We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
63 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/29/22
Booking.com
$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Trip.com
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/23/22
Travelocity$196
Hotels.com$196
Priceline$182
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (13511)
Pool & Beach (2891)
Room & Suite (1689)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Riviera Princess
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#134 of 324 in Playa del Carmen
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Silver level
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll. Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon). A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Paid internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
11722Reviews3209Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,149
  • 3,471
  • 1,617
  • 737
  • 751
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mr or Mrs Astin wrote a review Yesterday
Redding, California1 contribution
+1
Not happy. We are currently here. Only 2 buffets and afternoon snack place. A dress code on all buffets. Reservations required for 6 other restaurants (1 is a pay for place) Reservations for the gym and you can only stay an hour. Everything is shutdown basically at 6 except the sports bar & lobby bar way at the front. All food and drinks are all the way at the front of the resort. Room is dirty, furniture stained, lamp has s short, bulb over one sink does not work, bed sconce is about to fall off, all items in fridge are hot and floor is slippery because lotion on the floor. I have been to Mexico resorts 4 other times. All other resorts recognize the necessity of intertwining swim time, food and drinks. Here you get dressed up, eat breakfast, swim, go get bathed and cleaned up again to eat lunch, swim again, then get cleaned up again for dinner. This resorts layout, the way it runs and the restrictions disappoint me, I will will enjoy my stay here now but I will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Read reviews, ask about restaurants and be clear about what your package considers inclusive.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
matiliki wrote a review Yesterday
Montreal, Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Where to start? First, I need to say that this resort is ULTRACLEAN! Nicely oriented, one big long way with sculptures from the main lobby to the sea surrounded by all the pools and rooms with nice balconies. Buffets are good and resto à la carte are excellent (which are infinite no limit which you reserve trough the app). A beautiful attention is made to food allergies which surprised me and will make me refer this place to friends with allergies. My only deception is, a part the hotdog/hamburger/nachos shack at the beach, there’s NO restaurant on the sea. No place to have a coffee in early am, lunch or dinner by the water. All restaurants are mainly at the principal lobby (entrance) in closed rooms by glass walls giving the feeling of being in shopping mall. Other than this, there’s a quantity of pools for all different types of vacationers! The shows are divine! Never saw this quality of show with real artist! As any resorts, people reserve their chairs before 6am so if you want a palapa you need to get up quite early till I have been told that the policy of this resort is NO RESERVATION of chairs are allowed. If you arrive at the beach or pool and there’s no one but there’s towels, just take the spots, the resort team will back you up! Which I believe is good to know and fair enough! I had a bad experience with another vacationer who was loud and aggressive therefore everyday a director of the customers service was calling in the room to ask us if everything was ok, good or if they could do anything to make our stay better! Wow! To be honest I have never been treated so well! To finish, yes there’s seaweed! Once the sargasses were cleaned up by the Resort team who doesn’t stop all day, we were able to enjoy the sea. Lot’s of people were mad at the Resort for the seaweed issue but if you travel you know that the problem is everywhere in the the Caribbeans, it is a very chocking problem that affect the marine wild life much more then us, so we should be tolerant. The beach team is generous of their time, we got to do Kayak, SUP (paddle), small sailboat, when the sea was not to agitated, otherwise we enjoyed taking the waves! The inside/outside gym is great and clean! Ho I forgot about the alcohol; the bartenders in the pools are not the fastest but it’s okay! Drinks are not that good but again there’s sprinkling wine so it makes it! If eating inside doesn’t bother you, IT’S A GO! It’s definitely a place I would recommend! Full of lovely Mexican raccoons and cats!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
AllynGillian wrote a review Yesterday
Whitburn, Scotland13 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
From the day we arrived we were treated very well. 3 swim up pools, with waitress service around the main pool, where we spent most of the fortnight, we're really good and staffed by a knowledgeable barman, Carlos Tec. What a guy! Makes the best cocktails ever!! Also a big shout out to Ady, who was floating around nearby to take orders when we weren't using the swim up bar. Breakfast was always a treat, and we were well looked after by Lorenzo. Always attentive and remembered what our usual order was. Great stuff. At night in the plaza, Margerita was there to look after us and kept us well topped up with drinks. Our room may have been a little dated but the bed was super comfy and all we did in the room was sleep and shower (the showers are awesome) so no complaints there. Mamma Mia was our fave restaurant followed by La Vaqueria. Very nice tasty food. The resort is teeming with wildlife. Deer, coatis, iguanas, geckos, turtles, raccoons, agouti, snakes, birds and spider monkeys. Oscar the crocodile too, under the bridge to Chill Out restaurant evaded us when we were there though. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort. We loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TracyA101 wrote a review May 16
Markham, Canada4 contributions9 helpful votes
This place was amazing! Best week of my life. The resort is extremely clean and the staff are all amazing and so friendly. The food was like any other buffet. There were good dishes, and some not so good. The options are so vast that you'll definitely find something to suit your taste. The pools are so much fun and the place was never crowded that we couldn't find a great spot to set up by the pool. Only negative was that the swim up bar closes way too early. Also, the bar tenders could use a little help as it gets real busy and the line ups can be long. I will definitely be back and would totally recommend this place. The best!!!!! Thank you so much to all the staff. I ♥️ Mexico.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 2 days ago
Hello dear guest, we want to thank you for your generous rating and your kind message. Knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations fills us with joy. We will share your kind observation in order to improve our service and make it optimal and efficient in every way. We hope you can return soon, remember that it is always and will be a pleasure to serve you Warm regards.
Read more
John L wrote a review May 16
10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We had an amazing time at the hotel and would certainly be happy to rebook if we come back to Riviera Maya. The pools are numerous and expansive with a couple swim up bars. Hundreds of sunbeds free including ones in the shade. Beds in cabana would normally go a bit earlier but often one or two still free at even 8am when we were there. There are people asking if you want drinks, go on trips, coco bongo and spas etc but not pushy at all and move on as soon as you say no thank you. The hotel had a lovely beach with calmish water. Yes there is sargasso but this shouldn't ruin anyones holiday as the hotel do their best to clear what they can in the mornings. Some days were worse than others but can always be stepped over or move down the beach max 20m to easily step past. We didn't try the a la carte but buffets were absolutely fine for meals. Other than some food being lukewarm at times which can be expected it was ok. Typical inclusive buffets with simple food such as fries and burgers mixed with some slightly more exotic pieces. Only thing missing was a proper ice cream parlour outside of the family bit as the only ice cream was in the buffet restaurants in big tubs. With the exception of a couple mediocre ones the staff were brilliant from the hard working maintenance staff cleaning the pools and gardening non stop to the friendly staff in the restaurants. Tips may be welcomed but don't feel obliged too at all as they are more than happy not taking tips and still giving the best service. We didn't do many of the activities or entertainment as we were only there for a week but plenty of activities all day long and shows in the evening. So much wildlife and this is a real positive with the hotel. Lots of iguanas, coati, agouti and deer as well as an abundance of birdlife. We unfortunately didn't see any monkeys or crocs but they are somewhere. None of the wildlife should be worried about and do not approach you unless you interfere with them or leave plates by your sunbed. They will happily just run pass or look for insects in the grass nearby. We ventured into playa del carmen which was a classic tourist town with bars and restaurants and souvenirs aplenty. We also did a tour with Mexicokan tours to sian ka'an biosphere reserve and could not recommend this more. Its a loooong drive but so worth it with sightings of dolphins, manatees, turtles, crocs, ospreys, rays, barracuda, lots of birds and amazing scenery of coast, reef and lagoons. All in all an amazing week spent at what turned out to be a wonderful hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 2 days ago
Hello dear guest John, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us, for your kind comment and your generous rating. Knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations with our service fills us with joy and inspires us in the areas you mention to be able to improve further. We are sorry for any inconvenience that may have arisen; We will work on it so that this is not happening. And everyone can enjoy a great vacation like the ones you share with us. We hope you can return soon. warm regards.
Read more
Jennifer K wrote a review May 16
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband and I just returned and honestly had a wonderful time. The staff and service were excellent. We stayed at the Platinum Rivera and enjoyed the location and spaciousness of the room and balcony. The food was hit or miss and the drinks had to be watered down. Miso, Momma Mia and Chillout were our favorite restaurants. We loved the private pool but struggled to find a cabana as there were only 4 and cannot be reserved. The rooms need updating but overall it was an enjoyable week and we will consider returning. Be sure to use the app ASAP upon arrival to reserve ala cart dining as you can only reserve three days at a time and seating is limited.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Platinum corner suites on the highest floor were very quiet and offer more privacy.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 2 days ago
Hello dear guest, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your opinion is very important to us because with it we can know what things were to your liking and where we need to improve our service. We appreciate your kind comment and your observations, which we will pass on to the corresponding departments so that the necessary improvements are made and our service is optimal and of high quality for our guests. We hope you can come back soon, remember that for us it is and always will be a pleasure to serve you. Warm regards.
Read more
Karolina K wrote a review May 13
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel is fine, the food is tasty BUT they keep stealing from people's rooms! We are currently here, yesterday my sister checked her purse, which she left in locked safe, to find out that her 100USD note was swapped over with 1USD!!! Today couple of rooms away from us another couple reported missing money! On the 2nd day I left earrings on the top of my closed luggage, they gone missing too! But I thought there is no point to report it as they were cheap (but looking expensive) earrings. Regarding to money, they told us to write a report and called security guy, who took a pictures, and then wait 72 hours for their investigation. Well I am sure the outcome will bring nothing! We are very disappointed! Ok if you leave your belonging somewhere in the room, but still how can they steal from your locked safe box? Anyway taking someones things is just horrible but what kind of people do work there if they keep stealing tourists belongings??? Manager seemed like she don't give a s..t about what happened to us. We do like to travel, visited many places around the world but we were never treated this way! I would recommend take a small camera with you and record your room when you're leaving, otherwise the same thing may happen to you. Definitely will never come back to this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 3 days ago
Hello dear guest, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Reading your message leaves us dismayed that it does not reflect the guest service policies that we provide. However, we will take into account what you mention, it is not a game that takes objects from our guests' rooms. We will share your message with the department in charge so that they can make the necessary improvements and correct this behaviour. Since this is of the utmost importance and we will not allow this to happen. We regret and offer a sincere apology for what happened. If you are still with us, please provide us with your data internally on FB or IG (room number, under what name is your reservation) to follow up on your case. Greetings.
Read more
Mark W wrote a review May 12
Abbotsford, Canada5 contributions7 helpful votes
The swim-up room was nice (some issues), and the food & services were actually above average. The bar service and pool-side service were terrible at best. One bartender at the poolside & one above led to 25-minute wait times, our pool waiter was not seen during most of our 10-day stay. BOOK your restaurants using the hotel app ASAP after arriving, you are 2 days out of snagging a seat!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I feel ground floor is a good place to book, we had a swim-up room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 6 days ago
Hello dear Mark, thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us since it is very important to know what were the things that you liked the most and where we have to improve day by day. Knowing that we could not exceed your expectations leaves us dismayed. However, we will share your message with the corresponding department so that the necessary optimization is carried out and our service improves as soon as possible. We appreciate your observation and we offer you an apology for the setbacks that occurred during your stay. Greetings.
