We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn by the River

Save
Share
2777 US Rte 201, The Forks, ME 04985-3414
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$161
Hotels.com$161
Priceline$161
eDreams$161
FindHotel$161
CheapTickets$161
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (72)
Dining (21)
Room & Suite (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Inn by the River is a fun, comfortable place to stay with the friendliest personnel and the most attentive service you can find anywhere. Our accommodations are cozy and clean - all of which come with with private baths and a view. Many rooms have Jacuzzi Tubs and porches overlooking the confluence of the Kennebec and Dead Rivers. The Riverside Pub has creative menus with daily specials for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner to truly enhance your stay. We are located right in the heart of the Outdoor Recreation capitol of Maine! While you're here, enjoy the best adventures Maine has to offer - whitewater rafting, fly fishing, kayaking, hiking, moose watching, hunting, snowmobiling, and more! Before and after your adventures, you can relax in the comfort of your own room or out on the front porch to enjoy the view and the soothing sounds of the river. Come enjoy the most fun and friendly place to stay in The Forks!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Boating
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
221Reviews2Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 37
  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chelsea M wrote a review Apr 2021
6 contributions
My husband and I visited The Forks for a wedding, and we stayed at The Inn By the River. The location was beautiful, because it quite literally was by the Kennebec River. Behind the inn are a few snowmobile trails and rentals during winter that we can’t wait to try in the future. The sound of the Kennebec was very soothing and there is lawn with seating at the front of the inn that you can go and take a cup of coffee, relax, and enjoy the view! Our room was on the first floor, and were happily surprised that we had direct access to the Inn’s patio where we took our morning breakfast. They have a seasonal restaurant, and a fireplace in the commons area, and the staff, Stephanie and Scarlet were amazing. They were both friendly, thorough, organized, great with communication and had a lot of informational advice to give us for our daily hikes in the local area! We can’t wait to come back to do some rafting, snowmobiling, and river tubing in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from April Glidden, Owner at Inn by the River
Responded Apr 12, 2021
Thank you very much! So glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to come back for some more adventures. Stephanie and Scarlett are the best so I am sure that they took great care of you!
Read more
Katy Gifford wrote a review Oct 2020
Falmouth, Maine1 contribution
Really fun staff who always made outdoor campfires for us over looking the river. Great service and great food! The river float was fun too. We will definitely be back. The drinks were delicious and we really enjoyed our room!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from April Glidden, Owner at Inn by the River
Responded Apr 12, 2021
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you had a nice relaxing stay and enjoyed the tubing as well. We hope to see you back again soon!
Read more
K8RX wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
Cabin 4 - we booked for 2 nights but only stayed for one (still paid for two). The cabin needs some serious updating and a new mattress. The mattress was at an angle and not comfortable. The shower was so small I had to wash with bent elbows like "Elf" The room stunk like a dead rodent was rotting in the walls and I did not want to touch or sit on any furniture. It is a cabin in the woods, I get that but it can still be updated for a more comfortable stay. We will not stay in there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Susaz2022 wrote a review Sep 2020
New Haven, Connecticut2 contributions
When I booked a tubing trip no one was wearing masks that were going on the trip. The area is ideal for water sports only. My daughter and I went tubing. None of the group was warned that the river had extra hard currents due to the releasing of the river dam on that day. While heading to where the river was their is a steep hill of dirt that makes you feel like you will fall. Long story but we almost drowned, the workers could not help because they were fully clothed on land. The other guests that were also stranded, were nice enough to come to our aid. We literally were dragged 3 miles away from the pick up point and over 10 people had to climb a steep hill out to the main highway and wait till the workers came for us. On the bus, again no masks wearing including the employee.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
marieshoppingbag wrote a review Aug 2020
New York City, New York3 contributions2 helpful votes
I paid for a 2 night stay at this Inn via Expedia . I stayed only one night and left The next day . Here’s why... The mattress is covered with charming quilted bed cover but the mattress is decrepit , ragged and flat. Just enough reason to cause me back pain. Very disappointing. See attached photo , Aug 2020. The “Breakfast Included” : you are entitled for One Sugary piece of Muffin (?), yogurt and a cup of coffee. People were NOT wearing mask. Stay at your own risk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from April Glidden, Owner at Inn by the River
Responded Apr 12, 2021
I am sorry that you had a negative experience as we have been upgrading our rooms for the last couple of years including new mattresses. I think that part of the misunderstanding over our continental breakfast is the fact that you booked through Expedia which doesn't allow us to customize any descriptions (we are great at explaining the continental over the phone with guests). The continental includes a couple of choices of cereal, fruit, yogurt, baked goods, coffee, tea and milk. Our full breakfast menu does offer a nice variety but you do have to purchase menu items. Our staff is required to wear masks as long as the state mandate is in place so I am not sure who wasn't wearing a mask? I would recommend calling the place that you are staying at directly rather than trusting Expedia for details about your lodging.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineThe Forks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn by the River
Which popular attractions are close to Inn by the River?
Nearby attractions include Moxie Falls (0.9 miles) and The Marshall's Inn (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn by the River?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inn by the River?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a fireplace, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Inn by the River?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn by the River?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn by the River?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hawk's Nest Restaurant & Pub, The Boatman's Bar & Grille, and Kennebec River Brewpub.
Is Inn by the River located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of The Forks.
Are pets allowed at Inn by the River?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Inn by the River have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Inn by the River accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.