We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Posada Luna del Sur

Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$75
View Deal
Travelocity$75
Orbitz.com$75
Hotwire.com$75
Expedia.com$75
Agoda.com$75
Hotels.com$75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (461)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (31)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Secured parking
Street parking
Public wifi
Internet
Diving
Snorkeling
Fishing
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
994Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 851
  • 113
  • 19
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great service, wonderful breakfast and excellent location. We needed a room for one night only and this was an excellent choice. It’s within walking distance from many restaurants and close to the main highway. We expected a typical free“continental breakfast” and were stunned at their menu choices. It was a nice sit down breakfast under a palapa and delicious! Thank you
Read more
+1
We were in Tulum for one night and we were so happy to find this place. We were traveling on what I consider to be a "normal" budget (i.e. We didn't want expensive and fancy resorts, but we didn't want cheap hostels either). Our choices seemed to be beachfront hotels that were at least $300 or more (mostly more), or hotels in town that were much, much cheaper but had a lot of concerning reviews. We stumbled onto Posada Luna del Sur and after reading so many good reviews, we decided to make a reservation to stay here. We paid just over $100USD for the night, which seemed like a perfectly reasonable price for a hotel to us. I will admit that I am horrible about checking my email in a timely manner, so I managed to miss the email that was sent to me asking for pre-payment via PayPal. I just assumed that I could pay when we got to the hotel. I had never booked a hotel on Hotels.com that sent a request for money via Paypal so that was new to me. Once at the hotel, they didn't take credit cards and we didn't have enough cash on us to pay. However, the guy at the front desk was very nice and patient and he still got us checked in, even without our payment. He took my passport to hold onto until we came back with the money (this is very standard procedure in Mexico and Central America). We got settled in our room, then went and found an ATM in town to get cash. As soon as we paid, I got my passport back with absolutely no issues. The staff didn't speak English, which made it a bit difficult to communicate. But honestly, we don't have expectations of people speaking English in a country that isn't an English speaking country. I'm just mentioning it because it seems like some reviewers had a problem with this fact, so it seems like something that should be pointed out in case an English speaking staff is a "must have" for someone. Communication wasn't easy, but we managed and we were ok with that! We were in room 12 which had a balcony that overlooked the side street that the hotel is located on. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a small mini-fridge and a partial kitchen, which was nice, and a large water cooler type jug of water at the kitchen sink. We actually really liked that the water was set up at the sink. It made it easy and convenient to remember to use the bottled water instead of the tap water. There was also a coffee maker which made my coffee-addicted husband happy. He likes being able to wake up and immediately have coffee running. If you can't find the coffee for the machine, we found ours in the refrigerator. The owner has a booklet of information in the rooms, which includes a map and a list of his favorite restaurants. We chose one of his recommended restaurants for dinner and we weren't disappointed. We highly recommend Charlie's and their scorpion infused tequila! (I'm not usually a fan of tequila, so that says a lot!) I'm not a morning person so I rarely eat breakfast, especially at hotels. I'm often moving too slow in the morning to make it to breakfast on time. So in the morning, my husband went to breakfast and asked if he could take something back to the room for me. He expected to get a plate or a box that he could carry back. But instead, they actually put together a plate of food for both of us, two glasses of orange juice, and put it all on a tray and carried it up to our room for us. We were a little surprised by the great service there and it made us happy. The food was also delicious. The location of this hotel is great if you want to be in town, but don't want to be bothered by the noise. It's on a side street, just off the main road in town. Anywhere in the main section of town is easily walkable. (You will have to drive to the beach or the Tulum Ruins). We weren't bothered by any street noise which is a huge plus for me. The property itself is beautiful. From the street, the place doesn't look like anything spectacular. It just looks like a normal building. But the inside courtyard is beautiful and full of lush green vegetation and flowers, and the breakfast area on the roof is really nice. All in all, the price was right, the location was great, the room was clean and comfortable, and the service was excellent. If we are ever back in Tulum, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Thank you once again to Tom and all the staff for another wonderful week at the Posada, our seventh stay! The standard of the accommodation is still so high...the most comfortable beds, spotlessly clean rooms, lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace etc. We weren't always lucky with the weather this visit, but having lovely accommodation made it so much more bearable! I must make mention of the map that Tom provides. What a lot of work has gone into this information packed map! We used it all the time and it helped us find restaurants and places on the beach etc.
Read more
Response from Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur
Responded Feb 5, 2019
Hola Jaqui & Steve! Thanks for your review and feedback, it is very much appreciated! We are very appreciative that you decided to stay with us again! We are beyond happy you enjoyed your stay with us and as well enjoyed Tulum as a whole! My staff has not changed for nearly a decade and I am forever thankful that I have such a great team. They are the the heart of the hotel and without them, this hotel would not be the great hotel it is! We thank you both for being loyal to us over the years! We are very humbled each time a guest chooses to come to come back and visit us. Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes, Tom & staff
Read more
This is my 4th tomemin Tulum, 3rd time at Luna Del Sur. (daughter, family, and now sister) The hotel is clean and perfect for my needs, the breakfast is great and staff is helpful. (Staff is amazing and long term which says a lot to me about the hotel (important to me) - I saw the same staff this time as 5 years ago, and amazingly, they remembered me also). The hotel does all they can to respect the environment, and while it’s not “fancy” or unnecessarily I pscale, it’s perfect in its offerings. Tom has done up a map (which keeps updated) to recommends places to eat or see at all price points, from street taco bars to restaurants, and has done the same for beach spots also. You will Not go wrong. They have a long term relationship with Sian Community Tours, who we have used and they have a great rep for local, quality adventures, along with being great people. Whenever I stay, we rent bikes and hit the beach road every day, getting the best of both worlds. A workout, some sun, and back in Tulum town at night. Thanks Tom, and please pass along to your staff they they continue to be great. ☮️
Read more
Response from Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur
Responded Feb 1, 2019
Hola Kim! Thanks for your review and feedback, it is very much appreciated! We are very appreciative that you decided to stay with us again! We are beyond happy you enjoyed your stay with us and as well enjoyed Tulum as a whole! My staff has not changed for nearly a decade and I am forever thankful that I have such a great team. They are the the heart of the hotel and without them, this hotel would not be the great hotel it is! We thank you both for being loyal to us over the years! We are very humbled each time a guest chooses to come to come back and visit us. We hope you can make it a trifecta, sometime very soon! Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes, Tom & staff
Read more
This nice hotel came up short on what they say about their rooms; no clock radio, broken refrigerator, no breakfast pastry, and virtually no English spoken. When trying to contact them their email said "off line" every day.
Read more
Response from Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur
Responded Jan 29, 2019
Hola John! Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We are a bit puzzled by your reply, as you mentioned several times to my chef and receptionist (you spoke Spanish, so I don't understand your English language complaint) that you'd be back next year and that you loved our beautiful hacienda posada. The clock radio was inside your bed-side table, which we do to save energy costs, since most people tend to use their phones as an alarm. This was explained on your welcome letter. The online chat on our website usually is online fro 9AM-6PM, but calling, emailing or using WhatsApp is the easiest way to reach us, as explained in the helpful welcome letter. A 24/7 receptionist can be spoken to with no problem, even if English skills are not on par with North Americans, as is most hotels in Tulum. Your fridge was low on freon gas, which happens from time to time, in a popular hotel, but was promptly replaced with another fridge within a time span of 20 seconds. We apologize for any inconvenience, even if it was several seconds of wait. Our pastry service (donuts and pan dulce) are served during holiday season only. Our famous hot Mexican breakfast remains for all other seasons, which of course is complimentary, a rarity in Tulum, even at the more pricey hotels.This is explained on our website on our welcome page We know you were satisfied, so again, we are not sure why you chose to write a few paragraphs and give us a 3-star rating. Our welcome letter, custom made map and tour book, makes it a breeze to take advantage of Tulum to its fullest. We standby our website "claims," and you can read hundreds of other reviews and you will not see a single complaint about our website promises. We are as transparent as it comes, even no filters on our photos :) Nonetheless, thanks for choosing us and see you next year! Tom
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
posada luna del sur hotel tulum, posada luna del sur tulum
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Posada Luna del Sur
What are some of the property amenities at Posada Luna del Sur?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Posada Luna del Sur?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Posada Luna del Sur?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Posada Luna del Sur?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Posada Luna del Sur?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pasha Tulum Down Town, Sabor De Mar, and El Pez Nativo.
Does Posada Luna del Sur have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Posada Luna del Sur offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Posada Luna del Sur located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Tulum.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Posada Luna del Sur?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.