We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Reve Boutique Beachfront Hotel

Traveler (889)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (336)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#107 of 240 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Le Rêve Boutique Beachfront Hotel is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" .
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Snorkeling
Babysitting
Paid wifi
Internet
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Spa
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
952Reviews
83Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 567
  • 217
  • 83
  • 38
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had travelled extensively around Mexico staying at many hotels and Hicenda's by the time we reached this poor excuse for a hotel. The room was clean enough and had a balcony with good view of the sea. The bed was a small double uncomfortable with a mattress that was lumpy squashed in the wrong size of bed frame. There was no mini fridge in room so no way to keep the essential bottle of cold water. No coffee or tea making facility provided a standard feature in all Mexico hotels we stayed at. Water bottle provided for first night to use to wash our teeth but not replaced unless one US dollar is paid each time. The dinner menu food choice was limited and so badly prepared that is caused a night of violent sickness. The wine was expensive at 35 USD for a below average bottle. The hotel is located far from town which meant a 300pesos taxi fair each way to the town center. Adding an extra 600 pesos to your dinner bill which we had to do on subsequent nights to avoid more food poisoning. The breakfast was the worst compared to what we got at any hotel, stale bread and pastry and coffee is what you got as included anything else is at an extra cost. Items on the limited lunch menu had ran out by 1pm making it even more limited. Service quality was inconsistent with some staff with particularly poor attitude. The hotel beach is located right next to the public beach so loud music and picnics near by is to be expected . But this also provides the only protected area for swimming segregated from the jet skies which regularly came across. While the beach is sandy the entry into the sea is rocks and tons of seaweed making the beach at hotel unusable. Unfortunately the pool had stagnant areas which is not hygienic for swimming. Wifi access which is standard across all the places we stayed at in Mexico was an additional charge in this hotel. The water taps did not work so didn't get any hot water, This was not fixed despite complain to reception staff. Though they did replace the stained towels they provided. This a bad joke of a place which wasted days from our valuable holiday time
Read more
Response from LeReveHotelandSpas, Public Relations Manager at Le Reve Boutique Beachfront Hotel
Responded May 23, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction. Regarding the food at the resort, our restaurant offer a great variety of food , and is highly recommended by our guests, The Gourmet All Inclusive a la carte is what distinguishes us from many hotels as you can see in previously reviews. We have checked with our concierge department and we did not have any report of food poisoning from you, our staff is highly trained, so that upon receiving a report of this magnitude we would have followed up on your case IMMEDIATELY. In our website you can see all the amenities included in your room , coffee machine is not included in the amenities,You could talk to the concierge and request if they had a coffee maker, they would gladly have been able to follow up on your request, but unfortunately we do not have any requests from you as well. The internet has an Extra cost also mentioned in our website. The beach in front of the hotel is considered a National property and making any changes to it is strictly prohibited, complimentary slippers are available to facilitate the access. We are actually working on a totally ecological project to improve the access to the sea. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings from our side during your stay with us. We hope you would like to honor us once more with your visit, thus giving us the chance to demonstrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction goes beyond mere words. Sincerely, Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Read more
+1
*WARNING* Read before Booking! Old hotel surviving on a fumes of a former glory! Short story: Book somewhere else, you can find so many batter places for same money! Long Story: Service: 3/5 - non personal, slow (it took them 1,5 hour to cook tacos) Tacos Karl! In Mexico! Location: 3/5 - Far from any restaurants or places. You need car or a cab to get out. Even nearest grocery is 20 mins walk. Beach: 1/5 - Rocks, Rocks, Seaweed, Rocks. Next to abandoned construction site and public beach! and Surprise, Surprise overcrowded Public beach is BETTER! but still is only 3/5. Huge Sand bag barriers are visible and create a disturbing scene of a construction site not a beach. Food: 3/5 - regular food. nothing special. stale chips with guacamole. Same menu every day! the only good think its not a buffet. All inclusive option is NOT worth it! you will spend less if order just separate! Also some alcohol is NOT included in ALL INCLUSIVE Package! Room: 1/5 its old, poor maintained. Its like Cuban hotel with 2,5 stars! Old and mismanaged decor. Old elements. Poor renovation. Stained towels and bed sheets! Paid WIFI! in 21 century Karl! Downsides: Pool is old and they have only 3 near pool chairs and only 1 bin bag! ONE! Rooms are old and poorly maintained! No WIFI, No Fridge! Slow service! Empty Hotel. The only other guests were timeshare members! No Activities! Neighboring construction site!
Read more
Response from LeReveHotelandSpas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Le Reve Boutique Beachfront Hotel
Responded May 2, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings from our side during your stay with us. We hope you would like to honor us once more with your visit, thus giving us the chance to demonstrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction goes beyond mere words. Sincerely, Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Read more
Le Reve seemed to have excellent reviews and our expectations were high. We were extremely disappointed. Negatives: The hotel was NOT as advertised online. The rooms and all facilities were dated and required a renovation. The bed sheets appeared to be stained. There was a lingering sewage smell in the bathroom. There was a lack of chairs/lounge chairs on the premises by the pool. The pool was in need of maintenance. Only one restaurant option along the beach at another establishment. Only one restaurant at the hotel. A/C unit was bulit-in overhead above the bed. It was very loud making it difficult to sleep. Abandoned property next door or unfinished construction. Public beach nearby the hotel, which was overall decent but very crowded. The beach leading up to this hotel was rocky. Impossible to enter barefoot. The continental breakfast (part of the european plan) was awful. Stale bread and jam. Wi-Fi connection was not included in the cost of the room or the all inclusive package. It was extra $160 pesos per day. Positives: Quiet. (The hotel felt deserted. It was us and about 9 other people, most of whom were part of a timeshare arrangement) The breakfast (as part of all inclusive option) was very tasty. However, the all inclusive option was not worth it as it would cost us the same amount of money if we paid for each meal on the spot. Conclusion: Poor quality hotel. Overpriced. I do not recommend it to anyone. Spend you hard earned money elsewhere.
Read more
Response from LeReveHotelandSpas, Public Relations at Le Reve Boutique Beachfront Hotel
Responded May 2, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings from our side during your stay with us. We hope you would like to honor us once more with your visit, thus giving us the chance to demonstrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction goes beyond mere words. Sincerely, Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Read more
The Staff were Excellent, the Room was perfect facing the Ocean with big doors to open and let that Ocean Air in. My second visit after two years. Disappointed a little in the menu and Quality. Hope they work on it as it is the perfect spot if you are a walker, go down the beach hour &half you get to Playa and 5th Ave. Always felt like having my own Ocean Home🙏🏼Here.
Read more
Response from LeReveHotelandSpas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Le Reve Boutique Beachfront Hotel
Responded May 2, 2019
Dear Deanandellen, Thank you for the amazing review. It's lovely you enjoyed your time with us so much! We strive for excellence and your praise for our comfortable rooms and service lets us know we're doing our job. That's what we like to see! We're thrilled to have provided such a memorable and fantastic experience for you. Thank you for all of your kind words. We can't wait to see you again soon! Sincerely, Le Rêve Hotel & Spa
Read more
I was just back to Le Reve. As in the past the location on the beach was perfect. I love to walk on the beach and walked everyday sometimes to Playa del Carmen (about 6 KM"s each way). My ocean bungalow was right on the beach and I could sit on my deck watching the waves and people going by. The lounge chairs were always available. The service was terrific! They cannot ask for better more attentive staff. The grounds are beautiful. Pool is great! The only problem this time is that the food is not great. The menu is too limited and does not change. I was there for 3 weeks and was very disappointed by the changes in this department. One of the reasons I bought there was because the food was fabulous! NOT NOW! Not enough variety and a huge decrease in quality. Better cuts of beef were extra on top of an already substantial cost. These used to be a part of the menu. Shrimp on a pasta dish was also extra but given to me after complaints. Used to have a chef's night with a special menu. NOT NOW! Only one red wine and not a very good one. Used to have 3 choices. Desserts limited and not a good bread. Very disappointing. I hope there will be changes or the reputation will be tarnished.
Read more
Response from LeReveHotelandSpas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Le Reve Boutique Beachfront Hotel
Responded May 2, 2019
Dear 368donna, Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings from our side during your stay with us. We hope you would like to honor us once more with your visit, thus giving us the chance to demonstrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction goes beyond mere words. Sincerely, Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le reve hotel playa del carmen, le reve hotel and spa, le reve playa del carmen
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing