We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

Marinaterra Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Marinaterra Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Apollo Beach, FL
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited San Carlos the first week of January. Ocean is too cold to swim & air temperature is a bit chilly to be out on the beach in a swimsuit. However, beautiful weather and good opportunity to see the area without huge crowds. Hotel MarinaTerra is undergoing renovations. We stayed 4 days. 4th and 5th floors have pounding, jackhammering, construction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreatDayTraveling
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To begin with i arraived at hotel at 9:45 night time and acording to my booking i supposed to have a room with king side bed, well they couldnt provide that type of room because acording to lobby assistant they were remodeling rooms in that especific area of the hotel so they gave me room 111 worst room in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience about the noise. I would like to apologize for your inconvenience. We are improving our service every day in order to achieve great hospitality.

Palm Springs
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here two night. The room was large, with a full kitchen, and a separate bedroom. The balcony faced the pool with the marina just beyond that. Staff was friendly. The hotel is clean and well maintained. There are shops nearby. It was quiet during my stay. With renovations going on a few floors up. Beautiful setting for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josch1122
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place, great staff, good food and location. Would definitely stay there again! Rooms are very large and comfortable. Right on beautiful Sea of Cortez. Town of San Carlo more American than Mexican, but still has some charm.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice comments, we are very happy to hear that you had a great time. Come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.

Vancouver
Reviewed December 14, 2016

The hotel is in a panoramic position right across from the small marina and the twin rock icon of San Carlos. The rooms are spacious and nice but in general the hotel needs a litte TLC to justify the high price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeeVancouver
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are very greatful to hear your experience at Marinaterra Hotel. Thank you for sharing your review. We will continue improving our infrastructure and service in order to achieve great hospitality. We can't wait hearing from you very soon.

Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We stayed here Thanksgiving week - it was a timeshare unit on the second floor (first floor above the lobby level). The location is super, being at the Marina waterfront. Walking access to a several small markets, restaurants, and Marinaterra's private beach. Views on the Marina side are very nice, with Tetakawi in the background. We enjoyed the outdoor deck,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abinaz
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about all the noise and cleaning issue. I would like to apologize for your inconvenience. We are working to improve our service in order to achieve great hospitality. We hope hearing from you soon to show you that we can provide...

Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Only one good thing about this hotel...our room on the 5th floor had great view of the marina ...no furniture on the balcony though...breakfast was so so in a terrible location which looked like a basement room with wobbly tables and chairs...hotel apparently appeals to wedding crowds...so be warned to be woken up by rowdy people between 2 and 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andoffigoagain
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, first and foremost I want to sincerely apologize for this. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic expectation. I am sorry to hear that the noise was unacceptable annoying, we will keep working to handle this kind of situation henceforth. We hope you can...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Right on the Sea of Cortez with wonderful views of the Marina. Large room that was clean with comfortable beds, good water pressure, steady wifi. There were some cons... The best meal is breakfast, we were underwhelmed by the lunch and dinner meals and the dining room is a dingy room with little natural light, broken chairs, wobbly tables (it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank libragyrl
Mauricio M, Gerente at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Marinaterra Hotel. We will continue working in remodeling our infrastructure and improving our service. We hope hearing from you soon.

Metepec, Mexico
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Hotel has a BIG gap in maintenance, reception and rooms are disappointing, facilities do NOT accomplish with hotel's category, only the pool is on good conditions. Try other options before considering Marinaterra.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saul C
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Saul, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of our company. I am very sorry to learn that your experience was unsatisfactory. We will continue working to improve our service in order to achieve great hospitality.

Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

If you want to see the best coastline in the world rated Number 1 by National Geographic, experience it from the Hotel MarinaTerra. Adjacent to the San Carlos Marina where you can set off diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing or a sunset cruise. This is a fantastic hotel in the best place on earth. Don't forget to visit the Marinaterra's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMW007
Mauricio M, Manager at Marinaterra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are very greatful to hear your experience at Marinaterra Hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive review. We can't wait hearing from you very soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
2.8 mi away
San Carlos Plaza Hotel Resort & Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Los Jitos Hotel
Los Jitos Hotel
#5 of 5 in San Carlos
20 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Playa de Cortes
Hotel Playa de Cortes
#5 of 7 in Guaymas
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guaymas
9.5 mi away
Hotel Armida
Hotel Armida
#2 of 7 in Guaymas
51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea of Cortez Beach Club
Sea of Cortez Beach Club
#2 of 5 in San Carlos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marinaterra Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Gabriel Estrada s/n | Sector La Herradura, San Carlos 85506, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > San Carlos
Price Range: $64 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marinaterra Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Marinaterra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinaterra Hotel San Carlos
Marinaterra Hotel And Spa
Marinaterra Hotel Beach
Marinaterra Resort Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Marinaterra Hotel & Spa staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Marinaterra Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room that face the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles josch1122, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Definitely avoid the 2nd floor (the first floor above the lobby level) due to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles abinaz, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for marina view.”
 of 5 bubbles jms-on-the-road, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the standard rooms! Spring for a suite if you plan on staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles Emmex3, Jul 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with balcony, so you can have a nice sunset view to the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles JSAINZ, Jun 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay