We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle 6 Sur entre Calle 9 Sur y 11 Sur La Veleta, Tulum 77780 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$64
View deal
Booking.com
$46
View deal
Travelocity
$64
View deal
Priceline$51
Hotels.com$64
Agoda.com$51
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (70)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (9)

About

#38 of 216 in Tulum
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Base camp for everything you want to experience in a Tulum town boutique hotel and then some. Sounds like paradise to us. Bienvenidos! Located on Tulum town jungle side, minutes away from the action of Tulum beach strip, Luna Llena is less a "hotel," and more a home away from home where contemporary style resonates throughout the property. Set amidst peaceful tropical gardens and an outdoor pool. The breezy, soothing rooms feature private balconies and a contemporary design. The hotel is conveniently located close to downtown Tulum, though immerged into the lush vegetation of the Mayan jungle.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Diving
Car hire
Massage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Snorkeling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.3 miles
Contact
Calle 6 Sur entre Calle 9 Sur y 11 Sur La Veleta, Tulum 77780 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen39 miSee all flights
Cozumel Airport41 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
162Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 91
  • 32
  • 20
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy Thomson wrote a review Aug 2019
Chelmsford, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I just stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it. We went for our 3 year wedding anniversary and the hotel kindly put romantic flowers and a message on our bed which was very thoughtful. Beautiful and clean rooms... and a SUPER comfy bed. I’m confused about previous reviews on the breakfast because we thought it was great. It had a variety of eggs, bread, fruits, juice, cakes and jams. Delicious! And finally the staff were amazing, kind, polite, gave great recommendations on restaurants. Thanks! We really enjoyed it! Oh p.s the free bikes really helped our budget and being able to use their sister hotel Maria Del Mar was amazing, definitely check it out!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from luna llena T, Gerente at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2019
Hello Amy & Nicholas, We were so happy to host you. It was so beautiful to meet you and be part of this amazing ocassion. Hope we'll see you soon. =) meanwhile, have a happy, lovely and a peaceful life full of light and abundance. Best, Hotel Boutique Luna Llena Team
Read more
DJEzekiel wrote a review Oct 2018
72 contributions25 helpful votes
Great place, no complaints about property. Staff very helpful trough stay. Pool is smallish but adequate for family. Free breakfast does not include egg or meat but made up for it with fresh fruit and fresh fruit juice, and different pastry every day. Coffee was ok, not bad. Milk was good for family. I assume that the kitchen could be used for eggs etc. presuming we clean up after ourselves. Room toiletries were of very good quality. Tv is a bit dated (tube) but worked well. Balcony is a little treat, not ideal for small children but nice chill spot. We did not use the free available bicycles as we had 2 little ones. Taxi is approximately 40 pesos into town. It's a little off the main strip but I will come back and do recommend it. Solid mid quality clean and cozy. Well worth the $ rate Recommend: yes stay here, even with kids
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from luna llena T, Gerente at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel
Responded Oct 28, 2018
Thank you very much for your opinion, our goal is to make you feel at home, we love to hear that you had the best time with us. We will consider the opinions about breakfast. Come back soon.
Read more
Dan R wrote a review Apr 2018
Portland, Oregon31 contributions3 helpful votes
This small hotel was perfect for us. We had 2 rooms...one with 2 double beds for our 18 and 21 yr old sons, and one King for me and my wife. It was a great base for us as we spent the week enjoying Tulum. We had a car to get around the area, so that made it easy to get to and from town and also over to the main beach road, where the sister hotel and beach club was an ideal spot to relax. Very nice staff in both locations, they made us very welcome and comfortable. Even if we did not have a car, taxis are abundant and getting around is easy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cred68 wrote a review Dec 2017
Aguas de Lindoia, SP574 contributions356 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights at Luna Llena Tulum and was the worst hotel of all our journey through Quintana Roo. Initially a hotel far from everything. We had car and it was still very far. The street of the hotel with many big holes and very difficult to use. We did not even check in and check out. Simply, the security guy gave us the room key and we never saw the reception girl. Reasonable room. We stayed in the third floor. No elevator. Very difficult to take the suitcases to room. Small bed and bad. My brother was in a room with a shower next to the bed and the rest of the bathroom in the hallway outside the room. Very uncomfortable. Breakfast awful. There was no one to assist you. The only positive point was that the Luna Llena guests could use , during the day, the Hotel Maria del Mar, in the Tulum Beach. But there's lots of Beach Clubs in the beautiful Paraiso Beach. Anyway, I don't recommend. A careless hotel, terrible brakfast, terrible bed, very far from everything and practically without any service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from luna l, Gerente at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2018
Dear Christian & Fabio, I remember you very well, you only stay 2 nights, and you arrive very late at night, we have on the information of the hotel the hour of attention to the guest, At the time you arriving we don't have no one on the front desk because of that you don't made the check in, at the time that you made the check out i was there and you almost scape. I remember of you, If you never see me how do you know the girl from the front desk is a girl i am asking this because seems confused. I remember be at the breakfast saloon and see you and your family taking breakfast and telling to you about Maria del mar beach club, our system of breakfast is not with waiter like a restaurant is a buffet with a basic continental breakfast. About the bed you choose the most cheap bed that is a queen bed and a doble queen bed, if you need a more bigger bed you have to choose a King size bed. About the street i apologize about that we already complain with the major of the town, but we can do anything to accelerate the process of the construction around. About distance when you made a reservation you can see a map and on the reserve and calculate distance. Also before you made the reserve you can put in contact to us and asking about any doubt that you have. Best regards, Lucrecia Manager Luna Llena
Read more
Alexandre G wrote a review Dec 2017
Ottawa38 contributions21 helpful votes
Arrival/Welcome Staff: Superb. Enthusiastic. Friendly. Room: Very nicely decorated, nice space. Big window. Amenities: Lame pool area, no room to sit. No sun. Restaurant: Breakfast included with the room is very basic. Almost 100% sugar-based items. Location: Absolutely brutal. There are about 10 hotels under construction in the vicinity, it is loud from 7am until 9pm (non-stop). Not relaxing at all. Also, it is a good 25mins walk to the strip, there are barely any lights, and the roads are disastrous. Maybe in 10yrs when Tulum has grown even further, this would be a good spot but for now, probably best to avoid. Others: Good Wifi. Free bikes. There was a very big and loud dog that lives in one of the apartments/rooms(WHY?? I don't know) and it barks pretty much 24/7. So between the 14h of construction per day and the 24h of loud barking, forget relaxing, forget sleeping well. The Love/Hate --> This hotel is affiliated with a very high-end hotel on Tulum Beach, where any guests from Luna Llena can go spend the day. Private beach, gorgeous grounds, friendly staff. Superb perk... yours to decide what's more important!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Amw3506 wrote a review Dec 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband noticed what he thought to be a rash on my back 4 days into our stay. Two days later I saw a cluster of red bumps on his back as I applied sunscreen on him. We immediately left the Tulum Ruins and went back to the hotel to check the bed and mattress for signs of bed bugs. We found two. We notified management and showed her my husbands back and the bed bugs in the room. She stated that she didn't know what bed bugs were so we googled her images. We told her that we did not come to Mexico with bed bugs. I asked for a refund for our stay and she became upset. She contacted the owner and told my husband that the owner agreed to a partial refund to which we were accepting of. I went downstairs to give her my CC info and she informed me that the owner changed his mind and would not grant us a refund. She said that we reported the incident very late as it was the last night of our stay. I let her know that that explanation was ridiculous and that we reported the incident as soon as we we saw the bite marks on my husband and on the bed. How do you explain bed bugs being in our bed? She offered us another room but we refused because we didn't know if the other rooms had bed bugs. We checked out of the hotel room that night because we were so grossed out by the bed bugs and the way management failed to rectify the issue. In addition loud construction took place from sun up to sun down every night of our stay, the shower drains were clogged and need better ventilation. The road leading to the hotel has numerous humongous pot holes. We will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Caroltravels1 wrote a review Nov 2017
11 contributions1 helpful vote
Wow! Was so impressed by this small hotel! Booked it last minute. Confirmed my stay at 9am and one hour later we were at the hotel being helped so nicely by Lucrecia. She quickly helped us and gave us the key to the room right away. Obviously the room was not 100% ready since we had booked it an hour prior, but said we can wait or come back. We decided to come back and since we had the room key, there was no need to recheck with her. Continental breakfast served in the small kitchen made it feel very at home. Fresh fruit, toast, good coffee, fresh juice, cereal and milk and array of tea options. Pool was very nice and clean. Security guard at night. Few parking spaces, but with the guard next to the main entrance we felt fine leaving our rental out on the street. One con (but nothing to do with the hotel): the location is at the outskirts of Tulum town. The street the hotel is located on is an un-paved street and with our small car, it was a very slow process to drive on it. Really needed a 4x4 for that street. But we see a lot of construction going on which is a good sign so I think the area will change a lot. There are other small boutique hotels on the same 5 mile radius which also makes me believe more changes to come.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Anja S wrote a review Jul 2017
Kristiansand, Norway5 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 weeks on a familiy trip, we were 8 people total, two of them kids. The hotel itself is very beautiful, placed in the jungel with a nice pool area outside. The rooms are clean. But if you have kids, the people that runs this hotel dont like them and they clearly dont have kids themself. They expect you to keep the kids completely quiet until noon so they dont wake up guests with a hangover (the mangager exually told us this). The hotel also have a private beach, but if you have kids you are not allowed to use it. This information is not written anywhere on their webpage, and they did not tell us this until we arrived. Overall this is a beautiful place, but the staff hate you if you have kids and they make sure you notice that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from smillatulum, Gerente at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel
Responded Jul 13, 2017
Hola Anja,we are really sorry for the misunderstanding. We accept children and we are glad to host them. The owner also have one so we are used to.. For sure we have timing and rules like any hotel for example the swimming pool, the breakfast area etc.. This for guarantee a good experience also for the other guests. The Maria del mar's beach club, our partner Hotel,accept childrens on the beach side without problem but doesn't accept children in the swimming pool area and in front of the suites because there is an adults only Hotel. In the webpage there are specified that they can use the Maria del Mar beach club. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We will change a lil bit the text for be clearly. Regards Francesca
Read more
appetoni wrote a review Apr 2017
Las Vegas, Nevada106 contributions25 helpful votes
This is a minimally decorated, fairly basic hotel but has a few nice amenities like a pool and a decent breakfast. Breakfast was usually a couple types of bread and a few types of fruit. The coffee is excellent. There were also a couple kinds of juice. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They moved us because I had troubles with climbing to the 4th floor on the stairs and I didn't even ask to be moved so that was greatly appreciated. One should note there is no elevator if it is needed. If you are okay to get to the second floor they will likely be willing to put you there. I'm afraid I have to give a terrible review to the beds. The beds in both rooms were absolutely crippling to our backs. They are very hard and uncomfortable with flat lifeless pillows. Other than that everything was pretty decent. The rooms were clean, neatly decorated, showers had plenty of hot water and pressure. Air conditioning and ceiling fan worked fine and the rooms have balconies. We did not see a single bug in the place. It is located back in a neighborhood which makes it feel a bit unsafe to get to in the beginning but after driving there several times we felt comfortable with it. We did have some difficulty finding it because of its location. The property is gated and there is a security guard on site. The only other downside is the metal doors are quite noisy so if you are a light sleeper that noise combined with a lot of barking dogs might keep you awake and I would recommend bringing earplugs. Noise is common in Mexico so the ear plugs will help you more than trying to find a place that doesn't have any noise. I would highly recommend this place if you are traveling by car. It's a bit far out for taxi although taxi rates, as I understand, are pretty cheap in Tulum. However, this is not in the main part of the city close to everything nor is it near the beaches. We rented a car and found it fairly easy to get around Tulum once we learned how to get to the places we needed to go.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
infoK297IA wrote a review Feb 2017
Munich, Germany2 contributions1 helpful vote
Luna Llena is a beautiful boutique hotel located in La Veleta in Tulum. The apartments are bright and modern with high ceilings and their standard is very European. The bathrooms are spacious with high water pressure and always hot water. Also when you have to take a bad road to get there, its worth the ride. You reach a very quiet ad peaceful hotel with amazing staff who assists immediately always with a smile. The pool is nice and some apartments have big private rooftops with a stunning view in the jungle, just perfect for a sundowner with your friends. I highly recommend this hotel for a nice and relaxing vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Posada Luna Llena
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Luna Llena Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tulum Pub Crawl! (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Consentida, DeAltos Café, and Smokey O´s BBQ Tulum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Luna Llena Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.