Read more
Sara V wrote a review May 11
Cypress, Texas27 contributions9 helpful votes
First off I booked last minute so wasn’t expecting my Choice of room BUT When Checking in I asked for a king bed. They said OK but I had to wait several hours for it to be cleaned.. We waited.. When we got to our room it was 2 Double beds (we stayed didn’t want to deal with it) The rooms are clean and all but could use some updates. Also want to mention if you go here, the power goes off when you take you card out for power, so no phones charge when you leave the room.. Ok so on to the food, the food was hit and miss, (more miss for us) The Sushi place should be ashamed to even call that sushi but the Habashi looked fun.. The breakfast was the same pretty much all the time..(its breakfast) Street Tacos were great and the burgers by the pool were great.. Pools were well taken care of and nice, could use more cabanas poolside tho.. The beach had lots of seaweed but that’s par for the resorts down there now.. Liquor must be watered down tho, after watching one bartender make me a gin and tonic I should have been drunk half way thru.. he just kept dumping in the gin…. but I needed 3 more to feel anything.. All in all we enjoyed our time away. But probably won’t be going back to this resort..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Swim ups are at a premium here and they are truly swim ups.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mjpatterson wrote a review May 10
San Antonio, Texas216 contributions122 helpful votes
I am basing this review on the amount I paid for. I booked a Platinum Suite using Apple Vacation which includes free airport private transfer. My background: I’ve been to Iberostar Chains (Beach, Linda, Maya, and Grand) so I a lot of my opinion about all-inclusive is probably influenced by experience with Iberostar. Would I come back to to Grand Riviera Princess? Only if it’s a affordable. Platinum suites are huge with 2 jacuzzis. I requested a connecting room and I got it. It was 1 king in 1 room and a 2 queen on the other. That was nice since I can watch over my aging parents. We have room 5108 and 5109… facing the walkway to the beach covered by greeneries… so no water view of any kind. We didn’t get the Exclusive platinum checkin/checkout experience since we arrived past midnight and we depart at 3:30 AM… so know that if your arrived off hours you won’t get this special treatment. Platinum lobby/bar. Always runs out of hot water. Coffee is very small. It’s really not worth it. The guy in the bar rolls his eyes whenever I asked something - the ladies were nice though. Platinum Pool- freaking small (lol). No privacy whatsoever. People can literally hear you breathing. Platinum Buffet- less choices Platinum beach chair: I’ve never get served with any drinks since nobody approached me- maybe because I’m not segsy -lol. Room service- ewww food is so bad! Good people though. I tipped well. Turn down service…. Where?? They cleaned my room every other day and not really refresh my coffee supply. But no turn down service like in Iberostar. Trolley service… nothing special for platinum you’re just like everyone else. I thought you can ride the golf cart but that’s only for bellboys. Spa: you only access it 1 free day. Unlike Iberostar Maya which will allow you to use the spa facility unlimited. Overall: is it worth getting the Platinum?? Nope- I will never upgrade to platinum. No point. Will I book the cheapest room next time?? ABSOLUTELY!!!! Go cheap guys- you’ll end up eating at the main buffet areas anyway since they have better choices. Also the a la carte restaurants aren’t good - only LA HACIENDA is good. It’s so much more fun at the main area. In conclusion : NO TO PLATINUM- YES TO CHEAPEST ROOM!!!! I recommend APPLE VACATIONS because they include transfers to and from airport/hotel and they’re on time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Omg skip Miso Thai- we left
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 1 week ago
Hello dear guest, we want to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. All messages are welcome because with them we can know what are the things that you like the most and where we have to improve day by day. We regret that we could not exceed your expectations of our service and we offer you an apology for what happened. We will share your comment with our department in charge of that section so that it can make the necessary improvements and optimize the service. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand riviera princess all hotel playa del carmen, grand riviera princess all suites resort and spa, grand riviera princess hotel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
674
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Riviera Princess
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Riviera Princess?
Nearby attractions include Playa (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Riviera Princess?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Riviera Princess?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Riviera Princess?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Riviera Princess?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Riviera Princess?
Conveniently located restaurants include MVNGATA Beach Club & Rooftop, Coco's Cabanas, and Arezzo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Riviera Princess?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Riviera Princess have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Riviera Princess offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Riviera Princess?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Riviera Princess offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Riviera Princess?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueológica Playa del Carmen (4.8 miles).