We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (105)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (28)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Spa
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Concierge
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
137Reviews
141Photos
3Q+A
22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 74
  • 36
  • 13
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Safe , great view from room with oceanfront balcony , friendly staff good restaurants nearby Uncrowded beach will come back just a couple hours from SJO. 200 chars pia Uncrowded beach will come back just a couple hours from SJO
Read more
If being in a comfortable apartment with a simple , non resort-like feel but with all basic needs met, friendly and helpful hosts close by, the beautiful long beach at your doorstep and the sound of waves through the night is your dream come true, this is the place for you! If
Read more
Response from ladolcevita10, Guest Relations Manager at La Dolce Vita
Responded Apr 20, 2018
Dear friend, thank you for chosen your time to share your experience at Esterillos! We are glad you chosen La Dolce Vita for your randezvous with all your family, we are glad about that. We also hope you and all the family keep with you the good memories of the time spent here all togheter, close to the ocean, carried up by the peaceful of the nature that surrounds La Dolce Vita!
Read more
The place was quaint, clean, amazing bathroom with rain forest shower and tons of jets. Right on the beach with a pool and continental breakfast included. Small, well equipped kitchen with a full refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. I stayed in #1, the only one with an
Read more
Response from ladolcevita10, Public Relations Manager at La Dolce Vita
Responded Jul 17, 2017
Dear friend, glad to receive such kind, complete, and detalled reviews from a very expert reviewer. This made us proud of our work, and lead us to improve more. We are happy you appreciated the renews at our bathrooms that now provides an added value to our Ocean and Superior rooms. Pura Vida!
Read more
+1
This is the worst hotel that we have ever seen. The pool was the size of a postage stamp. The rooms were dirty. The person that talked to us was the most miserable person Ive met. Not friendly at all. The whole hotel is a scam.DONT go there.......They also want you to
Read more
Response from ladolcevita10, Owner at La Dolce Vita
Responded Jun 20, 2017
Dear Sir, We cannot call you “guest”, since you did not stay at the hotel and not at all a “friend”, since you insulted, with no reason, our employees and our hotel. We are sorry to receive, after three years, a very negative review (but perhaps It means we are doing well our work). We are sorry, because you wrote a review (and were allowed to publish it), without even visiting our hotel. This is demonstrated by the fact that you published only pictures of the surroundings of the hotel and not of the interiors, garden, pool, etc.. Furthermore, when invited to visit the rooms, you refused and went away, since you “did not like the town”. Why, in your review, use words such as “Scum”, for a place that you did not visit or “miserable”, referred to our employees, that are appreciated very much by our guests? This is natural location: no concrete, a lot of green, wild life, genuine Costa Rica and not artificial surroundings. About our cancellation policy, 3 days before the check in, it is a standard policy: worldwide hotels have a similar cancellation policy, especially in high season or during the weekend; and overall when you count with only a few rooms. The "middle of nowhere" as you call Esterillos is rated with ones of the highest rates! To end our answer we just want to specify we are well judged by Trip Advisor since more than 10 years and Lonely Planet (world n.1 travel guides) recommend us as first choice of Esterillos with this description: “The intimate La Dolce Vita hotel is just a few meters from the beach. The pool is small but here you will fall asleep from the waves and in the morning you will be served breakfast in your private terrace at the desired time. On the almond of the hotel lay the scarlet Macaws.” PURA VIDA.
Read more
+1
The top floor ocean view is by far the best room to book. This is much more private and has a small deck with an ocean view. It is in need of a renovation. It is very tired... stove-top that does not work, an old, dirty futon type couch, rusty stove top fan, very small
Read more
Response from ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Dolce Vita
Responded May 10, 2017
Dearest guest, thank you for reviewing La Dolce Vita. We really took care about any suggestion of our guest, as you lead us to improve day by day. In fact we just renewed the top floor and ocean view room!! Now we can offer a new and large bathroom with a modern shower, refreshed also the futon and the kitchen fornitures with a new stove-top works really good! On the other hand we can not do anything to the iguana, and all Costa Rica is proud to have free iguanas and parrots in our gardens, so we love them and we keep everything with the same smile we serving the breakfast! Pura Vida
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Suicide Shower
Looking at surf from upper room of hotel.
PreviousNext
1234568
The hotel can help set anything up; we worked through the e-mail to set up our transportation. We did not, however, figure out how to catch a bus. I am sure it can be done.
0 votes
Hi Clark, thank you for contacting La dolce Vita! We have a partner makes this service with private shuttle, always punctual and reliable. The rates are competitive: $140 from/to San Josè city; $120 from/to airport Juan Santamaria. The price are for 2 person; 10$ to add for each person more. Feel free to contact us for any further questions you may need. Best regards
0 votes
"Rooms closer to ocean are best."
"#1 upstairs has ocean and pool view and a patio, or #6 has great bathroom and renovated."
"I would recommend top floor ocean view room... hopefully it is slated for a renovation soon!!"
"Choose the second floor apartment if you want a view."
"I love being close to the ocean for the incredible ocean breeze."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la dolce vita jaco
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasEsterillos Oeste
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing