We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5th Avenida Between 38, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$37
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity$44
Orbitz.com$44
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (511)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (194)

About

#95 of 332 in Playa del Carmen
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast buffet
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
163Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
909Reviews23Q+A86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 577
  • 228
  • 59
  • 22
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ana R wrote a review Mar 2022
Chiang Mai, Thailand2 contributions
Amazing place to stay … it’s cheap and the location is amazing … the staff it’s so nice … my Tv didn’t work and right way they came to fix it . They have a little pool. A few blocks of the beach ! And breakfast is included
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
InOctober wrote a review Mar 2022
Panama City, Panama46 contributions53 helpful votes
Starting that they did not honor the booked price through Agoda and on the same morning of check-in day they sent an email stating there was a mistake with the published price and that it was double the price I booked it for originally. I was like 10 minutes before grabbing the plane to PDC when I got the mail. I had no other option as to pay the new price, as all other hotels didn't have any vacant rooms. Check-in took forever. The humidity smell is awful in the rooms, they don't have black-out curtains in all of the rooms, and the one I got didn't, making it really hard to fall asleep with all the light from the corridors, but the night receptionist tried to help, offering a thick blanket to cover the thin curtains. About cleanliness: the room wasn't made up one day, and the bathroom was not cleaned for several days. The A/C was leaking and got one of the beds and mattress wet. I asked for a room change and it wasn't until the last day they were able to do it. On the positive side, the staff at the restaurant were very kind and the breakfast was good (hence it was the American breakfast no the Continental one). The reception staff is hit or miss, some of them were very helpful (another Argentinian guy), others were not so much. Another positive, is the location as it is right on 5th ave. This hotel probably had better days, but not anymore. Find another option.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Samuc wrote a review Nov 2021
Montreal, Canada3 contributions
BOOKING.COM # 3914756244 We’ve been staying at CasaTicul for the last 8yrs x2 yr. The hotel was sold, different management , long story short CasaTicul is not what it used to be… We were already disappointed on our last trip in oct 2019 but we thought we would give it one more chance this year, oct 2021. BIG MISTAKE !!! 36hrs prior to our arrival we received an email that they couldn’t accommodate us, not even in a different room. Tried to get an explanation and the answer was maintenance issues… We were offered a different hotel to stay at which was worst then CasaTicul so we refused and took a refund from Booking.com We did found another hotel on our own, and got to PdC just like planned. On our night we walked in front of CasaTicul and there was a sign on the 5th ave, 40% off on all rooms… I walked in and asked if they had a room available for 6 nights and the receptionist said YES, would you like to make a booking ?? Good luck CasaTicul, it’s very unfortunate but I think you’ve lost control and many returning and future guess.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Vesislava A wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Awful hotel , they confirm the reservation for a few rooms and then on arrival they say that there are not enough rooms and they knew it will happen like this.. The breakfast is different for the different nationalities - Much poorer for the Europeans, than the one for Americans.. It was noisy and with old furniture.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jasperjpj wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
Had 3 perfect nights at Casa Ticul. The rooms are very clean and with good airconditioning, the location is perfect and the staff is very friendly! I would recommend it to everyone visiting Playa del Carmen. The prices are low too. Kind regards, Jasper (NLD)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Sebastian S wrote a review Apr 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands207 contributions50 helpful votes
I had initially booked a different place, but due to an overbooking I received an upgrade to Casa Ticul... You can see that the place used to be a good stay, but by now its run-down, dark and smelly rooms, the mattress is old and completely torn, thin walls and windows so that you hear every sound from neighbors, the pool area or the hallway. Also some noise from the street, although this is not the noisiest ore most crowded part of Avenida 5th. When I wanted to have my breakfast in their restaurant I was told I wasn‘t booked for it and needed to pay extra. I left a day early, didn‘t even bother asking for a refund for the last night. The receptionist just smiled at me, didn‘t seem surprised nor did he ask for a reason for the early check-out. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
LEO50 wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York49 contributions44 helpful votes
I've stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times over the past 10 years and this place has gone terribly down hill. The service is terrible. The rooms are musty and smelly. Safes don't work properly and the wifi is weak and not available in the rooms. Additionally, there is no breakfast as advertised unless you consider stale wonder bread and coffee with powered cream breakfast. This used to be a lovely, clean, well run boutique hotel. Now it is crap. I will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Diane S wrote a review Jan 2020
Laval, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
2019/2020 There has been a change in management since I last stayed here. What used to be a charming place with a great breakfast on the roof has deteriorated. A building adjacent to the hotel and in full view of one of the common areas, is under construction (as is this Hotel). They have added two more floors with no elevator service; you do not want to be going up 4-5 flights of stairs with your luggage. The common area is no longer pristine (was very dirty at times) Breakfast was only made available at another hotel, which took an hour for service and served in the hot sun with no shade. The lobby is half the size now, they sold the space to a silver store, not what you want to see in a Boutique Hotel. Like I said it has lost its charm and I will not be returning. We also went without hot water on two occasions. The front staff and cleaning crew were excellent. Management needs to clean up and quick.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jon T wrote a review Jul 2019
8 contributions15 helpful votes
Casa Ticul is in a great location. There are no annoying hackers trying to sell you anything. There is a place to get coffee across the street, a 711 to get whatever you might need, and great proximity to street 38, which has some of the best food in the area. The renovations are great and the WIFI issues have been fixed. We had a very comfortable room with an outdoor shower, which we enjoy. The staff is extremely helpful. Joanna, Natalie, Luis, Brian, and Jorge were all nice and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They helped us find good deals on excursions, too!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JCruzvega, Gerente at Casa Ticul Hotel
Responded Jul 12, 2019
Dear Jon T, Thank you for choosing Casa Ticul for your recent stay in Playa del Carmen and for taking a moment to share your experience with the TripAdvisor readers. We are thrilled to read your beautiful review and very proud of our team members who went above and beyond to make your stay a remarkable one. Please know we truly look forward hosting you again in your next trip to Mexico! Kindly The Management
Read more
Kaleidoscope wrote a review Jan 2019
London, United Kingdom92 contributions58 helpful votes
The hotel is so clean! It’s beautiful! The rooms are so comfortable! WiFi is terrible and only works in reception!!!!!!!! The shower is so pleasant and clean and there is hot water and the water pressure is good! They provided organic shampoo and conditioner too! I was in heaven! The beds are comfortable. Our room’s AC stopped working but luckily we had the ceiling fan as a back-up. This would be an issue in the summer though. No lift to get to the high floors. No breakfast offered. No water filler offered so you have to go to the supermarket across the road. I would definitely stay here again! I feel that if the AC didn’t work next time they would be okay to move us to another room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Koox_Group, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Ticul Hotel
Responded Jun 25, 2019
Thanks for writing a few opinions for us, we are really glad to know you had a pleasant experience withe us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$41 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa ticul hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Casa Ticul
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Ticul Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Ticul Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sol Jaguar (0.02 miles), La Galería de Playa (0.3 miles), and La 5ta Hacienda (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Ticul Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Ticul Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Casa Ticul Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Ticul Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Vagabunda de la 38, Zitla Ceiba, and 500 Gramos Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Ticul Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Casa Ticul Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Playa del Carmen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Ticul Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Ticul Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueológica Playa del Carmen (1.5 miles).