We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only

Save
Share
Prolongacion 5a Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
28 people are viewing this hotel
Official website
$227
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/17/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/18/21
Snaptravel
$267
$178
View deal
eDreams$232
Expedia.com$267
Priceline$232
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (7317)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (1195)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only
Updated 06/16/20

About

#102 of 295 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
A new Princess concept is born. The Yucatan Platinum Princess All Suites & Spa is an adults only resort, taken to its finest expression, with an unbeatable location in front of the crystal clear Caribbean waters, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. The sophistication surrounds you on a resort with suites tastefully decorated with a vibrant contemporary design. A perfect getaway. A luxurious haven for your special pure vacations
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
7212Reviews2194Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,896
  • 2,066
  • 752
  • 287
  • 213
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jessixa C wrote a review Yesterday
Clackamas, Oregon1 contribution
I am not impressed at ALL!! I originally booked my room in February and when I arrived at the resort was "upgraded" to the Yucatan. I paid for the Platinum suite having been here at least 4 times in the past.. my "upgrad" didn't include the jacuzzi on the patio, I was put in a room so far from anything except the loudest pool on the resort ans so far from anything restaurants and beach!!! I have been a loyal customer to Princess but after this experience I am sure I will be finding another resort to visit! What's worse is I brought 9 family members with me shouting how amazing this place was!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
LaToya H wrote a review Jun 22
2 contributions
After I booked based on ratings, I then read what other guests had written and became instantly skeptical. I even attempted to cancel and find another resort. Due to date availability and vacation days I could not change, I was unable to. I am a COMPLETE finicky ass when it comes to were I lay my head. **I AM GLAD I DID NOT!** Loved our swim up room which was clean and spacious, modern. Staff FRIENDLY AND SERVICE oriented! The landscape itself was beautiful. We partied in the rain at the swim up bar. Guests were friendly, social and inviting! There was a variety of foods to choose from, something for everyone. Fire show, line dancing, pool volleyball were fun activities for me, but there were many more to choose from. ALSO MUST MENTION "LESLIE" the young lady who checked us in was fabtastic (my new word - fabulous and fantastic combined)! I am sorry others' experiences were not as pleasurable but we did not experience anything negative during our stay. One thing that could have been better is more linen in rooms or have room service in the evenings which could bring more linen when requested. This staff left at a certain time and didn't come back in until 8am mornings. My recommendation is to go and enjoy yourself!!!!! THANK YOU PYP!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only
Responded yesterday
Dear LaToya H, We would like to thank you for choosing Platinum Yucatan Princess as your holiday destination during your visit to Riviera Maya. We loved how in a few words you described the incredible experience you lived at the resort. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. We look forward to welcoming you soon for another superb vacation in Platinum Yucatan Princess. Kind regards.
Read more
jltn_kc wrote a review Jun 7
Omaha, Nebraska4 contributions1 helpful vote
My spouse and I just returned from a five-day stay at this resort and had a mixed, if not negative, experience. THE GOOD --The room was spacious and the grounds were well-kept. --The staff was friendly and hard-working. THE OKAY --The resort is not close to max capacity which meant that it was really quiet and pretty low energy. Most nightly events were attended by 20 or fewer people. THE BAD --Our room twice-required a call to maintenance - once because our balcony tub was not working and the other because our shower failed to drain and our entire room flooded, soaking our clothes, suitcases and everything else that was on the floor of the room. --We paid extra for the "platinum" room which was supposed to come with some "exclusive services" and "unique advantages," none of which we experienced. There was no exclusive check in process, the platinum lounge was closed. This extra was definitely not worth it, and I wish they would have told us not to expect any of the extras so we could manage our expectations. --Upon check in, we reserved massages at the spa for the following morning, but when we arrived for our appointments, there was no appointments to be found. We had to move our plans around to find another time for our massages. --Our room was not cleaned each day, which is generally not a huge deal, but one of the days we didn't get a cleaning was the day after our room flooded. We had to call for towels to shower (since ours were used to soak up water the day before) which took more than an hour and two calls to the front desk to arrive. --As other reviews have noted, there's only one restaurant open per night (other than the buffet). We always found food, of course, but for an all-inclusive, the lack of choice was really disappointing. --The beach was overrun by seaweed (that carried a foul smell and a lot of flies). This, of course, is not the fault of the hotel, but it made our beach vacation really disappointing. We ended up traveling to the sister resort most days to enjoy that beach which was less seaweed-y. I understand that factors like COVID rightfully played a part of our inconsistent experience, but for the parts that the hotel CAN control, like our room flood, I was shocked that we never heard from the concierge or anyone from hotel management as we were assured we would. Customer service at this resort left a lot to be desired. Fortunately, we were able to get good meals and a good beach experience at the sister resort next door; otherwise, our trip would have been a huge fail compared to the amazing experiences we've had at other resorts in the Riviera Maya region. Unfortunately, we will not be returning to this resort and definitely would not recommend it based on our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jltn_kc, Thank you for your comments in Trip Advisor. We truly regret the inconveniences you had during their stay. We have carefully noted each point you mentioned in order to improve, we take our guest´s opinions very serious. Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvement. All comments have been addressed and I can assure you that immediate improvements have been made. We would love to have a second opportunity to demonstrate you the high quality standards our brand is known for. Kind regards.
Read more
Michelle M wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We were here a few years ago and really enjoyed our stay so I decided to come back for my husband's 60th birthday - booked the same Suite Swim-Out room as before. Unfortunately, when we checked in we were told the side our room was on was completely closed except the rooms. When I asked about changing to the other side I was told the only swim-out room available during our stay was the honeymoon suite and it would cost an additional $1000. We initially decided to keep the original room but when we got to the room and went out to swim-out pool it was dead quiet except the construction crew right across from us. We went back to the front desk and asked to change rooms. So we are now on the other side where there are people and activity (and no construction) but we had to give up the swim-out pool and didn't get a refund. Their website says nothing about half the resort being closed or that the suite we booked would be on the closed side which in my opinion is false advertising. So beware when booking at this resort - things aren't what they seem. Original front desk person was not helpful at all (Itenas) but Aldolfo was helpful when we changed rooms. Also Orlando with Amstar is great! I feel bad since we're here celebrating a milestone birthday and it fell short of our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ALEX B TRAVELZ wrote a review May 2021
New York City, New York313 contributions131 helpful votes
+1
Well another season..Another Vacation...Another HONEST FULL Review from AlexBTravelz comin in Hot! If you follow my reviews you will notice that this is my 3rd trip since December 2020 after a long break due to Covid-19. Well after December and mustering the energy and courage to travel again I realized it isn't so bad IF you play it safe and compromise on the things you can and CANNOT do during a global pandemic. So after a successful trip to the beautiful country of MEXICO (TRS Coral) in Dec 2020 and an instant boomerang back in Jan 2021 (Majestic Elegance Costa Mujeres) I searched for yet another location in the country of MEXICO. Now im sure your asking...why Mexico...Again...Well here is why in a nutshell: 1. Worlds Best Affordable ALL INCLUSIVE Resorts 2.Top Notch Hospitality 3.Variety of Resort Options 4. Safe & Easy Travel Restrictions So now that we have that out of the way lets get to the nitty gritty of this new location exploration that is the PLATINUM YUCATAN PRINCESS RESORT in the beautiful Playa Del Carmen, Mexico! As always I flew from NY via JetBlue to Cancun,MX and landed with ease....Customs was a breeze. I gotta admit....I LOVE this Pandemic Traffic...In and Out of Customs in less than 15min! As I ALWAYS say here is a MUST travel tip...BUY A BOTTLE f your favorite SPirits at the First Duty Free you see located by baggage claim! Why? Because even with All Inclusive drinks seem on the "Lighter Side" and its always good to have some TOP shelf bev in your room for the night and at the Beach regardless of service! So after setting my standard I made my way to the exit past all of the attempted excursion enthusiast and stopped at the Bar located outside of the terminal for my usual "Vacation Size" Margarita with 5 shots of Patron Silva "Yeaaa Yerrr". Another Travel Tip (Comin In Hot) In these Covid times spring for a PRIVATE shuttle. I Usually use BD Travel but this time I used CanCun Airport Travel and booked a Private Luxury SUV. Very decent Price and seats up to 5 passengers. (Check my seperate review). Upon arrival I was greeted by the bellman who directed me to a sanitation stand located front and center. I wiped my feet (With shoes on) and used the hand sani dispenser as I had my temp checked. After a greenlight I was directed into the check-in facility. Now lets NOTE that those who booked the PLATINUM section should be sent to a private Check-in along with a welcome drink etc...This DID NOT Happen. Due to covid that area was closed and the general Check-in desk was the only area in operation. I mention this because with MOST travel booking websites these additional amenities are listed and have yet to be corrected in these Covid Pandemic times. After a brief check in we were escorted to our room....From first observation I can say the grounds are exceptional! Very clean and sleek with a modern design. My accommodations consist of the Platinum Swim Up Suite and lets say this....It. Is. Nice! I am a beach guy and often shy from the pool but I must say the all around design of the swim up, space and all was great! And the Swim up IS A MUST i will explain why shortly. After arriving in the suite the layout complete with double suite, double rain shower with frosted glass, deep oval bath with king size bed and decor was great. Complete with adequate lighting great flooring etc the sliding door out to the deck into the pool is spacious and sleek. Each room is equip with a stair and rail into the pool an the deck included 2 plastic modern decor lounge lay out beds and 2 chairs. My only gripe about the room which is a huge CON is although the minibar includes 4 cans of beer, 2 pepsi, 2 orange soda, 4 seltzer and 4 bottle still water it includes ZERO snacks. And we all know that some chips at 2 in the am after a day of drinks is essential! Yes they have room service but be advised for a resort of this caliber the options are low and take 45min minimum! Other than that the rooms are beautiful. I did notice 3rd floor rooms which featured balcony jacuzzis were unoccupied...seemed as if most people booked swim ups. FOOD For the "Foodies" Sorry but I must disappoint. It seems not only was the resort operating at a low occupancy rate (say 40% max) so was the staff percentage in operation. So with that said only 1 main restaurant was open per night. And the good news is with the exception of 1 restaurant "TAO" no reservations are needed which is a plus! So lets start with TAO. Japanese Hibachi with a great ambiance but if you are a Covid scary like me the 8-10 maskless pple per table is a bit no bueno. I was able to secure a corner end and the show was underway. Now I gotta be honest...if you have been to a hibachi abroad you gotta know just like most the food is always GREAT but the show is Always the same....In sequence here we go: 1. Squirt Squirt Big Flame 2. Everybody Say "Ooooou Oooooou" 3. Here comes 5min of spatula flippin 4. Rice comin in hot followed by Spatula with egg trick 5. Somebody open ya mouth so the chef can flick some rice all in ya mouth LOL 6. Chop Onion....Volcano followed by Chu Chu Train 7. Make Rice into a Heart add spatula for heartbeat simulation 8. Finally cook food and add more request for "Ooooou oooou" Chant 9. Serve Food And thats that. Was it a great vibe? Yes. The Chef was fantastic..Food was good and the service from the staff was attentive and worth the evening. Other than that I visited "AROMA" on 2 occasions. I will say the decor from this facility was great and the staff was A1! Menu was fantastic! A must is the Lobster Bisque Soup and the Rock Salt Shrimp which was Beautiful. As I mentioned before the staff is short so don't be surprised if u see the same staff member from earlier in the dy switching hats...so with that said Benedicto, Eli & Miguel were OUTSTANDING at the restaurants! .... My Travel People you all know I pride myself of Tipping generously...This trip was no exception. TRAVEL TIP #3: Tip Well and Receive the perks! Other than this I did not visit any other restaurant at the resort. Wasn't comfortable with buffets so I passed. I did in fact order room service a few times. Menu options in my opinion..too small. Spaghetti, Pizza, Salad, Veg with Chicken and a Burger.... Nope. For the caliber of this resort gotta upgrade this ASAP! Not only was the menu small the food was "OK" as in if im Drink it will satisfy me goin to bed after eating but NOT delicious at all. Its as good as 2 letters...O and K. i suggest a serious Upgrade. I did step out of the resort 1 night and went to a restaurant called "HARRYS STEAK HOUSE & RAW BAR"...I will review seperate lets just say 10 FREAKIN STARZ! BEACH The Beaaaaach...Ohhh the Beach! Well the intro was fantastic. A long wooden bridge takes u threw a heave marsh wooded area into a sound that introduces you to the shore.Now lets be clear...The resort is Huge but the Platinum Yucatan ADULTS section is not as massive. So the beach is ok but not huge and not nearly as great as my last 2 resorts. First things first.... The beach is not wide but manageable. If your looking for plush white sands...not here.If you want crystal clear water..not here. But what you will get is some beach lounge chairs (No Cushions) with wooden and stray top umbrellas...Nice views....Background march that has warning signs of wildlife and LOTS and LOTS of often smelly Seaweed. Now listen As mush as I travelled I gotta say....I have never seen so much seaweed in my life! Is this the resorts fault?...No but I do feel that they have not made the effort to hinder the abundance as needed. The pile up in INSANE to the point that if you are on the adult side beach the water is NOT an option. Is the beach ok...yeah but not one time did i see the beach combed for debris. I found a motor oil bottle and a little more trash for my taste washed up on the shore, They have staff tirelessly trying to reduce the amount but I have been to resorts with the same problem
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Platinum Swim up Are where it's at!
See more room tips
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager Princess México, Otro at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Alex, First of all, thank you for choosing Platinum Yucatan Princess as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your kind comments with our Trip Advisor readers. We truly appreciate your feedback and have shared it internally. We work diligently in providing guests with excellent services. We have talked to the hotel management in order to keep improving. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. We look forward to welcoming you soon for another superb vacation in the resort. Kind regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
470
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only
Which popular attractions are close to Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Nearby attractions include Playa (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Conveniently located restaurants include MVNGATA Beach Club & Rooftop, Coco's Cabanas, and Arezzo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Platinum Yucatan Princess - Adults Only?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.