We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinnitty Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 644: English reviews
Castleisland, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Stayed with four of my girlfriends on 10th Jan..... The Hotel is so beautiful... We had afternoon tea when we arrived which was such a treat as check in not until 3pm.....We then went to our elegant rooms and relaxed in our fore poster bed. We had the nicest meal in the restaurant. And then enjoyed a scrumptious meal in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie K
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria K, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel on TripAdvisor, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We class our food, customer service and hospitality as our unique points so I was happy to see you enjoyed all 3 with the addition of the entertainment in... More 

Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

Just back from Kinnitty Castle. Firstly I need to say, I stayed in Kinnitty Castle last year and it was amazing. This time just didn't quite hit the mark for me. We were allocated the De la Poer suite. I actually requested that suite upon booking, as the pictures on tripadvisor looked amazing and it was a treat for my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieoCork
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lizzieocork Thank you for your review, I am glad to see that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us, the Del a Poer is a beautiful room and thank you for noting this, we had in fact replaced the bed frame a number of months ago and I was unaware that it was still an issue, I... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

we had our wedding at kinnitty on the 9th of January 2015. To all the staff at kinnitty and in particular Simon and aoife , thank you for an unforgettable day. All of our guests commented on how wonderful everything was . The food was top class , the setting perfect , and the staff excellent. I would have no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C Thank you for your comments and for such a swift review, its good to know you really enjoyed your wedding day with us and that you would recommend us to other couples planning their wedding, for this we thank you, You are always welcome at Kinnitty Castle Hotel and we hope that we will see you again... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Just back from one nights stay in the castle itself. This was a special treat, €220 for dinner bed and breakfast, not easily earned. The staff and food were just excellent. The problem was the room. When we go away we like better than we left at home, the tap dripped all night, there was no bulb in one of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ch C
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ch C, Thank you for taking the time to review Kinnitty Castle Hotel after your visit. I am glad that parts of your stay were enjoyable and thank you for the mention towards the high standard of service and food. My apologies are extended to you for the experience you had with our guest bedroom. I can confirm that... More 

County Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We Stayed here for one night and personally couldn't get out of the place quick enough. we were shown to our room after a lengthy wait to check in , as the rooms were not ready. The room was like a shed, the cobwebs on the walls were ridiculous, the room was dirty and the light switch was hanging off... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank T C
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T C, Thank you for your review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel. I am disappointing to read that your stay was not satisfactory and for that I ask you to please accept my sincere apologies. Firstly, I am sorry that you had to wait a unusual period of time for your room, we had a large event the prior evening... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

Nowhere in Ireland should you be unable to sleep due to the heat, but that was the case in January in Kinnitty. All of the positive impressions made by this character filled and atmospheric castle were simply ruined by the central heating which "couldn't be turned off or turned down". Neither I nor my girlfriend could sleep comfortably (in her... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank RedzillaOnHols
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RedzillaOnHols Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed aspects of your stay but it is unfortunate you did not get a good nights sleep. On the particular night you stayed with us, the outside temperature was forecasted to drop to as low as -6, and with that in mind, as this is an old building, we... More 

Pelsall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Dear Cavan , Aoife , Simon and all the fantastic team at Kinnitty Castle. My new Husband and I got married on December 28.12.2014 and we held our dreamy reception in Kinnitty. We booked the Venue on New Year’s Day 2014 and the Groom didn’t see the venue until the night before the wedding and he was blown away with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda R, Thank you for your kind comments towards myself, Aoife and Simon, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your wedding day. Hosting weddings is an important part of our business and it is great to get confirmation such as yours that we are doing them well. Hoping you come and visit in the future Cavan Dunne... More 

Lisburn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

Travelled from N. Ireland. Thank goodness for sat nav. This place is somewhat off the beaten track although roads are all fairly decent. Stayed in main castle in an enormous room and equally huge bathroom. Totally unspoilt unique and authentic feel to this place. The basement bar area is wonderfully creepy! The dining room feels like you're eating in Diwnton... More 

Helpful?
Thank rodeton
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rodeton, Thank you for offering us such good feedback on your stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I hope our warm atmosphere may entice you to revisit in the future Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

My Daughter was Married on the 28th of December in Castletown geoghen and then Reception in This Amazing Kinnity Castle, the Weather was cold -6 but dry and sunny, Although with as many as 100 guests there will always be some people that for whatever reason may not like Old historical buildings, and the more Modern surroundings may be there... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe M, Thank you for your kind comments, I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your daughters wedding and I hope she did too. The heating issue has since been rectified. Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Beautiful setting for this authentic Castle hotel with really friendly welcoming staff. Food was top quality too, had the breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner and everything was just perfect. Overall the staff, location and food made for a perfect weekend away.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian L, Thank you for your review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I was happy to read that you really enjoyed our offerings and I hope that it will encourage you to stay with us again in the future, Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

457 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (439)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (227)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
8.7 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.9 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 4 in Birr
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
24.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 stars 1,577 reviews
14.4 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Price Range: $184 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay