everything. The view was amazing. Bell boy brought our suitcases 5 min later. We changed and went to explore and get ourselves situated with the resort as it's very huge. We came back to our room a couple hours later, to find champagne and strawberries in our room as a welcome gift and as Riu members. No complaints there.
We had an issue with our safe, low battery or something and my husband went down to let them know. Half hour later they called our room to let us know that someone was coming up. Maintenance came in, fixed the issue and it was working. Another half hour later they called us again to check if everything was working.
We ate at all the restaurants there and we liked them all except maybe the Italian one. A bit bland. The rest were good. Nothing special but still good. The buffet was always great. There is something for everyone, you will not starve. And if someone out there says they had nothing to eat, that is really a big fat lie 🤥. Fresh fruit and veggies. And they are constantly making tortillas and buns right there. Everyone is constantly working to please everyone.
The BBQ down by the pool was amazing. The ribs and chicken were so good. That was my husband's go to for lunch.
The beach: Amazing views everywhere. 99% the waves are huge and rough and it's not swimable at all, but that's not the hotels fault at all people. You can go to some Cabo beaches and swim but most places you cannot. Do not complain about it. Do your research before going if you like swimming in the ocean.
Day before leaving, we booked our return ride to the airport with the hotel. No hiccups there.

All in all, it was an amazing 10 days. Thank you Riu for an amazing time. We will be back!!

Kari & Tyrel
Stayed May 12 to 21
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't go during spring break. And if you book the Riu cabo palace, you can use all 3 Riu resorts...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded May 26, 2023
Dear Kari and Tyrel, We cannot thank you enough for your stupendous review and for being our guest. It is so rewarding to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for staying with us! Have a fantastic day to both of you! We hope to welcome you both again very soon. Kindest wishes, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob wrote a review Nov 2020
10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great vacation considering the circumstances. I had to use some vacation time and saw specials at the all inclusive RIU Palace Cabo San Lucas. I was also impressed that they have a medical assistance program included as a guest and they seemed to be genuinely concerned about making health and safety a priority for staff and guests. They also had free transportation to and from the airport (our flights to Cabo were delayed, six hours late arriving, and the transfer service was still there to pick us up when we arrived (we had updated them about the delayed flights during the trip) . We stayed in the oceanfront jacuzzi suite, a great room for the price. The room had a great water view from the balcony and had plenty of room inside; a spacious living room area, huge walk in closet, large bathroom area with separate huge walk in shower, large jetted tub, double sinks, separate toilet area, etc. The grounds were very well maintained and clean. The service was excellent. We had the same waiter, Fernando, in the pool area every day. He provided excellent service, was always checking to see if we needed anything, and was very personable to talk to. We ate at several of the restaurants; Bombay (Indian) was our favorite. The chef (Saul) even talked about recipes with my wife. The Japanese restaurant (Misaki) and the Mar de Cortes (seafood for dinner and area for breakfast and lunch buffets) were also very good. (Get there early for dinner at the specialty restaurants or you might have to wait as they are only seating a limited number of tables due to social distancing). I booked a scuba diving trip through the onsite ScubaCaribe staff and got a discounted massage for my wife at the spa. The scuba trip was one of the best i've been on (fish everywhere, rays, sea lions swimming by, eels, etc.). The dive guide Nina was very knowledgeable about the areas for a great dive. They even provided transportation to and from the marina for the trip. If i have to say something i liked least, the pool was a little chilly, probably colder than the ocean, but it just took a little "getting used to it". Thank you RIU for a great vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Corner suite with a great ocean view for sunrise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Nov 27, 2020
Dear Bob, We appreciate this fantastic feedback! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are thrilled to read you liked our friendly staff, delicious food, and well-appointed oceanfront jacuzzi suite. It was a pleasure hosting you, please keep us in mind for future hotel stays, thank you! Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adamidaho wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family (2 adults, 8 yr old, 1 yr old) very much enjoyed our trip. My wife and I had stayed at the Santa Fe previously, which we also enjoyed; however, we found the service, food quality, and venue to be well worth the extra cost at the Palace.
A couple of notes for families:
There are small pullout couches available in multiple rooms.
One of the pools has multiple "entertainers" who facilitated bingo, beach volleyball, aquasize, etc. Our 8 year old very much enjoyed it.
The high chairs were presented cleaned +16302464 wrapped upon request.
We travelled during "Covid times", and felt the hotel was diligent in maintaining a clean and safe environment. Our only complaint was the shuttle that was assigned to us through the Riu website overbooked on both routes. At one point, people had to sit on knees to fit.
Overall great time!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your 5-star review regarding your experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found our service friendly and welcoming. Also, thank you for acknowledging our hardworking housekeepers that have been working so hard in these COVID times to keep all the guests and staff safe. We are glad you had a great visit and hope that you will think of us again, when you are next travelling to Mexico! Kind regards Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KML wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to RIU Palace late December to early January 2020 with my family. I don’t normally write reviews but felt I needed to give people a heads up. This is not a 5 star hotel, 3 star at the most. The food was not 5 star quality, the buffet had the same thing every morning, lunch and evening. Good luck trying to get into one of the a la carte restaurants, they don’t take reservations but every time we would go, they said come back 1.5 hr later, we would come back at that time and make us wait even longer. Hey Management you should have reservations! We got into the steakhouse restaurant and the food was disgusting, was definitely not beef and lobster was well over cooked. I’ve had better beef at fast food restaurants. We decided to eat out in Cabo for 5 of the 7 nights, best thing we did. They have a 24hr lounge which has snacks they say, food has been out all day, mostly stuffed jalapeño poppers, onion rings, left over hamburgers, soft apples and old bananas. I would stay away from this lounge. Rooms require upgrading for sure, cleaning staff decided not to leave us towels in our room one day and two other days didn’t even bother to clean room. And we paid extra for an junior suite with ocean view. Recommendation to save your money on a different true 5 star hotel in Cabo, not the RIU Palace. Waste of money, bad rooms, horrible food. Big disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear V141DHkristenm, Thank you for your time, We are sorry that in general your experience with us was not what you expected and that you left our hotel with a totally opposite impression to that which we always try to convey. In RIU we are committed to provide excellent quality products and services to our guests, so we appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. For this reason, we will share your impressions with the Management team to take actions if needed. We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah W wrote a review Jan 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom44 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Riu palace for 7 nights.
The hotel itself is large but whilst we were there it was not at full capacity of guests.
Things that were great:
The food! Best buffet we have ever had at any all inclusive. Variety and quality of food on offer was amazing. We did not try the speciality restaurants (maybe we should have) as everything you could want was available at the buffet. Waiting staff were friendly and attentive always smiling and ready to top up your glass!
The room. We had a swim up room which was lovely good size and with a huge bed. Lovely bathroom, his and hers sinks and a reviving rainforest shower. When booking we asked for a quiet room and sadly we were placed by the noisy pool and also in direct line to the indoor/outdoor theatre bar.. But we asked to move and the hotel made it happen on our third day, great service.
In room optics had premium spirits if that's your thing.. Fridge stocked with beer, water and soft drinks and there was the obligatory coffee maker.
The location of the hotel is great, 3 Riu hotels in a row and Palace guests can use the other 2 (santa fe and baja california) but the other hotel guests can't use the Palace. It was lovely looking around the other hotels but we were pleased we chose the Palace.
It's about a 30 minute walk to San Lucas ands it's marina and commercial area.. Lovely walk with great bars and restaurants to enjoy.
The other big tick was Scuba Caribe.. My husband is a qualified Diver and completed 6 dives over 3 mornings which he thoroughly enjoyed. We also booked the Whale Watching trip through the onsite dive centre which was $20 less than the trip Tui offer. It was a quick drive to the marina then out on the boat for a couple of hours with Nina our guide.. Awesome trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Sarah, Thank you for choosing and taking the time to review Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas. Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Highlighting our friendly staff and our gastronomy was delightful to hear. Certainly, we will make sure to pass the word along to the team. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again on your next Cabo adventure. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lisel445 wrote a review Jan 2020
Winnipeg, Canada98 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start with the positive: the food was fantastic! The choice at all restaurants satisfied the palate. The breakfast buffet is also wonderful. We had room service one night after a long day, and cannot complain.The service in the restaurants was terrific. The bar staff is awesome, remembering quickly what you enjoy to drink! Service around the pool area however is not the best we've had. Speaking of the pool area, we had zero problems finding chairs and umbrellas.

Our room (3055) : yes we had ocean view, but we were a little disappointed to not see the arches. We did get to see them all day by the pool and from most restaurants however. Do not expect a good night`s sleep. There was a pool party going on at the Santa Fe 4 of the 7 nights we were there. What`s the problem? The music is so loud, it resonates into your room. You also hear everybody passing by and the cleaning carts start rolling by early.

The beach: pebbles, broken seashells, vendors and you are advised not to swim. After seeing the waves and undertoe, I understand.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the Santa Fe as possible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Dear lisel445, Thank you for having taken some of your time to write your review. We are saddened to hear about the difficulties encountered during your stay and we would like to sincerely apologize for them all. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for being disturbed by noise. It’s frustrating to read this since at RIU we are fully aware of the importance of a restful sleep during the holidays, and all our rooms are built considering the legal requirements regarding insulation. We lament if this measure was not enough for you. Since your feedback and concerns are highly appreciated, we have noted and shared them with our Manager for further consideration. We look forward to hosting you soon. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ktc1239 wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel from April 21-28, 2022 and had a great time. The hotel and property overall are BEAUTIFUL - I have stayed at Riu Palaces in other locations and the cleanliness and location of their properties never disappoints. The staff was lovely and attentive and the drinks were good not great, although I was overall impressed by their alcohol selection.

The main negative of this property for me was the food, although I will point out that I've rarely loved food at an all inclusive hotel. Breakfast was by far the best meal and the restaurants were ok, but I wouldn't return to this hotel for the food. W

hat this property offers more than anything for me, however, is the location. We ate off site towards the end of the trip quite a bit and there are EXCELLENT options further along the beach (Funky Geisha and Confessions Los Cabos located at the ME hotel were our favourite spots). It is only about a 30min walk to the marina from the hotel as well, where there are a vast amount of fun bars and restaurants to enjoy. A $14 USD cab one way is a great way to get back and forth for those who do not want to walk.

I will add that I liked having access to the two other Riu properties (Santa Fe and Baja California) and that enhanced the trip as it gave us more options of pools. Riu Santa Fe is the "party" resort and was fun to visit, but I was always happy to head back to the palace as the property is not comparable in my opinion. There is also a pool at the palace that is louder and more fun and another that is quieter, so there really is something for everyone here. They also have a hospitality room where you can shower if you have to check out early before your flight and they allow you to enjoy the amenities after checking out until you leave the resort.

