The Reef Coco Beach

The Reef Coco Beach

Region 6, Calle Flamingo, Mz 7, Lt 1 Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Recibiendo las energías del sol
Traveler (6097)
Room & Suite (488)
The Reef Coco Beach
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#21 of 41 all-inclusives in Playa del Carmen
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.9
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Reef Coco Beach is your premier all-inclusive resort near Cancun in the Quintana Roo region of Mexico. Our resort is designed to embody the easygoing atmosphere of a genuine beachfront town with all the lavish amenities of a resort. From our delightful buffets to the expansive pool, our resort is perfect for families who want to relax, explore, and create once-in-a-lifetime memories. The Reef Coco Beach is one of the top Playa del Carmen resorts, unique in varied package options. You can choose between an all-inclusive package designed for guests who want every aspect of the trip covered or the bed + breakfast option, which is ideal for guests looking for flexibility and adventure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Secured parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Table tennis
Babysitting
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Region 6, Calle Flamingo, Mz 7, Lt 1 Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Cancun Airport
30.2 mi
See all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles7,835 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Reef Coco Beach offers a dynamic atmosphere with a host of entertainment options that keep the ambiance festive, although some guests have commented on the noise level and the simplicity of the rooms. While the hotel's cleanliness receives high marks, with special mentions for pristine beaches and meticulous housekeeping, the service quality appears to vary, with reports of both commendable staff and occasional lapses in attentiveness. The amenities, including the beach and pool, are generally well-regarded, yet additional fees and room quality have left some guests underwhelmed. The location is frequently praised for its easy access to local attractions in Playa del Carmen, but opinions on the value proposition are mixed, with some guests encountering unexpected costs.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Basic
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
7,835Reviews387Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,355
  • 2,352
  • 1,130
  • 537
  • 462
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sue and Kurt Glaser, USA wrote a review Mar 2020
Petoskey, Michigan4 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We keep returning to this resort year after year. The location is perfect for us as it is at the end of the "hotel zone" which keeps the beach traffic down to a minimum. It is a smaller resort with less than 250 rooms which gives you excellent service from all of the staff beginning with the bell boys and front desk staff. Their housekeeping staff is above excellent as you'll never even find the smallest dust bunny anywhere in the resort. Their restaurants offer varied and good food at every meal. We wish they actually served more traditional Mexican foods, but then that is our preference. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but very comfortable. The mattresses are excellent, but their pillows are like rocks. They need to be replaced. The bed linens are very soft and the towels soft and fluffy. We'd recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a safe, comfortable and relaxing stay with or without your family. Again, we can't say enough good things about the friendly, courteous, and attentive staff!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrandExecutive, Brand Executive at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear SueAndMe, Thank you for the trust you gave us for choosing our hotel once again as your holiday destination. We were very happy to welcome you here again and to provide you the courteous service you deserve. Indeed, our wonderful position nearby the 5th Avenue allows you to reach the heart of Playa del Carmen in a few minutes. Moreover, our hotel is still situated in a quiet area as we aim to provide recreational holidays in combination with mobility. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. Your opinion regarding our restaurants will be an important source of information for us in order to keep improving. However, we would like to point out that we usually receive positive feedback regarding the variety and quality of food we daily please hundreds of guests with. Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate the time you took to provide us your positive feedback and would be happy to welcome you here again. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew wrote a review Feb 2021
Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania190 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First the nice things. The resort is located in a middle of Playa del Carmen. The service is nice and safety is taken seriously. The resort sterilizes tables every 40 minutes, all staff wear masks, they spray your luggage, your temperature is taken as you enter the resort. Food is very good. The resort offers rapid COVID test on site, but it is usually done on specific day at noon, so be prepared to possibly loose a day of activities.
Now, few perks which basically makes me give 4 stars instead of 5. The room is simple, nothing special. Of note: My room had only one accessible electrical plug in the living room. If you need to charge multiple appliances you may need to use a bathroom plug. Once or twice the housekeeping forgot to provide me with hand towel. The room “bar” has only few sodas. But the air conditioning was very good and I found the bed quite comfy.
The resort charges, what seems to me an outrageous fee of $15 per day for WIFI. I used my LTE cell plan and ended up paying less than $5 for the whole week. In fact, there are quite few “hidden fees” in the “all-inclusive “ plan - a trick used by many Caribbean all-inclusive resorts. For example, while Espresso and cappuccino is free in the restaurant it costs extra to get at the bar. There’s a cover charge Japanese restaurant and a bar ( I haven’t visited either).
The beach seems to be the base of boat mooring, making it practically unswimmable. It also appeared crowded.
So, all things considered, a nice, decently priced resort with nice food, good service, and high safety standards.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Mar 2, 2021
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your preference and for investing time in sharing your review. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests that does not include the positive but the improvement areas as well. Thank you for highlighting the service provided by our staff as well as the protocols we have implemented due to the pandemic and our food offerings. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Katie P wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my 2nd time visiting this resort, and my boyfriend’s 3rd, and each time has been a positive experience. The staff here are always so nice. Orlando and Boris were super fun and provided us with activities like pool volleyball and even sang happy birthday to me on the speaker. Last year, we met Benito who was HILARIOUS and so helpful with checking us in and giving us recommendations on what to check out and we briefly saw him again this year. We gave scuba diving a try on this trip, indulged in a couple’s massage, and had a romantic private beach dinner. We like that we can visit the Playacar location during our trip, as each location gives their own feel. There are plenty of shops and restaurants to check out on 5th Ave too.
I also felt safe with their COVID precautions- staff were wearing masks, there were plenty of hand sanitizer stations, and the number of people was limited.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Nov 11, 2020
Dear K80p, Thank you for the trust you gave us for choosing our hotel once again as your holiday destination. We were very happy to welcome you here again and to provide you the courteous service you deserve. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the access that we provide to all our guests to come visit our beach front sister property The Reef Playacar. It was an honor for our entire team to make of your stay a pleasant vacation; your comments are very encouraging and will be taken with great consideration. We would be thrilled if you give us the opportunity to pamper you again in the near future. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex M wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
TLDR: Location was decent. Quick walk to 5th ave, the pool area was very good. Food was terrible besides the snack bar. Staff in the buffet go out of their way to not make eye contact. Benito at the front desk is extremely rude.

Now for the real stuff. The issues began immediately upon arrival. We made sure to fully pay for our stay ahead of time so when it was time to arrive we could immediately begin to enjoy our stay, but unfortunately that was not the case. During the check in process the desk attendant, Benito, told us that we must pay the remaining balance for our room. I began to tell him that we had already paid but instead of checking the system Benito told us that we were wrong and that we must pay the remaining balance. In an extremely rude manner, he began to explain how a deposit for a room is not paying for the entire stay and that I was required to pay the remaining balance. Even after showing him confirmation emails saying that the room was fully paid, he insisted that I was wrong and once again condescendingly told me I was required to pay the balance. After ten minutes of back and forth of him refusing to accept the confirmation email I was showing him he decided to finally check the system only to tell me, "Oh my mistake sir. There seems to have been a system error. The room is fully paid."

On top of that, we were flying out early and wanted to request/reserve a taxi to take us to the airport. We were told that would not be necessary seeing that taxis are available at the property 24/7. I reiterated that we would be leaving at 3:30 am but the concierge insisted we would have no issues. Fast forward to our departure date and there are no taxis to be found. We speak with the concierge on duty who tells us it will be 40 minutes minimum for a taxi to get to us. Completely unprofessional on the resort considering we made it known that we would be leaving very early and were told not to worry.

I personally have no idea where the people who said the food was awesome ate because it was far from awesome. The omelette bar was serving uncooked eggs, to the point that when you cut into the omelette the egg whites were still liquid. The Mexican restaurant served the same exact cut of cheap meat as the buffet, which was extremely bland and borderline not edible. The only enjoyable food we ate was at the snack bar.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim S wrote a review Sep 2020
9 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My cousins and I came to the Reef Cocobeach for a one week get away. Decent facilities with a few small dislikes. 1. No early riser coffee!...If you want coffee before 7am you are out of luck and no coffee in rooms. 2. Needs work on air filtration system-must keep room ice cold to help with humidity and mildew smells. 3. Shower needs work, acrylic door leaks under soaking your floor towel. Positives include the staff! Very friendly, always wore their masks, good at surface cleaning public areas frequently. Special staff members we enjoyed were Maia and Boris from the entertainment staff and I had a best ever massage on the beach from Rachel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear W2398AGkims, We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us and would like to express you our most sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff of The Reef Coco Beach. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. The situations mentioned in no way reflects our standards and rest assured we will consider this situation with the Management in order to avoid any further inconveniences. Please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com your full name, room number and dates of stay so that we can follow up internally. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to host you for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelnTexn wrote a review Mar 2021
Longview, Texas34 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed our time here. I think I got pretty good value out of this deal. All of the staff were very kind and attentive. Especially Lorena at the Buffet. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. We didn’t get around to trying the restaurants other than the buffet / snack bar. The pool area was very nice with lots of chairs and activities throughout the day. Very family friendly environment. It was nice having direct beach access with free chairs and umbrellas. Even a few day beds with canopies and palapas. We even went fishing one day with a local charter and we arranged for the chef to prepare the fish we caught for no extra charge. I have included photos of what he prepared. Now the reasons I didn’t give 5 stars. Other than breakfast, the food wasn’t great, and the drinks were very weak. The rooms weren’t necessarily dirty but they could use some updating and touch ups as well. Stains on the walls/ bedding, marks/scratches on the furniture. That type thing. While the beach chairs were free there were no waiters working the beach area. We had to walk to the pool area from the beach every time we needed a drink. I think there is a serviced section of the beach if you pay a little extra. There were also some nicer beach chairs in that area. The hotel is at the very end of 5th Avenue, so it’s a bit of a walk to get anywhere if you like to explore 5th. Overall I think the value for The Reef at Coco Beach is great and I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Mar 23, 2021
Dear guest, On behalf of the entire team of The Reef Coco Beach, I would like to thank you for your preference and for the time you have invested in sharing your review. It is always gratifying to know that our guests left with such a positive impression of our service and facilities. We appreciate you highlighting the attention provided by Lorena, who will be glad to know she contributed in making your vacation memorable. Furthermore, we appreciate you mentioning the aspects that were not of your complete liking, your observations are really valuable for us in order to keep improving our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lpdaman wrote a review Mar 2021
Sussex, Wisconsin7 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We did a family spring break with my wife and our two kids .

The staff was fantastic and this really made our trip . Shout out to Boris and the entertainment staff for doing a great job entertaining the guests and especially the kids . Lots of activities for the kids each day which they enjoyed . Alan was our waiter almost each night and remembered my son even in passing . Carlos did a Fantastic job at the Japanese steak house and put on a good show.

The food was good for an all inclusive. My wife has a gluten and fish allergy and she was always able to find something to eat . The Japanese restaurant even had gluten free soy sauce. The dinner on the beach was also one of our favorite meals

We enjoyed being able to use the sister resort and went there twice as we did like the beach better at Playacar . The beach at Coco beach does have boats parked in front of it and quite a bit of seaweed but staff did clean each morning and was still nice and blue . The pool is huge and was cleaned daily

Rooms were clean but a bit dated . We really only were in the room to shower and sleep. Only complaint was the beds and pillows were very hard .

Covid Testing onsite was easy and painless and cost us about $23 per person

Overall the hotel was a great value for what we paid and I would recommend it. We liked it enough to book another family trip for December
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Mar 17, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Coco Beach as your vacation destination and for sharing your opinion about your stay. It is gratifying to know that you left with such a positive impression of our resort and that you specially enjoyed the attention of Boris, Alan and Carlos. We will share with them your nice words. We all look forward to welcoming you in December. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nacho Otero wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been going to all inclusive hotels all my life and this is probably the worst one i have ever stayed at.

The AC in the room was not working properly; we asked twice for it to be fixed but never happened.
The room was filled with bugs; we asked twice for it to be fixed but never happened.

When we asked for a room change, we were told the hotel was full (very doubtful) and that no rooms were available.

The maids do not clean the rooms, they just make the beds and put new towels.

Worst food and alcohol selection I have seen at an all inclusive. Johnny Walker red counted as a premium alcohol;premium package (an extra 18 USD per day).

The internet is not included and the phones do not work (you have to walk to the lobby every time you want something).

The hotel has the worst section of the beach as it is next to the public access and everyone uses it to load and unload their boats. Also it is the unofficial local boat dock.

As an extra tip, the rooms in the first floor (2100s) are the worst, specially the rooms near the lobby.

I am most definitely never coming back and would not recommend anyone to go. Not even if it was free.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear nachoo528, Please allow us to thank you for having the time to share your experiences. We take pride in offering the highest level of service and we always want our guests to feel welcome. Our service is designed to be timely, efficient and informative; we are sorry that you were not provided with this level of excellence. It is very disappointing to receive such comments about the quality of the resort, we are deeply sorry that we did not live up to the expectations that you have so rightfully set before us. We kindly would like to ask you to please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com your traveling dates, full name and room number so that we can follow up internally. Your opinion regarding our restaurants will be an important source of information for us in order to keep improving. However, we would like to point out that we usually receive positive feedback regarding the variety and quality of food we daily please hundreds of guests with. Regarding your comment about the Wi-Fi we would like to mention that, as we have accessible rates, we thought it would be important to always give our guests different package options for them to choose from depending on what they consider it is better. We have two different packages: Standard and Premium. Please note that the Premium package offers the most amenities and benefits such as the Wi-Fi in the entire property. The Superior package includes Wi-Fi in the lobby but if you would like to have access to it in all the areas of the hotel you will have to pay a surcharge of 7 USD per day for three devices by purchasing it for your entire stay. The situations mentioned in no way reflects our standards and rest assured we will consider this situation with the Management in order to avoid any further inconveniences. We are saddened to read that you do not intend to return to our resort but we truly hope we may prove you in the future our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction. We would be grateful if you give us the opportunity to change your perception from our Resort. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us. Kind regards, Micaela Castilla Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce C wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first experience of a Christmas in the sun, and it was great. The hotel had made a huge effort to look festive, with trees and decorations everywhere. As a party of four couples, we found the ‘all inclusive’ package really practical, and the wide choice from the buffet kept everyone happy. We were a little disappointed with the hotels Italian restaurant but the Mexican made up for it, esp the fish taco’s. Would have to say our room (2321) was a little tired, but it was spacious, all rooms looked out over the pool, and the shower was great (and little time was spent there). The communal areas,i.e the reception, bars, poolside and private beach were smart, clean and well looked after, the staff worked particularly diligently on the seaweed everyday, meaning it wasn’t a problem at all for us at this time of year. Being a relatively small hotel meant going back to the room for ‘forgotten stuff’ during the day, was easy
Shout out to Boris and Moses who both led yoga on the beach every morning ( we made it twice!), along with many other activities, done with total enthusiasm and friendliness.
Having walked along the beach both ways, we realised that a sandbank not far out to sea, kept our beach and waves calm.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Catamaran trip organised by hotel was a highlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Coco Beach
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Coco Beach to spend your Christmas vacations and for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you and your party had an amazing time during your stay and that you enjoyed the facilities and the all-inclusive package. Thank you for highlighting the activities with the entertainment crew. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James T wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Friday February 21 2020 we reserved one room for two checking in Feb 27-29 2020. We paid 307.47USD for two nights all inclusive. After my reservation was made I realized I was charged twice. I contacted them about the issue and had no luck getting the one charge back. On the day of check they had refunded both charges canceling our reservation. Upon arrival they would not honor our rate stating we never had a reservation (I had proof of both charges on my credit card and the conversation via messaging that went nowhere with reservations). After trying to charge us 370.00USD for the stay we finally got them to honour the rate of 307.47USD. While trying to get them to agree on the price they sold us the infamous gold bracelet.....we were told the gold bracelet gave us assess to the premium liquor, private bar/lounge, access to the other resorts and free 24 hour wifi. We bought it 18.00USD each and hung out by the pool while we waited for our room to be ready. Once our room was ready a new male front desk agent (Gregorie or Georgio not sure) gave us the keys to the room and informed us that us paying a cheaper rate came out of his pocket.....he said the 70.00USD was coming “out of his money”. When I asked for the wifi code he said it doesn’t come with our bracelet and that we could pay extra or use wifi in the lobby for free. Not wanting to deal with the impolite front desk agent and overall just tired of lack of customer service I went up to check out the room. Upon arrival to the room the TV was on with advertisements about the hotel and random excursions you can do. Conveniently the 18.00USD gold bracelet was also on these advertisements advertising “24 Hrs of wifi”. I went back down to the desk where the rude front desk agent said I don’t get the wifi with my bracelet (still was not getting the vibe that he was happy) even after I showed him the picture....I was on vacation and in no mood to argue. The property is dated, rooms are dated. Bar staff and restaurant staff were all super friendly (10/10). Another thing to consider if you choose this place is that they will do everything in their power to try and get you to buy into a time share or something like that. We refused to go to their presentation because after everything that happened why would we come back?
This whole experience left a horrible taste in our mouth and we aren’t coming back. I don’t recommend anyone to go here. It was my 6th time to Mexico in 6 years ( Cancun twice, playa twice and Tulum twice) and I recommend Tulum!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PETE1961 asked a question Mar 2024
Nanaimo, Canada19 contributions4 helpful votes
Does a person have to take a golf cart to th beach?
James T asked a question Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
is the buffet mostly seafood or a good variety.
Answer from skksthomp
1 contribution
We weren’t impressed with the food, and we are not picky eaters. Same thing every day. I’m curious as to a previous review that said the food changed every day. Maybe they just chose something different every day. Snack bar was especially poor quality and very limited hours. You couldn’t even get ice cream at the snack bar. Only hamburger, cheap hot dog, French fries or nachos. Compared to the place where we usually stay, where I would rate the food a 9, Reef Coco Beach was a 4 or less. For the price we paid, it was very disappointing.
bw3wheeler asked a question Jan 2024
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom20 contributions13 helpful votes
Hi can you tell me about the wi fi , I know there is a charge but how much. Is any free access at all . Thanks
Answer from Pepe D
Lima, Peru4 contributions
Hello. When i was there, wifi was free and i had signal inside whole the hotel, except on the beach.
Answer from Michelle N
75 contributions
I actually don't drink alcohol but it's definitely worth paying extra to cover all your meals etc...there's no where too near the hotel except convience store.
Ryan N wrote a tip May 23
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach gets crowded so snag a chair spot / cabana early. "
Read full review
Alex T wrote a tip May 4
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Personally I would buy your day trips outside of the hotel as there is a significant price difference"
Read full review
MarkJJackson wrote a tip May 2
Surrey, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t get a room near the laundry "
Read full review
Ashley10trevor wrote a tip Apr 2024
Calgary, Canada3 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be fooled by the photos, this hotel is more of a timeshare and is poor in service. Do your research and check other hotels near by "
Read full review
Christina C wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Music by the pool could be more updated. That's it, love my piece of paradise "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand coco bay mexico, grand coco bay playa del carmen, grand coco bay hotel playa del carmen, grand coco bay riviera maya
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE REEF COCO BEACH $152 ($̶2̶1̶7̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Reef Coco Beach
Which popular attractions are close to The Reef Coco Beach?
Nearby attractions include Xavage Park by Xcaret (0.2 miles) and La 5ta Hacienda (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Reef Coco Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Reef Coco Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Reef Coco Beach?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Reef Coco Beach?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Reef Coco Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piaggia, Luma Taverna del Mar, and Peccato Exclusive Rooftop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Reef Coco Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Reef Coco Beach have airport transportation?
Yes, The Reef Coco Beach offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Reef Coco Beach located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Playa del Carmen.
Does The Reef Coco Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Reef Coco Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Playa del Carmen HotelsPlaya del Carmen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Playa del CarmenHotels near The Reef Coco Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars