We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 7.5, Zona Hotelera, Tulum 88870 Mexico
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/24/22
Hotels.com
Traveluro
$65
View deal
Booking.com$80
Priceline$80
FindHotel$98
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (740)
Room & Suite (282)
Pool & Beach (156)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Selina Tulum
Updated 07/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 341 in Tulum
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.6
Value
3.6
Our beachfront location is a hub for music, art, wellness, and culture. Located on beach road km 7.5, the perfect spot to get drinks, eat and shop in the trendiest spots in Tulum like Hardwood, Gitano, Rosa Negra, Wanderlust and Caravana to mention some. A place with the perfect balance between price and quality with additional discounts for long stays. From beautiful spacious private rooms with an ocean view to community rooms for those digital nomads and explorers willing to share their experience with others. Complement your stay with our wonderful beach club and cuisine led by MIA Tulum and enjoy our regular events with live music from our signature DJs and friends playing until midnight. An ecosystem with co-work and a pet-friendly environment for those who can’t leave their furry friends at home. Services and Common Areas: - Co-work. - Wi-Fi. - A/C in all the rooms. - Swimming Pool. - Restaurant/Beach club MIA Tulum. - Pizza Garden. - Cinema. - 24H Reception and Security. - Retail Store. - Bike Rentals.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Diving
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
47Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
930Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 375
  • 237
  • 135
  • 83
  • 101
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sam Hawk wrote a review Yesterday
San Diego, California6 contributions
My girlfriends and I absolutely loved taking a girls' trip and staying at this hotel The location was awesome! They also have valet parking -Shoutout to Gabriel-! All around I rate it a 10/10 for the view, location, breakfast, and quality of staff!
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The area is loud, so make sure you're ready to party!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Linda wrote a review May 10
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Wouldn't recommend. Value for money is completely unacceptable. Front desk staff was not at all helpful most of the time... Found a much much nicer place with clean pool, private room three times the size of the selina room, no noise, private barhroom, very friendly and helpful staff in a hotel nearby for half the price. Must say, at Selina the food and restaurant staff were amazing (even though the prices were completely over the top). The tourguides from mayikalexperiences are amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Elite Travelers wrote a review May 1
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I was in Tulum for about a week visiting with friends and had previously booked at another nearby hotel, but found myself coming over to Selina and the Mia beach club every day! I eventually decided to switch hotels to join the group and it was the best decision I made. When you first check-in the friendly Selina staff will store your luggage until your room is ready, and equip you with a bracelet which you'll use to enter the room and get discounts at Mia. The staff was extremely friendly and really made the check-in smooth. The Selina rooms are designed to accommodate all kinds of budgets and living situations, from the community rooms to both the micro and private rooms. I opted to stay in the private room so I can't speak to the other rooms, but it was great! The rooms are modern and although the furniture and furnishings are extremely basic, they have everything you need for your stay. The best part about staying at Selina is that it is adjacent to Mia, a really fun beach club and pool that you can hang out at during the day or party by at night. They have good food and drinks and you can relax at the day beds without a fee. Even if you have plans in Tulum the Mia beach party starts at around 7-8 so it's a great place to get your night started and enjoy good music / drinks before venturing out. Selina is located on the Beach, so you really don't need to go far to get anywhere. The hotel rooms on the beach are more pricey but if you can afford it it's worth the price. Everything is nearby and it's really convenient staying on the beach, especially given that taking a Taxi around Tulum is expensive because the drivers negotiate their own rates (anywhere you go no matter how close is $20) and unfortunately there is no Uber. Highly recommend Selina for friends, groups, bachelor / bachelorette groups, or any couples looking too mingle with others and enjoy their vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Wranglergirl wrote a review Apr 2022
32 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed at Hotelito Azul down from Selina’s but decided to spend the day enjoying the beautiful beach front grounds at Selina’s since the hotel i stayed did not clean the piles of seaweed on the ocean. Selina’s service and food on the beach was also exceptional. I would definitely recommend staying at Selina’s or at least hanging out for the day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Winston C wrote a review Mar 2022
Brooklyn, New York3 contributions
I stayed at Selina for a week to "work from home" and enjoy some time. The Ocean view room was very loud. Selina is loud Thursday through Sunday and you'll need to be in the buildings away from the DJ stage. The location is excellent, right on the beach. Breakfast at Mia was great every day. Service by Levi, Ricky, and Chego was outstanding. very great people. Front desk was accommodating and friendly from Roberto (Posada Margarita), Camila, Alejandro, and Alfredo. The entrance ladies were great too, Priscilla, Blanca, and Mica! I really enjoyed my time in Selina Tulum and will be back! Winston
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Sales at Selina Tulum
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Dear Winston, First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate that. Selina's staff always makes sure our guests have the best experience possible during their stay. We also work hard on promoting amazing connections and long-lasting friendships between locals, guests and staff. We would love to see you again here or in any of our other locations around the world! Best regards, Selina's team.
Read more
Christa H wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois5 contributions2 helpful votes
Pros: Included access to a great beach. Decent complimentary breakfast. Friendly staff. Plenty of nearby restaurants. They will store your luggage after check out, Cons: Small room with shared bathroom was like a small humid college dorm room with a view to the wall. The above costs 200 dollars- there is no way I would pay 400 dollars for a private bathroom to stay here. Thin walls. Had to go to front desk to exchange towels. I ended up staying at two other nicer hotels the last two days but kept the room to store luggage and to use the beach. You might consider literally getting a hostel bed just for cheap access to their beach which was honestly better than other hotel beaches and breakfast and actually stay someplace else. This would be more cost effective than paying the minimum spend requirements at most beach clubs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Be sure to ask which shared bathroom rooms actually have a view to outside.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Sales at Selina Tulum
Responded Mar 15, 2022
Dear Christa, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as it is such a helpful way to improve our place and costumer's service. For us, our guest's experience is one of the most important things. Therefore, we feel very sorry to know that some things didn't meet your expectations. We are constantly implementing improvements to achieve an excellent experience in our guests, and the costumer service as well. We would love to see you soon here or in any of our locations around the world. Best regards, Selina's team.
Read more
Maxime wrote a review Feb 2022
Paris, France47 contributions11 helpful votes
Amazing location but very poor service. The hotel is great, Extremely well located facing the see. However, when going for dinner at the restaurant, we ordered beers at 100 pesos each. When the bill was brought it was written 160 Pesos each. We were told there was an event that night and that the prices changed. Then we went to the bar for a welcome drink we had been offered upon check in. But the bartender told us the welcome drink only works from 4 to 4.30pm. It was not written on the voucher and we arrived at 5pm. These kind of thinks make you feel they only want you money at the property and don't care about the experience. I could not have the chance to meet a manager, nobody cared.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Sales at Selina Tulum
Responded Mar 6, 2022
Dear Maxime, I am very sorry that they could not give you your welcome drink, we always offer them from 4 to 4:30 pm every day. We will work on communication management with our reception team. As for the bill accounts, MIA is our partner and we are going to pass these comments on so that they can keep them very much in mind. The prices are according to the area the hotel is in, also we will work on more menu options. Thanks again for leaving your messages. They are very helpful for us to improve. Kind regards, A.
Read more
MCD wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
if your over 40 and have no desire to her EDM do not say here!!!! Along with the music till 2 or 3 in the morning you may loose power. .Along with losing power the water pressure if any at all. Cleaning service good luck. Came down for a wedding that was epic. Wanted to stay close. Wish I would have known a place other than this. Cool town made good memories and the hotel can ........
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Sales at Selina Tulum
Responded Mar 3, 2022
Dear MCD, Thank you very much for your feedback and comments, each and every one of them helps us improve the quality of service. According to the light, we did indeed have a problem with our light plant. I am very sorry for this, we are in the middle of the jungle and sometimes things do not go as we want, but we are working on it so that it does not happen again since our guests come first. We will improve in each area mentioned and again an apology for the inconvenience. Thank you for leaving your feedback. Best, A.
Read more
mav71 wrote a review Feb 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates26 contributions36 helpful votes
I spent a couple of nights at the Selina Tulum because of a business function, and it was a dreadful experience. I was staying in one of their 'best rooms', a Private Room+, priced at $400+ per night. For that price you get what in any other hotel would be called an okay, pretty basic accommodation, with uncomfortable chairs and sofa, and no tv screen. And lots of noise because of music and partying outside. My phone picked up a noise level of 80db at 11:30pm. That equals the noise level of heavy traffic of a power lawn mower. In your room. At almost midnight. The rest of the services are, again, low quality and high price. For instance, they would do your laundry in 24 hours, at the price of a 5 stars hotel, but they do not iron the clothes. As they advertise themselves as a destination for digital nomads, you would think that, at least, the internet connection was flawless. But no. It was sketchy at best, making it very challenging to get anything done, specifically video calls. Still, I have to say that the location is cool and the concept is interesting: it was nice to see so many people working at the Cafè or around the pool during the day. But the delivery is horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Sales at Selina Tulum
Responded Mar 13, 2022
Dear guest, we feel so sorry to know that you do not feel comfortable in our place. For us, your opinion really matters in order to improve our services and make sure that your stay here is gonna be successful. Thanks for your time to rate us and give us your opinion, we take your advice to get better. We appreciate your understanding and we regret all inconvenience. Sincerely, Selina´s team.
Read more
Kresten T wrote a review Jan 2022
Miramar, Costa Rica1 contribution2 helpful votes
They advertize with free drinks but only give u 16.30 in the daytime. They overbook all the time which means you never Get the room You pay for. Always worse..... Worst place ever. Very agressive staff who attacks people when they disagree with their stupid policies. Never going back.....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Sales at Selina Tulum
Responded Feb 5, 2022
Dear Kresten, Im really sorry that your stay is not what you expected. Thanks for these comments, we were able to reinforce procedures at reception so as not to fail in the customer's perception. According to the welcome drinks, all our guest's check-ins have access to them from 4:00 to 4:30, otherwise, they cannot be granted at a different time. We are going to speak with our reception staff so that this does not happen again. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion as it helps us to grow and improve our service. Best, A.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Selina Los Lirios Tulum
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Selina Tulum
Which popular attractions are close to Selina Tulum?
Nearby attractions include Boutique Mexico Tulum (0.3 miles), Booniloob Boutique (0.3 miles), and Sculpture Park Ven A La Luz (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Selina Tulum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Selina Tulum?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Selina Tulum?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Selina Tulum?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Selina Tulum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Confessions Tulum, Fresco's, and Mamazzita Tulum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Selina Tulum?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Selina Tulum have airport transportation?
Yes, Selina Tulum offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Selina Tulum?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Selina Tulum?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Selina Tulum have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.