We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel El Tukan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel El Tukan
 Click to rate
Regina, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am not sure why this hotel gets negative reviews. First of all, if you are looking for 5 star amenities then book a 5 star. We knew going in what to expect and it exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 10 days with the Premium all inclusive plan. I would say it was definitely worth it as the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLMB M
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, it is always a pleasure to have you home with us, hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

There are some negative reviews of El Tukan on tripadvisor. The concierge, Jesus located a lost bag. He found us at the breakfast buffet the following day. Only good experiences with all staff here. The room is updated. Great mattress, lots of hot water, good pressure. Fruit bowl and water bottles in the room upon arrival. Towel art and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

It is always our pleasure to serve you, hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a few days and it's quite okay. My room was large enough, bed was huge (!!) and the AC worked pretty good. Bathroom was basic, but clean. Best of all is the location: right in the middle of the tourist area. So when looking for a bar or restaurant, just step outside and you found them!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Hi Peter, thank you very much for your visit, have a great day.

Long Branch, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

El Tukan has a huge ice machine that makes noise day and night.Stay away from rooms near pool area. We have been going to Playa for 15 years and this year this machine has ruined our peace and quite. We have to close all windows to keep noise out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfraticelli
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit, have a great day.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The good: The property is in a great location on 5th Ave. Easy to walk to anywhere. Close by shopping and beaches. The Kool beach club is about a 15 min walk and is worth going to. Very nice beach and not too busy.The all inclusive plan includes 5 restaurants and bars which serves excellent food and premium liquor. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dansav301
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, hope to see you soon again.

Rosario, Argentina
Reviewed 1 week ago

n this hotel my sister and her friend were robbed since their money was stolen from the safety box and the hotel did nothing even though they presented the policy report. This happened last Friday. The hotel is responsible whenever a safety box is opened inside a room besides the lock was not forced so the hotel must have some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georginaab
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Georgina, si te interesa dar el seguimiento correspondiente te dejamos nuestros datos de atención a clientes para dar la...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband, myself and two grown children visited this hotel as premium all inclusive guests for one week. We had two separate deluxe rooms. Both rooms in the main building the kids room on the ground floor and ours on the top floor both facing the pool area. The ground floor room was horrible. It was very close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlIsonSav
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Hi Alison! We appreciate you comments, All of them will be taken in count to improve our service. It was a pleasure to have you in home with us.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was here for a few days and we were just looking for a inexpensive getaway. The location of the hotel is perfect. In the middle of everything. Room was fine, good part of hotel as it was close to pool. All staff were very helpful. The real main problem with hotel was that it was loud. The cleaning staff seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucio D
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Hi Lucio, we apreciate all of your comments, it was a pleasure to have you home with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Uncomfortable beds, almost non-existent pillows and terrible wifi. The room we stayed in looked like it hadn't been updated in a decade or more and we were stuck in an offsite section of the hotel with no facilities. Honestly, for the money, it was one of the disappointing hotels we've ever stayed at. Go elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackieh88
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

We thank you for every comment. Have a nice day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

room was fine for our weekend getaway but could use some, repairs. we were on the first floor which was great because you can walk out from your room to the pool...only problem was our patio door was not easy to maneuver as it was heavy and sticks. The bathroom shower was yukky and not clean. The staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne T
Tukan M, Gerente at Hotel El Tukan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you soon again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (617)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (127)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (202)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (565)
Viewed
900 Block Pool (11)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (63)
Viewed
Main Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (142)
Viewed
Standard Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Nina Hotel
Nina Hotel
#132 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#97 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#111 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#134 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#57 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel El Tukan

Address: 5a Avenida Norte, Entre 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $64 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tukan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel El Tukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tukan Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Tukan Condotel Hotel
El Tukan Condotel Suites Beach Club
Hotel El Tukan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Tukan staff and other travelers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Tukan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Huge ice machine near pool area, stay away. Noise is terrible.”
 of 5 bubbles dfraticelli, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you want a more quiet room as for an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles Dansav301, 1 week ago | Read review
“Te roban tu dinero de las cajas fuertes”
 of 5 bubbles Georginaab, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't go for the rooms, go for the location”
  • Shower is disgusting wear shower sandals!
 of 5 bubbles AlIsonSav, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“main floor facing the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 617joannet, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question