We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papaya Playa Project

Save
Share
Km 4.5 Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Tulum 77780 Mexico
16 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$400
View Deal
Hotels.com
$360
View Deal
Agoda.com
$515
$323
View Deal
SAVE $192
Expedia.com$360
Trip.com$359
Lol.travel$515
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (938)
Room & Suite (173)
Pool & Beach (172)

About

#73 of 176 hotels in Tulum
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Introducing, PAPAYA PLAYA PROJECT , A MEMBER OF DESIGN HOTELS™ PROJECT a true sustainable project in Tulum. Having sought far and wide for a place to create an authentic, nurturing experience, the 900 meter stretch of oceanfront paradise cocooned on the Caribbean coast of the Mayan Riviera was the perfect spot. Together with the owners of of the existing Papaya Playa beach resort, Design Hotels™ is initiating the ultimate pop-up camp. Claus Sendlinger explains: “Our idea was to create a transitory, yet deeply culturally-rooted experience and we couldn’t have dreamed up a better place to make this happen. Capitalizing on the natural environment and multicultural character of Tulum, we quickly put together an international team of real visionaries, each enriching the experience with their own food, music, design or wellness concept. The enthusiasm and creative energy of everyone involved enabled us to renovate the camp and put together a holistic program within a very short period of time.” So come December, the authentic-pleasure seekers have a new raw-luxe camp they can sink and rub their feet into. Eighty-five cabanas have been renovated by the Design Hotels™ creative team. Integrating local materials and building techniques, they encourage its residents to soak in the warmth of the elements, both physically and mentally. The separation between man and nature diminishes in these rustic spaces while the perception of small indulgences – like high thread count sheets, flowing mosquito nets and thick towels – is heightened. The ultimate luxury in most of the cabanas, is the private porch, where hammocks gently swing guests into sync with Tulum’s laid-back rhythm.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Spa
Parking garage
Internet
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Windsurfing
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1,044Reviews73Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 601
  • 152
  • 81
  • 85
  • 127
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Slayridez06 wrote a review Yesterday
Fort Lauderdale, Florida423 contributions252 helpful votes
We spent over $1000 per night for this place, very dissapointed. We were in Casita "A" , located directly next to the facility kitchen. The kitchen banging starts promptly at 6am, dont plan to sleep late. Also the agressive local racoons will chase you off the casita patio at night. Music from the saturday night party went till 3am, bass was vey loud, did not sleep well. Service was substandard across the board, including from the front office staff. Here are a few specific examples: 1. Left the bar area after waiting an hour for a second round of food and drinks. Spoke to 3 different employees whil ewe were waiting. The 2nd round later showed up to our Casita as room service. 2. Ordered room service breakfast twice. Both days took at least an hour, and showed up cold both days, including cold coffee served in paper cups, without sugar. 3. Cleaning staff left the sliding glass door to our room wide open.... Lots of Cats and Racoons on the property. 4. We were not informed that if we did not reserve a dinner table, for the saturday night event, there were no other food or drink options on the property. After much drama with front office staff, we were given a room service menu with 3 options, after telling them about the racoons on patio, we were seated on the "Moon Deck" with several other facility guests that did not know they needed a reservation for dinner that night. Was a very unpleasant experience to say the least. There are so many other amazing options avalibe on the beaches in Tulum. This place was a massive dissapointmnet. Absolutly would never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Casita A and B are right next to the kitchen and bar, lots of noise early and late.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kat Urs wrote a review Jan 10
2 contributions
Amazing villa, Martin was excellent. He was very attentive to all of our needs at any time of day was there preparing drinks for us and serving food. The service was amazing 🤩 thank you to Martin and all of the other papaya employees taking care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Paloma Matus, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Papaya Playa Project
Responded 5 days ago
Dear misskatie247, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is encouraging and gratifying to know the staff has left an important impression on you. We hope to welcome back you soon for more great experiences. Regards, Paloma Matus Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Tarfa A wrote a review Jan 8
4 contributions2 helpful votes
The property is nice however our experience was terrible. Firstly the room was not cleaned properly until we told them so however still they dont compensate properly. Towels were old and rugged shocked for the price we have paid. The restaurant service was horrible on several occasion to an extent we walked put of the hotel to find food and drinks elsewhere. What baffles me is how they advertise the whole property and the service that they portray and excuses being made. Expensive for nothing
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paloma Matus, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Papaya Playa Project
Responded 1 week ago
Dear tarfaa2020, Thanks for your review.. We are really sorry about that because definetily thats not he experience we want you to have from us. We take our guests reviews very seriously due they serve us as feedback to improve processes to avoid any similar ocassion in the future. We really hope you can give us another opportunity to welcome back you soon and meet your expectations. Kind regards, Paloma Matus Guest Experience Manager
Read more
BD103 wrote a review Jan 6
Raleigh, North Carolina126 contributions67 helpful votes
I booked a day bed through Open Table for the Beach Club here. Our reservation time was 11am. Upon arrival, the host said the Beach Club staff is not ready, so we had to sit at the bar for one hour and wait. When we finally got our day bed area set up, they told us the Beach Club was closing early to set up for a party, so instead of closing at 6pm, it was now closing at 3pm. So, now we have lost 4 hours of our reservation time here. We waited one more hour to order food and I finally had to ask for a staff member to come over and take our order. Once we finally ordered, the staff did come back a few times, until 3pm when we had to leave. The hotel was holding a massive art festival that day, which obviously isn't the best decision during COVID, so we left.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paloma Matus, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Papaya Playa Project
Responded 1 week ago
Dear BD103, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize for the inconvenience at beach club. I just forwared oyur comments to that area in order to avoid similar situations in the future. We hope you can give us another opportunity to welcome back you soon and meet your expectations. Regards, Paloma Matus Guest Experience Manager
Read more
rowdam86 wrote a review Jan 4
rotherham/UK1 contribution
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! THEY WILL CON YOU OUT OF MONEY! I BOOKED THIS HOTEL UNDER A FREE CANCELLATION POLICY & AM STILL WAITING FOR A FULL REFUND, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRENDOUS, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BOOK A HONEST & RELIABLE HOTEL!!!! The hotel then claimed through booking.com to have already refunded me, which I have never received. Still waiting for a full refund 2 months after having to cancel due to travel restrictions in the U.K.. very disappointing considering the state of the world, I originally asked to change my dates to which they advised to book again and they would refund me the original booking, so I’ve now had to pay twice, due to above I’d rather not stay there at all! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paloma Matus, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Papaya Playa Project
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rowdam86, Thanks for your comments, I would like to have more information by email so I can give you an status update of your situation. Please email paloma@papayaplayaproject.com Kind regards, Paloma Matus Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$298 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
papaya playa tulum, papaya playa hotel tulum
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Papaya Playa Project
Which popular attractions are close to Papaya Playa Project?
Nearby attractions include Iklab (0.2 miles) and Hilo Rojo Tulum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Papaya Playa Project?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Papaya Playa Project?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Papaya Playa Project?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Papaya Playa Project?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boccanera Pizzería y Cervecería, El Pez Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, and Tunich.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Papaya Playa Project?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Papaya Playa Project?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Does Papaya Playa Project have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.