We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 Acceso Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
E-mail hotel
44 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!55% off room rate
Priceline
$594
View deal
FindHotel
$146
View deal
Destinia.com
$229
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Agoda.com$241
Etrip$281
Hurb$281
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (14002)
Pool & Beach (2808)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 02/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Updated 02/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#47 of 333 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Escape to Our Glamorous Beachfront Resort in Playa del Carmen Hugging the white sand coast of the Caribbean Sea, The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences offers a luxurious vacation retreat in Riviera Maya, Mexico. With its chic, modern architecture at the water's edge and authentic Yucatan spirit, our AAA Four Diamond hotel is an idyllic escape for family vacations, romantic getaways, destination weddings, and honeymoons in Playa del Carmen. Indulge your senses and sink into serenity in our lavish deluxe rooms and 1-, 2 -or 3-bedroom suites or spectacular Penthouse Sky Suites, designed with contemporary Mexican design and luxuries from aromatherapy to pillow menus. Relax on the white sand beach and sip a tequila-infused cocktail from the beach bar. Renew body and spirit at Fives Spa, or lounge by our seven outdoor pools with your butler on hand. Savor global flavors at our gourmet and casual restaurants and bars. Located on the white sands of Playa del Carmen beach, 35 minutes south of Cancun International Airport and 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen our resort is close to all of the best attractions and adventures on the Riviera Maya. Enjoy the restaurants, nightlife, and shopping in downtown Playa del Carmen. Tee off on championship golf courses. Explore ancient Mayan ruins and eco-theme parks, and enjoy scuba diving and snorkeling in the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Or just relax in our modern architecture surrounded by cenotes and the Yucatan jungle. The Fives Beach Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples, and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned All Senses Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities and the Kid’s Club caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:55% off room rate

Location

Full view
Contact
Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 Acceso Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Cancun Airport28 miSee all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen4 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
16179Reviews2835Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 11,838
  • 2,460
  • 958
  • 444
  • 479
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul F wrote a review Aug 12
Bridgend, United Kingdom8 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
Loved this hotel .great staff . Good points : large hotel lots of pool areas , good restaurants ( reservations needed ) , nightly entertainment. Not quite a 5 star in my opinion. We stayed in adult section essence - block 18-20, and backed onto jungle . Bad points ; beach very poor , sand ok ,but water not suitable for swimming in as full of seaweed/ dirty looking .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Flavours buffet restaurant not the best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KLCLEswimrun wrote a review Feb 2021
Cleveland, Ohio52 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We brought our 2 kids (3&5) for one week and had the best time. It was so relaxing and exactly what we needed to get away. We’re already ready to go back!! I can’t say enough about the great staff - so kind and helpful- with absolutely anything we needed. They were so accommodating. Including our concierge, Claudia. It was so nice to have someone to help us each day; and she’s awesome! Everything was also very clean. We felt very comfortable and safe and appreciated all of their protocols to sanitize and keep guests safe. The pool and beach area was amazing. Unbelievable. We loved all of the space and that it wasn’t difficult finding chairs. Each day, we bounced back and forth. Within the big pools, they had shallow areas about a foot deep which were awesome for the kids playing! And, aside from the big pool, there are pools throughout the property - which was so nice to “change the scenery” for afternoon vs morning (so spoiled, right?!). Plenty of pool bars, which was awesome for us parents too! On that note, the property itself was so beautiful and a huge plus of the resort. Big property, with varying landscape. We loved that they have a jungle walk and paths. It made it really fun for the kids. The food and restaurants were also great. No complaints. It was really nice that each restaurant had plenty of food options for kids - and they would put together anything requested outside of their normal “kid options.” All you had to do was ask. For example, we asked for grilled chicken, rice, vegetables, etc. based on the restaurant and it was no problem at all. They say you need to have reservations, but the resort occupancy was so low when we were there that it really wouldn’t have been an issue if you didn’t have them. I do wish they would have more lunch or all day food options - for snacks, lighter food, etc. For example, they have one full service sit down lunch, but they would benefit from another beach grill type restaurant (aside from the burger bar they have, and taco cart). I do think they are working on one (construction phase). The gym onsite was very nice. About 4-5 treadmills, at least one bike and one elliptical plus great weights. It looked onto the main plaza area which was nice for treadmill runs. My one word of warning/caution: they will try to offer to you to get you in a sales pitch meeting. We sat through it and it was high pressure. About an hour time commitment (no cutting it short) and it’s awkward because it is so high pressure. I feel like there has to be a better way for them to go about this. It’s a great resort and family of properties, but the sales approach could be a bit more mature. I have such wonderful memories from this trip and am appreciative for such great staff and the resort. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
30 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Morales, Propietario at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded Feb 15, 2021
Dear KLCLEswimrun, Thank you for choosing us as the destination for your recent vacation and for sharing your amazing and detailed review with the TripAdvisor community. It is a great pleasure for us to know that your All Senses experience exceeded your expectations. Our number one priority is to make each guest feel at home and provide a relaxing vacation. We are glad that our team has provided excellent service because there is nothing more rewarding than receiving the praise of our valued guests and we will certainly share your kind comments with them. We appreciate your preference and we look forward to your next visit at The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences. Sensorial regards, Management team The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve W wrote a review Aug 12
1 contribution
Elkin has been incredible. He has really made our vacation so special. Really great with my kids and just always full of life and energy. The volleyball was great fun and my daughter really moved making the bracelets. Thank you Elkin, muchos gratias amigo!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ray M wrote a review Aug 11
1 contribution
Adelaido Ramirez was the best for our romantic dinner on the beach. My wife and I were celebrating our 18th anniversary and he went out of his way to make it the best ever. Thank you very much Adelaido
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Hidalgo, Dueño at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Q4178VRraym, Thank you for sharing your amazing review about your recent stay with us. We work hard in creating truly memorable experiences, it brings us great joy to know that our aforementioned team member, went the extra mile and had such a positive impact on your stay. We cannot wait to have the honor of hosting your stay once again in the near future! Regards, Management Team The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MonicaReid wrote a review Aug 11
Hudson, NC3 contributions5 helpful votes
I’m currently here in 1833 I’ll do the bad first and then the good. I’m 46 and travel at least once a year. I wish I would have researched more as this is not the 5 star resort it’s advertised to be. This is my 6th vacation to playa and my bar the least relaxing. I’m currently at the pool where once again they are out of towels and pool chairs not even one pool chair on the beach area. To get a chair by the ocean pool you have to get up by 830 walk 10 minutes and place your towels which we have done some days. That’s not relaxing to wake up early and hike down to the pool just to place down towels. Today they are out of towels but will have soon. So my family is sitting on hot concrete I’m appalled by this. Now if we wanted to pay $150 for the Bali bed there are tons available but that price is a bit steep for one day and who thought there wouldn’t be another chairs for the guest. Also you have to each am to make dinner reservations I was told my first day so not relaxing so by 9 am I’m not stressed not feeling very relaxed like all other resorts are. The sales presentation is said to be no pressure 90 minutes it was 3 hours of high pressure. Basically he acted mad when we said we don’t know a good deal. For this I got a “free” breakfast which is included, a romantic massage which I had to pay to combine to use myself. We did get a Bali bed that was nice Then we were supposed to get a romantic dinner on the ocean well it rained and no one called to reschedule or offer is anything else. Yesterday we had breakfast at flavors no one came to bring us drinks until I asked not once but twice once our food was Finished. They were out of plates… what?!?!?! Oh and trying to find the OJ… I can’t even! Shuttle service due to rain takes forever due to rain we had to wait in the rain for 25 minute for a shuttle because our closet has no umbrella. I called to get umbrellas after waiting for one hour and no umbrellas my kids were starving so we went to eat in the rain. We got back at 9 and at 945 they delivered our umbrellas The good Ground are pretty Staff is nice Room is spacious if we needed a dining kitchen which we don’t. As I sit here on the hot concrete staring at the empty Bali beds I’m upset I didn’t research better. In 26 years of travel I’ve never complained on trip advisor but I hope this will help someone else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Ricardo A wrote a review Aug 11
10 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our second stay in just as many years. I would not recommend this place because of a few reasons. First off I booked a one bedroom penthouse suite and booking wasn’t honored. They gave me a “comparable” room that was everything but. I requested a refund for their mistake and was offered a laughable $50 per day($350). I am currently on dispute with my travel agent for the actual difference. Secondly, look out for the Bali bed scam. They offer the bed for $150 then stick you with a seafood platter at an additional cost of $75. The issue here was that my sister-in-law got the same bed and was given the platter free of charge. There is no set menu or offer for the bed other than you are very likely to be stuffed of the platter or champagne it comes with. The staff at the restaurants were great except for Pedro at Oka. You can tell he prefers to wait on the guests lacking melanin. We were there two nights in a row ant got him as our server, both times disappointed. If you are traveling it’s kids make sure to stop at the local OXXO to stock up. They are literally robbing peoples at their “convenience” store. $10 8oz Red Bull. $8 bags of chips. Laughable. The only upside to this stay was the omelet lady at La Brasserie, Mikaela. What a wonderful person she is. Show less
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Hidalgo, Dueño at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 days ago
Dear RicardoAM2022, On behalf of the management team and our staff, we appreciate the time taken to write about your recent stay ay The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences. It is with great regreat to hear about the inconsistencies with the level of service you encountered; we never like our guests leaving feeling disappointed or underwhelmed by their experience. We have carefully considered all points and comments mentioned in order to perfect our quality and services extended in these situations. We hope we have the privilege of hosting you once again in the future so we may provide you with the stay you had envisioned. Once more we offer our sincere apologies for the circumstances experienced and we remain at your service. Regards, Management Team The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tahneetra C wrote a review Aug 10
1 contribution3 helpful votes
As one of the billions of working people in the world, I look forward to my family vacations and we decided to come to The Fives Beach Hotel for our summer vacation. We were very excited by all of the beautiful photos and the opportunity to book a 2 room residence for our stay. Everything we read and heard sounded very promising, but we quickly learned that resorts are not always as they seem. Our flight got in early and we arrived at the resort at 7:30am. Check in isn’t until 3pm, which is totally understandable so we changed clothes, had breakfast and lounged at the pool until 3pm. After stalling for time to let housekeeping finish cleaning our room, we were given our room number. Upon arrival to the room, we were initially excited by the size of the rooms and what seemed like very nice accommodations. We noticed a housekeeping lady rushing out of the room when we arrived which confirmed what we thought about the room not being ready. We decided that wasn’t a big deal and we should go ahead and start enjoying our vacation. The first thing we noticed was the room wasn’t very clean. We bring wipes to tidy up our rooms wherever we go and they were filthy with dirt after our own cleaning and there was still urine on one of the bathroom floors. The TV wasn’t working properly, the lights on the night stands weren't’ working, the jacuzzi on the rooftop was not operational and, most importantly, the A/C in one room was not working. After maintenance came to the room and could not fix the A/C, we requested a new room, but there were no rooms until the next day. We then had one night we had to stay in accommodations that are not up 5 star standards with A/C not working in hot/humid weather. The next day we move to the new rooms in the more “modern” section of the resort. The rooms are more modern and designed with a different concept. We think this will be fine and we are initially happy with the change. In the same day we discover the hot water isn’t fully functioning and the water barely gets lukewarm to shower. Maintenance comes and it works a little better after that visit and then not again for 4 more days! In addition, we continuously had to call for different sized towels, one of the sinks is completely clogged and the TV screen is unclear when trying to watch local channels. I repeatedly had to keep calling about the hot water and made several visits to the front desk. This is no way to spend your vacation. After reporting this to the manager on duty, I was give $400 to use for incidentals. When it’s all inclusive, it’s actually difficult to have that much in incidental so we just went to the spa to make sure it was spent. While the $400 was a start, it is no where near what we should’ve received for them not holding up their end of the bargain to provide 5 star accommodations. We are leaving tomorrow and I took my final too cold shower tonight. I am very excited to leave at this point. Please carefully consider your options before booking at this resort. While I don’t expect perfection, we should all expect properly working A/C and HOT WATER! We can’t continue to let resorts be mediocre and claim to be 5 star resorts and that’s why I took the time to write this review. We will NOT ever be returning to The Fives Beach Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Hidalgo, Dueño at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 days ago
Dear tahneetrac, Thank you for this exceptionally detailed and considered review of your stay at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences Playa del Carmen. We are very grateful to you for the time you have taken to share your experience of every aspect of your stay, in such a constructive and positive way. Your comments and observations are invaluable and truly welcomed. Please know that we take all guest feedback seriously. It has never been more important to us than now, to listen to what our guests have to say, especially, due to the world's recent challenges, we have to continuously adapt and quickly adopt many new measures throughout the resort, relating health, safety, and hygiene. We care very much about how we make our guests feel and please rest assured that each part of your The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences Playa del Carmen journey will be carefully reviewed with the team. Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the future to experience The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences Playa del Carmen at its very best. Sensorial regards, Management team The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim R wrote a review Aug 10
Pearlington, Mississippi6 contributions8 helpful votes
Checking in now only to be told our swim up room that we reserved is not available, and no accommodations are being made. There is someone laying in the entry way that appears to be passed out. Manager on site is nowhere to be found. The staff is not helping at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Hidalgo, Dueño at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 days ago
Dear O9130WNtimr, On behalf of the staff and management at The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences, Playa del Carmen we would like to thank you for sharing your review detailing your current experiences with us. As you are at the hotel, we would like to urge you to contact our chief concierge and guest service at the lobby of The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences, Playa del Carmen, or contact us at customerservices@thefiveshotels.com as unfortunately, we can not identify you or your reservation from the information shared on this website. We are truly very sorry to hear of your experiences and challenges encountered to date however we would like the opportunity to change your perceptions and ensure we go above and beyond for you during the remainder of your stay. Kindly, Management Team The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slw2379 wrote a review Aug 10
London, United Kingdom43 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
My partner and I have just returned from our 10 day holiday and first time visiting Mexico. Initially, I was anxious about staying here after reading lots of negative reviews prior to going, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a Deluxe Double which opened out to a pool. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. Yes the room could do being redecorated but I was not going to let this ruin my stay! Make sure you lock your doors as we had a monkey try to get into our room on three occasions when chilling, which was hilarious but also scary when not expecting it! The resort itself is huge and has plenty to offer food wise. We personally didn’t think much of Flavours the buffet but we really enjoyed Arezzo and Ko Thai. Unfortunately we both had upset stomachs during our stay but this was down to overeating and probably the heat! Bring some tablets as overall we felt fine once taking them - medicine and other cosmetic products are also expensive in the shop. Reservations were always easy for us to make as there were two of us. The staff work tirelessly everyday and a simple ‘Hola’ or ‘Buenos Dias’ when walking passed them goes a long way, please remember to greet them! They were all lovely, friendly and very helpful. We spent most of our time at the adult pool and there was always lots of entertainment and activities on to join in with. We enjoyed the main pool by the beach. There is limited sun-beds and we personally did not want to pay 150 USD for a Bali Bed. There were many Bali beds which were unused and there seemed to be lots of sun-beds around the Bali beds which we were unable to use as they came with the Bali bed, this was a shame. The beach is stunning, unfortunately the water is not great due to the seaweed but again the staff work tirelessly to clean this up. The wildlife throughout the resort is incredible; there are monkeys coati and iguanas and each time we saw one we were fascinated! Overall we really enjoyed our stay at The Fives. We felt safe at all times with the through security at the front gates checking people in and out. I would not say this hotel is 5 Star compared to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in but we enjoyed our experience non the less. Please do not let the bad reviews put you off. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay wonderful. How I feel the resort could improve: - updated system for dinner reservations. Having to find someone with an iPad became long winded sometimes. - updated system for evening entertainment. We missed a lot of things as we didn’t know it was on. Perhaps an app? - less Bali beds round the main pool. They were not always in use and wasted valuable sun-beds for people! Tip: join the Facebook group for more advice and suggestions :-)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Hidalgo, Dueño at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 days ago
Dear slw2379, Thank you for sharing your amazing review about your recent stay with us. We are sure your review will be helpful to many people with future travels. We work hard in creating truly memorable experiences, it brings us great joy to know that our aforementioned team members, went the extra mile and had such a positive impact on your stay. We will certainly share your experiences with them. We cannot wait to have the honor of hosting your stay once again in the near future! Regards, Management Team The Fives Beach Hotel and Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scsmithtravel wrote a review Aug 9
Chicago, Illinois28 contributions11 helpful votes
My daughter and I were just at the Fives Beach in April. There were a lot of issues our last visit but our Butler team made up for all the drama.(Adrian I love you always.) Fast forward 4 months later the Butler team are now called Ambassadors and I really didn't need them for much since this visit we did not have any major issues or concerns & we were closer to the two things my daughter loves, the pool & kids club. Shout out to Yosel who was one of my ambassadors. I always saw him around and he was very nice. Also the my ambassador team was quite successful in securing or our daily dinner reservations. Check in was expeditious at the fives club ( I am a member) and Aline wanted to know about the details regarding our last visit. This brought a smile to my face because as she listened she really was concerned and assured me that I would not have the same issues as before.She even checked in on us daily to ask how our stay was going. The spa at the resort is undefeated and I have never the frequent times I've visited this resort have had any issue there. Celeste took care of my reservations after check-in and was my masseuse for my first massage. I've had way more massages than I can count in my lifetime and I can say that massage was easily in my top 5. Tony was over the hydrotherapy area and I fell in love with her. She was so kind, authentic, accommodating and was such a pleasure to talk to. My last massage was by Angelica and once again that was very relaxing and enjoyable experience. The reservation system is not the best by far, yet they have made some changes since April which appears to be for the better. I heard a lot of guests complain about not being able to get reservations but fortunately we didn't have any issues. I don't know if it is because there was only 2 of us and we are not picky about times nor restaurant & prefer to eat after 8:30 or luck was on our side. I'm so glad they made an area for taco libre it use to be just a cart. They have the best barbacoa I've ever had & my daughter loves the al pastor. The Cantina outside the Flavours (buffet restaurant is pretty excellent too). All the restaurants are pretty much the same and haven't changed the menu too much since 2018. More food highlights were, the flank steak at sea olive it was salivating and I was quite surprised that Oka (?) sushi restaurant was pretty good for an all inclusive & very fresh. The rice was perfect. I also like that they charge a delivery fee for room service because it cuts down on the wait time for delivery. I did notice that the restaurants besides the buffet were not packed and that could be due to staffing. From what I saw most of the wait staff were really busy with the tables that were occupied. All in all the staff was very friendly and more upbeat since the last visit. The pool waiters need a raise because they (in my opinion work the hardest). Shout out to Pedro, Tino, & the only lady bartender at the pool bar. (Sorry I forgot her name.) Also much love to the workers at the kids club. My daughter always enjoys herself there. If you want a Bali bed make sure your ambassador team gives you the receipt. There were a lot of ppl standing in line the day they thought they reserved a bed to only find out a bed wasn't reserved and there were none left or somewhere where you didn't want to be. (I was one of them) That whole process needs to be revamped. You shouldn't have to stand in line the day of to pick a bed you paid for. It should be picked the moment you reserve it. The evening entertainment is lacking but it has always been like this. There were A LOT of people at the resort this visit so there were not a lot of places to gather with enough seats. Also there are never enough beach chairs near the pools. NEVER in all my years coming. People be out at the crack of dawn to put their towels down on the chairs which is a bit of a bummer. Also the infinity pool should be tended too more often regarding the cleanliness of it considering the amount of ppl & their drinks in the pool throughout the day. I agree that there should be some music or dj at the infinity pool and not just the energy pool which I think is a new thing. I truly believe they listen and read the reviews because from what I can see they are trying to fix the things that are a consistently complained about.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Avoid Villa 15 if you're not poolside. Not a lot of sunlight and very noisy because of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Hidalgo, Dueño at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 days ago
Dear scsmithtravel, Thank you for such a wonderful review and for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community. I’m sure your review will help many with future vacation choices. It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience exceeded expectations. Our number one priority is to make every guest experience exceptional and as special as it can be. Rest assured that we do read all of our guest´s comments, as we strive to offer the best service and experience every time. We hope that The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences Playa del Carmen will be your preferred resort for your next visit to the Riviera Maya and Mexico. Sensorial regards, Management team The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$230 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
azul fives by karisma hotel playa del carmen
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
662
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences
Which popular attractions are close to The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Nearby attractions include Playa (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taquería Los Compas, MVNGATA Beach Club & Rooftop, and Coco's Cabanas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences have airport transportation?
Yes, The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Fives Beach Hotel & Residences?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.