We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Be Tulum Hotel

Save
Share
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
$644
$577
View Deal
SAVE $67
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$644
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1393)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (402)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#46 of 177 hotels in Tulum
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Snorkeling
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
1,177Reviews64Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 865
  • 158
  • 72
  • 36
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ann o wrote a review Jan 13
Dallas, Texas15 contributions42 helpful votes
I am a travel agent and based on my experience I would send my clients elsewhere. The property is beautiful, but it can not make up for the lack of service. I had sent over 10 emails leading up to our trip, letting them know we were celebrating our anniversary. I was asking for help for a special dinner or reservations somewhere to celebrate. We never even ate dinner at the hotel because no one would help or make any recommendations. I finally made all my reservations on my own prior to arrival. When we checked in there was no mention of anniversary, I kept thinking the next few days they would acknowledge it, but they never did. It left us feeling very inconsequential. At many resorts in Mexico, they know your name after day 1 and make you feel welcomed- this never happened at Be Tulum. The breakfast and beach wait staff were the exception to this, but it still leaves you missing the feeling that they are happy to have you. The other major flaw is that they have no cola products, not just no coke, no pepsi, NO COLA; meaning if your husband drinks Jack and diet, you will have to go to the store and get your mixer! When you are paying over $900 a night, you expect a level of service that will make you want to return, this did not happen at Be Tulum.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
losangelista wrote a review Jan 2
Los Angeles, California31 contributions31 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful in Tulum style. But the customer service is below average - this is our 3rd stay in Tulum and 2 previous hotels had exceptional and very helpful staff. Not the case here. Also, they have hidden charges and are not flexible with anything. First, about hidden charges: they have many, but just to name one - they have a strange room service fee (around $5) that were added each day of our stay. I asked what is that and we’re told it’s like tips. Well..... tips are added everywhere already as well as taxes. I don’t mind paying more but it’s just seems like they have extra charges for everything and our room were $1500 per night to begin with. At the beach there are no available beds usually. They seriously lacking in beach furniture and also they constantly had repairs (during Christmas season, cmon!) and already rare beach beds were taken away for these repairs daily. Secondly, the food problem. The room service menu is VERY limited. The food at the restaurant tastes below average, for example their steak that is $150 usd was absolutely tasteless. The only things we liked from the kitchen are the drinks (there are nice smoothies and cacao). The other day we asked to do a later breakfast because it’s a Christmas Day and were told they can’t do it. I mean, okay, charge us for it (regularly it’s included) but just make us an avocado toast at 12 pm instead of 11 am - it’s a holiday for good sake. But they only offered regular lunch menu with salads and burgers which are quite bad as we understood eating it the day before. Like I said, we stayed in different hotels before in Tulum and staff was okay with doing modifications like serving some type of food food a little later. Also hot water runs only after 5 minutes of turning it on and housekeeping forgot to put bottled water couple times, but that’s small things. Which are however not acceptable considering the very high daily rate. So, bottom line - if the hotel charges more than four seasons, you probably expect top notch service and immaculate quality. Here you won’t have it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Rivera, Director General at Be Tulum Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us this one is very important for us, on our room service menu is listed a 15% tip as a suggestion for room service, this is the only extra charge for food and beverages but it's optional. For room rent there are 2 local government taxes 16% VAT and 3% lodging, these are broken down within your account but are mandatory by law in Mexico, We will work on the points that you mention, I apologize if someone from the staff didn't give you the right answer about this. We hope to have you again soon to enjoy this beautiful part of the world. Best Regards, Be Tulum Management
Read more
John R wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My wife and I booked two nights at Be Tulum for December 2020. Eleven days before our scheduled departure I discovered that my passport was missing. I contacted the hotel to see if we could push our reservation back to allow time for obtaining a new passport (due to COVID, it is taking longer than normal to obtain passports, and it is almost impossible to get an appointment at a Passport Agency on short notice – I have been trying desperately without success). Be Tulum initially said that they could move the reservation from 12/19 to 12/28, but later said 12/25 was the best they could do. Unfortunately, neither date gives me enough time to replace my passport, and my wife does not want to travel alone. The hotel refuses to move our reservation to sometime next year. I fully understand that my booking was “non-refundable” and the hotel is not necessarily obligated to do anything. I had hoped they would say something like “If we are able to re-book your room, we will allow you to change dates” or offer a partial credit towards a future stay. Instead, the hotel is just keeping our $1,500. This would have been the most expensive hotel my wife and I have every stayed in, by far, so we are disappointed in the outcome on multiple levels. Before booking, I saw that others have found this hotel to be inflexible and difficult to contact, and I am kicking myself for ignoring these reviews. After responding to my initial communication, Be Tulum has stopped communicating. I do not even know if we are booked on our original dates or the new date (not that I’m likely to be able to travel on 12/25). I’ve done a bunch of budget travel in my lifetime and I’ve been fortunate to experience a great deal of hospitality and flexibility. I do not know if I’m surprised or not surprised that a higher end hotel like Be Tulum lacks these qualities.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Alyssa wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed at BeTulum this December, it was our second time in Tulum and we wanted to check out a new hotel for us. The hotel is very nice and has a “jungle vibe”, the beach is clean (sometimes too load, since they invite a DJ on Saturday’s and it gets very, very load). Beautiful room, we’ve booked an ocean suite and loved the views. The staff at the beach and restaurant is very friendly, they try their best to make your stay comfortable. The food is very average for a hotel like this, coffee is very bad. The hotel is very expensive, but for the price you pay you don’t get the service you’ve expected. Very difficult to get in touch with reception, since they never answer their phones. Slow WiFi in rooms. On our last day at the hotel our bank called us to let us know that our credit card was stolen and used in Cancun to pay for bills (over 1,000$) of course our bank blocked the card. The card was stolen from my husbands card holder in our room and when I started packing up our suitcases, I’ve opened the safe box to get all of my jewelry and found out my diamond earring is missing. Of course I’ve called the reception right away, they said they are sending security to my room. After about 20min of waiting they finally came and right away started doing something to the safe without letting me know what is happening. I’ve asked to speak to a manager, so he can explain me the situation and they called someone from the front desk. Another 15 minutes later a guy from the front desk came and gave me some paperwork to fill out and sign. He said that he will have to contact the manager to see what they can do with our situation, at this point I was very frustrated since we’ve been dealing with this for an hour and I’ve still haven’t heard from the manager of the hotel. People were coming an going to our room. We had 1,5h before our departure to the airport when I’ve found out we’ve been robbed, the hotel manager came to our room only 10min before we had to leave and brought in his computer and a device that reads the safe, he said they can see if the safe was opened any other way besides with the code and that will prove that no one could have opened the safe box. I told him to call the police, because people where coming and going from our room, touching the safe and I didn’t know what they were doing. He said that in Mexico they don’t need to call the police in these situations and that they have the right to search all of our belongings to see if we don’t have the earring, of course we didn’t have time to have all of our bags searched since he only came 10 minutes before our departure. He showed us the records on his computer, that had the from date and time (he said, this wasn’t important) and the record showed that the safe was only opened with the code during our stay. Regarding the credit card he said that if it wasn’t in the safe, there is nothing they can do. Anything in your room can be stolen and no one will care! In the end we already were late to go to the airport and me and my husband decided it was useless to even talk to them, since they didn’t care at all, no one even said they are sorry. A hotel that charges 1,500$ a night doesn’t care that your belonging were stolen from your room and from you safe box. I’ve asked them if they are reimburse me for my earring and the manager told me that I need to have the receipt for the earrings with me, to show to him and that his record show that no one could have opened the safe, so there is nothing he can do. Please, do not go to this hotel! It is not safe
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Rivera, Director General at Be Tulum Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for sharing your comment with us, on this situation we applied all our protocols of safety, we download the info from your door, I have approached your room as soon as you report it, only takes 15 min to be there. I have explained to you the process and reed the safe in front of you, there we check with you personally that the safe was opened only with your personal code all the time, I also offer you to call the police but you refuse to do it. We didn't have anything that proves that some have had any access to your room or safe, if you require any extra information you can contact us to help you. Best Regards, Be Tulum Management
Read more
Bryan C wrote a review Dec 2020
Marina del Rey, California1 contribution3 helpful votes
This is one of the worst experiences in hotel service I have ever encountered. PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND SPEND YOUR MONEY ANYWHERE ELSE. I booked 4 nights at BE Tulum as part of my honeymoon when Covid cases were on a decline. However, taking into consideration that cases could rise again by December when we were scheduled to be there, we called the hotel and specifically asked if we could receive a credit if we had to cancel due to covid related reasons. The person working at the hotel replied by saying "absolutely, of course we would give you a credit" and assured us that there was nothing to worry about. As COVID cases have risen in the U.S., we recently became under a mandatory stay at home order in LA county, restricting non essential travel with a week before we were scheduled to leave for Mexico. When we contacted the hotel via email (because its impossible to get anyone on the phone there) they told us that they weren't responsible if we could not travel, and they weren't going to issue us a credit to visit at a later time. They said they would consider us a no show and we would lose out of the nearly $3,500 that we paid up front, even though we are legally not allowed to travel there. I am infuriated and disgusted at the willingness of this hotel to mislead, take advantage of people and screw people out of their money under a circumstance like this. Ive been to Tulum many times, it is a magical place with many great hotels. THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$584 - $1,422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Be Tulum Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Be Tulum Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mulata Tulum (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Be Tulum Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Be Tulum Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Be Tulum Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Be Tulum Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loco Tulum, La Corriente, and La Zebra Beach Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Be Tulum Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Be Tulum Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Be Tulum Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Be Tulum Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Be Tulum Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.