Overall, I would return to this property. Thank you Riu Palace for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shieas wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle, Washington4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from quick trip to Cabo and my first experience at an All Inclusive hotel.
Uber not allowed at airport and some hotels (like RIU) will not let them onto property to do pickups. .
RIU Palace is an ok 4 star. Good location, great view. Food, depends on what you're used to. Breakfast buffet is good lots of options, goes downhill from there, not to awful just to average. The Japanese restaurant was very average to bad, if you have any experience with good Japanese. The Steak restaurant was Outback Steakhouse if you're used to Ruth Chris. Krystal was just ok. Drinks very watered down. Order mix drinks, specify the liquor brand
3) Excursions: We did the glass bottom boat and trip out to the Arch booked at the hotel. The actual glass bottom bit was stupid you see nothing, but the scenery and crew were great. Whale watching - simply amazing. A must do. We prefer to go out with small local operators and chose Cabo Trek. They were great and have a good ecological philosophy and don't mob the whales like other operators do.
The moldy room - Stayed on the first floor at the RIU Palace and the room immediately smelled of mold upon entering. The room made my allergies so bad I sneezed constantly and had trouble breathing at night. Clothes that were hanging in the wardrobe smell of mold. Aircon didn't work, pillows lumpy.
Tips: 1) the inroom bottles of vodka are great for leaving your toothbrush in to disinfect from the local water. 2) The Office for tacos
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Shieas, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for highlighting our location right on the beach and the great view. Since the health and wellbeing of our guests is our utmost priority, we are concerned by your comments in regards to the situation that you encountered in your room and we would have liked to have been informed about this during your stay to take adequate measures. Regarding the transport providers, we would like to inform you that we are following closely the actions taken from local authorities to find a solution to this conflict, which is beyond the control of the hotel, although we are aware that it affects our guests. Our hotel offers an official taxi service, but Uber does not have a license to operate in the destination. Our clients are of course free to use this transportation method, and transports that arrives to our hotel with clients have access, but Uber cannot access to make collections. Please be assured that we will pass on your comments to our Management Team for an adequate follow-up. We hope you can give us an opportunity to change your perception into a positive one. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
QueenLee wrote a review Jan 2020
Alabaster, Alabama19 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a swim out room back in August and I called AND emailed requesting to be in one of those rooms facing the action/main pools. I was told our reservation was noted, but there was no way they could guarantee it. So, cut to this week when we checked in and our request was not granted bc they were “too busy” and all those rooms were “booked.” I never saw anyone swimming in those pools all week and we hardly used the mediocre one they gave us on the side facing the Santa Fe resort. Also, I figured since it was our wedding anniversary they would bring something to the room, but they never did. This is despite me requesting TWICE during our stay with the front desk. I’m not a complainer by any means. I would say everyone staffing this resort is exceptional, EXCEPT for that front desk. They just want you out of their hair and aren’t about to go above and beyond. Food is pretty good for an all inclusive and resort is nice and clean. If you booked thru Expedia and were promised a $600 resort credit, it’s for sure false advertisement tho. You are given coupons for $10 off this and $20 off that until you get a total of $600 in coupons for services you’d have to purchase well over in excess of a few grand. Hardly a “resort credit,” so they should probably be honest and call it something else to stop being misleading. Rooms are good but have nowhere near enough electrical outlets to charge your phones or other items. USB ports in our room were glitchy and didn’t always work.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Trek748032, Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We are most pleased that you liked the range of food and our nice and clean facilities. However, we regret to hear that we were not able to meet your wishes on this occasion. It was surely the intention of our staff to make your stay special. We will make sure to let our Management Team know about your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back someday soon. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johanna M wrote a review Feb 2020
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this vacation 11 days prior departure. Direct flight was nice to spend more time in the sun. Our arrival to the hotel was at 1pm and we were not able to check in early but able to eat and lounge around at the beach. Housekeeping was still in our room at 3pm check in so just dropped our bags in the room and headed back to beach/pool area. Food and drinks were good, service was good too. Our room had ocean view so that was awesome, room is dated a bit although and sliding balcony door could use repair. Housekeeping or mini fridge person took one of my husbands candy bars-really not the big of deal but the principal of it. The Riu pool parties were not our thing so not much for entertainment/night life at the resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear B6830CPjohannam, Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share with us your insights regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas! We are delighted to know that overall you had such a great time! Your feedback is highly appreciated!! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Wish you all the best in the meanwhile. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from dwmv65
Minneapolis, Minnesota263 contributions118 helpful votes
No They do not have purified water at this resort . I wouldn’t trust any resort in Mexico. I know it seems extremely wasteful, but I don’t think they seem to care about the environment. I’m not sure if they even recycle??
Answer from Sterling2023
1 contribution
We didn't have any robes in our room.
Princesstamtam55 asked a question Mar 2024
Winnipeg, Canada380 contributions248 helpful votes
I read a review that this resort has bed bugs. Can anyone verify that?
Answer from Gabrielle N.
Barrie, Canada10 contributions10 helpful votes
I can confirm that last answer - no bedbugs. We always check for bedbugs before checking in anywhere, plus we had friends in 3 more rooms, no problems for them either.
Paula S wrote a tip May 6
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be flexible. Tip the staff. Don't be surprised if you hear drunken people in the middle of the night."
Read full review
Judy B wrote a tip May 6
Calgary, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room far away from elevators and stairs if you want a good nights rest"
Read full review
Izaid S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Grand Prairie, Texas3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beach is not useful because it has massive waves but I do recommend a calm area to sleep in the nice sounds."
Read full review
Neydielle L wrote a tip Apr 2024
10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be early for the restaurants if you wanna try them out! Lines are 1 hr wait after like 7-8, be there 5pm"
Read full review
Frqflier wrote a tip Apr 2024
Brooklyn, New York637 contributions714 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The airport is about a 40-minute ride from the resort."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cabo San Lucas area.
PRICE RANGE
$289 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu palace cabo san lucas hotel cabo san lucas, riu palace los cabos, riu cabo san lucas, riu los cabos
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosCabo San Lucas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
692
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU PALACE CABO SAN LUCAS - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Nearby attractions include Cabo Party Fun (0.2 miles), Medano Beach (0.2 miles), and Cabo Bash VIP Services Specialists (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Metate Cabo, La Casona, and Carbon Grill Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Cabo San Lucas HotelsCabo San Lucas Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cabo San LucasHotels near Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars