Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya

Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya

Traveler (1839)
Lagoon View Double
Room & Suite (297)
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Enroll free for lower prices
$300
Fully refundable before Sun, Jun 2
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$550
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#9 of 24 resorts in Playa del Carmen
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Andaz Mayakoba Resort - rated as a Top 10 Resort in Mexico by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers' Choice Awards - is located within the exclusive private gated complex of Mayakoba, nestled on the coastline of the Mexican Caribbean. The luxury lifestyle resort is situated along 1 mile of stunning white-sand beach and surrounded by pristine natural beauty. Guests can enjoy exquisite gastronomy in five different restaurants, including Casa Amate and Sotavento, award-winning restaurants, rated as Top 250 Best Restaurants in Mexico by Culinaria Mexicana; VB is the healthy and the only vegan menu within the complex; Tinta del Pulpo offers poolside snacks, tropical and Mexican delicacies such as tacos, ceviches and more. The resort's breathtaking design reflects the local Mayan culture and the lush nature that surrounds it. Andaz Mayakoba features 214 guestrooms, including 41 suites - all of which feature a private plunge pool and enhanced benefits. Guests can also enjoy the world-class 9,688 square-foot Naum Wellness & Spa with Mayan-inspired rituals and hydrotherapy spaces and a 18-hole championship golf course designed by golf legend, Greg Norman. Guests of Andaz Mayakoba receive a special discounted rate per player (subject to course availability)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Diving
Golf course
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Carretera Federal, Carr. Cancún - Tulum Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,367 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya is often celebrated for its peaceful and intimate ambiance, with many guests expressing admiration for its serene setting and meticulous attention to detail. The location earns high marks for its beautiful beachfront views and proximity to leisure spots, while the cleanliness is a standout feature, with travelers noting the pristine conditions across the property. Although the food and beverage options are sometimes criticized for being costly, the rooms and amenities receive commendations for their comfort and variety. Service is generally regarded as top-notch, with staff members receiving praise for their attentiveness, although there are occasional mentions of slower service.
Location
Secluded
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,367Reviews234Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,890
  • 230
  • 125
  • 80
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
travell8dybug wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada17 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, resort is amazing! Staff are very friendly; resort is clean and beautiful. Minimalist design, yet elegant and beautifully set in the jungle. A wonderful vacation at Andaz and would go back!

Room: Beachfront was great location; thin walls.
My husband and I stayed at the beach front room and enjoyed the convenience of walking out directly onto the beach. The room had a smart TV we used to Chromecast our phones to watch Netflix. It also had a Bluetooth speaker for us to play our music. We were pleasantly surprised that the rooms were cleaned and towels changed twice a day. Water was consistently restocked twice a day, sometimes more.
Rooms are not soundproof. Sometimes we heard our neighbours and their kids, so we played music to drown the noise. There is a little bit of evidence of wear and tear, the bathroom mirror had black spots lining edge of mirror, the shower stall had some paint peeling off the floor. No major problems. Everything was in working order.

Food: awesome Mexican food!!
We visited all the restaurants except the Vegan Bar. Our favorite restaurant was Tinta del Pulpo. Their tacos are so good! For dinner, we recommend the tempura fish and rib eye tacos, and fried octopus tostada. For lunch, their fish burger, ceviche and nachos were also really good!
We also loved the breakfast buffet at Cocina Milagro. Their serve a mix of western and mexican breakfast for those who want comfort and adventure. Their homemade hot chocolate was delightful! Cooked with spices like cinnamon, cloves, orange.
At the restaurants, we were pleasantly surprised to be approached by the resort manager, assistant manager and head chefs to ask about our experience and feedback. It made us feel like they cared and I have never been approached by a head chef before!

Beach:
The resort was quiet when we went (mid June 2022), not busy with other vacationers, so there was always room on the beach under an umbrella, set up with beach towels. The staff at the beach immediately bring you cold bottled water (free) and you have the chance to order anything else (food/drinks) you like and they just charge it to your room. They kindly check up on you.
There are staff who spent all morning and afternoon cleaning seaweed. Apparently the amount of seaweed has increased over the years and mayakoba has been trying to recycle it as fertilizer and material for goods. There was always seaweed along the border, more so after a storm. But we swam a little deeper into the ocean and it didn't bother us. This could be more of an issue for families with toddlers.

Pool: Quiet with a few other small families/couples with their space. Clean, but not overly smelling of chlorine. An area blocked off for children.

Activities: lagoon tour and biking!
The resort, along with some others, is located in the Mayakoba area. A good portion of the resort sits in the jungle and extends to the beach. A lagoon sits in the jungle and is home to fish, crocodiles, and many birds. We got to see lots of cool wildlife including coatii, iguana, crocodile, and many birds. For this, we recommend doing the lagoon tour and biking or hiking on the paved trails to see the cenote! These items were special to the Mayakoba area, and makes it memorable. We walked the nature trail which took 1.5 hrs and it was challenging given the heat. So we recommend biking it instead.

Time share pitch: non existent!
We were not approached for any off resort expeditions, time shares or trinkets while on resort. Info was available at concierge for inquiry, otherwise, we were left alone for that. We saw people walking along shore with trinkets, but they were quiet and didn't seem like they were trying hard to sell.

Weather: short bursts of heavy rain, lasting 10-30minutes. It rained once or twice a day, 4/6 days we were there. But there was still plenty of sun and some clouds and lots of wind. Weather is hot and humid but when we were swimming or still, we didnt notice it. It's most apparent after stepping out of our AC'd room but then we quickly got used to it. I was initially worried to book a vacation to Mexico during the stormy season and also purchased travel insurance, but I didn't have to use the insurance and I enjoyed plenty of sun! Also, when it rained, I just ran back into my room or a restaurant. It was off season and maybe that's why the resort was quiet. Dont let the June weather deter you!

Gym: clean, equipped with basics and empty the one time we went. Husband loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bike the nature trail and lagoon tour to see cenote and wildlife. Beachfront room was very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Dupuis, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Hola travell8dybug! Thank you so much for your and for taking the time to share this superb review in our profile. We are extremely grateful for your very kind words about our resort, services and attentiveness of our team. There really is no better reward for us than knowing you had a great time with us. Thank you once again for your review and we all look forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Pascal Dupuis.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael C wrote a review Sep 2020
Fort Lauderdale, Florida1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Anyone worried about COVID-19 would be happy with the care taken by this property. We had a 5-Star experience, during COVID at this amazing property. Underrated property and under priced :) There were probably 3 staff to every one guests. Every single staff person is happy to see you and serve you. Anything we needed, we received and promptly. The food, not just at the Andaz but also at the other 3 properties in the Mayakoba community, was delicious and exceeded expectations. The property found ways to make the trip as normal as possible, despite the covid restrictions. Massages on the beach (with the Spa being closed due to COVID), outdoor exercise activities, handsfree sanitizing stations, socially distant restaurant table set ups and I never noticed even one staff without a mask for a second in the 5 nights we stayed on property. I've stayed at the Rosewood next door for almost $1k/night and this Andaz was a far better value at about 20% cost and not much less of an experience. My wife and I will certainly be back soon. Great for families, people looking for a quiet and more relaxing experience, rather than the party scene.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Dupuis, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Hola Michael C! Thank you for choosing Andaz Mayakoba and for the time you have taken to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to read your generous review and would like to thank you for your very kind words. Andaz Mayakoba is committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness to ensure you enjoy a healthy, safe, and comfortable environment. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return in future at Andaz Mayakoba. Best Regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Shaun Ford wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 5 days at Andaz Mayakoba with my 10 year old daughter recently. The property is incredible. The service is next level and very very good. They attend to your every need, and go out of their way to make it happen. My daughter wanted a popsicle one day while we were by the pool, and they went out of their way to track down a possible from who knows where despite not having any on hand or on the menu. The pools are beautiful. The beach was so-so at this time of the year (January)...it is very windy and the water is rough. The water had traces of garbage in it, which wasn't great. Regardless, they are constantly sweeping the beaches for seaweed, and are doing what they can in this regard. The pools however make up for it. The rooms are nice and roomy. The bikes are fun to cruise around on, although the kickstands don't work properly on many of the bikes and you find them all over the property laying on their sides and are consequently pretty beat up. The concierge were amazing and helped us plan and book a few excursions during our stay. We had the all-inclusive, and I'm not sure if we received the value from this. It was very expensive in general, and the taxes/service charges were not fully known to me at the time of booking, so this ended up being a surprise in the end. But...with this all being said, it was worth it, and I would do it again. The service and the property make it a 5 star kind of experience and I would recommend it to others with the caveat that you are prepared to spend more than you think at the end of the trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal D, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Hola Shaun F! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I truly appreciate your amazing review and I am sure this will keep my team motivated to be better every day. I am very proud of all the team that gives their best to create unique experiences with our guests. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for your kind words and hope that you do come back visit us again soon, our resort and the amazing Mayakoba complex has a lot to offer and it will always be our pleasure to be your host. Best regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore40452928605 wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Service is great. Everyone is helpful and happy to be there. This just isn’t the type of property I like compared to staying multiple times at rosewood Mayakoba and hotel esencia. They are in different classes so you have to tailor your expectations to that fact. The food wasn’t good. The beach was horrible; ugly sand bags are right in your view. The rooms are not sound proof. We could easily hear loud noises from the cleaning crew and other guests conversations while in our room. It was very disturbing and would wake us up every morning. We were in a beach room which is in a much more convenient location than the lagoon suites but I’d never pay the actual price for the beach room. We only got an upgrade because the lagoon part of the property is closed. Only two restaurants are available so food choices become redundant after a few days. Also the all-inclusive meal plan is not worth it, we also found out it doesn’t include room service but the concierge was very helpful and upgraded us to the premium all-inclusive package. Overall, I didn’t like the property, rooms, and food BUT I don’t want to take credit away from the amazing, helpful staff. Everyone is friendly, accommodating and attentive. And the staff work very hard. I can see how others may love this resort but it personally just didn’t meet my standards.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Dupuis, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Hola ! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. At Andaz Mayakoba we are dedicated to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience and I was very sorry to hear that some aspect of your stay was not to your satisfaction. I was however pleased to hear that overall, our team provided an exceptional service and your positive comments really serve as a great motivation for all of us. I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back to Andaz Mayakoba in the near future! Best Regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msmith1231 wrote a review Oct 2020
Franklin, Tennessee26 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent two nights in early September at the Andaz. The staff was very professional and everyone was wearing masks with plenty of hand sanitizer available. Even the pillows in our room were wrapped in plastic upon arrival.

Being a Hyatt Globalist, I used a suite upgrade and wasn’t worth it. Large room with a not so lovely view of bushes and a very hot plunge pool on the lanai - it was 90+ degrees and very humid. The door to our room had a 1” gap to the floor and many millipedes came into our room. Harmless, but not welcome.

Courtesy snacks/drinks that are usually in rooms at all Andaz properties never showed up.

Overall, the resort was just “ok” - food was very limited and felt like I was eating fast food for the entirety of my stay. No tacos on the menu?!

If we return to Mayakoba, will stay at the Rosewood or try the Banyan Tree.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Dupuis, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Hola msmith1231! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry to learn that your stay was less than perfect and will look into the events you described. We are proud to belong to the Mayakoba family of resorts and very proud to have such a special and unique concept that focuses in memorable and new experiences with our signature warm service; as you well mentioned, each resort inside Mayakoba has its own unique concept. We hope you come back soon. Best regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BugaDugDug wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle2 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is beautiful. When the service is good, it’s great. But for the amount of money we spent, we were expecting a lot more. They miss a lot of things that a hotel that charges high-end prices shouldn’t miss, such as:

1. It is pretty common to have to call to the front desk several times, as it either rings and rings or you get disconnected. When you do get through though, the hotel is generally responsive in a timely manner.

2. English comprehension from most staff is not great. That is fine, but when you market to English speaking customers, you should have the people who communicate with them (front desk, telephone operators, waiters, etc.) have at least basic comprehension.

3. Bills at restaurants are often wrong and have extra items on them.

4. At the reception area (called the Sanctuary), they have water for the guests. Rarely was there more than two cups there for all guests to use.

5. Things at the resort are far away. You can take a bike or golf carts. It was pretty common for us to wait 15-20 minutes for a cart. Because of the wait, bikes are preferred and hard to find during the day. We often did not have that option because my 7 year old could not fit on the normal size bikes and we only saw the kids bike open once in the week we were here.

6. The ATM was broken most of our stay.

7. For those people who wrote how excellent the food was, I’m guessing you never ordered room service, which was consistently atrocious. Except for at the top of the line restaurants on property, the food was pretty forgettable.

We had a lot of fun on our trip and the people are friendly. But we’ve stayed at some pretty high end places and the service and amenities just don’t compare. For what they charge, Andaz just needs to do a lot better, particularly with the little details. It’s a good place to stay, just not a great one.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal D, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Hola BugaDugDug! Thank you for posting your remarks on our Trip Advisor profile. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, I can assure you we make great efforts to thoroughly train our team and will look into the events you described to make sure this doesn’t happen again. I hope you give us the opportunity to improve your last impression on our resort. Best regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarstenW wrote a review Feb 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia37 contributions71 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this property 5 or 6 times. The location and service are generally quite good, and the fact that guests have access to the other 3 Mayakoba resorts is amazing. The premium beach rooms are lovely, but at higher price points the Rosewood or Banyan Tree may be better options due to the overall experience.

Some of the staff (Francisco, Teresa, Aldo, Daniel) are truly exceptional and will make your stay amazing.

That said, based on our most recent stay we would not recommend this hotel for group events. There also seems to be a culture of nickel and diming that appears to be somewhat pervasive. That is enough for us not to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal D, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Hola CarstenWilmes! First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention. We are obviously very sorry to hear that you feel this way about how we handled your event, we did tried our very best to provide you with a memorable experience for the celebration of your husband's birthday, and I am very sorry to read that all of our efforts were not to your satisfaction. We do appreciate your loyalty towards Hyatt and Andaz Mayakoba, and I really hope that we will change your mind and reconsider visiting us again in the future; if you do, we will be very grateful and I will be delighted to look after your arrangement personally. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Best Regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stef B wrote a review Oct 2021
Houston, Texas18 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was going to be a very detailed review but just to save some the time to get the highlights I will list the pros and cons first.

Pros-
Absolutely top notch service from every single employee on every aspect and experience. I wish we had written down all the names of the employees that went out of their way because in reality there were a lot but the two that really got our attention were Feliciano in Cocina Milagro and Alex Flores who attended to us at the beginning and end of our stay.

The employees never take their masks off even outside (including all landscapers and back of house employees)

Temperature checks and extra masks available in abundance throughout the resort ( my husband mentioned that they are the MOST comfortable disposable masks he’s ever worn)

The employees seem genuinely happy to be working at the mayakoba and that elevated the service experience ( friendly greetings from all and genuine conversations with employees)

Food was delicious and the happy hour at Casa Ámate was the highlight of our evenings every night with amazing drinks and a gorgeous setting

This place is not budget friendly however you get every penny’s worth in so many different ways.

They do not nickel and dime you like the majority of high end resorts or properties. They are very generous and treat you like a true member of the family. They don’t charge you for water or sodas or snacks at the mini bar in your room only for the alcohol which is very reasonable.

They also refill your minibar and will take specific requests like mine was Coke Zero- they made sure the fridge was stocked.

They not only had robes for us in our suite but they even had flip flops in our sizes and a beach bag for us to use!

They did not charge for use of the cabañas by the pool we had access to all the amenities (kayaks, paddle boards, even a beautiful boat ride through the lagoon)

They cleaned the room daily and had turn down service every night. They even arranged our sandals for us by the door that we would throw off after our beach/pool time.

The bicycles were very enjoyable to ride around in they were kept up very well and had baskets in front to be able to put bags in. Our daughter (7) had the best time riding around the property.

They had people working constantly cleaning the seaweed and keeping most of it out of our way

Cons:

The only con would be that this situation is temporary and if we go back to stay that this may change.We hope not so this review may get an update. There were not a lot of guests I think they were at 45% capacity so that could contribute to everything being available and the employees being so attentive.

The other tiny con was that the view of the beach was not ideal in that there were a lot of obstructions to the view in order to keep unwanted things out I am assuming. But it is not a deal breaker especially when you do t have to deal with the seaweed
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Dupuis, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Hola 342stefb! Thank you for your preference and for having taken the time to write such a detailed review. I am extremely happy to know that your stay with us was exceptional. For all the team your kind words and knowing that you and your family enjoyed the experience all around is the best reward. We truly look forward to your return to provide you with a memorable experience and a well-deserved update to this review. Best regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Departure28788098277 wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Mayakoba area is very nice and we felt very safe. The hotel itself is only four years old and in new condition. Breakfast and lunch at the Andaz were excellent. We had dinner at the neighboring hotels and they were okay, not as good as I would have hoped.

My only issue is we decided to upgrade our room upon arrival and I felt the rate was misleading. They quoted an “all-in” rate, only to find out it was extra to the base rate we already paid for.

Overall service was great, the bikes were in good condition, and we didn’t have to wait long for golf cart transportation.
There are two large pools- one in the back and one near the beach. Although, I’d suspect it could get crowded if the hotel was at a higher occupancy.

seaweed is an issue and the staff does an excellent job cleaning the beach. The water was rough during our stay and we didn’t go in. I was pleased to see there was a lifeguard on duty.

I have traveled to Aruba and Las Vegas during the pandemic and the precautions taken at the Andaz are by far better than the other hotels I’ve visited. The remotes, pillows, and other items in the room we’re all sanitized. Even the guests were very considerate of wearing masks.

The hotel also offered complimentary rapid tests for returning back to the US.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Dupuis, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Feb 17, 2021
Hola Departure28788098277! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Andaz Mayakoba. I really appreciate the time taken to write your comments on TripAdvisor and especially the positive feedback received about our COVID protocols. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness in an effort to ensure our colleagues and guests enjoy a healthy, safe and comfortable environment. Looks like you did not receive a very clear communication upon arrival and I apologize about that. We shall do a better job on your next visit. Thank you again for your positive comments, really appreciated. Best regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ilovehusky1 wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle35 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As many have said, the resort is beautiful and well maintained. We have a large suite with a plunge pool that’s great for our family of four (2 adults and 2 kids). No complaints about the room.

The problem is with the service and food quality. The only exception is Casa Amate where we’ve had good service and food.

Food at Cocina Milagro was just plain bad. Lacking in flavor, dry. The service was equally bad. Room service and pool food was a mixed bag as was the food at sotovento.

Service is friendly but misses the mark. There’s no sense of urgency, people repeatedly tell you something is being handled when it’s not and feedback about service is met with a blank stare.

I hurt my knee a week before we came so I couldn’t use the bikes and there was no bike for my 7 y/o so we relied heavily on the golf carts. That proved to be extremely frustrating as we repeatedly waited 15-20 mins for a golf cart. We would have to call repeatedly or flag people down. When I mentioned this to a manager I was told they would pay special attention to our room. That special attention resulted in....nothing.

There were a number of other service misses like numerous calls to the front desk that just rang and rang, assurances that reservations were made that weren’t, language/communication issues, inexperienced concierge who gave the wrong info and just slow, uninspired service.

This resort has huge potential but the service and food quality just isn’t there.

If service is important to you and you’re picky like me, this is not your place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal D, General Manager at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Hola Ilovehusky1! Firstly I would like to thank you for your preference and I really want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your most recent experience. At Andaz Mayakoba we are dedicated to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience and I was obviously very sorry to that some aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction and for this I sincerely apologize. The catalog of incidents you have described is certainly not the type of service we aim to provide at Andaz Mayakoba and rest assure that we do take our guests feedback extremely seriously. We have reviewed your comments with all the concerned Managers and we are certainly taking corrective actions to avoid this from happening again in the future. I really hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back where I am sure we will be able to provide you with a much more positive impression. Best Regards, Pascal Dupuis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Elizabeth D
Exeter, New Hampshire90 contributions14 helpful votes
I did not have kids with me. I do not see it as a good hotel for kids. My kids would not have enjoyed it - there are so many great hotels for kids in Mexico. I'd go elsewhere and save this spot for an adult getaway.
lynnie10810 asked a question Nov 2023
Baltimore, Maryland18 contributions4 helpful votes
Hours for breakfast buffet?
Answer from Beth W
Doylestown, Pennsylvania47 contributions35 helpful votes
I’m thinking the pools around 9. I didn’t use the hot tubs. My adult kids used them late at night though.
Answer from Nina D
Ashford, United Kingdom171 contributions66 helpful votes
I'm not sure about evening entertainment - there was some live music while we were there, but we didn't really pay much attention with a young child. The AI seemed comprehensive. I don't remember any meaningful exclusions, and it absolutely was value for money because the a la carte prices in the restaurant are extremely high!
r k wrote a tip May 27
London, United Kingdom30 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of mosquitos "
Read full review
Lily B wrote a tip May 17
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food onsite is expensive - the all inclusive plan makes more sense if you have a big family or group. "
Read full review
KJo wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"NOT A LUXURY HOTEL. Is 3 Star at best"
Read full review
Nancy G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find a shaded spot under the tarp at the beach. Go early to reserve a spot."
Read full review
Reedsme wrote a tip Mar 2024
LaSalle, Canada33 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book your restaurants prior to arriving"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
$382 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
214
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANDAZ MAYAKOBA RESORT RIVIERA MAYA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Which popular attractions are close to Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Nearby attractions include Cenote "el Burrodromo" Mayakoba (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Amate, Cocina Milagro Restaurant, and Tinta Del Pulpo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya have airport transportation?
Yes, Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Playa del Carmen HotelsPlaya del Carmen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Playa del CarmenHotels near Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars