We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel El Tukan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

El tukan offers a great location, with the many buildings that have. Close to the 5th Ave and a excellent service made my days easy at PDC. Only down maybe there lack of good food in the restaurants it's too simple, and more like an American dinner offer, so I prefer more authentic local cuisine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo D
Oirsbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is in the middle op 5th Avenue. Great location. Stores, bars and restaurants all around you. The room was big enough for 2. They cleaned it everyday! Sometimes they forget to put enough towels for us. But at the reception they give us extra towels. The shower was a little disappointing. The room we stayed in had a very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a all inclusive through vacations express. It was a last minute deals and was very inexpensive. With that being said this hotel had many disappointments. I will first say this is not what i would consider a resort. The rooms were very clean though which was one of the few good things. First off we could only take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bean B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located 2 or 3 blocks from the beach! When I stayed it was all inclusive and the food was average, but the drinks were great. Good hotel, small pool but who needs a pool when you have a gorgeous beach 2 blocks away!

Helpful?
Thank Beatriz U
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is clean, in a great spot in the 5th avenue and the service always are pending of the guest. You will have two restaurants near of your room, and also a bar with great mexican food and drinks. Is perfect for a short or large vacations with kids or just for a couples.

Helpful?
2 Thank David Arturo G
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Dear David Arturo We appreciate your time to write your experience in Tukan Hotels and Beach Club, Thanks for your comments about our location, restaurants and the hotel experience. Your opinions that you share help us to improve and give good service to each of our guests. Greetings Tukan Hotels and Beach Club More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We advised the hotel we were arriving around 6-8, it was ourselves and another couple. We booked the deluxe rooms weeks earlier on Expedia. When we arrived we were told our rooms were not available and we had to share a room!!?? We spent a couple wasted hours negotiating complaining etc getting nowhere!.... As it had gotten much later and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig and Diane W

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

The second time and still love the place its the best spot to stad in the Middle off everything and great service once again! Cleaning And from the moment we arrived if we Needed something we Just asked alejandro rojas poot and he made sure it happen! So great expierence once again with El tukan

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-oomen
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Dear Dave Oomen We appreciate your time to write your experience in the hotel tukan, your comments and opinions that you share help us to improve and give good service to each of our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you'll come back once more and enjoy our services. Sincerely yours ! Tukan Hotels &... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2016

The hotel was great. Walking through the archway on 5th Avenue, you enter an oasis of greenery which makes you forget you are right in the center of town. The pool area is nice and towels are included. The room left a little to be desired - remember this is a budget hotel - no chests of drawers, 4 hangers,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sherrywyse57
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Dear Sherry We appreciate your time to write your experience in Tukan Hotels and Beach Club, Thanks for your comments about our location and the hotel experience. Your opinions that you share help us to improve and give good service to each of our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you'll come back once more... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

El Tukan is a 3 star hotel right on 5th avenue. Within seconds, you're right at the heart of all the action. This doesn't mean that you have to party all night since most rooms are located in a jungle garden which effectively blocks out all the noise. The rooms are spacious, clean and very often you'll be surprised by... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ilsedegoede
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

We really appreciate your comments, and we really do our best to give a good service every day we really hope that you come back again. Best Regards tukan hotels + beach club More 

Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2016

In Sept of 2015, we purchased a weeklong hotel package. We upgraded to a 'deluxe" room for our January 2016 trip. We purchased only the room - not an all inclusive with meals. When we arrived, we were told that although we prepaid our stay - we owed additional fees in order to accommodate two people in one room. They... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank diannwjones
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Dear DianwJones We appreciate your time to write your experience in the hotel tukan, your comments and opinions that you share help us to improve and give good service to each of our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you'll come back once more and enjoy our services. Sincerely yours Tukan Hotels & Beach Club More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (593)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (72)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (195)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (565)
Viewed
900 Block Pool (11)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (63)
Viewed
Main Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
Standard Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#142 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#86 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#110 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $57 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Tukan staff and other travelers.
44 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Tukan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The walkways are not easy to negotiate if physically challenged.”
 of 5 bubbles sherrywyse57, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“would stay in main building”
  • private beach - playa mia
  • room
 of 5 bubbles mammacia, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“NO Wifi in rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles andreahU2752WO, May 23, 2016 | Read review
“1st or 2nd floor, you can get tired or going up and down all day.”
 of 5 bubbles folsade, Mar 25, 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor much better”
 of 5 bubbles jjjnscoartanddesign, Mar 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay