We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (13583)
Pool & Beach (2891)
Room & Suite (1689)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Riviera Princess
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#136 of 332 in Playa del Carmen
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Silver level
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll. Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon). A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Paid internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
Contact
Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Cancun Airport27 miSee all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen5 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
11799Reviews3219Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,181
  • 3,482
  • 1,629
  • 741
  • 766
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Juana C wrote a review Jun 26
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Overall my family & I enjoyed ourselves. Some of the food was a bit bland and lacked seasoning but there’s a variety to choose from at the buffets and snack bars throughout the resort. The grounds and pools were kept pretty clean- there was a stairwell area in our building that remained unswept or unclean- I know this because the same dirty towel was in the corner during our whole stay. Most of the staff is friendly but one in particular stood out to me the most due to his outstanding professionalism,knowledge and willingness to help, Noe (security). I was surprised to hear he isn’t part of management as he definitely possesses qualities to be.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded yesterday
Hello dear Juana, we want to thank you for taking the time to write your kind comment and your rating. Knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations motivates us and makes us very happy. Your opinion is very important to us because it helps us improve our service and facilities. We will share your kind message with our department in charge to be more attentive to those small details that add something negative in the end. We are sorry that this affected your stay. We hope you can come back soon, remember that for us it is always and will be a pleasure to serve you. Warm regards.
Read more
corrine wrote a review Jun 24
Hastings, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5 out of 5 ignore all negative reviews…. The staff are amazing, this place is amazing! What we’ve paid, and what is included, you can’t grumble! We renewed our wedding vows here. Alex was fantastic. Thank you Alex. It wasn’t a complete wedding ceremony, but he made it special for our special day, so thank you Alex! Wow, this place and ALL the staff have been amazing. The restaurants, just wow! Best holiday and experience here. What more could you want? Good food, good drink, good service. A gym, spa, A NIGHT CLUB, beach, and a theatre. And amazing animation TEAM! Honestly these guys are the BEST! Don’t be put off my the most recent BAD reviews! This place is amazing and so is ALL the STAFF!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Everyone so good
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded yesterday
Hello dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comment and your generous rating. Knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations motivates us and makes us very happy. Your opinion is very important to us because it helps us improve our service and facilities. We will share your kind message with our staff who will surely be motivated to continue giving the best to all our guests and have vacations as memorable as the one you share with us. We hope you can come back soon, remember that for us it is always and will be a pleasure to serve you. Warm regards.
Read more
missday76 wrote a review Jun 24
Kelowna, Canada34 contributions90 helpful votes
Cliff notes version: *Don't book here if you are a group *Don't book here if you have any type of mobility impairment *Don't book here if you like to eat *Don't book here if you are an impatient person and cannot handle line-ups As per my usual, I will give you the good, the bad, the ugly. Good first,.. (since there was so little) We stayed in a Villa Laguna (VL) room. The room was nice, the outdoor shower was lovely and the private, child-free pool was the saving grace of our trip. We loved the complimentary massage and access to Chill Out. Shout out to Pedro, who was our bartender and made sure our cup was never empty. Our room was always cleaned and cleaned well. The housekeepers were very prompt and did a superb job. The grounds are lovely and well kept. Lots of animals to see - Coatis, iguanas, monkeys, birds and stray cats. The Bad When you book a VL room, you are supposed to receive a "private check-in, with a wet towel and a welcome drink." This did not happen thus the check-in process was long and daunting. We did try to go to the lobby bar for a bevvie but they would not serve us because we didn't have a bracelet (not even a soda!!). I would STRONGLY encourage the hotel to change this policy. I think they would have much less crabby reviews about the check-in process, if they did this. The VL bracelet was also supposed to include premium drinks. This proved to be inconsistent - property wide. Certain places allowed you to request certain alcohols while some did not. The classification of "premium alcohol" really needs to be revisited. For example, I ordered a margarita on the rocks with premium tequila. The bartender pulls down Cuervo. Ummm,... nope. I then asked what else they offer for premium - he showed me a bottle of, what seemed to be, a no-name brand bottle of tequila and a bottle of Hornitos. There was Don Julio and Patron on the bar but you had to pay extra. There was lots of premium alcohol but most of which was not included. We ventured to the "private beach" area one day, that was advertised as part of the exclusivity of the VL bracelet. It was a roped off section located in the middle of the public beach area so not so exclusive. There was utter chaos on both sides. Nonetheless, we spent the afternoon there. Four hours later and one drink served,.. we did not return for the remainder of the trip. There was ZERO nightlife. The sports bar, casino and nightclub were supposed to be opened but they remained closed "due to Covid." One really has to appreciate the irony of that statement, after enduring the Cancun airport, where you are nose to nose with thousands of people, then you get on a bus that is full of people (most of whom weren't masked), then you check-in with hundreds of people (who aren't masked) and then you wander around a resort for a week (unmasked). But now, you are concerned about Covid thus the nightclub, casino and sports bar are closed??? The Ugly Eating at this resort was truly maddening. We booked a VL room mainly for the concierge service. We were a group of six and thus anticipated issues with booking reservations. We thought having a private concierge would alleviate this. We were wrong. The "private concierge" simply meant that there was a concierge at the VL pool area that would assist only the people staying in the VL or Platinum area. There was zero benefit. The resort had an app that would allow you to book your reservation but the app didn't feed in to the central computer system so it was a complete gong show! Everything was always full!! Of the seven a la carte restaurants, we were only able to get two reservations; one of which was after we had a conversation with a manager. In the end, we just showed up at the a la cartes and sat at the bar until a table opened up. Sometimes we waited 20 minutes. Sometimes we waited for 1.5 hours. The worst part about this was the fact that, once we were inside, the restaurants were only half full. Yep. You guessed it - Covid. LOL The buffet was a nightmare. It was impossible to find a table - let alone one that would accommodate six. For breakfast, we had to split up. For lunch - dear god. What a zoo!!! On numerous occasions, we had to clear our own table, then look for cutlery and once we were set up, there weren't any plates remaining in the buffet to dish out our food. MADDENING. For dinner - we had to split up again. There were lots of tables with reserved signs so I asked the host if we could reserve a table for six. He said those tables were reserved for Covid social distancing purposes (insert rolling eyes). Line-ups!! Line-ups everywhere. And long. Line-ups at the check-in, line-ups to get in the buffet, line-ups to get food at the buffet. Line-ups at all of the bars - on the beach, at the lobby, at the pools, at the sport bar. I am going to end this with a note to management: I suspect most of the issues that we faced were as a result of being short staffed. Fair enough. But don't book your hotel to full capacity if you cannot accommodate. Half capacity and happy guests is much better than full capacity and unhappy guests. Also, please don't respond with a generic "I am sorry" note on Trip Advisor. We voiced our concerns and opinions numerous times at the resort. We were kind, patient and respectful when trying to address these concerns. Not one staff member seemed to care in the slightest. Your resort had ample opportunity to rectify the situation WHILE WE WERE THERE and chose not to. So don't leave me a message now saying sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you insist on coming here, the Villa Laguna or Platinum is your best bet!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded yesterday
We appreciate you taking the time to write your message and share it with us. All messages are welcome and help us improve our service in every way and our facilities. Knowing that we could not exceed your expectations leaves us dismayed. However, you can be sure that we will share your complaint with the corresponding departments, to carry out action plans and dissipate those aspects. We know that in many parts of the world the mask is no longer used, however, we are still working under C-19 establishments that the state requests. And where each guest is responsible for using or not wearing the mask at their own risk, we invite you to use it, if you and the other guests do not use it, it is the responsibility of each one, we ask and suggest that for your safety carry out. Even knowing that you did not accept our apologies, we offer them, knowing that your stay was complicated, with anomalies; It makes us update and reinforce the way we do things in order to provide an optimal, efficient service; in every way so that they can have a pleasant and pleasant stay. Best regards.
Read more
Natalie D wrote a review Jun 24
Salisbury, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We are currently here now family of 4 two girls aged 10 and 8. The main pool is great, there is entertainment all day. Staff are amazing with getting the whole family involved especially Leonardo and Eduardo. The food in the buffets are not the best if your a fussy eater like me and youngest. You can book the restaurant which the food is amazing. The kids menu in there is the same in every restaurant which is annoying as my fussy eater would be eating chicken and chips every day if we ate in these every night. The cleanliness of this hotel is very clean. The hotel is so beautiful but the rooms let it down they are very dated but doesn’t stop you enjoying the rest of the hotel. Will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded yesterday
Hello dear Natalie, thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comment and your generous rating. Knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations motivates us and makes us very happy. Your opinion is very important to us because it helps us improve our service and facilities. We will share your kind message with our staff who will surely be motivated to continue giving the best to all our guests and have vacations as memorable as the one you share with us. We hope you can come back soon, remember that for us it is always and will be a pleasure to serve you. Warm regards.
Read more
Phil N wrote a review Jun 23
4 contributions1 helpful vote
OK. I have worked in the service industry for 35 Years and although I am no expert I would like to think that my experience counts for something. I am not a prolific reviewer but felt compelled to write this. OK here we go.. This is not a five star hotel. It probably sits comfortably at three star and at a push with improvement possibly hit a four star. The hotel lobby looks the part and to be fair checking in was relatively straightforward. After that you start to see a pattern emerging. The grounds and walkways all look clean enough but look at the surrounding buildings and pools everything looks..well, tired. The staircase to our rooms had cracked tiles (very sharp). The hand rails are loose on the walls and coming away. The rooms are clean enough but definitely not five star. We paid for an upgrade to a luxury junior suite and although fine, it was furnished with blankets that were old and snagged and old Premier Inn style furniture. The toilet was temperamental but the shower was superb. The food was a steady standard in the buffets but the restaurants were an eye opener. The hotel boasts several different restaurants but four of them are situated in two buildings, this means that whilst some people are eating Sushi others on the next table are eating Thai. Both these restaurants bear no resemblance to the food you would find in their country of origin. Service is OK. The staff work hard with what they have got but quality wise it's simply quite poor. Absolutely NOT enough shade round the pools. This leads to "sunbed blocking " and ultimately to arguments. The older generation and very young children being left to deal with high temperatures and nowhere to shade, also leads to bad tempered conversations. Service in the bars were heavily weighted towards fellow Mexicans with most being prioritised over anyone else, this could be helped by heavy tipping but was no guarantee of a quicker service. Overall, we had a good time - you make an effort to make the most, but beware people if you want quality go to Grand Palladium just up the coast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 3 days ago
Hello dear Phil Thank you for taking the time and writing your review. All messages are welcome because they help us improve our service in every way. Reading your comment leaves us dismayed, we regret not being able to live up to your expectations. We will share your observation with the corresponding departments so that they can make an action plan and our service and facilities are of high quality. We offer you an apology for what happened. Best regards.
Read more
MIKHAIL wrote a review Jun 22
Aurora, Colorado8 contributions
We stayed for a week at the platinum suite it was very spacious, beautiful, amazing A/C, and amazing jacuzzi. It is a very beautiful hotel with loads of animals such as cats (which are very friendly but be cautious when petting them) also lush green plant's, the people there are very friendly, social and carring. If you prefer more seafood this place charges for lobster and shrimps, special thanks to Adrien Carlos, Roberto in the buffet, and everyone in the platinum suite, these people are all amazing and hope to come back sometime again! Thank you guys for a wonderful time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Mike T, thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comment and your generous rating. Knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations motivates us and makes us very happy. Your opinion is very important to us because it helps us improve our service and facilities. We will share your kind message with our staff who will surely be motivated to continue giving the best to all our guests and have vacations as memorable as the one you share with us. We hope you can come back soon, remember that for us it is always and will be a pleasure to serve you. Warm regards.
Read more
stazaa10 wrote a review Jun 20
Staffordshire, United Kingdom15 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed here in May and while the food and grounds of the hotel were good the service in the bars ruined the holiday. If you want to spend 10-20 mins stood in a queue every time you want to get a drink then this is the hotel for you! The pool bars were not open long enough and while there were plenty of bar staff around there was generally only one person serving. Really poor A word of warning… do not book excursions with the on-site reps. I booked 6 dives with them and due to bad weather I could only complete 4. I was given refund paperwork and was promised a partial refund for the dives I couldn’t complete… 3 weeks on there is still no sign of my money back and I’ve sent numerous messages to the sales rep AND the hotel management and not got anywhere. They’ve basically stolen my money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 6 days ago
Hello dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your message and share it. All messages are welcome as they help us improve our service and facilities. Reading your message leaves us dismayed, we regret not exceeding your expectations with our service. However, you can be sure that we will share your complaint with the department in charge of solving the service in the bars. Regarding travel agencies, these are external to us, they do not belong to our hotel, however, we will pass your observation to the person in charge of this so that they can solve your complaint. Best regards.
Read more
Bellsa2122 wrote a review Jun 19
1 contribution
Grounds of hotel lovely rooms no where near 5 star food average in hotel buffets cannot comment on alacarte restaurants really shocking customer service lobby bars full of smoke staff aware of customers just ignoring reported to concierge nothing done smoking is against mexican law in hotels bar staff and dining room staff ignore you and a number extremely ill mannered bar pool staff do as they please close bars early refused me a beer at pool bar when I swam away I watched him then go serve young girls at the other end of bar when I approached him to inform him he had closed bar and was now serving these girls he just ignored me is the service we are experiencing because we are english seem to prioritise Latin americas are we not welcome. as english guests in Mexico now have been to Mexico now five times have never experienced this type of service rudeness from staff I do tip but can't understand why service in hotel is so poor also pools people diving off the colums into pools just being ignored by staff this could lead to a serious injury ignoring the no diving signs could such a shame because this could be wonderfull hotel experience nightmare trying to find shaded areas people seem to be up at crack of dawn to reserve shaded beds as so few available here has totally put me off returning to Mexico and I have been to mexico five times now home thank goodness will be raising issues with tui uk certainly won't be booking Mexico or princess hotels again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Other at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion. We are sorry that your stay with us was not totally satisfactory. However, we are dismayed by your comments as they do not reflect our values. Our team does not discriminate against any of our guests, as they must provide the best service equally. We will take immediate action to correct any such behavior and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Best Regards
Read more
ouzo9498 wrote a review Jun 15
England, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Still in resort day 8 of 14 service is shocking at times members of staff quite rude 35min to get drink at pool bar the bar tender prioritising young girls letting them jump in front obviously more attracted to them nightmare trying to get coffee at breakfast have been sitting in restaurant 20 mins waiting for cuttelry and table being set staff just walking past i have ate meal now still waiting to be asked if I want a drink you only appear to get service if you tip here and I do tip at times rooms basic outdated no way is this 5 star worst hotel I have stayed at in Mexico not enough sunbeds with cover nightmare to find tui rep waste of space won't be back total disappointment tui need to check this out as not a good ambassador for there brand
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Other at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Ouzo, Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion. We are sorry that your stay with us was not totally satisfactory. However, we are dismayed by your comments as they do not reflect our values. Our team must provide the best service equally. We will take immediate action to correct any such behavior and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We hope that we can regain your trust and be able to serve you again to exceed all your expectations. Regards
Read more
392del wrote a review Jun 15
Greater London, United Kingdom61 contributions66 helpful votes
It's a really nice hotel but has its problems. Can't fault staff overall or restaurants. But pool bars you only get good service when tipping. Staff have been rude and close early every day. This isn't a cheap holiday and won't be coming back here again. Loads of sun beds but by 8am you can't get a umbrella. Our room should have bed side lamps but asking reception for some they haven't arrived. TUI take note I always book a 24 hour hotel. This one ends at 2 pm. Your website and theirs are wrong. I'm at the hotel now and this review is based on how unsatisfied I feel right now.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don't bring kids here very little to do. Expect to get sunburn as very few umbrellas. Be prepared...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Grand Riviera Princess
Responded 1 week ago
Hello dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your message, your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us improve our service and our facilities. Reading your message leaves us dismayed, we are sorry for what happened, we understand your inconvenience and we want to help you to have the best vacation. If you are still with us, please give us the number of your room in an inbox on one of our social networks or go to our concierge team so they can support you. Drink service starts at 10 am every day, and our bar that closes later is the Sport Bar at 2 am and our nightclub as well. You can rest assured that we will share your complaint with the corresponding departments so that they can make an action plan and be able to improve what you mention to us. We offer you an apology and we are sorry for what happened. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand riviera princess all hotel playa del carmen, grand riviera princess all suites resort and spa, grand riviera princess hotel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
674
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Riviera Princess
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Riviera Princess?
Nearby attractions include Playa (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Riviera Princess?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Riviera Princess?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Riviera Princess?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Riviera Princess?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Riviera Princess?
Conveniently located restaurants include MVNGATA Beach Club & Rooftop, Coco's Cabanas, and Arezzo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Riviera Princess?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Riviera Princess have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Riviera Princess offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Riviera Princess?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Riviera Princess offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Riviera Princess?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueológica Playa del Carmen (4.8 miles).