We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Playa Mambo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Playa Mambo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Playa Mambo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Austria
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent 14 days at the Playa Mambo over Christmas and New Year. As one reviewer said before, it is a step up from camping. Don't go there expecting it is a luxurious place, it is instead a rustic but very charming place due to the beauty of the beach and the friendliness of the staff, in particular Ricardo (Richie)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlotam
Le Puy-en-Velay, France
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent three nights (from 26th to 29th December 2011) at Playa Mambo. We have really been disappointed. The landscape was a real paradise. On the website and at first sight, Playa Mambo seemed to have all the qualifications to be the great place we had dreamt of … but some details ruined half of our stay. 1. The cabaña...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renaud D
Pleasant Hill, California
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We spent 8 days in Tulum and spent 2 of our 7 nights at Playa Mambo. We stayed here in order to check out the southern part of the beach. I absolutely loved our time here. It is rustic (almost everywhere in Tulum is rustic, so know what to expect!)...i.e. the water is fresh and saltwater, the A/C is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexisBuyny
West Yellowstone, Montana
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The stretch of beach that Playa Mambo is on is the only thing this place has going for it. As for the chairs that they provide to use on that beach, rusty, falling apart. The cushions have rips from top to bottom. Just sit in the sand, you are less likely to need a tetanus shot. The "cabanas" are in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Franklin45
Stefano123, Manager at Playa Mambo, responded to this review

DEar Guest, We sincererly regret that you did not experience Playamambo as the little beach hotel as many others do. Indeed the cabañas are not build as a high 5 star hotel but that is the charme of the beach hotels in Tulum. We try to upkeep maintenance the best possible way but it is still difficult to have it...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you like to be waited on, and like resort style luxury, then don't stay here. If you are cool with one little step above camping and a very simple breakfast, this is your place. It's quiet and mellow since it away from the strip of beach bungalows where all the action is. More of a walk to restaurants but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reba1970
Cancun
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We just stayed for a long weekend in Playa Mambo, Tulum Cabañas with 2 families. In short "We had a blast" The place is clean, relaxing, nice beach, great staff. The highlight was a great fresh caught lobster dinner. One of the fisherman came out walking of the ocean with fresh caught lobster and snappers. We bought the whole lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CancunBizz
Union City, New Jersey
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My brand new wife & I chose Playa Mambo as our honeymoon destination. We loved our stay...it was perfect in so many ways. We were able to stay in the penthouse cabana which has a palm tree hidden semi-private balcony. The view & the breeze made it the perfect place to watch the waves break & the birds drift by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gary a
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here at the end of April of 2010 for 4 nights - after our visit to Tulum and Playa del Carmen. Tulum is a beautiful town and so relaxing. The Playa Mambo was actually found by our travel agent who described it pretty well. Small rustic hotel - away from the large hotels/resorts - which is just what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheShadyYvonne
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I have just come back from my very wonderful and relaxing five night stay at Playa Mambo. I stayed in the chocolate room which was nice just as pictured, the partial ocean view is debatable but maybe I'm just short. They greeted me with a bottle of wine which I enjoyed sitting outside my room with my feet in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teecee111_11
Bristol
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for a week and have just returned, the location was great and our Green Cabana was right on the beach which was lovely. The staff at the hotel were lovely and always had a smile on their faces. However disappointingly, we had a few cockroaches visit us whilst we were there which made our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank calinalou
Stefano123, Manager at Playa Mambo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are currently revising all our reviews and have noticed that yours is still on tripadvisor. We understand that you encountered a problem with cockroaches but in our previous communication we explained that we do everything we can to avoid uninvited insects at the hotel but it is impossible sometimes to avoid them coming in. We reimbursed you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (200)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.9 mi away
Playa Canek Boutique Eco Hotel
0.0 mi away
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
#42 of 119 in Tulum
22 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Alma Tulum Hotel Boutique
4.7 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 119 in Tulum
180 reviews
5.1 mi away
Agua Hotel Tulum
Agua Hotel Tulum
#47 of 80 in Tulum
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Playa Mambo

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Price Range: $103 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Mambo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Mambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Mambo Hotel Tulum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Playa Mambo staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Middletown, Rhode Island
Jacksonville, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Playa Mambo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room with ocean views, so worth it!”
KylieMcDowell, May 3, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the beach will be cooler in the night”
laurawC9380UO, Apr 26, 2016 | Read review
“Large bungalow facing the beach is worth the extra money!”
erikao558, Feb 7, 2016 | Read review
“rooms near generator seem like they would be loud”
filmaker_traveler, Jan 6, 2016 | Read review
“Only the front three have verandas.”
johny2crisps, Dec 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question